DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S COMMENT
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 9-24) in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no undue burden on the Examiner. This is found persuasive thus the requirement is withdrawn and all claims are examined.
Insertion of continuing data of PCT and Japanese Foreign Priority documents at beginning of the specification is suggested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the sorted is configured to select a portion of the water-absorbent resin precursor having a water content of 20% or more” of claim 9 and “selecting and removing a portion of the water-absorbent resin precursor, the portion having a water content of 20% or more” of claim 25. The specification teaches a specific sorting method for detecting the water-absorbent resin precursor having a surface temperature of 50C to 100oC in para. [0037]. Thus, claims 9 and 25 are objected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitschke (US 2008/0287631 A1)
Nitschke teaches a process for preparing water-absorbing polymer particles comprising the steps of i) drying a hydrogel to produce a dried hydrogel, ii) separating incompletely dried polymeric particles from the dried hydrogel and iii) drying the separated-off incompletely dried polymeric particles in abstract. Nitschke further teaches that the incompletely dried polymeric particles have the water content of 10-30 wt.% in [0024].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to separate a pulverized incompletely product (i.e., particles) having a water content exceeding 20 wt.% and further classifying thereafter in Nitschke since the water content exceeding 15 wt.% would encompass the recited 20 wt.% of claim 1 absent showing otherwise.
The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to the applicant to show that his invention would have not been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyaka et al. (US 6,291,63).
Miyaka et al. teach a method of absorbent resin comprising a drying step and a separating step (i.e., soring step) of obtaining a pulverized incompletely product (i.e., particles) having a water content exceeding 15 wt.% in claim 1. Miyaka et al. further teach classifying the incompletely dried product in claim 2 and lines 7-15 of col. 25.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to separate a pulverized incompletely product (i.e., particles) having a water content exceeding 20 wt.% and further classifying thereafter in Miyaka et al. since the water content exceeding 15 wt.% would encompass the recited 20 wt.% of claim 1 absent showing otherwise.
The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to the applicant to show that his invention would have not been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
CLAIM OBJECTION
Claims 10-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the objection under Claim Interpretation to claims 9 and 25.
/TAE H YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762