DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 12/26/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1 and 15-33 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 15, 29 and 33 being independent. Claims 1, 15, 18, 29, 32 and 33 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot, because the new ground of rejection was caused by the amendment and does not rely on any reference applied in the aforementioned rejection for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, 18, 20, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US PG Publication 2024/0040457), in view of Deenoo, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0168678), hereafter Deenoo.
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches
a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition including at least a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station based on the serving cell where the terminal is currently located, and the candidate target cell is sent to the terminal by a configuration method. In this way, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied
[0066] Second distance of the location of the terminal relative to a reference location of the at least one candidate target cell
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal receives configuration based on current location, based on which the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell));
evaluating the location-based condition included in the execution condition
([0049] Through positioning, the terminal can know its current geographical location or the relative location information
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(The terminal determines (evaluates) relative location associated with the handover condition)); and
performing a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the execution condition being fulfilled
([0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal performs handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell being less than threshold)).
Hong does not teach
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold
([0097] The WTRU may be configured to trigger conditional handover to whichever of the plurality of target cells has a RSRP or RSRQ value exceeding that of the serving cell by a threshold amount, or by the greatest amount
[0140] Example events satisfying CHO execution conditions for a given target include Ax events, where A1 indicates that the serving cell has become better (e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSRQ or SINR with respect to the WTRU) than a threshold, A2 indicates that the serving cell has become worse than a threshold, A3 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better by an offset than a SpCell (special cell), A4 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of overcoming issues regarding frequent handover failures and/or radio link failures that may be attributed to the quality of a serving cell dropping rapidly within a short period of time and improving the reliability of control signaling (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 15, Hong teaches
a user equipment (UE)
([0242] Terminal communication device),
comprising:
at least one memory
([0243] Terminal communication device includes memory 1104); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to
([0243] Terminal communication device includes processor 1102, coupled to memory 1104):
receive configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition including a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station based on the serving cell where the terminal is currently located, and the candidate target cell is sent to the terminal by a configuration method. In this way, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied
[0066] Second distance of the location of the terminal relative to a reference location of the at least one candidate target cell
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal receives configuration based on current location, based on which the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell));
evaluate the location-based condition included in the execution condition
([0049] Through positioning, the terminal can know its current geographical location or the relative location information
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(The terminal determines (evaluates) relative location associated with the handover condition)); and
perform a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the execution condition being fulfilled
([0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal performs handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell being less than threshold)).
Hong does not teach
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold
([0097] The WTRU may be configured to trigger conditional handover to whichever of the plurality of target cells has a RSRP or RSRQ value exceeding that of the serving cell by a threshold amount, or by the greatest amount
[0140] Example events satisfying CHO execution conditions for a given target include Ax events, where A1 indicates that the serving cell has become better (e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSRQ or SINR with respect to the WTRU) than a threshold, A2 indicates that the serving cell has become worse than a threshold, A3 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better by an offset than a SpCell (special cell), A4 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of overcoming issues regarding frequent handover failures and/or radio link failures that may be attributed to the quality of a serving cell dropping rapidly within a short period of time and improving the reliability of control signaling (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 18, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong further teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and wherein the measurement-based condition is at least one of:
a measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than a measurement result of a source cell;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a first measurement threshold;
the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold; and
a cell selection criterion for the CHO candidate target cell
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell).
Regarding claim 20, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong further teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to
([0052] The above measurement information may also be data obtained by performing calculation or processing based on the relative location information. For example, according to the relative location information between the terminal and the satellite, signal strength and signal quality of the satellite cell, and other location relations are measured):
in response to fulfilling the location-based condition and in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition, initiate the CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell
([0052] The above measurement information may also be data obtained by performing calculation or processing based on the relative location information. For example, according to the relative location information between the terminal and the satellite, signal strength and signal quality of the satellite cell, and other location relations are measured
[0053] The measurement information of the satellite cell transmitted by the terminal can be used to determine whether a cell handover condition is satisfied and then to perform CHO).
Regarding claim 29, Hong teaches the
a processor for wireless communication
([0047] Apparatus 20 includes UE
[0048] Apparatus 20 UE includes processor),
comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to
([0048] Apparatus 20 UE processor, coupled to memory
[0050] Processor 22 may perform functions associated with the operation of apparatus 20 including overall control of the apparatus 20):
receive configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition a location-based condition associated with a location of a user equipment (UE) that includes the processor
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station based on the serving cell where the terminal is currently located, and the candidate target cell is sent to the terminal by a configuration method. In this way, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied
[0066] Second distance of the location of the terminal relative to a reference location of the at least one candidate target cell
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal receives configuration based on current location, based on which the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell));
evaluate the location-based condition included in the execution condition
([0049] Through positioning, the terminal can know its current geographical location or the relative location information
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(The terminal determines (evaluates) relative location associated with the handover condition)); and
perform a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the execution condition being fulfilled
([0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Terminal performs handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell being less than threshold)).
Hong does not teach
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold
([0097] The WTRU may be configured to trigger conditional handover to whichever of the plurality of target cells has a RSRP or RSRQ value exceeding that of the serving cell by a threshold amount, or by the greatest amount
[0140] Example events satisfying CHO execution conditions for a given target include Ax events, where A1 indicates that the serving cell has become better (e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSRQ or SINR with respect to the WTRU) than a threshold, A2 indicates that the serving cell has become worse than a threshold, A3 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better by an offset than a SpCell (special cell), A4 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of overcoming issues regarding frequent handover failures and/or radio link failures that may be attributed to the quality of a serving cell dropping rapidly within a short period of time and improving the reliability of control signaling (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 32, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the processor of claim 29.
Hong further teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and wherein the measurement-based condition is at least one of:
a measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than a measurement result of a source cell;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a first measurement threshold;
the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold; and
a cell selection criterion for the CHO candidate target cell
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell).
Claims 16, 17, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Kumar, et al (US PG Publication 2011/0092210), hereafter Kumar.
Regarding claim 16, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover starts to be able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels to within (enters) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by delay distance)); and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover ends being able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels beyond (leaves) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by point beyond (threshold outside of) delay distance, at which handover cannot be completed)); and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 30, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the processor of claim 29.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover starts to be able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels to within (enters) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by delay distance)); and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 31, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the processor of claim 29.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover ends being able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels beyond (leaves) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by point beyond (threshold outside of) delay distance, at which handover cannot be completed)); and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Claims 19, 21 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, et al (US PG Publication 2014/0024360), hereafter Jung.
Regarding claim 19, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
start to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling the location-based condition; and
an entry condition of the location-based condition being considered as fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to
([0136] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS (step S910). If a measurement result satisfies a reporting condition included in the measurement configuration information, the UE reports the measurement result to the BS (step S930)
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(measurement condition based on measurement configuration)):
start to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling the location-based condition
([0188] Step. 2 The UE sends an "entering" proximity indication when it determines it may be near a cell. The proximity indication includes the RAT and frequency of the cell.
[0189] Step. 3 The UE can perform measurements on the reported RAT and frequency
(Based on entering proximity condition being satisfied based on measurement configuration, the UE starts measurements)); and
an entry condition of the location-based condition being considered as fulfilled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 21, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
stop to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling a leaving condition of the location-based condition; and
determining that the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to
([0136] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS (step S910). If a measurement result satisfies a reporting condition included in the measurement configuration information, the UE reports the measurement result to the BS (step S930)
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(measurement condition based on measurement configuration)):
stop to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling a leaving condition of the location-based condition
([0203] The UE sends a “leaving” proximity indication to the source eNB. Upon reception of this indication, the source eNB may reconfigure the UE to stop measurements on the reported RAT and frequency
(Based on leaving proximity condition being satisfied based on measurement configuration, the UE stops measurements)); and
determining that the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 23, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
declare a radio link failure (RLF) before the execution condition being fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
declare a radio link failure (RLF) before the execution condition being fulfilled
([0019] The step of the performing the mobility with the target cell may further include performing handover with the target cell
[0092] In a first phase, while performing a normal operation, if the radio link is not recovered until the first wait time expires, the UE declares the radio link failure, and enters a second phase
(UE declares RLF associated with performing handover)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 24, Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 23.
Jung further teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
in response to declaring the RLF
([0089] If it is determined that the quality of the serving cell is so poor that communication is almost impossible, the UE determines the current situation as a radio link failure):
access the CHO candidate target cell
([0090] If the radio link failure is determined, the UE selects a new cell through a cell selection (or cell reselection) procedure, and attempts RRC connection re-establishment to the new cell); and
transmit assistant information to the CHO candidate target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] In a state of moving, if the UE determines that quality of a specific region is significantly bad, the UE may report a measurement result and location information on cells with bad quality to the network. The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 25, Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 24.
Jung further teaches
wherein the assistant information comprises at least one of
([0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation):
an indication to indicate whether an entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not;
an indication to indicate whether the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not when declaring the RLF;
time information regarding when the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the entry condition of the location-based condition;
an indication to indicate whether a measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation);
an indication to indicate whether the measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not when declaring the RLF; and
a time difference between first time information regarding when declaring the RLF and second time information regarding when the measurement-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition when declaring the RLF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Hong, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a handover command from a source cell before the execution condition being fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a handover command from a source cell before the execution condition being fulfilled
([0201] Step. 16 The source eNB transmits the Handover Command (RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including mobility control information) to the UE
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(UE receives handover command from source eNB before conditional handover satisfied)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 27, Hong, in view of Deenoo, in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 26.
Jung further teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
in response to receiving the handover command from the source cell:
access a target cell
([0201] Step. 16 The source eNB transmits the Handover Command (RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including mobility control information) to the UE
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(UE performs handover after receiving handover command from source eNB)); and
transmit assistant information to the target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation), and
wherein the target cell is one of:
the CHO candidate target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement); and
another target cell different from the CHO candidate target cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 28, Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 27.
Jung further teaches
wherein the assistant information comprises at least one of:
an indication to indicate whether an entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not;
an indication to indicate whether the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not when receiving the handover command;
time information regarding when the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the entry condition of the location-based condition;
an indication to indicate whether a measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation);
an indication to indicate whether the measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not when receiving the handover command; and
a time difference between third time information regarding when receiving the handover command and fourth time information regarding when the measurement-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition when receiving the handover command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, and further in view of Kumar.
Regarding claim 22, Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 21.
Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether the location of the UE is located at the configured area within a duration of a timer to trigger (TTT).
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether the location of the UE is located at the configured area within a duration of a timer to trigger (TTT)
([0030] A mobile unit moving at a velocity (v) should not be able to travel beyond D.sub.max (distance) before the handoff condition can be detected and the TTT and processing time required to make the handoff can elapse
(Determine whether mobile unit located at a distance within TTT)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of Xu, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0214839), hereafter Xu, and further in view of Deenoo.
Regarding claim 33, Hong teaches
a base station for wireless communication
([0254] Base station communication device),
comprising:
at least one memory
([0254] Base station communication device) includes memory 1232); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to
([0254] Base station communication device) includes at least one processor, and a memory resource represented by a memory 1232 for storing instructions, such as applications, that may be executed by the processing component 1222):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell, the execution condition including at least a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE
([0063] The candidate target cell may be a cell pre-selected or pre-determined by the base station based on the serving cell where the terminal is currently located, and the candidate target cell is sent to the terminal by a configuration method. In this way, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied
[0066] Second distance of the location of the terminal relative to a reference location of the at least one candidate target cell
[0067] If the second distance is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell
(Base station sends to a terminal, based on a selection of a candidate target cell, configuration based on current location of terminal, based on which the terminal can perform handover to the candidate target cell when the cell handover condition is satisfied, based on distance from terminal location to the candidate target cell)).
Hong does not teach
receive, from the UE, a configuration complete message.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches
receive, from the UE, a configuration complete message
([0130] The UE transmits a RRC reconfiguration complete message to the source base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of providing an enhanced mobility scheme and determining how to support mobility robustness in a handover process (see [0008]).
Hong, in view of Xu, does not teach
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
the execution condition comprises a measurement-based condition, and the measurement-based condition is that measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than measurement result of a source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold
([0097] The WTRU may be configured to trigger conditional handover to whichever of the plurality of target cells has a RSRP or RSRQ value exceeding that of the serving cell by a threshold amount, or by the greatest amount
[0140] Example events satisfying CHO execution conditions for a given target include Ax events, where A1 indicates that the serving cell has become better (e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSRQ or SINR with respect to the WTRU) than a threshold, A2 indicates that the serving cell has become worse than a threshold, A3 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better by an offset than a SpCell (special cell), A4 indicates that a neighbor cell has become better than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Hong, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of overcoming issues regarding frequent handover failures and/or radio link failures that may be attributed to the quality of a serving cell dropping rapidly within a short period of time and improving the reliability of control signaling (see [0084]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Da Silva, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0124590), hereafter Da Silva, teaches multiple conditional handover conditions, including an offset threshold.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641