DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiyama (U.S. Publication 2005/0206260).
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama teaches mechanical magnetic drive extension (see figure 7 item 11a) adapted to be positioned in a space between: (i) a magnetic drive configured to generate a rotating magnetic field that causes a first rotational magnetic force to be applied to a component driven by the magnetic drive (electric motor 41c along with shaft 42c are considered reading on the magnetic drive, the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed), and (ii) the component driven by the magnetic drive (disc 21c); the mechanical magnetic drive extension having a housing that houses a rotating shaft around which a rotating magnet mount is configured to rotate (item 11a houses magnets 10a is configured to rotate via shaft 42c), wherein two oppositely polarized magnets are attached to opposite sides of the rotating magnet mount (see figure 1 items 10a which show alternating adjacent magnets 10A), such that the first rotational force causes the rotating magnet mount to rotate (the rotational force is considered intended use, item 10a is considered capable of rotating), and such that the rotation of the rotating magnet mount generates a second rotating magnetic field that causes a second rotational magnetic force to be applied to the component (rotation of item 11a leads to the rotation of 21c which creates a second rotating magnetic field).
Regarding claim 2, Akiyama teaches wherein the mechanical drive extension is cylindrical in shape (item11a disk is considered reading on a cylinder shape since it has a height and a circular cross section when viewed in the figure 1 plan view).
Regarding claim 3, Akiyama teaches wherein the mechanical magnetic drive extension is substantially the same as the diameter of the magnetic drive (the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed, however item 11a is shown as substantially the same diameter as item 41c).
Regarding claim 4, Akiyama teaches wherein the mechanical magnetic drive extension is cylindrically oriented such that a first circular face of the mechanical magnetic drive extension faces the magnetic drive (bottom of item 11a faces item 42c) and a second circular face of the mechanical magnetic drive extension faces the component driven by the magnetic drive (top side of item 11a).
Regarding claim 5, Akiyama teaches wherein the component driven by the magnetic drive is an agitator (item 21c is used to agitate material inside item 31c, the component driven by the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Akiyama teaches wherein a cylindrical height of the mechanical magnetic drive extension is less than a distance above the magnetic drive at which a mixing tank in which the agitator is positioned is supported (the magnetic drive and the agitator are considered intended use and the mechanical magnetic drive is considered capable of being orientated in such a manner relative to the mixing tank and agitator).
Regarding claim 7, Akiyama teaches wherein a cylindrical height of the mechanical magnetic drive extension is substantially the same as a distance above the magnetic drive at which a mixing tank in which the agitator is positioned is supported (the magnetic drive and the agitator are considered intended use and the mechanical magnetic drive is considered capable of being orientated in such a manner relative to the mixing tank and agitator).
Regarding claim 8, a magnetically permeable magnetic drive extension (figure 7 item 11a and figure 1 configuration) adapted to be positioned in a space between (i) i) a magnetic drive configured to generate a rotating magnetic field that causes a first rotational magnetic force to be applied to a component driven by the magnetic drive (electric motor 41c along with shaft 42c are considered reading on the magnetic drive, the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed), and (ii) the component driven by the magnetic drive (disc 21c); the magnetically permeable magnetic drive extension being comprises of an insulating material (item 11a) in which one or more magnetic conductor components are embedded with even spacing around an interior perimeter of the magnetically permeable magnetic drive extension (item 10a as shown in the figure 1 configuration).
Regarding claim 9, Akiyama teaches wherein the magnetically permeable drive extension is cylindrical in shape (item11a disk is considered reading on a cylinder shape since it has a height and a circular cross section when viewed in the figure 1 plan view).
Regarding claim 10, Akiyama teaches wherein the magnetically permeable magnetic drive extension is substantially the same as the diameter of the magnetic drive (the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed, however item 11a is shown as substantially the same diameter as item 41c).
Regarding claim 11, Akiyama teaches wherein the permeable magnetic drive extension is cylindrically oriented such that a first circular face of the permeable magnetic drive extension faces the magnetic drive (bottom of item 11a faces item 42c) and a second circular face of the permeable magnetic drive extension faces the component driven by the magnetic drive (top side of item 11a).
Regarding claim 12, Akiyama teaches wherein the component driven by the magnetic drive is an agitator (item 21c is used to agitate material inside item 31c, the component driven by the magnetic drive is not considered positively claimed).
Regarding claim 13, Akiyama teaches wherein a cylindrical height of the magnetically permeable drive extension is less than a distance above the magnetic drive at which a mixing tank in which the agitator is positioned is supported (the magnetic drive and the agitator are considered intended use and the mechanical magnetic drive is considered capable of being orientated in such a manner relative to the mixing tank and agitator).
Regarding claim 14, Akiyama teaches wherein a cylindrical height of the magnetically permeable drive extension is substantially the same as a distance above the magnetic drive at which a mixing tank in which the agitator is positioned is supported (the magnetic drive and the agitator are considered intended use and the mechanical magnetic drive is considered capable of being orientated in such a manner relative to the mixing tank and agitator).
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774