Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2023 and 02/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11, 12, 14, 20-23, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764).
Regarding claim 1, Richard discloses a method of managing cross-link interference (CLI) by a first network node of a wireless communication network (interference cancellation information comprises the at least one IRS configuration pair of beam and corresponding phase factor; page 3), comprising:
generating a reflection coefficient measurement configuration for an intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) controlled by the first network node to mitigate the CLI caused by a first user equipment (UE) controlled by the first network node to a second UE controlled by a second network node (target metric may comprise a signal-to-interference and noise ratio based on channel coefficients (b.sub.n, b.sub.x,n) of a serving beam of the serving node 110a, 820 directed towards the user device 120, 801a and a number of reflection beams formed at the IRS and fed by the serving beam, and / or the channel coefficients (b,, b.sub.x ) of an interfering beam of the interfering node 110b covering the user device 120, 801a and the number of reflection beams fed by the interfering beam; page 19);
transmitting, to the IRS, network information comprising the reflection coefficient measurement configuration (instructing an intelligent reflecting surface, IRS, to form a beam, the method comprising: receiving, by a serving node, interference cancellation information from a user device, wherein the interference cancellation information comprises at least one IRS configuration pair of beam and corresponding phase factor, wherein the IRS configuration pair of beam and corresponding phase factor indicates a beam to be formed at the IRS which reflects a signal from the serving node and/or from an interfering node. signaling, by the serving node, an instruction message to the IRS, the instruction message instructing the IRS to form a beam according to the at least one IRS configuration pair of beam and corresponding phase factor; page 9-10);
receiving, from the second network node in response to transmitting the network information, CLI measurement information associated with the second UE and corresponding to the reflection coefficient measurement configuration (number of reflection beams formed at the IRS and fed by the serving beam, and / or the channel coefficients of an interfering beam of the interfering node covering the user device and the number of reflection beams formed at the IRS and fed by the interfering beam. This provides the advantage that the channel coefficients of the serving beam and the channel coefficients of the interfering beam can be used for determining an optimal configuration of the IRS; page 5-6);
identifying a particular reflection coefficient from a set of different reflection coefficients associated with the reflection coefficient measurement configuration based on the CLI measurement information; and configuring the IRS with the particular reflection coefficient (determining the at least one IRS configuration pair of beam and corresponding phase factor is based on a target metric calculated from the determined channel coefficients of the serving beam and the number of reflection beams fed by the serving beam and/or the determined channel coefficients of the interfering beam and the number of reflection beams fed by the interfering beam; page 5).
Richard does not expressly disclose transmitting, to the second network node, network information comprising the reflection coefficient measurement configuration.
In an analogous art, Jiang discloses transmitting, to the second network node, network information comprising the reflection coefficient measurement configuration (If the first node or the second node is an LIS node, the transmission mode indicated by the first information may correspond to one or several sets of reflection coefficients/refraction coefficients, or correspond to one or several sets of configurations of the control signal/bias voltage, or LIS forwarding signals corresponding to different transmission modes have different beams; [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Jiang into the system of Richard in order to improve the reliability of transmitting a signal related to a second node according to the transmission mode corresponding to the second node (Jiang; [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Richard and Jiang, particularly Richard discloses wherein the reflection coefficient measurement configuration comprises at least one of a time-domain pattern of the set of different reflection coefficients or an indication of the set of different reflection coefficients (target metric is based on a signal power of the channel coefficient of the serving beam and a number of channel coefficients of the reflection beams fed by the serving beam, each reflection beam being phase shifted by a respective phase-factor of a predetermined set of phase factors; page 6).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Richard and Jiang, particularly Richard discloses wherein the reflection coefficient measurement configuration identifies a time-domain pattern of the set of different reflection coefficients and comprises at least one of:
a time duration of use by the IRS of each of the set of different reflection coefficients; a starting time of use of a first one of the set of different reflection coefficients; a number of reflection coefficients in the set of different reflection coefficients; an indication of a value corresponding to each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients; or a time-domain pattern indicator that identifies the time-domain pattern (usage of the phase shift provides an additional parameter for maximizing the target metric to yield an optimal SINR at the user device. As mentioned above, there is only one phase factor to be determined at the IRS. The time slot for determining the channel coefficient of the serving beam and the channel coefficient of the interfering beam may be a pre-defined time slot in which the IRS is switched off, and correspondingly there is no reflection of the serving beam and the interfering beam at the IRS; page 6).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Richard and Jiang, particularly Richard discloses wherein the reflection coefficient measurement configuration comprises each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients (the target metric is based on a signal power of the channel coefficient of the serving beam and a number of channel coefficients of the reflection beams fed by the serving beam, each reflection beam being phase shifted by a respective phase-factor of a predetermined set of phase factors; page 6).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764) and in view of Dou et al. (US 20230268961).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Richard and Jiang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the time duration or the starting time are indicated relative to a slot of a transmission frame, and wherein the time-domain pattern further includes a subcarrier spacing.
In an analogous art, Dou discloses wherein at least one of the time duration or the starting time are indicated relative to a slot of a transmission frame (the temporal information includes the time periods corresponding to multiple time slots in chronological order. When the next target time period of the target time period arrives (for example, the start time of the next target time period arrives), the reflection coefficient of the meta-surface is adjusted to the next target reflection coefficient by the meta-surface control unit; [0046]), and
wherein the time-domain pattern further includes a subcarrier spacing (a Sub-Carrier Space (SCS) is 30 kHz; the length of a radio frame is 10 ms; the number of time slots in each radio frame is 20; the receiving device sets a scanning beam update frequency as each time slot; [0098-0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dou into the system of Richard and Jiang in order to increase reflection efficiency and reduce cost (Dou; [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Claim(s) 6, 15, 24, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764) and in view of Sun et al. (US 20230134172).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Richard and Jiang does not expressly disclose receiving, by the first network node from the second network node, a request for the reflection coefficient measurement configuration; and wherein generating the reflection coefficient measurement configuration comprises generating, in response to receiving the request, the reflection coefficient measurement configuration.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses receiving, by the first network node from the second network node, a request for the reflection coefficient measurement configuration; and wherein generating the reflection coefficient measurement configuration comprises generating, in response to receiving the request, the reflection coefficient measurement configuration (first base station determines the M first reflectors belonging to the second base station, obtains the control right on the M first reflectors, adjusts the reflection phases of the M first reflectors, and then communicates with the first UE by using the Z second reflectors and the M first reflectors. In this way, channel bandwidth between the first base station and the first UE is increased, communication efficiency is improved, and the communication capability of the first UE is greatly improved. In addition, the first base station merely requests the first reflector in the second base station, and therefore does not need to request a resource of the second base station, so that a resource allocated by the second base station to the second UE is not affected; [0237]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Sun into the system of Richard and Jiang in order to reduce the interference of the neighbor base station to the first user device, so as to improve the communication capacity of the second user device (Sun; [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764) and in view of Schramm et al. (US 20110221633).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Richard and Jiang does not expressly disclose wherein receiving the CLI measurement information comprises at least one of: receiving an indication of the particular reflection coefficient having a lowest CLI measurement of CLI measurements by the second UE corresponding to each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients associated with the reflection coefficient measurement configuration; or receiving the set of different reflection coefficients sorted in an order of corresponding CLI strength; or receiving CLI measurements corresponding to a direct propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients; or receiving CLI measurements corresponding to an indirect propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients, via the IRS.
In an analogous art, Schramm discloses wherein receiving the CLI measurement information comprises at least one of: receiving an indication of the particular reflection coefficient having a lowest CLI measurement of CLI measurements by the second UE corresponding to each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients associated with the reflection coefficient measurement configuration; or receiving the set of different reflection coefficients sorted in an order of corresponding CLI strength; or receiving CLI measurements corresponding to a direct propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients; or receiving CLI measurements corresponding to an indirect propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients, via the IRS (a reflector (the object causing the reflection) introduces a longer path length for the RF signal to propagate and the difference between the reflected path and the direct path (i.e. the line of sight path) produces a phase shift between the two signals which may manifest itself as either destructive or constructive interference. Depending on the RF signal, the interference can cause the signal to appear to arrive earlier or later than it actually did, making the object appear closer or further away than it actually is; [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Schramm into the system of Richard and Jiang in order to enable synchronizing the base unit and the remote unit, wherein synchronizing includes establishing the predetermined times and periods (Schramm; [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764) and in view of Sun et al. (US 20230199734).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Richard and Jiang does not expressly disclose wherein identifying the particular reflection coefficient comprises: selecting the particular reflection coefficient from the set of different reflection coefficients having a corresponding CLI measurement that meets a CLI measurement criteria.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses wherein identifying the particular reflection coefficient comprises: selecting the particular reflection coefficient from the set of different reflection coefficients having a corresponding CLI measurement that meets a CLI measurement criteria (for solving the system capacity C, θ=diag(Φ) indicates a control parameter of each reflection unit in the IRS array, that is, a phase parameter. The network device may generate, by designing adjustment of θ, a cascading channel required by the terminal device. w.sub.i indicates a transmitting precoding vector of an i.sup.th user in u users, and is used to enhance a link gain and eliminate interference between a plurality of user data streams. p.sub.i indicates a transmit power allocated by the network device to an i.sup.th terminal device in u terminal devices. By optimizing and designing a parameter set {0, w.sub.i, p.sub.i}, a maximum system sum rate is obtained; [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Sun into the system of Richard and Jiang in order to enable determining the control parameter of the intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) array without affecting the transmission of the uplink data and the downlink data in the flexible time slot, thus improving channel design efficiency (Sun; [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Claim(s) 25, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al. (WO 2022199818) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20230006764) and Sun et al. (US 20230199734), and in view of Schramm et al. (US 20110221633).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Richard and Jiang does not expressly disclose selecting a particular reflection coefficient from the set of different reflection coefficients having a corresponding CLI measurement that meets a CLI measurement criteria; and wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting an indication of the particular reflection coefficient; or sorting the set of different reflection coefficients in an order of corresponding CLI strength; and wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting the sorted set of different reflection coefficients; or wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting a first set of CLI measurements corresponding to a direct propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients and a second set of CLI measurements corresponding to an indirect propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients, via the IRS.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses selecting a particular reflection coefficient from the set of different reflection coefficients having a corresponding CLI measurement that meets a CLI measurement criteria (for solving the system capacity C, θ=diag(Φ) indicates a control parameter of each reflection unit in the IRS array, that is, a phase parameter. The network device may generate, by designing adjustment of θ, a cascading channel required by the terminal device. w.sub.i indicates a transmitting precoding vector of an i.sup.th user in u users, and is used to enhance a link gain and eliminate interference between a plurality of user data streams. p.sub.i indicates a transmit power allocated by the network device to an i.sup.th terminal device in u terminal devices. By optimizing and designing a parameter set {0, w.sub.i, p.sub.i}, a maximum system sum rate is obtained; [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Sun into the system of Richard and Jiang in order to enable determining the control parameter of the intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) array without affecting the transmission of the uplink data and the downlink data in the flexible time slot, thus improving channel design efficiency (Sun; [0006]).
The combination of Richard, Jiang, and Sun does not expressly disclose wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting an indication of the particular reflection coefficient; or sorting the set of different reflection coefficients in an order of corresponding CLI strength; and wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting the sorted set of different reflection coefficients; or wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting a first set of CLI measurements corresponding to a direct propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients and a second set of CLI measurements corresponding to an indirect propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients, via the IRS.
In an analogous art, Schramm discloses wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting an indication of the particular reflection coefficient; or sorting the set of different reflection coefficients in an order of corresponding CLI strength; and wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting the sorted set of different reflection coefficients; or wherein transmitting the CLI measurement information comprises transmitting a first set of CLI measurements corresponding to a direct propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients and a second set of CLI measurements corresponding to an indirect propagation path between the first UE and the second UE for each reflection coefficient of the set of different reflection coefficients, via the IRS (a reflector (the object causing the reflection) introduces a longer path length for the RF signal to propagate and the difference between the reflected path and the direct path (i.e. the line of sight path) produces a phase shift between the two signals which may manifest itself as either destructive or constructive interference. Depending on the RF signal, the interference can cause the signal to appear to arrive earlier or later than it actually did, making the object appear closer or further away than it actually is; [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Schramm into the system of Richard, Sun, and Jiang in order to enable synchronizing the base unit and the remote unit, wherein synchronizing includes establishing the predetermined times and periods (Schramm; [0058]).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 25.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same reasoning applies to dependent claims 10, 16, and 19 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sedin et al. (US 20230413088), “CLI Reporting For MCG/SCG Failure.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413