DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending and under consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a broad and widely varying genus of methods of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms, the method comprising (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms or any salts thereof with at a genus of microorganisms capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or a salt thereof and/or an ester thereof;(b) extracting the intermediate, its salt and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide and optionally at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or at least one trialkylamine and at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or a branched higher alcohol like 2 octyl-dodecanol; (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; or combining step (e) and (f) into one single step using a catalyst or catalyst mixture providing dehydrating and hydrogenating properties, thus hydrogenolysing the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (d) directly to the corresponding linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms. According to MPEP 2163:
“For each claim drawn to a genus: The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014)…”
According to MPEP 2163.02:
“The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).”
The specification as originally filed does not disclose a representative number of species of microorganisms and catalysts as encompassed by the claimed genus by actual reduction to practice. The specification as originally filed does not provide a correlation between function and structure to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to predict specific microorganisms capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation and any biochemical pathways, enzymes, and/or proteins in the microorganisms to allow for carrying out two-carbon chain elongation in the claimed method.
Hence, the specification does not provide sufficient written description to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that applicants were in possession at the time the application was filed of the claimed broad and widely varying genus broad and widely varying genus of methods of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms, the method comprising (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms or any salts thereof with at a genus of microorganisms capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or a salt thereof and/or an ester thereof;(b) extracting the intermediate, its salt and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide and optionally at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or at least one trialkylamine and at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or a branched higher alcohol like 2 octyl-dodecanol; (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; or combining step (e) and (f) into one single step using a catalyst or catalyst mixture providing dehydrating and hydrogenating properties, thus hydrogenolysing the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (d) directly to the corresponding linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2019160984A1 (08/22/ 2019; IDS filed 09/29/2023).
WO2019160984A1 teaches a method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms comprising: (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms with at least one microorganism capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or an ester thereof, (b) extracting the intermediate and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide, (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkenone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol
comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, wherein the ketonization catalyst of (c) is a metal oxide catalyst or mixtures thereof, wherein the metal oxide catalyst is zirconia (ZrO2) catalyst, wherein the hydrogenation metal catalyst of step (d) is a nickel (Ni) catalyst. See entire publication, abstract, and claims especially: page 2, paragraphs 9, 12; page 5, paragraph 28; page 17, paragraphs 131-133; page 17, paragraph 135 – page 18, paragraph 136, table 5; page 22, paragraph 143; page 23, paragraph 147; pages 24-25, paragraph 151; pages 25-26, paragraph 155; page 56, paragraph 242; figures 5,
6C, 28). Thus, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO2019160984A1 (08/22/ 2019; IDS filed 09/29/2023) in view of WO2020104429A1 (28 May 2020; IDS filed 09/29/2023), WO2013070966A1 (16 May 2013; IDS filed 09/29/2023), US3342879A (1967-09-19; PTO 892).
WO2019160984A1 teaches a method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms comprising: (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms with at least one microorganism capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or an ester thereof, (b) extracting the intermediate and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide, (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkenone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol
comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, wherein the ketonization catalyst of (c) is a metal oxide catalyst or mixtures thereof, wherein the metal oxide catalyst is zirconia (ZrO2) catalyst, wherein the hydrogenation metal catalyst of step (d) is a nickel (Ni) catalyst. See entire publication, abstract, and claims especially: page 2, paragraphs 9, 12; page 5, paragraph 28; page 17, paragraphs 131-133; page 17, paragraph 135 – page 18, paragraph 136, table 5; page 22, paragraph 143; page 23, paragraph 147; pages 24-25, paragraph 151; pages 25-26, paragraph 155; page 56, paragraph 242; figures 5,
6C, 28.
The teachings of the reference differ from the claims in that the alkyl-phosphine oxide is trioctylphosphine oxide (TOPO) and the alkane is a mixture of pentadecane, hexadecane, heptadecane, octadecane, and tetradecane, wherein the weight ratio of TOPO to mixture of alkanes is between 1:100 to 1:10.
WO2020104429A1 teaches a method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms comprising: (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms with at least one microorganism capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or an ester thereof, (b) extracting the intermediate and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide and optionally at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms, or at least one trialkylamine and at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms, (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkenone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, wherein the ketonization catalyst of (c) is a metal oxide catalyst or mixtures thereof, wherein the metal oxide catalyst or mixtures thereof is selected from the group consisting of heteropoly acid (H3 PW12O40) catalyst, titanium oxide (TiO2) catalyst, cerium oxide (CeO2) catalyst, zinc-chromium (Zn-Cr) mixed oxide catalyst, manganese oxide (MnO2) catalyst, lanthanum oxide (La2 O3) catalyst, magnesium oxide (MgO) catalyst, iron oxide (FeO, FeO2, Fe2 O3, Fe3 O4, Fe4 O5, Fe5 O6, Fe5 O7), silicon-aluminium (Si-Al) mixed oxide catalyst and zirconia (ZrO2) catalyst, wherein the ketonization catalyst in step (c) is manganese oxide (MnO2) catalyst, or
magnesium oxide (MgO) catalyst, wherein the suitable reaction conditions of step (c) comprises reaction temperatures of 150°C-350°C, wherein the microorganism in (a) is selected from the group consisting of Clostridium carboxidivorans and Clostridium kluyveri, wherein the pH of the aqueous medium in (b) is maintained between 5.5 and 8, wherein the hydrogenation metal catalyst of step (d) is selected from the group consisting of ruthenium (Ru) catalyst, rhenium (Re) catalyst, nickel (Ni) catalyst, iron (Fe), cobalt (Co) and platinum (Pt) catalyst. See entire publication and claims especially pages 31-32, claims 1-12.
WO2013070966A1 teaches a method of dehydrating a secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, wherein the acidic heterogeneous catalyst is a catalyst comprising an aluminosilicate zeolite, wherein the acidic heterogeneous catalyst comprises ZSM-5. See entire publication and claims especially page 9, line 31 - page 10, line 4)
US3342879A teaches a method of dehydrating a secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, wherein the catalyst further comprises a transition metal, wherein the transition metal is molybdenum. See entire publication and claims especially see column 3, Example 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and/or combine the reference teachings to make the claimed invention by incorporating all the method steps, method step conditions of temperature, metals, catalysts, and products of each of WO2020104429A1, WO2013070966A1, US3342879A into the method of WO2019160984A1 (08/22/ 2019; IDS filed 09/29/2023). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the reference teachings. Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-21 of copending Application No. 17758574. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach and/or suggest the claimed method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms, the method comprising (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms or any salts thereof with at least one microorganism capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or a salt thereof and/or an ester thereof;(b) extracting the intermediate, its salt and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide and optionally at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or at least one trialkylamine and at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or a branched higher alcohol like 2 octyl-dodecanol; (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; or combining step (e) and (f) into one single step using a catalyst or catalyst mixture providing dehydrating and hydrogenating properties, thus hydrogenolysing the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (d) directly to the corresponding linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent 1251601 (2026-01-06; PTO 892). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the patent teach and/or suggest the claimed a method of producing linear alkanes comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms, from ethanol and/or linear alkanoic acids comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms, the method comprising (a) contacting ethanol and/or a linear alkanoic acid comprising 2 to 5 carbon atoms or any salts thereof with at least one microorganism capable of carrying out two-carbon chain elongation to produce as an intermediate a linear alkanoic acid comprising 4 to 7 carbon atoms and/or a salt thereof and/or an ester thereof;(b) extracting the intermediate, its salt and/or ester thereof from (a) using at least one extractant, wherein the extractant comprises at least one alkyl-phosphine oxide and optionally at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or at least one trialkylamine and at least one alkane comprising at least 12 carbon atoms; or a branched higher alcohol like 2 octyl-dodecanol; (c) contacting the extracted intermediate and/or ester thereof from (b) and optionally a further linear alkanoic acid comprising 1 to 22 carbon atoms with at least one ketonization catalyst to a linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (d) contacting the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms from step (c) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation of the linear alkanone comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms to a corresponding secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; (e) dehydration of the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms in the presence of an acidic heterogeneous catalyst to form a corresponding linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; and (f) contacting the linear alkene comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (e) with at least one hydrogenation metal catalyst for catalytic hydrogenation to a corresponding secondary linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms; or combining step (e) and (f) into one single step using a catalyst or catalyst mixture providing dehydrating and hydrogenating properties, thus hydrogenolysing the secondary linear alkanol comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms obtained in step (d) directly to the corresponding linear alkane comprising 7 to 28 carbon atoms. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652