DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WO 2020/032000 to Takashima, with US Pub. No. 2021/0313095 cited as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-8, Takashima teaches a composite body including an elongated adhesive body and a plurality of linear members being stuck around the adhesive body (Takashima, Abstract). Takashima teaches that the term “linear” is a concept that includes not only a straight line, a curved line and the like, but also a state where a material can be bent in various directions and angles like a yarn (Id., paragraph 0026). Takashima teaches that the plurality of linear members may include an electric wire, which is inherently conductive (Id., paragraph 0017, claim 8). Takashima does not appear to require the composite to be covered with an insulating material (see Id., Fig. 1). Takashima teaches that the linear members are spirally stuck around the adhesive body (Id., paragraph 0033).
Takashima teaches a substantially similar or identical structure as claimed, wherein the linear members may include an electric wire. Note that the properties of electric wires are well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the composite appears to inherently be configured to provide electrical conductivity in a longitudinal direction and 360º in a circumferential direction as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Takashima teaches that the adhesive body is preferably yarn-like, as the yarn-like adhesive body can deform following deformation of the composite body (Takashima, paragraph 0054, claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Takashima teaches that the adhesive body includes a core material and an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer may cover the entire surface of the core material (Takashima, paragraphs 0059-0062, claims 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Takashima teaches that the adhesive body is preferably a pressure-sensitive adhesive body (Takashima, paragraph 0052, claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Takashima teaches that the plurality of linear members may include an electric wire (Takashima, paragraph 0017, claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima in view of DE 3019151 to Lenards, as evidenced by the machine translation.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-8, Takashima appears to teach the claimed structure. However, in the event it is shown that the claimed invention requires “spirally attached” to comprise the structure such as shown in Fig. 2 in Applicants’ specification which is formed by twisting the body and member together, Lenards teaches an electrically-conducting yarn consisting of a core of a few continuous synthetic textile filaments and metallic wires, wherein the core contains rayon filaments, and the rayon and metallic wires are twisted together (Lenards, Abstract). Lenards teaches that the electrically conductive yarn is simple and cost-effective to produce, has a stretch and surface behavior comparable to conventional textile yarns, and has high electrical conductivity which is not significantly reduced even if surface cracks occur (Id., paragraph 0007). Lenards teaches that the rayon threads and copper wires are twisted together which prevents any displacement of the rayon threads relative to the copper wires (Id., paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the composite body of Takashima, wherein the core material and linear members are twisted together, as taught by Lenards, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional composite body having a structure known in the art to predictably prevent displacement of the yarn-like adhesive body and linear members, such that the body has sufficient stretch and surface behavior. Based on the invention of the prior art combination and Applicants’ specification, such a structure would appear to be configured as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed November 5, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that while Takashima describes that linear members may include an electric wire, this is merely one option among many different types. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Takashima teaches various materials as the linear members, Takashima teaches at paragraph 0017 and claim 8 that the linear member may include at least one of an optical fiber and an electric wire. Note that the properties of each are well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicants argue that Takashima does not describe an electrically conductive threadlike member that is specifically free from being covered with an insulating material. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takashima does not require the composite body to be covered with an insulating material. Without such a requirement, one of ordinary skill would expect that the body is not covered with an insulating material.
Applicants argue that Takashima does not describe a composite that is configured to provide electrical conductivity as claimed, as the primary purpose is to bundle and organize linear members and not to provide multi-directional electrical conductivity. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above, Takashima teaches a substantially similar or identical structure as claimed. Therefore, it is reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to expect that the composite is configured as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER Y CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786