DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group II and the species comprising 2-hydroxybenzophenone in the reply filed on 5/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 and 20-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/5/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/2/2026 and 9/15/2026 have been fully considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 9/29/2023 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao
(PG-PUB 2020/0239744) in view of WO92/20690 (herein referred to as” Frater”).
With regards to claims 12 and 14, Liao teaches a release agent composition comprising: 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone (0065), a compound that has a structure for absorbing the light and contains at least one hydroxy group [0020], [0064]-[0066]; and polydimethylsiloxane, an organosiloxane polymer [0057]-[0059].
Liao teaches the composition comprises a 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone (0065), a compound that has a structure for absorbing the light and contains at least one hydroxy group [0020], [0064]-[0066]; and polydimethylsiloxane, an organosiloxane polymer [0057]-[0059], but does not teach they should be part of the same compound. However, Frater teaches a UV absorbent material may be reacted with a organosiloxane in order to better retain the UV absorbent (see page 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a compound comprising a 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone (0065) and polydimethylsiloxane. The motivation for doing so would have been such compounds better retain the UV absorbent material.
With regards to the limitations of claim 12 that the composition is "for forming a release layer of
laminate including a semiconductor substate, a support substrate, and an adhesive layer and a release
layer that are provided between the semiconductor substrate and the support substrate," and "used of
release the semiconductor substrate and the support substrate after the release layer absorbs light
emitted form a side of the support substrate," said limitations are understood to be intended use and
purpose limitations which do not define any of the claimed invention's limitations; thus, said preamble
limitations are not considered limitations and are of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP
2111.02).
With regards to claim 13, 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone reads on the claimed benzophenone structure.
With regards to claim 15, 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone read on formula 1.
With regards to claim 16, 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone comprises a hydroxy group.
With regards to claim 17, Liao teaches the siloxane polymer may be polydimethylsiloxane,
[0057]-[0059] which reads on the claimed second structure units of claim 17.
With regards to claims 18 and 19, polydimethylsiloxane reads on the claimed second structure which “is bonded to Si of any one of the M unit, the D unit, and the T unit via a single bond or
a linking group.”
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 9/15/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Specifically, with regards to the rejection of claims 12-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG-PUB 2020/0239744 ("Liao"), Applicant notes claims 12 and 14 are amended to recite that the compound is an organosiloxane polymer. Applicant argues there is neither any description in the alleged anticipatory reference nor any specific examples in any of the alleged anticipatory reference that prove prior invention of the claimed subject matter (as amended). Specifically, applicant argues the claims (as amended) contain the recited compound (i.e., an organosiloxane polymer) having both the recited first structure and the recited second structure. As such, and at least because the recited compound is completely distinct from the materials disclosed in Liao, the amended claims are not anticipated by Liao, and the anticipation rejection should be withdrawn. Said argument is noted, but the pending rejection does not rely upon Liao for such a teaching.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787