DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 2/18/2026. Claims 16-35 are pending.
Invite to Interview
The examiner has inherited this case and therefore would like to note on the record that if the attorney believes it would be beneficial to do a phone interview, the examiner would appreciate the attorney’s time to discuss the case and the previous prior art used as well as possible paths forward, thank you.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of 63/167,838, filed 3/30/2021. The assignee of record is InterDigital Patent Holdings, Inc. The listed inventor(s) is/are: Narayanan Thangaraj, Yugeswar Deenoo; Jain, Swayambhoo; Pelletier, Ghyslain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
a.
a. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Guttman reference appears to teach a transmission indicating a second data processing model (see ¶ 0154, 0160 below) and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (see ¶ 0160 below). Guttman does not teach CSI feedback determination. However, Mahndi teaches CSI feedback determination, (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback, section 3, DL-Based MIMO CSI Reduction and Feedback, section 3.1 Digital CSI Feedback, section 3.2, Analog CSI Feedback). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song, and Guttmann before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Mahdi so that of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination be included a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The motivation to combine the teachings of Mahdi would enable CSI feedback determination. (Mahdi, Abstract, whole document, emphasis: Fig. 1, page 2, section 3, section 3.1, and section 3.2)
Guttman ¶ 0154 teaches a message transmitted to external devices that comprises an indication of the inference models to be utilized and that the message may be configured to cause the other process to utilize the inference models as described above.
Guttman ¶ 0160 the inference model selected by Step 920 may comprise a result of training a machine learning algorithm on a plurality of selected training examples, and Step 940 may update the selected plurality according to the update to the information related to available processing resources (for example, the amount of training examples may be increased and/or decreased in response to an update to the available memory size)…. Step 950 may compare the updated inference model with the inference model of Step 920 to determine if the update to the inference model is below a selected threshold (for example, using process 1000, using process 1100, etc.). In some examples, when Step 950 determines that the update is below the selected threshold, process 900 may withhold and/or forgo Step 960
Please see Guttman Fig. 9 below, thank you:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 16-20, 24-30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, (International Publication Number: WO 2021/051362 A1), in view of Guttmann et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0365575 A1), and further in view of Mahdi et al., (Deep Learning for Massive MIMO Channel State Acquisition and Feedback, Indian Institute of Science, VOL 100-21369-382, April 2020).
Claims 1-15. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 16, (New) Song discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300)
a processor configured to: (Song, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157], and [00159] processor 1310)
Song does not explicitly disclose following:
determine, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination;
determine that a first triggering condition has been satisfied, wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value;
determine a second data processing model of CSI feedback determination based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition; and
send a transmission that indicates the second data processing model of CSI feedback determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition.
However, Song in view of Guttmann disclose following:
determine, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources, Fig. 2B, paragraph [0055] one or more processing units 220)
determine that a first triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value; (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources)
determine a second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
send a transmission that indicates the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Guttmann so that determine, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model, determine that a first triggering condition has been satisfied, wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value; determine a second data processing model based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition; and send a transmission that indicates the second data processing model determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition be included a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The motivation to combine the teachings of Guttman would include data processing models, and triggering conditions. (Guttmann, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0019])
Song, and Guttmann do not explicitly disclose following:
of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination
However, Song, and Guttmann in view of Mahdi disclose following:
of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback, section 3, DL-Based MIMO CSI Reduction and Feedback, section 3.1 Digital CSI Feedback, section 3.2, Analog CSI Feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song, and Guttmann before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Mahdi so that of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination be included a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The motivation to combine the teachings of Mahdi would enable CSI feedback determination. (Mahdi, Abstract, whole document, emphasis: Fig. 1, page 2, section 3, section 3.1, and section 3.2)
Regarding Claim 17, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16 (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300), wherein the transmission indicates a reason for a usage of the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and wherein the reason for the usage of the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) comprises the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 18, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16 (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300), wherein the value is a first value, wherein the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) is that the change in the processing capability (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) associated with the WTRU is greater than the first value and less than a second value, and wherein the processor is further configured to: (Song, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157], and [00159] processor 1310)
determine that a second triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the second triggering condition comprises a condition that the change in the processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than the second value (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system);
determine a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
send a transmission that indicates the third data processing model of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 19, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16 (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300), wherein the change of the processing capability associated with the WTRU comprises a change in a processing power allocated to the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16 (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300), wherein the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination is determined (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on an adaptation of the first data processing model of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and wherein the transmission further indicates at least one of: a type of the adaptation of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources); or an extent of the adaptation of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 24, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16 (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300), wherein the received configuration information indicates a configuration of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), a configuration of the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 25, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300, processor 1310) to receive a radio resource control message that indicates the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 16.
Regarding Claim 26, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300)
determining, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback);
determining that a first triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value;
determining a second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
sending a transmission that indicates the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
Song does not explicitly disclose following:
determining, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination;
determining that a first triggering condition has been satisfied, wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value;
determining a second data processing model of CSI feedback determination based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition; and
sending a transmission that indicates the second data processing model of CSI feedback determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition.
However, Song in view of Guttmann disclose following:
determining, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources, Fig. 2B, paragraph [0055] one or more processing units 220)
determining that a first triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value; (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources)
determining a second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
sending a transmission that indicates the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Guttmann so that determining, based on received configuration information, a first data processing model, determining that a first triggering condition has been satisfied, wherein the first triggering condition comprises a condition that a change in a processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than a value; determining a second data processing model based on the satisfaction of the first triggering condition; and sending a transmission that indicates the second data processing model determination and the satisfaction of the first triggering condition be included a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The motivation to combine the teachings of Guttman would include data processing models, and triggering conditions. (Guttmann, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0019])
Song, and Guttmann do not explicitly disclose following:
of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination
However, Song, and Guttmann in view of Mahdi disclose following:
of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song, and Guttmann before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Mahdi so that of channel state information (CSI) feedback determination; of CSI feedback determination, and of CSI feedback determination be included a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The motivation to combine the teachings of Mahdi would enable CSI feedback determination. (Mahdi, Abstract, whole document, emphasis: Fig. 1, page 2, section 3, section 3.1, and section 3.2)
Regarding Claim 27, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the transmission indicates a reason for a usage of the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and wherein the reason for the usage of the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) comprises the satisfaction of the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
Regarding Claim 28, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the value is a first value, wherein the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) is that the change in the processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than the first value and less than a second value, and wherein the method further comprises (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system):
determining that a second triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the second triggering condition comprises a condition that the change in the processing capability associated with the WTRU is greater than the second value (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system);
determining a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
sending a transmission that indicates the third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
Regarding Claim 29, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the change of the processing capability associated with the WTRU comprises a change in a processing power allocated to the first data processing model of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
Regarding Claim 30, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the second data processing model of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) is determined based on an adaptation of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and wherein the transmission further indicates at least one of: a type of the adaptation of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources); or an extent of the adaptation of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
Regarding Claim 34, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, wherein the received configuration information indicates a configuration of the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), a configuration of the second data processing model of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback), and the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
Regarding Claim 35, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising receiving a radio resource control message that indicates the first triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivations are same as that for claim 26.
6. Claims 21-22, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, (International Publication Number: WO 2021/051362 A1), Guttmann et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0365575 A1), and Mahdi et al., (Deep Learning for Massive MIMO Channel State Acquisition and Feedback, Indian Institute of Science, VOL 100-21369-382, April 2020), in view of Zhang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0087280 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300, processor 1310)
determine a performance metric associated with the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources), wherein the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) is determined further based on the performance metric associated with the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources).
Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi do not explicitly disclose following:
generate a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgements (NACKs) over a preconfigured amount of time; and based on the number of HARQ NACKs generated over the preconfigured amount of time
However, Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi, in view of Zhang disclose following:
generate a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgements (NACKs) over a preconfigured amount of time; and based on the number of HARQ NACKs generated over the preconfigured amount of time (Zhang, paragraph [0048] discloses ACK/NACK, Fig. 3, paragraph [0051] ACK/NACK, paragraphs [0053]-[0054] NACK, [0056], [0058]-[0059] disclose NACK, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0072]-[0073] disclose NACK, Fig. 7, paragraphs [0085]-[0086] disclose NACK, Fig. 8, [0088]-[0090] disclose NACK, paragraph [0119] discloses: HARQ-ACK feedback includes NACK. Various other passages disclose ACK/NACK, paragraph [0100], and [0127] predetermined time is preconfigured time)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhang so that generate a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgements (NACKs) over a preconfigured amount of time; and based on the number of HARQ NACKs generated over the preconfigured amount of time be included in the configuration of a processor of the WTRU. The motivation to combine the teachings of Zhang would enable to generate HARQ NACKs over the predetermined/preconfigured time. (Zhang, Abstract, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0054], [0056], [0058]-[0059], Fig. 5, paragraphs [0072]-[0073], Fig. 7, paragraphs [0085]-[0086], Fig. 8, [0088]-[0090], [0100], and [0127])
Regarding Claim 22, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, Mahdi, and Zhang disclose the WTRU of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300, processor 1310)
perform channel measurements (Song, Abstract, machine learning-based channel estimation, here the measurements is being interpreted as estimation, Fig. 1A, paragraphs [0050]-[0051] channel estimation/measurements required for parameter configuration in communication over the corresponding channel, Fig. 1B, and 1 paragraphs [0052]-[0065], Fig. 2, paragraph [0066]-[0085], paragraph [0076]-[0080] disclose channel estimation model 203), wherein the channel measurements comprise a first reference signal received power (RSRP) (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) associated with a channel and a second RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) associated with the channel, and wherein the first RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) is associated with a first measurement range, and the second RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) is associated with a second measurement range (Song, paragraphs [0081]-[0082] ranges);
determine that a second triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) comprises a condition that the first measurement range associated with the first RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) and the second measurement range associated with the second RSRP are different (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP);
determine a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
send a transmission that indicates the third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivation is same as that for claim 21.
Regarding Claim 31, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, Mahdi, and Zhang disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising:
generating a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgements (NACKs) over a preconfigured amount of time (Zhang, paragraph [0048] discloses ACK/NACK, Fig. 3, paragraph [0051] ACK/NACK, paragraphs [0053]-[0054] NACK, [0056], [0058]-[0059] disclose NACK, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0072]-[0073] disclose NACK, Fig. 7, paragraphs [0085]-[0086] disclose NACK, Fig. 8, [0088]-[0090] disclose NACK, paragraph [0119] discloses: HARQ-ACK feedback includes NACK. Various other passages disclose ACK/NACK); and
determining a performance metric associated with the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) based on the number of HARQ NACKs generated over the preconfigured amount of time (Zhang, paragraph [0048] discloses ACK/NACK, Fig. 3, paragraph [0051] ACK/NACK, paragraphs [0053]-[0054] NACK, [0056], [0058]-[0059] disclose NACK, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0072]-[0073] disclose NACK, Fig. 7, paragraphs [0085]-[0086] disclose NACK, Fig. 8, [0088]-[0090] disclose NACK, paragraph [0119] discloses: HARQ-ACK feedback includes NACK. Various other passages disclose ACK/NACK), wherein the second data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) is determined further based on the performance metric associated with the first data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources).
The motivation is same as that for claim 21.
Regarding Claim 32, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, Mahdi, and Zhang disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising:
performing channel measurements, wherein the channel measurements comprise a first reference signal received power (RSRP) (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) associated with a channel and a second RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) associated with the channel, and wherein the first RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) is associated with a first measurement range, and the second RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) is associated with a second measurement range;
determining that a second triggering condition has been satisfied, wherein the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) comprises a condition that the first measurement range associated with the first RSRP (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP) and the second measurement range associated with the second RSRP are different (Zhang, paragraph [0100], and [0127] disclose RSRP);
determining a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
sending a transmission that indicates the third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivation is same as that for claim 21.
7. Claims 23, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, (International Publication Number: WO 2021/051362 A1), Guttmann et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0365575 A1), and Mahdi et al., (Deep Learning for Massive MIMO Channel State Acquisition and Feedback, Indian Institute of Science, VOL 100-21369-382, April 2020), in view of Jin et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0229781 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi disclose the WTRU of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: (Song, paragraph [0043] terminal device, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0044] first device 110, second devices 120, Fig. 13, paragraph [00157] device 1300, processor 1310)
determine that a second triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system);
determine a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
send a transmission that indicates the third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi do not explicitly disclose following:
comprises a condition that the WTRU changes from using a first bandwidth part (BWP) to using a second BWP, and wherein a frequency range of the first BWP and a frequency range of the second BWP are different
However, Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi, in view of Jin disclose following:
comprises a condition that the WTRU changes from using a first bandwidth part (BWP) to using a second BWP, and wherein a frequency range of the first BWP and a frequency range of the second BWP are different (Jin, paragraphs [0029], [0029], [0036], [0091], Fig. 3, and paragraphs [0108], and [0113] disclose different bandwidth part (BWP) sizes)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of , Song, Guttmann, and Mahdi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Jin so that comprises a condition that the WTRU changes from using a first bandwidth part (BWP) to using a second BWP, and wherein a frequency range of the first BWP and a frequency range of the second BWP are different be included in be included in the configuration of a processor of the WTRU. The motivation to combine the teachings of Jin would enable to include different bandwidth part (BWP) sizes in different CSI measurement configuration/types. (Jin, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0057])
Regarding Claim 33, (New) The combination of Song, Guttmann, Mahdi, and Jin disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising:
determining that a second triggering condition has been satisfied (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system), wherein the second triggering condition comprises a condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system) that the WTRU changes from using a first bandwidth part (BWP) to using a second BWP, and wherein a frequency range of the first BWP and a frequency range of the second BWP are different (Jin, paragraphs [0029], [0029], [0036], [0091], Fig. 3, and paragraphs [0108], and [0113] disclose different bandwidth part (BWP) sizes);
determining a third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system); and
sending a transmission that indicates the third data processing model (Guttmann, Abstract, models based on available processing resources) of CSI feedback determination (Mahdi, Abstract, CSI feedback, Fig. 1, page 2 discloses CSI feedback) and the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (Guttmann, paragraph [0009] actions be triggered automatically in a dataset management system).
The motivation is same as that for claim 23.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached on 571-272-9617.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418