DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 7/2/2026, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1 and 15-33 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 15, 29 and 33 being independent. Claims 1, 15, 18, 27, 29, 32 and 33 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot, because the new ground of rejection was caused by the amendment and does not rely on any reference applied in the aforementioned rejection for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, 16, 18-20, 29, 30, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0279417).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches
a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition including at least a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE and a measurement-based condition
([0004] A UE measures a Neighboring Cell according to a Measurement Configuration delivered by a Source BS to the UE
[0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01);
evaluating the location-based condition included in the execution condition to determine whether to evaluate the measurement-based condition
([0021] Information is used for indicating whether a measurement is performed on the first radio signal;
when the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone
[0056] The first condition comprises a relative positional relation between a first geographical location of the first node and a reference geographical zone
[0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report, without needing to ask all UEs to send measurement reports, thus reducing signaling overheads);
determining to evaluate the measurement-based condition in response to determining that the location-based condition is fulfilled
([0021] When the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal); and
performing a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the measurement-based condition being fulfilled
([0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches
a user equipment (UE)
([0500] UE),
comprising:
at least one memory
([0500] All or part of steps in the above method may be implemented through a program stored in a computer readable storage medium, for example Read-Only-Memory (ROM)); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to
([0500] All or part of steps in the above method may be implemented by instructing related hardware through a program. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, for example Read-Only-Memory (ROM), hard disk or compact disc, etc.):
receive configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition including a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE and a measurement-based condition
([0004] A UE measures a Neighboring Cell according to a Measurement Configuration delivered by a Source BS to the UE
[0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01);
evaluate the location-based condition included in the execution condition to determine whether to evaluate the measurement-based condition
([0021] Information is used for indicating whether a measurement is performed on the first radio signal;
when the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone
[0056] The first condition comprises a relative positional relation between a first geographical location of the first node and a reference geographical zone
[0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report, without needing to ask all UEs to send measurement reports, thus reducing signaling overheads);
determine to evaluate the measurement-based condition in response to determining that the location-based condition is fulfilled
([0021] When the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal); and
perform a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the measurement-based condition being fulfilled
([0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15,
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area
([0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the UE of claim 15,
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and wherein the measurement-based condition is at least one of:
a measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than a measurement result of a source cell;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a first measurement threshold
([0317] The first condition comprises that a first measurement value of the neighboring cell measured by the UE first node U01 is higher than a second measurement value of a serving cell measured by the first node U01);
the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes the offset better than the measurement result of the source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than the second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than the third measurement threshold; and
a cell selection criterion for the CHO candidate target cell
([0317] The first condition comprises that a first measurement value of the neighboring cell measured by the UE first node U01 is higher than a second measurement value of a serving cell measured by the first node U01).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15,
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
start to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling the location-based condition
([0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal); and
an entry condition of the location-based condition being considered as fulfilled
([0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the UE of claim 15,
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to
([0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01):
in response to fulfilling the location-based condition and in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition, initiate the CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell
([0021] When the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches
a processor for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to
([0500] All or part of steps in the above method may be implemented by instructing related hardware through a program. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, for example Read-Only-Memory (ROM), hard disk or compact disc, etc.):
receive configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell from a network device, the execution condition including a location-based condition associated with a location of a user equipment (UE) and a measurement-based condition
([0004] A UE measures a Neighboring Cell according to a Measurement Configuration delivered by a Source BS to the UE
[0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01);
evaluate the location-based condition included in the execution condition to determine whether to evaluate the measurement-based condition
([0021] Information is used for indicating whether a measurement is performed on the first radio signal;
when the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone
[0056] The first condition comprises a relative positional relation between a first geographical location of the first node and a reference geographical zone
[0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report, without needing to ask all UEs to send measurement reports, thus reducing signaling overheads);
determine to evaluate the measurement-based condition in response to determining that the location-based condition is fulfilled
([0021] When the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal); and
perform a CHO procedure to the CHO candidate target cell, in response to the measurement-based condition being fulfilled
([0058] Only a UE fulfilling the first condition can perform measurement on the first radio signal and send a measurement report to an NTN base station. The NTN base station then performs simultaneous handover among these UEs based on the measurement report
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches the processor of claim 29,
wherein an entry condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset less than a first distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is located at a configured area
([0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches the processor of claim 29,
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and wherein the measurement-based condition is at least one of:
a measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes an offset better than a measurement result of a source cell;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a first measurement threshold
([0317] The first condition comprises that a first measurement value of the neighboring cell measured by the UE first node U01 is higher than a second measurement value of a serving cell measured by the first node U01);
the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than a second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than a third measurement threshold;
the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes the offset better than the measurement result of the source cell, the measurement result of the source cell becomes worse than the second measurement threshold, and the measurement result of the CHO candidate target cell becomes better than the third measurement threshold; and
a cell selection criterion for the CHO candidate target cell
([0317] The first condition comprises that a first measurement value of the neighboring cell measured by the UE first node U01 is higher than a second measurement value of a serving cell measured by the first node U01).
Regarding claim 33, Zhang teaches
a base station for wireless communication
([0004] Source BS),
comprising:
at least one memory
([0500] All or part of steps in the above method may be implemented through a program stored in a computer readable storage medium, for example Read-Only-Memory (ROM)); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to
([0500] All or part of steps in the above method may be implemented by instructing related hardware through a program. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, for example Read-Only-Memory (ROM), hard disk or compact disc, etc.):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a conditional handover (CHO) candidate target cell and an execution condition for the CHO candidate target cell, the execution condition including at least a location-based condition associated with a location of the UE and a measurement-based condition
([0004] A UE measures a Neighboring Cell according to a Measurement Configuration delivered by a Source BS to the UE
[0021] When the first geographical location of the first node ([0185] The UE corresponds to first node, hereafter UE first node) is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal
[0393] When a measurement report by the UE first node U01 fulfills a handover condition, the second node N02 decides to performs handover of UE the first node U01),
wherein the execution condition indicates that evaluation of the measurement-based condition is triggered in response to the location-based condition being fulfilled
([0021] Information is used for indicating whether a measurement is performed on the first radio signal;
when the first geographical location of the UE first node is at an edge/peripheral position of the reference geographical zone, the third information is used for indicating that a measurement is performed on the first radio signal); and
receive, from the UE, a configuration complete message
([0025] Signal is used to acknowledge a connection established between the UE first-type nodes and the said neighbor node of the second node).
Claims 17 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Kumar, et al (US PG Publication 2011/0092210), hereafter Kumar.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the UE of claim 15.
Zhang does not teach
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover ends being able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels beyond (leaves) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by point beyond (threshold outside of) delay distance, at which handover cannot be completed)); and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, teaches the processor of claim 29.
Zhang, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of:
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold; and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein a leaving condition of the location-based condition is at least one of
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(Condition, where handover ends being able to be completed at point where mobile unit travels beyond (leaves) delay distance from the neighbor cell)):
a distance between the UE and the CHO candidate target cell is an offset greater than a second distance threshold
([0033] Delay distances can also be set (at 420) for each of the neighbor cells. In one embodiment, the delay distances may be set (at 420) relative to the critical distance so that a mobile unit moving at a particular velocity (or velocities) does not travel the delay distance and move beyond the critical distance before a detected handoff can be completed
[0034] The hysteresis, pairwise offset values, and TTT(s) can be determined (at 425) based on the critical distance(s), the crossover distance(s), the ping-pong threshold distance(s), and the delay distance(s) defined for the serving cell and the neighbor cell(s)
(distance between mobile unit and neighbor cell offset by point beyond (threshold outside of) delay distance, at which handover cannot be completed)); and
the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Claims 21 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Jung, et al (US PG Publication 2014/0024360), hereafter Jung.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches the UE of claim 15.
Zhang, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
stop to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling a leaving condition of the location-based condition; and
determining that the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the execution condition further includes a measurement-based condition, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to
([0136] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS (step S910). If a measurement result satisfies a reporting condition included in the measurement configuration information, the UE reports the measurement result to the BS (step S930)
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(measurement condition based on measurement configuration)):
stop to evaluate the measurement-based condition, in response to one of:
fulfilling a leaving condition of the location-based condition
([0203] The UE sends a “leaving” proximity indication to the source eNB. Upon reception of this indication, the source eNB may reconfigure the UE to stop measurements on the reported RAT and frequency
(Based on leaving proximity condition being satisfied based on measurement configuration, the UE stops measurements)); and
determining that the location of the UE is not located at a configured area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Zhang, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
declare a radio link failure (RLF) before the execution condition being fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
declare a radio link failure (RLF) before the execution condition being fulfilled
([0019] The step of the performing the mobility with the target cell may further include performing handover with the target cell
[0092] In a first phase, while performing a normal operation, if the radio link is not recovered until the first wait time expires, the UE declares the radio link failure, and enters a second phase
(UE declares RLF associated with performing handover)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 23.
Jung further teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
in response to declaring the RLF
([0089] If it is determined that the quality of the serving cell is so poor that communication is almost impossible, the UE determines the current situation as a radio link failure):
access the CHO candidate target cell
([0090] If the radio link failure is determined, the UE selects a new cell through a cell selection (or cell reselection) procedure, and attempts RRC connection re-establishment to the new cell); and
transmit assistant information to the CHO candidate target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] In a state of moving, if the UE determines that quality of a specific region is significantly bad, the UE may report a measurement result and location information on cells with bad quality to the network. The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 24.
Jung further teaches
wherein the assistant information comprises at least one of
([0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation):
an indication to indicate whether an entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not;
an indication to indicate whether the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not when declaring the RLF;
time information regarding when the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the entry condition of the location-based condition;
an indication to indicate whether a measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation);
an indication to indicate whether the measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not when declaring the RLF; and
a time difference between first time information regarding when declaring the RLF and second time information regarding when the measurement-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition when declaring the RLF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 15.
Zhang, in view of Deenoo, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a handover command from a source cell before the execution condition being fulfilled.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a handover command from a source cell before the execution condition being fulfilled
([0201] Step. 16 The source eNB transmits the Handover Command (RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including mobility control information) to the UE
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(UE receives handover command from source eNB before conditional handover satisfied)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 26.
Jung further teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
in response to receiving the handover command from the source cell:
access a target cell
([0201] Step. 16 The source eNB transmits the Handover Command (RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including mobility control information) to the UE
[0209] The UE performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied
(UE performs handover after receiving handover command from source eNB)); and
transmit assistant information to the target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation), and
wherein the target cell is one of:
the CHO candidate target cell
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement); and
another target cell different from the CHO candidate target cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 27.
Jung further teaches
wherein the assistant information comprises at least one of:
an indication to indicate whether an entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not;
an indication to indicate whether the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled or not when receiving the handover command;
time information regarding when the entry condition of the location-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the entry condition of the location-based condition;
an indication to indicate whether a measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not
([0209] The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state reports a measurement result and performs a handover if a specific condition is satisfied in neighboring cell measurement
[0131] The network may attempt to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation);
an indication to indicate whether the measurement-based condition is fulfilled or not when receiving the handover command; and
a time difference between third time information regarding when receiving the handover command and fourth time information regarding when the measurement-based condition is fulfilled, in response to fulfilling the measurement-based condition when receiving the handover command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Jung’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of supporting a mobility of user equipment in a wireless communication system (see [0007]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, and further in view of Kumar.
Regarding claim 22, Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, teaches the UE of claim 21.
Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether the location of the UE is located at the configured area within a duration of a timer to trigger (TTT).
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether the location of the UE is located at the configured area within a duration of a timer to trigger (TTT)
([0030] A mobile unit moving at a velocity (v) should not be able to travel beyond D.sub.max (distance) before the handoff condition can be detected and the TTT and processing time required to make the handoff can elapse
(Determine whether mobile unit located at a distance within TTT)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang, in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jung, which includes performing conditional handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional handover, for the benefit of avoiding ping-ponging, so that a mobile unit moving at a selected velocity does not travel beyond a third distance within the time-to-trigger TTT (see [0009]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yiu, et al (US PG Publication 2019/0029073), hereafter Yiu, teaches whether an AP measurement is performed at is based on information which the UE has previously received. This information could be, for example, whether or not there is an AP in the vicinity of the UE, the strength of nearby AP signal, the location of the UE itself.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641