DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 depend from claim 1, and recite “a third solvent”; however, claim 1 does not recite a “second” solvent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 3022695 A1 (to Francois) – cited on IDS - translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 1, Francois teaches a process for recycling lithium salts contained in the electrolyte of a used lithium battery, the process comprising:
- supplying an electrolyte stream comprising at least one lithium salt (page 2, last paragraph), at least one electrolyte solvent and water (page 3, lines 23-25); and
- at least one step of extracting the at least one lithium salt by adding a first solvent to the electrolyte stream (page 4, 1st paragraph) to recover a phase comprising the at least one lithium salt on one side and a lithium salt-depleted aqueous phase on the other side (page 3, lines 7-43).
With respect to claim 2, Francois teaches wherein after adding the first solvent, the phase comprising the first solvent, the electrolyte solvent and the at least one lithium salt is recovered on one side and a lithium salt-depleted aqueous phase is recovered on the other side (page 3, lines 35-49, page 4, 1st paragraph).
With respect to claim 3, Francois teaches wherein the at least one lithium salt is chosen from lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (page 2, last paragraph), lithium 2-trifluoromethyl-4,5- dicyanoimidazolate, lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(oxalato)borate, lithium difluoroborate, lithium difluorophosphate and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 4, Francois teaches wherein the at least one lithium salt is lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (page 2, last paragraph).
With respect to claim 5, Francois teaches wherein the electrolyte solvent is chosen from carbonates (page 3, lines 8-22), ethers, esters, ketones, alcohols, nitriles, amides, sulfamides and sulfonamides, and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 6, Francois teaches wherein the first solvent is chosen from esters, nitriles, ethers, carbonates (page 3, lines 8-22), carbamates and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 7, Francois teaches wherein a second solvent is added during the extraction process (page 3, lines 7-43, page 4, 1st paragraph).
With respect to claim 8, Francois teaches wherein at least one additional extraction step (page 3, lines 2-7 and page 4, 1st paragraph) by adding a second solvent to the phase comprising the at least one lithium salt (page 3, lines 23-43).
With respect to claim 12, Francois teaches wherein the stream comprising at least one lithium salt, at least one electrolyte solvent and water is obtained by placing water in contact with a used lithium battery or a portion thereof (page 3, 1st paragraph).
With respect to claim 13, Francois teaches wherein the dissolution of the at least one recycled lithium salt in an additional electrolyte solvent (page 3, 1st paragraph).
With respect to claim 14, Francois teaches wherein the at least one lithium salt is chosen from lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (page 2, last paragraph), lithium 2-trifluoromethyl-4,5-dicyanoimidazolate lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(oxalato)borate, lithium difluoroborate, and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 15, Francois teaches wherein the second solvent is chosen from alkanes, aromatic solvents, chlorinated solvents (page 3, 2nd paragraph) and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 16, Francois teaches wherein the second solvent is chosen from alkanes, aromatic solvents, chlorinated solvents (page 3, 2nd paragraph) and mixtures thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 3022695 A1 (to Francois) – cited on IDS - translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 9, Francois teaches wherein a step of adding a third solvent/(at least two solvents) (page 3, 1st paragraph) to the phase comprising the at least one lithium salt to form a mixture and an evaporation/(distillation) step to precipitate the at least one lithium salt (page 4, 1st paragraph) – since Francois teaches using at least two solvents, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try adding a third solvent in order to optimize the lithium salt extraction process.
With respect to claim 10, Francois teaches wherein a step of evaporating/(distillation) (page 4, 1st paragraph) the phase comprising the at least one lithium salt followed by a step of adding a third/(at least two) solvent to precipitate the at least one lithium salt (page 3, lines 7-49) (page 4, 1st paragraph) – since Francois teaches using at least two solvents, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try adding a third solvent in order to optimize the lithium salt extraction process.
With respect to claim 11, Francois teaches wherein the third solvent is chosen from alkanes, alkenes, aromatics, chlorinated compounds (page 3, 2nd paragraph) and mixtures thereof.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 6/17/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725