DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to because the drawings are indicated by “Figure” rather than “FIG.” as required by 37 C.F.R § 1.84 (u)(1) (see also MPEP § 608.02 (V)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are indicated by “Figure” rather than “FIG.” as required by 37 C.F.R § 1.84 (u)(1) (see also MPEP § 608.02 (V)). The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.” Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayashi, et al. (WO 2020/027318 A1, translation uploaded by Examiner, hereinafter “Hayashi”) as evidenced by McBirney, et al. (Biomed Opt Express. 2016 Sep 14;7(10):4034-4042, hereinafter “McBirney”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Hayashi discloses a vaccine comprising an antigen coated by a cationic nanogel (pg. 12 ¶0040).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Hayashi discloses Staphylococcus aureus as a vaccine antigen (pg. 9 ¶0028). S. aureus has a diameter of 600 nm as evidenced by McBirney, (pg. 4039, Results and Discussion ¶2), which is larger than 20nm.
Regarding claim 3 and 9, Hayashi discloses that the nanogel particle size is no larger than a diameter of 200nm (pg. 11 ¶0036) which is smaller than the diameter of S. aureus at 600nm as evidenced by McBirney (pg. 4039, Results and Discussion ¶2), making the vaccine antigen larger than the nanogel.
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses that the nanogel complex further comprises adjuvants (pg. 13 ¶0041).
Accordingly, Hayashi anticipates the claimed inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Akiyoshi, et al. (WO 2010050578 A1, translation uploaded by Examiner, hereinafter “Akiyoshi”).
As discussed above, claims 1-3 and 6-9 were anticipated by Hayashi.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Hayashi does not teach that the vaccine antigen is a VLP, inactivated virus, a protein molecule larger than 20nm, or a polymer. However, Akiyoshi teaches a nanogel vaccine can be used for many different microorganisms including viruses, bacteria, and fungi (pg. 8 ¶0035) and that the molecular weight of a vaccine antigen is not limited in a nanogel vaccine (pg. 8 ¶0035).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teaching of Hayashi of a vaccine antigen coated with a nanogel with the teachings of Akiyoshi that there is no limit on the molecular weight of vaccine antigens and that nanogels are not limited to one microorganism. Akiyoshi provides motivation by teaching that different vaccine antigens produce different vaccines for separate microorganism mediated infections (Abstract). One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success at combining Hayashi and Akiyoshi because they both teach mucosal nanogel vaccines.
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi does not teach the molar ratio to which the antigen and nanogel are complexed. However, Akiyoshi teaches mixing the antigen with the nanogel in a molar ratio of up to 1:100 (Pg. 8 ¶0036).
Routine optimization of Hayashi’s ratio of antigen to nanogel would have led to the claimed range of a molar ratio of 1:15 to 1:200 because Akiyoshi and Hayashi teach that the mixing ratio of the antigen and the cationic nanogel is appropriately adjusted depending of the type of antigen and the cationic nanogel being used (Akiyoshi, Pgs. 12-13 ¶0040 and Hayashi, pgs. 8 ¶0036) and Akiyoshi teaches that these molar ratios can be concentrations of 1:1 to 1:100 (Pgs. 12-13 ¶0040). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the mixing ratio by starting optimization from molar ratios taught by Akiyoshi because Akiyoshi and Hayashi teach that the mixing ratio of the antigen and the cationic nanogel is appropriately adjusted depending of the type of antigen and the cationic nanogel being used (Akiyoshi, Pgs. 12-13 ¶0040 and Hayashi, pgs. 8 ¶0036).
It would further be obvious that the molar ratios of antigen to nanogel in a composition are clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient needed to achieve the desired results. The principle of law states from MPEP 2144.05: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." (Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382); Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 2.
Accordingly, the claimed inventions were prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ARE ALLOWED
/CASSANDRA SENN GRIZER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672