DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (US 20220266702) in view of Moghe (US 20190039471) and in further view of Shimizu (US 20180361857 )
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto teaches an apparatus for charging wirelessly of a vehicle battery (figure 1 paragraph [0027] shows a wireless charging system for a vehicle battery), comprising:
a plurality of power receiving coils, located near wheels of a vehicle, and receiving power transmitted from an external charging system (figure 1 shows a plurality of coils item 5 located near the wheels of the vehicle. Paragraph [0027] discloses wherein a power receiving device, a coil receiving power transmitted from an external charging system item 41);
a voltage detection module configured to detect a power of the plurality of power receiving coils (paragraph [0050] disclose wherein a measurement unit measures the intensity of the power received, such as the amount of voltage);
Fujimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the coils are each located on a suspension; a suspension driving module configured to drive the suspension to adjust a height of each wheel of the vehicle; and a control module configured to control the suspension driving module based on the voltage detected by the voltage detection module.
Moghe teaches a suspension driving module configured to drive the suspension to adjust a height of each wheel of the vehicle; and a control module configured to control the suspension driving module based on the voltage detected by the voltage detection module (paragraph [0067] discloses wherein the power transfer efficiency is detected and if it deviates, the vehicle’s position is adjusted by the suspension. Paragraph [0064] discloses wherein the suspension of the vehicle is adjusted to control the position of the coils within the vehicle to optimize charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Fujimoto reference with the charging system of the Moghe reference so that the transfer of electrical power from the ground-based charging coil to the vehicle-based charging coil.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Moghe reference in paragraph [0012] wherein the charging is optimized.
Fujimoto and Moghe teach a wireless power transfer system with a vehicle equipped with a vehicle-based charging coil. Fujimoto discloses the vehicle-based charging coil within the wheel of the vehicle, but not specifically on a suspension of the wheel system.
Shimizu discloses a charging coil specifically on a suspension of the wheel (figure 3 shows a non-contact charger item 34 with receiving coil 34B disposed on a suspension member 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Fujimoto in view of Moghe references with the charging coil system of the Shimizu reference so that the non-contact member is protected while mounted on the vehicle.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Shimizu reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the non-contact charger is protected.
Regarding claim 2, Fujimoto teaches the apparatus of wherein the power receiving coil is connected to a coil spring or an air spring of the suspension (paragraph [0041] discloses wherein the receiving coil is connected to a coil spring or an air spring).
Regarding claim 3, Fujimoto teaches the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a magnetic core located inside the coil spring (paragraph [0041] discloses wherein the receiving coil is located in a magnetic coil located in a coil spring or an air spring)..
Regarding claim 4, Fujimoto and Moghe teaches the apparatus of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach wherein the power receiving coil is the coil spring of the suspension.
Shimizu teaches wherein the power receiving coil is the coil spring of the suspension (figure 3 shows a non-contact charger item 34 with receiving coil 34B disposed on a suspension member 20, which includes a coil or spring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Fujimoto in view of Moghe references with the charging coil system of the Shimizu reference so that the non-contact member is protected while mounted on the vehicle.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Shimizu reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the non-contact charger is protected.
Regarding claim 5, Fujimoto teaches the apparatus of wherein the suspension driving module but does not explicitly teach comprises: four actuators to drive the suspension for each wheel of the vehicle.
Moghe teaches four actuators to drive the suspension for each wheel of the vehicle (paragraph [0072] discloses wherein four actuators to drive the suspension of each wheel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Fujimoto reference with the charging system of the Moghe reference so that the transfer of electrical power from the ground-based charging coil to the vehicle-based charging coil.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Moghe reference in paragraph [0012] wherein the charging is optimized.
Regarding claim 6, Fujimoto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control module controls the suspension driving module so that the plurality of power receiving coils have uniform voltage (paragraph [0064] – [0066] discloses wherein the control module controls the efficiency of each of the plurality of the receiving coils).
Regarding claim 7, Fujimoto teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a communication module configured to communicate wirelessly with an external charging system.
Moghe discloses further comprising: a communication module configured to communicate wirelessly with an external charging system (figure 3A and paragraph [0012] discloses wireless communication with a communication module, such as a vehicle or personal device and an external charging system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Fujimoto reference with the charging system of the Moghe reference so that the transfer of electrical power from the ground-based charging coil to the vehicle-based charging coil.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Moghe reference in paragraph [0012] wherein the charging is optimized.
Claims 8 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghe (US 20190039471) in view of Kato (US 20210031639).
Regarding claim 8, Moghe teaches a method for charging wirelessly of a vehicle battery, comprising: detecting a charging position of a vehicle with four power receiving coils located near each wheel of the vehicle (paragraphs [0084] – [0085] discloses wherein the charging position is determined by the orientation of the coils positioned by the four wheels).
Moghe teaches an alignment of the vehicle coils within the tire and the transfer of power is adjusted based on the positions of the tires as disclosed in paragraphs [0051] – [0053] does not explicitly teach executing fast charging or slow charging based on the charging position of the vehicle.
Kato teaches executing fast charging or slow charging based on the charging position of the vehicle (paragraph [0025] discloses wherein the controller switches between a plurality of charging modes, including fast or slow charging based on the position of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Moghe reference with the charging system of the Kato reference so that the transfer of electrical power from the ground-based charging coil to the vehicle-based charging coil.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Moghe reference in paragraph [0012] wherein the charging is optimized.
Regarding claim 9, Moghe teaches the method of wherein the detecting charging position comprises: detecting a number of wheels positioned at four charging points where the four power receiving coils are charged (paragraphs [0084] – [0085] discloses wherein the charging position is determined by the orientation of the coils positioned by the four wheels).
Regarding claim 10, Moghe teaches the method of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the executing fast charging or slow charging comprises: if the number of the detected wheels is two, executing slow charging; and if the number of the detected wheels is three, executing fast charging.
Kato teaches wherein the executing fast charging or slow charging comprises: if the number of the detected wheels is two, executing slow charging; and if the number of the detected wheels is three, executing fast charging (paragraph [0025] discloses wherein the controller switches between a plurality of charging modes, including fast or slow charging based on the position of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Moghe reference with the charging system of the Kato reference so that the transfer of electrical power from the ground-based charging coil to the vehicle-based charging coil.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Moghe reference in paragraph [0012] wherein the charging is optimized.
Regarding claim 11, Moghe teaches method of claim 8, further comprising: detecting a voltage of each of the four power receiving coils; and adjusting a height of the vehicle based on the detected voltage (paragraph [0067] discloses wherein the power transfer efficiency is detected and if it deviates, the vehicle’s position is adjusted by the suspension. Paragraph [0064] discloses wherein the suspension of the vehicle is adjusted to control the position of the coils within the vehicle to optimize charging).
Regarding claim 12, Moghe teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the adjusting the height of the vehicle comprises: driving a suspension of the vehicle to adjust the height of each wheel of the vehicle (paragraph [0067] discloses wherein the power transfer efficiency is detected and if it deviates, the vehicle’s position is adjusted by the suspension. Paragraph [0064] discloses wherein the suspension of the vehicle is adjusted to control the position of the coils within the vehicle to optimize charging).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20180370568 A1 Vehicle Lower Section Structure Ayukawa; Tatsuya
Us 6291901 B1 Electrical Power Generating Tire System Cefo; Nevres
Us 20180264963 A1 Inductive Charging Active Suspension Dudar; Aed M.
Us 20140095026 A1 Charging Control Unit Freitag; Gunter Et Al.
Us 20180250999 A1 Suspension System Golin; Michael
Us 20150360577 A1 Charging Indicator Greenwood; Jeremy Et Al.
Us 20120303193 A1 Electricity Generating Suspension System Gresser; German
Us 20100000811 A1 In-Wheel Motor System Iwano; Haruo
Us 20180037126 A1 Wireless Charging Control Apparatus Jang; Jin Su Et Al.
Us 20210031639 A1 Wireless Charging Device Kato; Takuma Et Al.
Us 20050056471 A1 Tire Wheel Structure Kurata, Fumito
Us 10942518 B2 Assisting A Vehicle To Park Murad; Mohannad Et Al.
Us 20060272871 A1 A Wheel Having A Motor Therein Murata; Satoshi
Us 20130069449 A1 Modular Coil Arrays Pharand; Michel Et Al.
Us 20180361857 A1 Vehicle Front Portion Structure Shimizu; Kazuki
Us 20190217702 A1 Suspension Motion Charging Arrangement Schutt; Randy L.
Us 20090101424 A1 In-Wheel Motor Drive Unit Suzuki; Minoru
Us 20230017046 A1 Orienting A Power Receiving Coil Öhman; Mikaela Et Al..
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859