DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/27/2026 has been fully considered. An initialed cope of said IDS is enclosed herein.
Drawings
The drawings filed 9/29/2023 are accepted.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 10-15, in the reply filed on 6/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao (PG-PUB 2020/0239744).
Liao teaches a release agent composition comprising: 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone (0065), a compound that has a structure for absorbing the light and contains at least one hydroxy group [0020], [0064]-[0066]; and polydimethylsiloxane, an organosiloxane polymer [0057]-[0059]. The 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone taught by Liao is understood to anticipate the structure of claim 10 because it is one of the claimed species of compound listed in claim 10.
With regards to the limitations of claim 10 that the composition is “for forming a release layer of laminate including a semiconductor substate, a support substrate, and an adhesive layer and a release layer that are provided between the semiconductor substrate and the support substrate,” and “used of release the semiconductor substrate and the support substrate after the release layer absorbs light emitted form a side of the support substrate,” said limitations are understood to be intended use and purpose limitations which do not define any of the claimed invention’s limitations; thus, said preamble limitations are not considered limitations and are of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP 2111.02).
With regards to claim 11, 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone has two or more aromatic rings constituting an electron conjugate system.
With regards to claim 13, 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone has a structure comprising benzophenone. Liao teaches the release agent composition further comprising polydimethylsiloxane, an organosiloxane polymer [0057]-[0059].
With regards to claim 15, the polydimethylsiloxane reads on the claimed siloxane units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (PG-PUB 2020/0239744), as applied to claims above, and further in view of Itoh (US 2014/0323652).
Liao is relied upon as above. Specifically, Liao teaches the 2 hydroxy,4-methoxybenzophenone may be utilized as a UV-absorbent in an organopolysiloxane curable composition, but does not teach other UV-absorbent compounds may be used. However, Itoh teaches a process from producing a plastic lenses composition wherein the UV absorbent compound comprising an anthrocenedione compound of formula 1 or 2 (abstract) is added to the composition (abstract). Said compound read on formula 2 of claim 14. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the anthrocenedione additive taught in Itoh to the composition of Liao in order to enhance the UV absorbance and clarity of said composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Art-related Rejection
With respect to the rejection of claims 10-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0239744 ("Liao"), applicant argues the rejection should be withdrawn because the Office Action has not met the initial burden of presenting a prima facie case of unpatentability with respect to the amended claims. Applicant notes the Office Action finds that Liao teaches a release agent composition comprising: 2,4-dihydroxydibenzophenone, a compound that has a structure for absorbing the light and contains at least one hydroxy group [0020], [0064]-[0066]; and polydimethylsiloxane, an organosiloxane polymer [0057]-[0059]. Applicant argues said findings are not germane to the claimed features as amended (particularly, in view of 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone now being excluded from the
scope of the amended claims). Said argument is noted but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US2014/0349125 teaches a photocurable polysiloxane release composition.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787