DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 03/11/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, 15-17, 19 and 23 are amended.
Claim 7 is cancelled.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-17, 19 and 23-26 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 8-9), filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to claim 1, ‘Amended claim 1 recites in relevant part …However, DCI is a physical layer signaling instead of a higher layer signaling’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, DCI is a MAC layer (Layer 2) signaling, which is higher than a physical layer (Layer 1) signaling. Moreover, Oteri teaches higher layer parameter (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured”).
Applicant’s argument: (remark page 9), filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to claim 1, ‘Further, Oteri expressly discusses priority with … Oteri fails to anticipate the limitation of amended claim I reciting "the second indication information indicates that the HARQ-ACKs having the priority greater than or equal to the first priority’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, examiner would like to mention that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Shi expressly teaches priority for HARQ-ACK (Shi: [0076]: “an HARQ-ACK with a priority higher than the first priority”).
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 10-11), filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to claim 1, ‘Second, on page 18 of the Office Action, the examiner acknowledges that Oteri fails to … Accordingly, amended claim 1 is allowable’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Oteri teaches a high layer parameter “prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x” indicates whether each PDSCH should have its own PUCCH, .i.e. whether the first sending mode should be disabled, which would implicitly teach a priority cutoff point whether to disable or not (Oteri: [0130]). Moreover, Shi teaches UE does not send HARQ-ACK in a second PUCCH resource if the flag in the DCI is a disable value (Shi: [0049], [0050]) and a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0076], [0051]). Therefore, combination of Oteri and Shi teaches the subject matters as claimed. See the detailed Office Action bellow under 35 U.S.C. § 103 section.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 8-11), filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-17, 19 and 23-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-17, 19 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri et al. (US 20220400508 A1), hereinafter “Oteri”, in view of Shi et al. (US 20230011110 A1), hereinafter “Shi”.
Per claim 1, 10, 23-26:
Regarding claim 23, Oteri teaches ‘An HARQ-ACK transmission apparatus’ (Oteri: [FIG.4]: “BS”; [0031]: “FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating an example base station”; [0115]: “HARQ-ACK feedback”); ‘comprising; a processor’ (Oteri: [FIG.4]: “Processor(s)”); ‘a memory’ (Oteri: [FIG.4]: “Memory”); ‘wherein the memory is configured to store instructions executable by the processor’ (Oteri: [0101]: “the processor 404 of the base station 102 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory”);
‘wherein the processor is configured to perform acts comprising:
sending, to a UE, information indicating an HARQ-ACK sending mode, wherein the HARQ- ACK sending mode comprises a first sending mode or a second sending mode’ (Oteri: [0006]: “The base station may transmit the downlink control message to a user equipment (UE)”; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”; [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; [0115]: “a PDSCH may provide HARQ-ACK feedback via a PUCCH. The HARQ-ACK feedback may indicate whether the associated PDSCH was successfully received”; [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”, “PUCCH all”, same PUCCH for all PDSCH (second sending mode); [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” -> “PUCCH1,1”, low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”-> “PUCCH3,0”, different PUCCHs (first sending mode));
‘wherein the first sending mode corresponds to sending a plurality of HARQ-ACKs on different PUCCHs’ (FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” -> “PUCCH1,1”, low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”-> “PUCCH3,0”, different PUCCH for different priority; [0128]-[0129]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”) … the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”; [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” and “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a different PUCCHs);
‘wherein the second sending mode corresponds to sending a plurality of HARQ-ACKs on a same PUCCH’ ([FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”, “PUCCH all”, same PUCCH for all PDSCH; [0121]: “A single DCI may include DL grants for each of these PDSCH transmissions … The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback for all PDSCH transmissions in the multi-PDSCH transmission is scheduled to be transmitted in the slot that is K1 slots (e.g., 2 slots) after PDSCH4. Additionally, a single PUCCH resource set may be identified, based on the size of the combined feedback”; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a same PUCCH);
‘receiving, from the UE, an HARQ-ACK’ (Oteri: [0017]: “The UE may then transmit the feedback information for each of the payload data messages, via the determined uplink resources”, base station would receive HARQ-ACK from the UE);
‘wherein the information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode comprises second indication information conveyed via higher-layer signaling independent of downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second indication information disables a first sending mode for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a flag whether each PDSCH should have its own PUCCH, i.e. whether the first sending mode should be disabled, where the parameter “prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x” would implicitly teach a priority cutoff point whether to disable or not; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode) in DCI; [0128]-[0129]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”) … the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”, DCI indicating the first sending mode with a priority value 1).
Although Oteri’s teaching of prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x would implicitly teach a priority cutoff point whether to disable first sending mode or not, Oteri fails to expressly teach for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority.
Nevertheless, Shi in the same field of endeavor teaches DCI includes a flag and UE does not send HARQ-ACK in a second PUCCH resource if the flag in the DCI is a disable value (Shi: [0049]: “the UE may receive a second DCI (DCI-2) including a numerical K1-2 and a feedback flag”; [0050]: “The UE may determine whether the feedback flag is equal to a preset enable value or is equal to a preset disable value … In response to the feedback flag in the DCI-2 is the preset disable value, the UE may not send the stored HARQ-ACK on PUCCH2”) and a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0076]: “an HARQ-ACK with a priority higher than the first priority”; [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter to indicate to disables a first sending mode for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Oteri and Shi teaches ‘wherein the second indication information indicates that the HARQ-ACKs having the priority greater than or equal to the first priority are transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a second sending mode’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a same PUCCH. Shi: [0050]: “The UE may determine whether the feedback flag is equal to a preset enable value or is equal to a preset disable value … In response to the feedback flag in the DCI-2 is the preset disable value, the UE may not send the stored HARQ-ACK on PUCCH2”; [0051]: “there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching of preset priority threshold with that of Oteri in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (Shi: [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
Regarding claim 10, Oteri teaches ‘A hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmission method’ (Oteri: [0017]: “a method is disclosed for signaling feedback scheduling in a wireless communication network”; [0115]: “HARQ-ACK feedback”);
‘comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a network device, information indicating an HARQ-ACK sending mode, wherein the HARQ-ACK sending mode comprises a first sending mode or a second sending mode’ (Oteri: [0006]: “The base station may transmit the downlink control message to a user equipment (UE)”, UE would receive control message from base station; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”; [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; [0115]: “a PDSCH may provide HARQ-ACK feedback via a PUCCH. The HARQ-ACK feedback may indicate whether the associated PDSCH was successfully received”; [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”, “PUCCH all”, same PUCCH for all PDSCH (second sending mode); [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” -> “PUCCH1,1”, low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”-> “PUCCH3,0”, different PUCCHs (first sending mode));
‘wherein the first sending mode corresponds to sending a plurality of HARQ-ACKs on different physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs)’ (FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” -> “PUCCH1,1”, low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”-> “PUCCH3,0”, different PUCCH for different priority; [0128]-[0129]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”) … the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”; [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1” and “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a different PUCCHs);
‘wherein the second sending mode corresponds to sending a plurality of HARQ-ACKs on a same PUCCH’ (([FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”, “PUCCH all”, same PUCCH for all PDSCH; [0121]: “A single DCI may include DL grants for each of these PDSCH transmissions … The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback for all PDSCH transmissions in the multi-PDSCH transmission is scheduled to be transmitted in the slot that is K1 slots (e.g., 2 slots) after PDSCH4. Additionally, a single PUCCH resource set may be identified, based on the size of the combined feedback”; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a same PUCCH);
‘determining, by the UE, the HARQ-ACK sending mode based on the information used for indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode’ (Oteri: [0017]: “The UE may determine uplink resources for use in transmitting feedback information for each of the payload data messages, wherein the determining is based on parameters included in the downlink control message”, UE would determine whether send HARQ-ACK feedback on a same PUCCH or different PUCCHs based on DCI);
‘sending, by the UE, the HARQ-ACK to the network device by using the HARQ-ACK sending mode’ (Oteri: [0017]: “The UE may then transmit the feedback information for each of the payload data messages, via the determined uplink resources”);
‘determining, based on information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode, that the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the second sending mode’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]: (([FIG.8]: “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”, “PUCCH all”, same PUCCH for all PDSCH (second sending mode));
‘wherein the information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode comprises second indication information conveyed via higher-layer signaling independent of downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second indication information disables a first sending mode for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a flag whether each PDSCH should have its own PUCCH, i.e. whether the first sending mode should be disabled, where the parameter “prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x” would implicitly teach a priority cutoff point whether to disable or not; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode) in DCI; [0128]-[0129]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”) … the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”, DCI indicating the first sending mode with a priority value 1).
Although Oteri’s teaching of prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x would implicitly teach a priority cutoff point whether to disable first sending mode or not, Oteri fails to expressly teach for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority.
Nevertheless, Shi in the same field of endeavor teaches DCI includes a flag and UE does not send HARQ-ACK in a second PUCCH resource if the flag in the DCI is a disable value (Shi: [0049]: “the UE may receive a second DCI (DCI-2) including a numerical K1-2 and a feedback flag”; [0050]: “The UE may determine whether the feedback flag is equal to a preset enable value or is equal to a preset disable value … In response to the feedback flag in the DCI-2 is the preset disable value, the UE may not send the stored HARQ-ACK on PUCCH2”) and a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0076]: “an HARQ-ACK with a priority higher than the first priority”; [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter to indicate to disables a first sending mode for HARQ-ACKs having a priority greater than or equal to a first priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Oteri and Shi teaches ‘wherein the second indication information indicates that the HARQ-ACKs having the priority greater than or equal to the first priority are transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a second sending mode’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, sending HARQ-ACK associated with each “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” (a plurality of HARQ-ACKs) on a same PUCCH. Shi: [0050]: “The UE may determine whether the feedback flag is equal to a preset enable value or is equal to a preset disable value … In response to the feedback flag in the DCI-2 is the preset disable value, the UE may not send the stored HARQ-ACK on PUCCH2”; [0051]: “there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching of preset priority threshold with that of Oteri in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (Shi: [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
Regarding claim 24, Oteri teaches ‘An HARQ-ACK transmission apparatus’ (Oteri: [FIG.3]: “UE”; [0115]: “HARQ-ACK feedback”); ‘comprising a processor and a memory’ (Oteri: [FIG.3]: “Processor(s)”, “Memory”); ‘wherein the memory is configured to store instructions executable by the processor’ (Oteri: [0095]: “The processor(s) 302 of the UE device 106/107 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory”);
‘wherein the processor is configured to implement’ (this is implied); ‘the method according to claim 10’ (discussed in claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the communication device of claim 23 (see rejection of claim 23 above).
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 recites the memory implemented by the communication device of claim 23 (see rejection of claim 23 above).
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 recites the memory implemented by the communication device of claim 24 (see rejection of claim 24 above).
Per claim 2 and 11:
Regarding claim 2, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘first auxiliary information, wherein the first auxiliary information is information, in the higher layer signaling, indicating that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK having the first priority’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a given DCI format would have different PUCCH for each PDSCH (the first sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH with its own PUCCH; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach the higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a priority.
However, Shi in the same field of endeavor teaches a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 11, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 10 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘receiving, by the UE, first auxiliary information from the network device, wherein the first auxiliary information is information, in the higher layer signaling, indicating that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK having a first priority’ (Oteri: [0006]: “The base station may transmit the downlink control message to a user equipment (UE)”; [0010]: “the indicated uplink resources may specify a plurality of uplink messages for transmission of the acknowledgment feedback for respective payload data messages of the plurality of payload data messages”; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”, two different PUCCHs (the first sending mode); UE would receive DCI from network; [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a given DCI format would have different PUCCH for each PDSCH (the first sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH with its own PUCCH; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach the higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a priority;
‘the HARQ-ACK with a priority higher than the first priority’ (this is optional).
However, Shi teaches a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 3, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘first auxiliary information, wherein the first auxiliary information is information, in the higher layer signaling, indicating that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK having the priority higher than the first priority’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a given DCI format would have different PUCCH for each PDSCH (the first sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH with its own PUCCH; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach the higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating the priority higher than the first priority.
However, Shi teaches a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a preset priority threshold in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 4 and 13:
Regarding claim 4, combination of Oteri and Shi teaches the method according to claim 2 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘second auxiliary information, wherein the second auxiliary information is priority information indicated by a priority indication information field in a downlink control information (DCI), wherein the priority information indicates priorities of HARQ-ACKs corresponding to a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) scheduled by the DCI’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”, DCI could include priority indication (second auxiliary information) for a plurality of PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Oteri and Shi teaches the method according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘receiving, by the UE, second auxiliary information from the network device, wherein the second auxiliary information is priority information indicated by a priority indication information field in a downlink control information (DCI), wherein the priority information indicates priorities of HARQ-ACKs corresponding to a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) scheduled by the DCI’ (Oteri: [0006]: “The base station may transmit the downlink control message to a user equipment (UE)”; [0010]: “the indicated uplink resources may specify a plurality of uplink messages for transmission of the acknowledgment feedback for respective payload data messages of the plurality of payload data messages”; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”, two different PUCCHs (the first sending mode); UE would receive DCI from network; [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”, DCI could include priority indication (second auxiliary information) for a plurality of PDSCHs).
Per claim 5 and 16:
Regarding claim 5, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘first indication information in the higher layer signaling, wherein the first indication information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for an HARQ-ACK having any priority’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]; [FIG.11]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4” ”, each PDSCH has its own PUCCH (the first sending mode); [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”).
Regarding claim 16, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 10 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determining, in response to that the information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode is first indication information in the higher layer signaling, wherein the first indication information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for an HARQ-ACK baving any priority,’ (Oteri: [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”, two different PUCCHs (the first sending mode); [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; indication information in a DCI (a higher layer signaling); [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”);
‘the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the first sending mode’ (Oteri: [0129]: “the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH has its own PUCCH; sending on different PUCCHs (the first sending mode)).
Per claim 6 and 17:
Regarding claim 6, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘wherein the second indication information in the higher layer signaling does not carry first auxiliary information’ (Oteri: [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; indicate the second sending mode in DCI (higher layer signaling) which does not include priority indicator; [0130]: a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter may be not configured if PDSCHs with different priority could share a MCS field);
‘wherein the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK having the first priority or for the HARQ-ACK having the priority higher than the first priority’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a given DCI format would have different PUCCH for each PDSCH (the first sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH with its own PUCCH; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach the higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a priority higher than a first priority.
However, Shi teaches a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a preset priority threshold in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 17, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 10 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determining, in response to that the information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the higher layer signaling without carrying first auxiliary information’ (Oteri: [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [FIG.8]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; indicate the second sending mode in DCI (higher layer signaling) which does not include priority indicator (auxiliary information));
‘wherein the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ- ACK having the first priority’ (Oteri: [0010]: “the indicated uplink resources may specify a plurality of uplink messages for transmission of the acknowledgment feedback for respective payload data messages of the plurality of payload data messages”; [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”, two different PUCCHs (the first sending mode); [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”, a higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a given DCI format would have different PUCCH for each PDSCH (the first sending mode); [FIG.9]: high priority: “PDSCH1,1”-“PDSCH2,1”; low priority: “PDSCH3,0”-“PDSCH4,0”; [FIG.11]: each PDSCH with its own PUCCH; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach the higher layer parameter (a first auxiliary information) indicating a priority;
‘the HARQ-ACK having the priority higher than the first priority’ (this is optional).
‘the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the second sending mode’ (Oteri: [0121]:”The DCI may also include a K1 value”; [FIG.8]: “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” -> “PUCCH all”; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, one same PUCCH (the second sending mode)).
However, Shi teaches a preset priority threshold to determine priority indication in a DCI being high-priority value if the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold (Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 9, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘third indication information in the higher layer signaling, wherein the third indication indicates that the first sending mode is disabled for the HARQ-ACK having any priority’ (Oteri: [FIG.8], [FIG.11]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; indicate the second sending mode in DCI; [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”). However, Oteri fails to expressly teach indicating the first sending mode is disabled.
However, Shi teaches DCI includes a flag and UE does not send HARQ-ACK in a second PUCCH resource if the flag in the DCI is a disable value (Shi: [0049]: “the UE may receive a second DCI (DCI-2) including a numerical K1-2 and a feedback flag”; [0050]: “The UE may determine whether the feedback flag is equal to a preset enable value or is equal to a preset disable value … In response to the feedback flag in the DCI-2 is the preset disable value, the UE may not send the stored HARQ-ACK on PUCCH2”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching with that of Oteri for the third indication information is used for indicating that the first sending mode is disabled for an HARQ-ACK with any priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Oteri and Shi teaches the method according to claim 13 (discussed above).
Combination of Oteri and Shi teaches ‘determining the HARQ-ACK sending mode based on the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information’ (Oteri: [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2)”; [0133]: “the DCI may include two K1 values”; [0017]: “The UE may determine uplink resources for use in transmitting feedback information for each of the payload data messages, wherein the determining is based on parameters included in the downlink control message”; [0128]-[0129]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”) … the feedback for the high-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH1 and PDSCH2) may be scheduled according to PR110, while the other feedback transmission (e.g., the feedback for the low-priority PDSCH transmissions PDSCH3 and PDSCH4) may be scheduled according to PR111 (or another PRI value)”, would determine sending mode based on second auxiliary information; [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”. Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”; [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”, would determine sending mode based on the first auxiliary information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching of preset priority threshold with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a preset priority threshold in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (Shi: [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Oteri and Shi teaches the method according to claim 14 (discussed above).
Combination of Oteri and Shi teaches ‘determining, in response to that the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK having the first priority, and the second auxiliary information indicates the first priority, the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the first sending mode’ (Oteri: [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag”; [0128]: “the DCI may include an indication that PDSCH1 and PDSCH2 are high-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “1”). The DCI may also include an indication that PDSCH3 and PDSCH4 are low-priority (e.g., illustrated as priority value “0”)”. Shi: [0051]: “the DCI-2 may include a K1-2 and a priority indicator … there may be a preset priority threshold, and the UE determine that the priority indicator is high priority when the priority indicator is larger than the preset priority threshold, and the priority indicator is low priority when the priority indicator is not larger than the preset priority threshold”);
‘determining, in response to that the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK with the first priority, and the second auxiliary information does not indicate the first priority, the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the second sending mode; determining, in response to that the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK with the priority higher than the first priority, and the second auxiliary information indicates the priority higher than the first priority, the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the first sending mode; or determining, in response to that the first auxiliary information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for the HARQ-ACK with the priority higher than the first priority, and the second auxiliary information indicates a priority lower than or equal to the first priority, the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the second sending mode’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shi’s teaching of preset priority threshold with that of Oteri for the higher layer parameter (the first auxiliary information) to indicate a priority in order to send HARQ-ACK based on a preset rule (Shi: [Abstract]: “The method includes sending a hybrid automated repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) in response to a preset rule being satisfied”).
Regarding claim 19, Oteri teaches the method according to claim 10 (discussed above).
Oteri teaches ‘determining, in response to that the information indicating the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the higher layer signaling without carrying first indication information’ (Oteri: [0121]: “The DCI may also include a K1 value (e.g., 2), which indicates that HARQ-ACK feedback”, indicating one PUCCH (the second sending mode); [FIG.8], [FIG.11]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; indicate the second sending mode in DCI (higher layer signaling) which does not include priority indicator (first indication information));
‘wherein the first indication information indicates that the first sending mode is configured for an HARQ-ACK having any priority’ (Oteri: [FIG.8]; [FIG.11]: no priority associated with “PDSCH1” – “PDSCH4”; [0130]: “a particular higher layer parameter (e.g., prioritylndicatorForDCI-Format1-x) may be configured as a flag that the UE may not be expected to receive a multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI with different values of the priority indicator field. This may be useful in that PDSCH transmissions with different priority may have different block error ratio (BLER) requirements, which may make sharing an MCS field difficult”);
‘the HARQ-ACK sending mode is the second sending mode’ (Oteri: [0121]:”The DCI may also include a K1 value”; [FIG.8]: “PDSCH1”-“PDSCH4” -> “PUCCH all”; [0117]: “for a multi-PDSCH transmission including some number “N” PDSCH transmissions, a single PUCCH feedback resource may be scheduled for all N of the PDSCH transmissions”, sending one same PUCCH (the second sending mode)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462