DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 06/15/2026
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 has/have been amended.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-9 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 06/15/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 06/15/2026
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 7, and 8:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 9: ¶ 2 to Page 10: ¶ 2), filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tanaka et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190253743 A1), in view of Jiao et al. (US Patent No. 10855965 B1), further in view of Lino et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220172427 A1).
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 11: ¶ 1), filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 and 8 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due claim 7's and claim 8's similarity to claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Regarding dependent claim(s) 2-6 and 9:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 11: ¶ 2 to Page 12: ¶ 2), filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-6 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due the dependency upon claims 1, 7, and 8 respectively. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al., US PGPUB No. 20190253743 A1, hereinafter Tanaka, in view of Jiao et al., US Patent No. 10855965 B1, hereinafter Jiao, further in view of Lino et al., US PGPUB No. 20220172427 A1, hereinafter Lino.
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses an information processing apparatus (Tanaka; an information processing apparatus [¶ 0125-0127 and ¶ 0137-0139], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, hardware configuration [¶ 0766], as illustrated within Fig. 36) comprising:
circuitry (Tanaka; information processing apparatus [as addressed above] comprises circuitry [¶ 0767-0768]) configured to
generate a plurality of viewpoint images to be displayed as a stereoscopic image (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed above] configured to generate a plurality of viewpoint images to be displayed as a stereoscopic image (using a viewing device / HMD) [¶ 0126-0128 and ¶ 0136-0138], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, rendering multi view imagery [¶ 0153-0158], as illustrated within Fig. 2), detect an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user needs to be attracted (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed above] configured to detect an eye-attracting area of a virtual space [¶ 0122-0124] to which a visual attention of a user implicitly needs to be attracted (given viewing status information and intersection point within a viewing frustum) [¶ 0040-0042, ¶ 0184-0186, and ¶ 0195-0199]; moreover, sight line tracking [¶ 0757 and ¶ 0763]; wherein, a heat map illustrates a distribution status of gaze points [¶ 0167, ¶ 0200, and ¶ 0204-0206], and wherein a heat map is in relation with 3D spaces [¶ 0215-0216]; additionally, attention degree (associated with an advertisement ranking) [¶ 0556-0559]), generate a control map indicating a distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness in each viewpoint image based on a distance from the eye-attracting area (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed above] configured to generate a control map (i.e. heat map) indicating a distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness in each viewpoint image based on an implicit distance from the eye-attracting area (given the viewing frustum/FOV) [¶ 0112-0113, ¶ 0115, and ¶ 0117]; moreover, FOV [¶ 0184-0187]; and moreover, generating a heat map with which statistics information on a content viewing region and a user viewpoint position [¶ 0124, ¶ 0199-0200, ¶ 0205, and ¶ 0216]), adjust the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image based on the control map (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed above] configured to adjust the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image based on the control map (i.e. heat map) [¶ 0646, ¶ 0648-0650, and ¶ 0652]; moreover, enable content and advertisement distribution control by using the heat map [¶ 0040-0042]; moreover, viewing probability [¶ 0655-0656], and bit rate [¶ 0658-0659]), and control to display the stereoscopic image in the virtual space using each of the plurality of viewpoint images (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed above] configured to control to display the stereoscopic image in the virtual space [¶ 0126 and ¶ 0136] using each of the plurality of viewpoint images [¶ 0153-0158]),
wherein the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a three-dimensional space included in content data (Tanaka; the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a 3D space (containing an object) included in content data [¶ 0197-0199]; moreover, gaze point info of a display object [¶ 0200-0203, and ¶ 0216] and heat map as 3D data [¶ 0212-0215]).
Tanaka fails to explicitly disclose a degree of eye-attractiveness in each viewpoint image based on a distance from the eye-attracting area,
adjust the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image based on the control map, and
using each of the plurality of viewpoint images whose degrees of attractiveness have been adjusted,
a position of the eye attracting area designated by a creator of content data with respect to a three-dimensional model, the information being included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of viewpoint images.
However, Jiao teaches to:
detect an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user (Jiao; detecting an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user [Col. 10, lines 57-65]), generate a control map indicating a distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness in each viewpoint image based on a distance from the eye-attracting area (Jiao; generating a control map (i.e. depth map) indicating a distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness (corresponding to a focus disparity) in each viewpoint image based on a distance from the eye-attracting area (corresponding to a focus position that is associated with a foreground) [Col. 4, lines 17-40], as illustrated within Figs. 4-5; wherein, disparity is associated with location/position [Col. 3, line 56 to Col. 4, line 16], as illustrated within Fig. 3; and wherein, the highest disparity is focally closest to the viewer [Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 17], as illustrated within Fig. 6; additionally, a partition map from a depth map [Col. 6, line 56 to Col. 7, line 24] and a partition map from a saliency map [Col. 12, line 54 to Col. 13, line 14]), adjust the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image based on the control map (Jiao; adjusting the degree of eye-attractiveness (corresponding to the focus disparity) of the viewpoint image based on the control map (i.e. depth map) [Col. 5, lines 32-56]), and control to display the stereoscopic image in the virtual space using each of the plurality of viewpoint images whose degrees of attractiveness have been adjusted (Jiao; controlling to display the stereoscopic image in the virtual space using each of the plurality of viewpoint images whose degrees of attractiveness (corresponding to the focus disparity) have been adjusted [Col. 6, lines 8-50 and Col. 8, lines 16-41 and Col. 8, lines 52-57]),
wherein the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a three-dimensional model included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of viewpoint images (Jiao; the circuitry (i.e. image generator) detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a 3D model included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of viewpoint images [Col. 10, lines 34-38, Col. 10, lines 57-65, Col. 11, lines 19-47, and Col. 12, lines 1-15]; moreover, as illustrated within Fig. 14, eye tracking generates an eye position map that is utilized by the multi-view generator which further influences the generation of 3D image [Id. as addressed above]; wherein, the generated plurality of viewpoint images [Col. 3, lines 56-65 and Col. 4, lines 17-26] are based on depth map data and the locations of the viewers’ eyes [Col. 4, lines 27-40]; additionally, high and low disparity regions are an aspect of generating multi-view images [Col. 4, lines 41-60 and Col. 5, lines 8-17]).
Tanaka and Jiao are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka, to incorporate teaches to: detect an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user, generate a control map indicating a distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness in each viewpoint image based on a distance from the eye-attracting area, adjust the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image based on the control map, and control to display the stereoscopic image in the virtual space using each of the plurality of viewpoint images whose degrees of attractiveness have been adjusted, wherein the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a three-dimensional model included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of viewpoint images (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Tanaka as modified by Jiao fails to explicitly disclose a visual attention of a user needs to be attracted; and
a position of the eye attracting area designated by a creator of content data with respect to a three-dimensional model, the information being included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of images.
However, Lino teaches to: detect an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user needs to be attracted (Lino; detecting an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user (subjectively) needs to be attracted (given an increased rendering factor) [¶ 0043-0044, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; moreover, region of interest [¶ 0022-0023]); and
wherein the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information on a position of the eye-attracting area designated by a creator of content data with respect to a three-dimensional model (Lino; the circuitry detects the eye-attracting area based on information [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0048-0049] on a position of the eye-attracting area designated by a creator of content data with respect to a 3D model [¶ 0062-0064 and ¶ 0068]; wherein, a focus frame is implemented [¶ 0087] via an application [¶ 0024-0026] associated with different sampling rates [¶ 0071-0073]; wherein, a focus frame is update-able [¶ 0074, ¶ 0077-0078, and ¶ 0081]; additionally, a focus frame involves configuration data associated with geometry engine [¶ 0036-0037], rendering engine [¶ 0038], and focus frame sampling ratio [¶ 0039-0040]), the information being included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of images (Lino; the information [as addressed above] being included in the content data used to generate each of the plurality of images [¶ 0040-0042 and ¶ 0052], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, rendering based on updated focus frames [¶ 0059-0060 and ¶ 0072]; and additionally, the content data includes data associated with the focus frame [¶ 0063, ¶ 0069, and ¶ 0071], as illustrated within Fig. 4).
Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao, to incorporate an eye-attracting area detection unit that detects an eye-attracting area of a virtual space to which a visual attention of a user needs to be attracted (as taught by Lino), in order to provide efficient rendering of three-dimensional environments (Lino; [¶ 0001-0002 and ¶ 0012-0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control map defines such a distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness in which the degree of eye-attractiveness becomes lower as the distance from the eye-attracting area is more distant (Jiao; the control map (i.e. depth map) defines such a distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness (i.e. focus disparity) in which the degree of eye-attractiveness (i.e. focus disparity) becomes lower as the distance from the eye-attracting area is more distant [Col. 4, line 17 to Col. 5, line 17], as illustrated within Figs. 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate the control map defines such a distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness in which the degree of eye-attractiveness becomes lower as the distance from the eye-attracting area is more distant (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, the circuitry (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Jiao further teaches generate a distance map of each viewpoint image based on three-dimensional coordinate information of the stereoscopic image (Jiao; generating a distance map of each viewpoint image based on 3D coordinate information of the stereoscopic image [Col. 4, lines 17-40], as illustrated within Figs. 4-5), determine a spatial distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness of the virtual space using a position of the eye-attracting area as a reference (Jiao; determining a spatial distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness (i.e. focus disparity) of the virtual space using a position of the eye-attracting area as a reference [Col. 4, lines 17-55], as illustrated within Figs. 4-6), and generate the control map based on the distance map and the spatial distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness (Jiao; generating the control map (i.e. depth map) based on the distance map and the spatial distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness (i.e. focus disparity) [Col. 4, lines 17-55], as illustrated within Figs. 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate generate a distance map of each viewpoint image based on three-dimensional coordinate information of the stereoscopic image, determine a spatial distribution of a degree of eye-attractiveness of the virtual space using a position of the eye-attracting area as a reference, and generate the control map based on the distance map and the spatial distribution of the degree of eye-attractiveness (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, the circuitry (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Jiao further teaches adjusts the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image by adjusting at least one of frequency characteristics, brightness, saturation, contrast, transparency, or hue of each viewpoint image per pixel (Jiao; adjusting the degree of eye-attractiveness (i.e. focus disparity) of the viewpoint image by adjusting frequency characteristics, brightness, saturation, a contrast, transparency, or a hue of the viewpoint image per pixel [Col. 4, lines 27-40 and Col. 5, lines 4-17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate adjusts the degree of eye-attractiveness of each viewpoint image by adjusting at least one of frequency characteristics, brightness, saturation, contrast, transparency, or hue of each viewpoint image per pixel (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, the circuitry (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Jiao further teaches detects the eye-attracting area further based on at least one of user input information or a gazing position of the user, or an eye-attracting position extracted from content data (Jiao; detects the eye-attracting area based on user input information or a gazing position of the user [¶ 0196-0198]; additionally, sight line tracking [¶ 0756-0757]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate detects the eye-attracting area further based on at least one of user input information or a gazing position of the user (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 7 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 7 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 8; however, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Tanaka further discloses a program causing a computer to execute (Tanaka; a program causing a computer to execute [¶ 0001 and ¶ 0038]; moreover, computer programs [¶ 0767, ¶ 0769, and ¶ 0820]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position of the eye-attracting area is designated as a planar area with respect to the three-dimensional model (Lino; the position of the eye-attracting area is designated as a planar area with respect to the three-dimensional model [¶ 0028 and ¶ 0075], as illustrated within Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao, to incorporate the position of the eye-attracting area is designated as a planar area with respect to the three-dimensional model (as taught by Lino), in order to provide efficient rendering of three-dimensional environments (Lino; [¶ 0001-0002 and ¶ 0012-0013]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Noh et al., US PGPUB No. 20120007855 A1, hereinafter Noh.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, the circuitry (Tanaka; the circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Jiao further teaches extract a plurality of virtual objects from content data (Jiao; extracting a plurality of virtual objects from content data [Col. 4, lines 17-26], as illustrated within Fig. 4), and adjust a degree of eye-attractiveness of each of the virtual objects based on an alpha value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object (Jiao; adjusting a degree of eye-attractiveness of each of the virtual objects based on an implicit alpha (given lightness-darkness) value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object [Col. 4, line 27 to Col. 5, line 3], as illustrated within Figs. 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate extract a plurality of virtual objects from content data, and adjust a degree of eye-attractiveness of each of the virtual objects based on an alpha value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object (as taught by Jiao), in order to provide an improved immersive experience that allow visualizations/imaging to be dynamic in relation to user movements and/or viewing perspectives (Jiao; [Col. 1, lines 15-41 and Col. 2, lines 20-35]).
Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino fails to explicitly disclose the virtual objects based on an alpha value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object.
However, Noh teaches the virtual objects based on an alpha value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object (Noh; the virtual objects based on an alpha value [¶ 0035-0038] corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object [¶ 0047-0050]; moreover, parallax in relation with a stereoscopic effect [¶ 0045 and ¶ 0051]).
Tanaka in view of Jiao and Lino and Noh are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Tanaka as modified by Jiao and Lino, to incorporate the virtual objects based on an alpha value corresponding to a distance between the virtual object and the eye-attracting area per virtual object (as taught by Noh), in order to provide three-dimensional imaging from two-dimensional data (Noh; [Abstract and ¶ 0005-0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding creating and/or rendering using specialized regions)
Ji et al. (US PGPUB No. 20210091243 A1);
Faulkner et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220091723 A1);
Mitchell et al. (US PGPUB No. 20180061084 A1);
Kim et al. (US Patent No. 10524018 B2);
Hirvonen et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220269340 A1); and
Sakamoto et al. (US PGPUB No. 20050022133 A1).
(regarding multiple viewpoints)
Varanasi et al. (US PGPUB No. 20180182178 A1);
Itakura (US PGPUB No. 20180089523 A1); and
Morisawa et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200058167 A1).
(regarding directed gazing)
McCoy et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200097146 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 26111
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611