DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 15-19 and 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-19 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (20220225265) in view of SHRESTHA et al (20220030504).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong et al discloses, a method of operating a communication device (UE, fig. 3…) in a non-terrestrial network (fig. 3-4, abstract, ¶ 0204, 0216), that includes a network node (gNB/core node), the method comprising:
determining a location of the communication device (UE) using global navigation satellite systems, measurements (¶ 0209, 0239, the UE determines the identity of the earth-fixed tracking area (where the UE is located) using the estimated identities of the cells/subcells and the mapping between the virtual cell/subcell identities and the earth-fixed TAs. The UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively and the UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach);
receiving geographical definitions defining a plurality of tracking areas (TAs), wherein each of the tracking areas is associated with a respective tracking area identifier, receiving a plurality of TAIs (TAI) (¶ 0209, 0233, 0254, 0292, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB); and
reporting location information based on the location to the network node, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the TAI associated with the TA in which the communication device is located (¶ 0209, 0217, 0236, 0239, 0242-0243, the UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively. The UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach and when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible”, for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel if available and UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) GNSS-based location or the gNB-estimated UE location, (ii) UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) or gNB-determined virtual cell ID, (iii) UE-reported TAIs, (iv) gNB-determined TAI or TAIs.).
Jeong et al does not specifically disclose, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas; determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA et al discloses, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity); determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Jeong et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables determining a current tracking area identity of the UE from multiple tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule by SHRESTHA et al.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, determining the TAI further based on a validity timer associated with a signal broadcast from the network node (¶ 0209-0211, 0239, the UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively. The UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach and when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible”, for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel if available and also see SHRESTHA et al disclose ¶ 0077, 0115, a tracking area list may correspond to a validity timer. The UE may acquire a system information block (SIB) after expiration of the validity timer).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the location to the network node during a radio resource control, RRC, connection establishment procedure, and wherein reporting the location information further comprises reporting the location in at least one of a: RRC setup complete message and a RRC setup request message (¶ 0225, 0238, RRC messages such as RRC setup request, RRC setup complete, RRC reconfiguration complete, and measurement report are used by the UE to convey the border crossing indication and the country code/PLMN and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein reporting the location information further comprises reporting the location in an uplink non-access stratum, NAS message (¶ 0005-0007, the transceiver configured to: transmit, to a UE, an SIB including multiple TAIs and the indication in a NAS registration/tracking area update operation, and receive, from the UE, an RRC message including information for the UE location, wherein the RRC message encapsulates a NAS message and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein reporting the location information further comprises transmitting an indication of a period of time during which the location may be used by the network node, and wherein the period of time comprises at least one of: a lifetime of a radio resource control, RRC, connection between the communication device and the network node; and only for a specific location reporting occasion (¶ 0208-0209, 0206, 0233,, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, further comprising: receiving a request for the location from the network node, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the location in response to receiving the request for the location (¶ 0270-0272, the UE may receive from the gNB in system information an indication of one or more of the following features: (i) its use/support of earth-fixed virtual cells, (ii) the need for the UE to report its GNSS-based location in registration/tracking area update related AS/NAS messages, and (iii) the need for the UE to report its GNSS-based location in registration/tracking area update related AS/NAS messages. In the absence of one or more of such indications, the reporting can be made mandatory for the UE via specifications or rules and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the location in response to at least one of: determining that multiple tracking area identifiers, TAIs, are broadcast in a cell of the network node; and a purpose of the RRC connection establishment is to send a registration request non-access stratum, NAS, message (¶ 0233, 0273, when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible,” for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein the network node comprises one of a radio access network, RAN, node or a core network, CN, node (¶ 0270-0272, the UE may receive from the gNB in system information an indication of one or more of the following features: (i) its use/support of earth-fixed virtual cells, (ii) the need for the UE to report its GNSS-based location in registration/tracking area update related AS/NAS messages, and (iii) the need for the UE to report its GNSS-based location in registration/tracking area update related AS/NAS messages and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, a method of operating a radio access network, RAN, node in a non-terrestrial network, NTN, that includes a communication device, the method comprising (abstract):
transmitting, to the communication device, geographical definitions defining a plurality of tracking areas (TAs), wherein each of the tracking areas is associated with a respective tracking area identifier (TAI); transmitting, to the communication device, a plurality of TAIs (¶ 0209, 0233, 0254, 0292, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB);
determining one or more tracking area identifiers, TAIs, to transmit to a core network, CN, node, the one or more TAIs being associated with a cell in which the location device (¶ 0238-0239, 0241-0245, when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location; the gNB uses the UE-reported GNSS location to determine the virtual cell identity and provides such identity to the AMF in step F5S6. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, the gNB maps the virtual cell identity that it has determined or obtained from the UE); and
transmitting the one or more TAIs to the CN node (¶ 0241-0245, when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location and the gNB/eNB forwards the UE's NAS message to the AMF/mobile management entity (MME) using an NGAP/S1AP message such as INITIAL UE MESSAGE or UPLINK NAS TRANSPORT; the gNB/eNB sends a single TAI to the MME/AMF. This TAI reflects UE's GNSS-based location and/or the virtual cell ID. In one more approach, the gNB/eNB sends multiple TAIs to the MME/AMF to enhance reliability of the registration to be carried out by the MME/AMF.).
Jeong et al does not specifically disclose, transmitting, to the communication device, information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas; receiving, from the communication device, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the information regarding the TAI borders.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA et al discloses, transmitting, to the communication device, information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity); receiving, from the communication device, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the information regarding the TAI borders (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Jeong et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables determining a current tracking area identity of the UE from multiple tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule by SHRESTHA et al.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 9 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein the one or more TAIs are associated with the cell in which multiple TAIs are broadcast in parallel, wherein determining the one or more TAIs to transmit comprises determining to transmit all the TAIs being broadcast in parallel in the cell, and wherein transmitting the one or more TAIs comprises transmitting all the TAIs being broadcast in parallel in the cell to the CN node (¶ 0233, 0236-0237, the gNB broadcasts a compact representation of TAIs in a SIB. For example, instead of broadcasting full TAIs, the gNB separates the common part of TAIs (e.g., common fields across the broadcast TAIs such as PLMN ID) and dedicated parts of TAIs. This may reduce the size of the SIB. In one approach, the common part can be indicated first, followed by dedicated parts of different TAIs. In another approach, the first TAI is fully specified and remaining TAIs are specified by defining dedicated non-common parts).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 9 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein the one or more TAIs are associated with the cell in which a single TAI that changes with regular or irregular time intervals is broadcast, and wherein determining the one or more TAIs to transmit comprises determining to transmit to the CN node, at least one of: a first TAI that is currently being periodically broadcast in the cell; and a second TAI that is not currently being periodically broadcast in the cell, but will be broadcast within a period of time shorter than a predetermined threshold amount of time (¶ 0233, 0236-0237, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB and the gNB broadcasts a compact representation of TAIs in a SIB. For example, instead of broadcasting full TAIs, the gNB separates the common part of TAIs (e.g., common fields across the broadcast TAIs such as PLMN ID) and dedicated parts of TAIs. This may reduce the size of the SIB. In one approach, the common part can be indicated first, followed by dedicated parts of different TAIs. In another approach, the first TAI is fully specified and remaining TAIs are specified by defining dedicated non-common parts and also see SHRESTHA et al) .
Regarding claim 15, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, wherein transmitting the second TAI comprises transmitting a next generation application protocol, NGAP, message to the CN node including the second TAI (¶ 0242, 0246, the gNB/eNB forwards the UE's NAS message to the AMF/mobile management entity (MME) using an NGAP/S1AP message such as INITIAL UE MESSAGE or UPLINK NAS TRANSPORT and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 9 further, Jeong et al discloses, determining to request an updated location based on an amount of time since receiving a previous location from the communication device exceeding a threshold value; and responsive to determining that the amount of time exceeds the threshold value, transmitting a request for the updated location to the communication device (¶ 0123, 0248, 0254, 0280, If a neighbor cell exceeds such threshold, it is reported by the UE in steps F6S5, F6S10, or F6S12 and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, further comprising: determining the second TAI based on an amount of time before a TAI switch from the first TAI being periodically broadcast in the cell in which the communication device is located to the second TAI being periodically broadcast in the cell, wherein transmitting the second TAI comprises at least one of: responsive to the amount of time being less than a threshold value, transmitting the first TAI and the second TAI to the CN node (¶ 0123, 0248, 0254, 0280, If a neighbor cell exceeds such threshold, it is reported by the UE in steps F6S5, F6S10, or F6S12); transmitting the first TAI, the second TAI, and the amount of time before the TAI switch, and wherein the second TAI is different from the first TAI (¶ 0123, 0248, 0254, 0280, If a neighbor cell exceeds such threshold, it is reported by the UE in steps F6S5, F6S10, or F6S12, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with earth-fixed TAIs such that a UE located in a given TAI would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 9, 11, further, Jeong et al discloses, further comprising: receiving configuration information from the CN node, wherein transmitting the second TAI comprises transmitting the second TAI based on the configuration information (¶ 0123, 0248, 0254, 0280, If a neighbor cell exceeds such threshold, it is reported by the UE in steps F6S5, F6S10, or F6S12, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with earth-fixed TAIs such that a UE located in a given TAI would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, in claim 11 further, Jeong et al discloses, further comprising: transmitting a request, to the communication device, for permission to use location information associated with the communication device, wherein the request for permission comprises a request for permission to use at least one of: location information previously reported by the communication device; any location information reported by the communication device during a radio resource control, RRC, connection between the communication device and the network node; and information associated with a location of the communication device for core network related procedures (¶ 0233, 0239-0245, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB and also see SHRESTHA et al).
Regarding claim 23, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, a communication device in a non-terrestrial network, NTN, that includes a network node, the communication device (abstract) comprising:
processing circuitry (340, fig. 3); and memory (360, fig. 3) coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the communication device to perform operations comprising any of the operations of (¶ 0058-0059, fig. 3):
determining a location of the communication device using global navigation satellite systems, GNSS, measurements (¶ 0209, 0239, the UE determines the identity of the earth-fixed tracking area (where the UE is located) using the estimated identities of the cells/subcells and the mapping between the virtual cell/subcell identities and the earth-fixed TAs. The UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively and the UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach);
receiving geographical definitions defining a plurality of tracking areas (TAs), wherein each of the tracking areas is associated with a respective tracking area identifier, receiving a plurality of TAIs (TAI) (¶ 0209, 0233, 0254, 0292, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB); and
reporting location information based on the location to the network node, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the TAI associated with the TA in which the communication device is located (¶ 0209, 0217, 0236, 0239, 0242-0243, the UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively. The UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach and when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible”, for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel if available and UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) GNSS-based location or the gNB-estimated UE location, (ii) UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) or gNB-determined virtual cell ID, (iii) UE-reported TAIs, (iv) gNB-determined TAI or TAIs.).
Jeong et al does not specifically disclose, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas; determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA et al discloses, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity); determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Jeong et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables determining a current tracking area identity of the UE from multiple tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule by SHRESTHA et al.
Regarding claim 24, Jeong et al and SHRESTHA et al disclose, a communication device in a non-terrestrial network, NTN, that includes a network node, the communication device adapted to perform any of the operations of (abstract, fig. 18):
determining a location of the communication device using global navigation satellite systems, GNSS, measurements (¶ 0209, 0239, the UE determines the identity of the earth-fixed tracking area (where the UE is located) using the estimated identities of the cells/subcells and the mapping between the virtual cell/subcell identities and the earth-fixed TAs. The UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively and the UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach); and
receiving geographical definitions defining a plurality of tracking areas (TAs), wherein each of the tracking areas is associated with a respective tracking area identifier, receiving a plurality of TAIs (TAI) (¶ 0209, 0233, 0254, 0292, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB); and
reporting location information based on the location to the network node, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the TAI associated with the TA in which the communication device is located (¶ 0209, 0217, 0236, 0239, 0242-0243, the UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively. The UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach and when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible”, for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel if available and UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) GNSS-based location or the gNB-estimated UE location, (ii) UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) or gNB-determined virtual cell ID, (iii) UE-reported TAIs, (iv) gNB-determined TAI or TAIs.).
Jeong et al does not specifically disclose, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas; determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA et al discloses, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity); determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Jeong et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables determining a current tracking area identity of the UE from multiple tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule by SHRESTHA et al.
Regarding claim 25, Jeong et al and Dong disclose, in claim 1 further, Jeong et al discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon computer program comprising program code to be executed by processing circuitry of a communication device in a non-terrestrial network, NTN, that includes a network node, whereby execution of the program code causes the communication device to perform operations comprising any of the operations of (abstract, fig. 1):
determining a location of the communication device using global navigation satellite systems, GNSS, measurements (¶ 0209, 0239, the UE determines the identity of the earth-fixed tracking area (where the UE is located) using the estimated identities of the cells/subcells and the mapping between the virtual cell/subcell identities and the earth-fixed TAs. The UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively and the UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach.); and
receiving geographical definitions defining a plurality of tracking areas (TAs), wherein each of the tracking areas is associated with a respective tracking area identifier, receiving a plurality of TAIs (TAI) (¶ 0209, 0233, 0254, 0292, the gNB broadcasts TAIs in SIB1 such that these TAIs include not only the TAs illuminated by the cell's beam but also the TAs that are expected to be illuminated by the cell's beam in future. In an example approach, the gNB broadcasts TAIs of all the TAs that are expected to be illuminated at any instant during a target time window. This target window can be defined to be the SIB1 window (e.g., 160 ms in 5G NR) in an example approach. Non-SIB1 time windows are defined for conveying TAIs in SIB1 or other SIBs (e.g., those for a TN or an NTN) in another example approach. The TAI-carrying SIB is compatible with Earth-fixed TAs such that a UE located in a given TA would always find its TAI in the TAIs being broadcast by the gNB); and
reporting location information based on the location to the network node, wherein reporting the location information comprises reporting the TAI associated with the TA in which the communication device is located (¶ 0209, 0217, 0236, 0239, 0242-0243, the UE may report its confidence about the earth-fixed tracking area ID quantitatively or qualitatively. The UE may report an absolute or relative time of the GNSS-based location used in the earth-fixed tracking area ID determination in an example approach and when the UE sends to the network a registration request message including one or more of the following: (i) TAIs observed by the UE, (ii) its GNSS-based location along with an indication about the UE's confidence on the accuracy of this location with possible indication of “GNSS not visible/GNSS visibility poor/GNSS visible”, for example, the accuracy of the location can be also implicitly included in the GNSS-based location information, (iii) its virtual cell ID, (iv) time stamp associated with the GNSS-based location, and (v) estimated speed and direction of travel if available and UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) GNSS-based location or the gNB-estimated UE location, (ii) UE-reported (and possibly gNB-validated) or gNB-determined virtual cell ID, (iii) UE-reported TAIs, (iv) gNB-determined TAI or TAIs.).
Jeong et al does not specifically disclose, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas; determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders.
In the same field of endeavor, SHRESTHA et al discloses, receiving information regarding TAI borders associated with each TAI of the plurality of TAIs, wherein the TAI borders define geographical areas (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity); determining, from the plurality of TAIs, a TAI associated with a TA in which the communication device is located based on the location and the information regarding the TAI borders (¶ 0050, 0052, 0055, 0060, each tracking area may be associated with a TAC shown as TAC1, TAC2, and TAC3. A cell group identity may be associated with each TAC. A UE 304 is located in a second tracking area (TAC2) near a border of the second tracking area (TAC2) and a first tracking area (TAC1) and a UE may determine a tracking area identity e.g., tracking area code to select based on its location, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Jeong et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to enables determining a current tracking area identity of the UE from multiple tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule by SHRESTHA et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643