Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
In the remarks, Applicant argued in substance that:
(a) Tsai only describes a guest-to-guest notification (inter-VM communication) that circumvents the host entirely, and therefore fails to disclose “execution processing resources to execute the decoded single instruction… to cause an exitless guest to host notification” as recited in independent claims 1, 8, 15, and 18.
Examiner respectfully traverses Applicant’s remarks:
As to point (a), As to point (a), Applicant’s argument that Tsai only discloses a guest-to-guest notification that bypasses the host is not persuasive. While Applicant correctly notes that the ultimate goal in Tsai is inter-VM (guest-to-guest) communication, Applicant overlooks the intermediate hardware-generated operations disclosed in Tsai that occur in response to the executed instruction. Specifically, Tsai explicitly discloses that execution of the instruction causes a “notify event” to be sent to the Virtual Machine Monitor (VMM), which Applicant acknowledges constitutes the “host software” (Tsai paragraph [0033]).
Tsai discloses at paragraph [0047] that “the event used to notify a VMM that posted interrupts are pending may be a physical interrupt request to a physical processor.” Tsai further describes the actual sending of this notify event to the VMM/physical processor at paragraph [0059]. Crucially, Tsai explicitly states at paragraph [0061] that these operations including the sending of the notify event to the VMM are “performed by hardware and/or control logic embedded in a processor in response to the processor receiving an inter-VM-IPI instruction from guest software running on a VM, without causing a VM exit.”
Therefore, the hardware sending a physical interrupt (notify event) to the VMM (host) in response to the guest instruction, without causing a VM exit, reads directly on the claimed “exitless guest to host notification from a virtual processor to a physical or virtual processor.” Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are maintained for independent claims 1, 8, 15, and 18, and their dependents. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 5 and 12 are likewise maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2017/0206177, hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses
An apparatus comprising:
decoder circuitry (paragraph [0028]: Instruction unit 320 may include any circuitry, logic, structures, and/or other hardware, such as an instruction decoder) to decode a single instruction, the single instruction to include a field for an opcode (paragraph [0028]: Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330); and
execution processing resources to execute the decoded single instruction according to the at least the opcode (paragraph [0028]: Instruction unit 320 may include any circuitry, logic, structures, and/or other hardware, such as an instruction decoder, to fetch, receive, decode, interpret, schedule, and/or handle instructions (including inter-VM-IPI instruction 322, described below) to be executed by processor 300. Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330) to cause an exitless guest to host notification (paragraph [0062]: a sending VM may send a notification/interrupt to a target VM without a VM exit and without invoking a VMM … the notify-processor for the target processor in the target VM may, in response to a notify event, send an IPI by writing to the Interrupt Command Register of the corresponding vAPIC page (e.g., vAPIC page 23) with a vector corresponding to an inter-VM-IPI. If the target VM is active, the notification/interrupt may be delivered directly to the target VM (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) and without invoking a VMM. If the target VM is scheduled, the notification/interrupt may be posted (without a VM exit or invoking VMM; Note: This hardware-generated “notify event” constitutes the guest-to-host notification. As further detailed in paragraph [0047]: the event used to notify a VMM that posted interrupts are pending may be a physical interrupt request to a physical processor; paragraph [0059:] regarding sending the notify event; and paragraphs [0061] and [0062]: noting these operations are performed “without causing a VM exit and without transferring control of the processor to or otherwise invoking a VMM”, send an IPI by writing to the Interrupt Command Register of the corresponding vAPIC page (e.g., vAPIC page 23) with a vector corresponding to an inter-VM-IPI. If the target VM is active, the notification/interrupt may be delivered directly to the target VM (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) and without invoking a VMM. If the target VM is scheduled, the notification/interrupt may be posted (without a VM exit or invoking VMM)) from a virtual processor to a physical or virtual processor (paragraph [0051]: the present invention provide for an inter-VM-IPI to be sent from guest software being executed by a first virtual processor in any VM (e.g., the first VM) to a second virtual processor in any other VM (e.g., the second VM) regardless of whether the first virtual processor and the second virtual processor are abstracted from the same physical processor or physical processor core or from two physical processors or physical processor cores in/on the same or different integrated circuits, die, chips, substrates, or packages).
Regarding 8 referring to claim 1, Tsai discloses A method comprising: … (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai discloses
A method comprising:
translating a single instruction from a first instruction set architecture into one or more instructions of a second instruction set architecture, the single instruction to include a field for an opcode; decoding the one or more instructions of the second instruction set architecture (paragraph [0028]: Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330); and
processing the decoded single instruction according to the at least the opcode (paragraph [0028]: Instruction unit 320 may include any circuitry, logic, structures, and/or other hardware, such as an instruction decoder, to fetch, receive, decode, interpret, schedule, and/or handle instructions (including inter-VM-IPI instruction 322, described below) to be executed by processor 300. Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330) to cause an exitless guest to host notification notification (paragraph [0062]: a sending VM may send a notification/interrupt to a target VM without a VM exit and without invoking a VMM … the notify-processor for the target processor in the target VM may, in response to a notify event, send an IPI by writing to the Interrupt Command Register of the corresponding vAPIC page (e.g., vAPIC page 23) with a vector corresponding to an inter-VM-IPI. If the target VM is active, the notification/interrupt may be delivered directly to the target VM (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) and without invoking a VMM. If the target VM is scheduled, the notification/interrupt may be posted (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) from a virtual processor to a physical or virtual processor (paragraph [0051]: the present invention provide for an inter-VM-IPI to be sent from guest software being executed by a first virtual processor in any VM (e.g., the first VM) to a second virtual processor in any other VM (e.g., the second VM) regardless of whether the first virtual processor and the second virtual processor are abstracted from the same physical processor or physical processor core or from two physical processors or physical processor cores in/on the same or different integrated circuits, die, chips, substrates, or packages).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses
system comprising:
a first processor core (paragraph [0051]: two physical processor cores) including:
decoder circuitry (paragraph [0028]: Instruction unit 320 may include any circuitry, logic, structures, and/or other hardware, such as an instruction decoder) to decode a single instruction, the single instruction to include a field for an opcode (paragraph [0028]: Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330); and
execution processing resources to execute the decoded single instruction according to the at least the opcode (paragraph [0028]: Instruction unit 320 may include any circuitry, logic, structures, and/or other hardware, such as an instruction decoder, to fetch, receive, decode, interpret, schedule, and/or handle instructions (including inter-VM-IPI instruction 322, described below) to be executed by processor 300. Any instruction format may be used within the scope of the present invention; for example, an instruction may include an opcode and one or more operands, where the opcode may be decoded into one or more micro-instructions or micro-operations for execution by execution unit 330) to cause an exitless guest to host notification (paragraph [0062]: a sending VM may send a notification/interrupt to a target VM without a VM exit and without invoking a VMM … the notify-processor for the target processor in the target VM may, in response to a notify event, send an IPI by writing to the Interrupt Command Register of the corresponding vAPIC page (e.g., vAPIC page 23) with a vector corresponding to an inter-VM-IPI. If the target VM is active, the notification/interrupt may be delivered directly to the target VM (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) and without invoking a VMM. If the target VM is scheduled, the notification/interrupt may be posted (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) from a virtual processor to a second processor core (paragraph [0051]: the present invention provide for an inter-VM-IPI to be sent from guest software being executed by a first virtual processor in any VM (e.g., the first VM) to a second virtual processor in any other VM (e.g., the second VM) regardless of whether the first virtual processor and the second virtual processor are abstracted from the same physical processor or physical processor core or from two physical processors or physical processor cores in/on the same or different integrated circuits, die, chips, substrates, or packages);
memory coupled to the processor core to store the single instruction (paragraph [0021]: system memory space 200 may contain VM control structure (VMCS) 210 corresponding to a sending VM, inter-VM-IPI instruction 212 in guest software 214 to be executed by the sending VM, inter-VM-IPI table 220 (including entry 222 having handle field 224, posted-interrupt descriptor (PID) address field 226, and vector field 228), virtual local Advanced Programmable Interrupt Controller (APIC) page 230, PID 240, and VMCS 250 (including virtual local APIC (vAPIC) pointer 252 and PID pointer 254) corresponding to a target VM, all of which are defined and/or described below; paragraph [0051]: two physical processor cores).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Tsai discloses
wherein the opcode of the instruction is to indicate is a virtual machine function instruction and an implicit register value is to indicate exitless guest to host notification (paragraph [0038]: A first parameter associated with the VMFUNC instruction (e.g., the value in the EAX register in a processor in the Intel® Core® Processor Family) may specify that the function to be invoked is an inter-VM-IPI function (for example, the value of ‘1’ in the EAX register may specify the inter-VM-IPI function, which may therefore be referred to as VMFUNC(1)); paragraph [0062]: a sending VM may send a notification/interrupt to a target VM without a VM exit and without invoking a VMM … the notify-processor for the target processor in the target VM may, in response to a notify event, send an IPI by writing to the Interrupt Command Register of the corresponding vAPIC page (e.g., vAPIC page 23) with a vector corresponding to an inter-VM-IPI. If the target VM is active, the notification/interrupt may be delivered directly to the target VM (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) and without invoking a VMM. If the target VM is scheduled, the notification/interrupt may be posted (without a VM exit or invoking VMM) from a virtual processor to a physical or virtual processor (paragraph [0051]: the present invention provide for an inter-VM-IPI to be sent from guest software being executed by a first virtual processor in any VM (e.g., the first VM) to a second virtual processor in any other VM (e.g., the second VM) regardless of whether the first virtual processor and the second virtual processor are abstracted from the same physical processor or physical processor core or from two physical processors or physical processor cores in/on the same or different integrated circuits, die, chips, substrates, or packages).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17, and 19, Tsai discloses
wherein the execution processing resources, in response to the decoded single instruction, are further to index an inter-virtual machine inter-processor interrupt (IVIT) data structure using an index to acquire a destination identifier from an entry of the IVIT data structure (paragraph [0044]: Software, such as a VMM, may allocate a PID for each virtual processor that may be the target of an inter-VM-IPI. Each PID may have a format 400 as illustrated in FIG. 4, including fields 410, 420, 430, and 440; paragraph [0047]: Sub-field 422 (Dest-ID) may include 32 bits to identify the destination of the interrupt request, which, for example, may be the local APIC for the physical processor on which the virtual processor that is the target of the interrupt request is running), set a vector value in a posted-interrupt requests field of the destination (paragraph [0045]: [0045] Field 410 may include the lowest 32 bytes of a 64-byte PID to form a 256-bit posted interrupt request register (pIRR). Each bit of the pIRR may correspond to one of 256 virtual interrupt vectors for the virtual processor corresponding to the PID. Each bit of the pIRR may be set to post an interrupt request for a corresponding virtual interrupt vector (e.g., the virtual interrupt vector specified by vector field 228)).
Regarding claim 4 and 11, Tsai discloses
wherein the destination identifier is an address of a posted interrupt descriptor (FIGURE 4 Posted-Interrupt Descriptor 400; paragraph [0047]: Sub-field 422 (Dest-ID) may include 32 bits to identify the destination of the interrupt request).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Tsai discloses
wherein an index is to be provided by a field of the instruction (paragraph [0042]: handle field 224 may include 16 bits to store a handle value to be used to as an entry number, address, index, pointer, or other locator of or to a particular entry in the table such that a handle value specified by an inter-VM-IPI instruction may be used by inter-VM-IPI lookup circuitry 332 to find the desired entry in the table).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Tsai discloses
wherein the inter-processor interrupt is to be sent to an programmable interrupt controller (paragraph [0031]: local interrupt controller 350 may be a local APIC in a processor in the Core® Processor Family from Intel Corporation; paragraph [0047]: Sub-field 422 (Dest-ID) may include 32 bits to identify the destination of the interrupt request, which, for example, may be the local APIC for the physical processor on which the virtual processor that is the target of the interrupt request is running).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai discloses
wherein the inter-processor interrupt is to be sent to an programmable interrupt controller (paragraph [0031]: local interrupt controller 350 may be a local APIC in a processor in the Core® Processor Family from Intel Corporation; paragraph [0047]: Sub-field 422 (Dest-ID) may include 32 bits to identify the destination of the interrupt request, which, for example, may be the local APIC for the physical processor on which the virtual processor that is the target of the interrupt request is running) of the second processor core (paragraph [0051]: the present invention provide for an inter-VM-IPI to be sent from guest software being executed by a first virtual processor in any VM (e.g., the first VM) to a second virtual processor in any other VM (e.g., the second VM) regardless of whether the first virtual processor and the second virtual processor are abstracted from the same physical processor or physical processor core or from two physical processors or physical processor cores in/on the same or different integrated circuits, die, chips, substrates, or packages) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2017/0206177, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Pan et al. (US 2019/0213153 hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 5 and 12, Tsai discloses
wherein the destination identifier is an address of a … posted interrupt descriptor (FIGURE 4 Posted-Interrupt Descriptor 400; paragraph [0047]: Sub-field 422 (Dest-ID) may include 32 bits to identify the destination of the interrupt request).
Tsai does not disclose a user posted interrupt descriptor. Pan discloses a user posted interrupt descriptor (paragraph [0025]: the interrupt data 2845 may be implemented as a user posted interrupt descriptor (UPID). The interrupt data 2845 may indicate destination handlers and/or processing engines for all user interrupts associated with a particular task; paragraph [0311]: The UPID may also include a Notification Vector field to identify the notification vector. The UPID may also include a Notification Destination field to identify the notification destination. In some embodiments, the notification destination may be specified as a target physical Advanced Programmable Interrupt Controller (APIC) identifier. The UPID may also include a Posted Interrupt Requests field to indicate whether there is a user interrupt request for a user vector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai’s PID including sub-field (Dest-ID) to identify the destination of the interrupt request by Pan’s a user posted interrupt descriptor (UPID) including Notification Destination field to identify the notification destination, thereby resulting in UPID including destination id to identify the destination of the interrupt request for all user interrupt. The motivation would have been to reduce the time required to process the user interrupt and provide improved performance of interrupt handling (Pan paragraph [0345]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Tsirkin (US 2018/0063083) discloses “a VM Function 197A may only be invoked if hypervisor 180 provides access or grants a request. In an example, a hypervisor 180 may grant a VM 170A or guest OS 196A access to a VM Function 197A to allow the VM 170A or guest OS 196A to switch host page tables without an exit to the hypervisor” (paragraph [0025]).
Tsirkin (US 2016/0314009) discloses “accessing the memory (e.g., within page 310A) of the device using the virtual machine function 183 may include accessing the memory (e.g., within page 310A) of the device without an exit to the hypervisor 180. For example, the hypervisor 180 may not be required to set a trap to the hypervisor 180 and cause an exit to the hypervisor 180 each time the virtual machine 170A attempts to access the memory (e.g., within page 310A) of the device. Accordingly, overhead and processor utilization is reduced by facilitating access to the memory (e.g., within page 310A) of the host device without exiting” (paragraph [0039]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in [0037] CFR 1.136(a).
/SISLEY N KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196 09/02/2026