DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 4/20/2026, claims 1- 30 are cancelled and claims 31- 46 are added as new claims. Claims 31- 46 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 4/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31- 36, 38- 44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Wallentin et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0172306 A1), hereafter Pontus.
Regarding claim 31, Wu teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 3D, #102 UE as a WTRU), comprising: a processor configured to:
receive, from a network, a first message, wherein the first message indicates to the WTRU to transition to an inactive state (see [0096].. a scenario 300D is generally similar to the scenario 300A, except that a portion of the scenario 300D may occur when the radio connection between the UE 102 and the RAN 105 is suspended (e.g., when the UE 102 is in the inactive or idle state of the protocol for controlling radio resources between the UE 102 and the RAN 105, such as the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state of the RRC protocol). After DC configuration procedure 380D, the MN 104A determines 374D to configure the UE to enter an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE). The MN 104A then sends 376D an RRC suspension message to the UE 102 to cause the UE 102 to transition to the inactive state....);
receive, from the network, a second message, wherein the second message indicates to the WTRU to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (see Fig. 3D #354D RRC resume message), wherein the second message comprises an explicit indication that the WTRU is to resume operation in the connected state with a secondary cell group (SCG) in a deactivated state (see [0099]..If so, then the MN 104A transmits 354D an RRC resume message to the UE 102 including an indication that the UE 102 is to deactivate the SCG or to allow the SCG to remain deactivated….);
based on the second message, resume operation in the connected state with the SCG in the deactivated state (already described above see [0099] and steps 354D, 324D and 356D of Fig. 3D).
But Wu is silent about to send, to the network, an indication of a preference for SCG activation/deactivation and information associated with the preference associated with SCG activation/deactivation, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation comprises information associated with a bearer type and a data volume.
However Pontus teaches in [0021] regarding while the SCG is deactivated, determining availability of uplink (UL) data for transmission via the SCG. These exemplary methods can also include calculating an available UL data volume and transmitting an indication of the available UL data volume to the wireless network via one or more of the following: [0022] the SCG in the deactivated state; [0023] the SCG after being activated; [0024] the SCG after receiving an indication, from the wireless network, that the SCG should be activated; and [0025] the MCG; further see [0041- 0042] In various embodiments, calculating the available UL data volume can be based on one or more of the following: [0042] a type of bearer associated with the available UL data; further see [0221] When there is available UL data while the SCG is deactivated, the UE PDCP layer indicates UL data volume to the UE MCG and/or SCG MAC entities according to a set of pre-defined rules that consider the type of bearer associated with the available UL data, the available UL data volume relative to a threshold, whether MCG and/or SCG have been configured as primary path, whether PDCP duplication is configured, etc.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein to send, to the network, an indication of a preference for SCG activation/deactivation and information associated with the preference associated with SCG activation/deactivation, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation comprises information associated with a bearer type and a data volume; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 32, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the information associated with the bearer type and the data volume comprises an indication of uplink data that belongs to an SCG bearer; Pontus see [0035, 0221] and [432] B9.. wherein the indicated available UL data volume is determined by the UE based on one or more of the following: [0480] a type of bearer associated with the available UL data, [0481] whether MCG or SCG has been configured as a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) primary path..
Regarding claim 33, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation corresponds to a reason for requesting SCG activation; Pontus in context with [0028, 0033, 0039, 0058, 0074, 0180, 0235] refer to [0246]... upon receiving the BSR, the SN decides to activate the SCG permanently while the UE timer is running. The SN sends the UE an indication that the SCG should be activated, which causes the UE to stop the timer and keep the SCG activated (at least until a subsequent event or message causing deactivation).
Regarding claim 34, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; Pontus see [0152] Current RAN2 assumption is that in “SCG deactivated state”, the UE does not perform PDCCH monitoring of the PSCell in order to reduce energy consumption.
Regarding claim 35, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the first message is a radio resource control release message; Wu see Fig. 3D #376D.
Regarding claim 36, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the second message is a radio resource control resume message; Wu see Fig. 3D #354D.
Regarding claim 38, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, wherein the radio resource control reconfiguration message is received via a master cell group (MCG); Wu see [0094].. In some implementations, the RAN 105 can set the primary path to the MCG in the RRC reconfiguration message the MN 104A transmits 314A,… For example, the second RRC message can be an RRC reconfiguration message including a primary path configuration (e.g., primaryPath field) including a cell group identity (e.g., CellGroupId IE) of the MCG.
Regarding claim 39, Wu teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (see Fig. 3D, #102 UE as a WTRU), comprising:
receiving, from a network, a first message, wherein the first message indicates to the WTRU to transition to an inactive state (see [0096].. a scenario 300D is generally similar to the scenario 300A, except that a portion of the scenario 300D may occur when the radio connection between the UE 102 and the RAN 105 is suspended (e.g., when the UE 102 is in the inactive or idle state of the protocol for controlling radio resources between the UE 102 and the RAN 105, such as the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state of the RRC protocol). After DC configuration procedure 380D, the MN 104A determines 374D to configure the UE to enter an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE). The MN 104A then sends 376D an RRC suspension message to the UE 102 to cause the UE 102 to transition to the inactive state....);
receiving, from the network, a second message, wherein the second message indicates to the WTRU to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (see Fig. 3D #354D RRC resume message), wherein the second message comprises an explicit indication that the WTRU is to resume operation in the connected state with a secondary cell group (SCG) in a deactivated state (see [0099]..If so, then the MN 104A transmits 354D an RRC resume message to the UE 102 including an indication that the UE 102 is to deactivate the SCG or to allow the SCG to remain deactivated….);
based on the second message, resume operation in the connected state with the SCG in the deactivated state (already described above see [0099] and steps 354D, 324D and 356D of Fig. 3D).
But Wu is silent about to sending, to the network, an indication of a preference for SCG activation/deactivation and information associated with the preference associated with SCG activation/deactivation, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation comprises information associated with a bearer type and a data volume.
However Pontus teaches in [0021] regarding while the SCG is deactivated, determining availability of uplink (UL) data for transmission via the SCG. These exemplary methods can also include calculating an available UL data volume and transmitting an indication of the available UL data volume to the wireless network via one or more of the following: [0022] the SCG in the deactivated state; [0023] the SCG after being activated; [0024] the SCG after receiving an indication, from the wireless network, that the SCG should be activated; and [0025] the MCG; further see [0041- 0042] In various embodiments, calculating the available UL data volume can be based on one or more of the following: [0042] a type of bearer associated with the available UL data; further see [0221] When there is available UL data while the SCG is deactivated, the UE PDCP layer indicates UL data volume to the UE MCG and/or SCG MAC entities according to a set of pre-defined rules that consider the type of bearer associated with the available UL data, the available UL data volume relative to a threshold, whether MCG and/or SCG have been configured as primary path, whether PDCP duplication is configured, etc.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein to sending, to the network, an indication of a preference for SCG activation/deactivation and information associated with the preference associated with SCG activation/deactivation, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation comprises information associated with a bearer type and a data volume; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 40, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the information associated with the bearer type and the data volume comprises an indication of uplink data that belongs to an SCG bearer; Pontus see [0035, 0221] and [432] B9.. wherein the indicated available UL data volume is determined by the UE based on one or more of the following: [0480] a type of bearer associated with the available UL data, [0481] whether MCG or SCG has been configured as a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) primary path..
Regarding claim 41, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the information associated with the preference for SCG activation/deactivation corresponds to a reason for requesting SCG activation; Pontus in context with [0028, 0033, 0039, 0058, 0074, 0180, 0235] refer to [0246]... upon receiving the BSR, the SN decides to activate the SCG permanently while the UE timer is running. The SN sends the UE an indication that the SCG should be activated, which causes the UE to stop the timer and keep the SCG activated (at least until a subsequent event or message causing deactivation).
Regarding claim 42, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; Pontus see [0152] Current RAN2 assumption is that in “SCG deactivated state”, the UE does not perform PDCCH monitoring of the PSCell in order to reduce energy consumption.
Regarding claim 43, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the first message is a radio resource control release message; Wu see Fig. 3D #376D.
Regarding claim 44, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the second message is a radio resource control resume message; Wu see Fig. 3D #354D.
Regarding claim 45, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, wherein the radio resource control reconfiguration message is received via a master cell group (MCG); Wu see [0094].. In some implementations, the RAN 105 can set the primary path to the MCG in the RRC reconfiguration message the MN 104A transmits 314A,… For example, the second RRC message can be an RRC reconfiguration message including a primary path configuration (e.g., primaryPath field) including a cell group identity (e.g., CellGroupId IE) of the MCG.
Regarding claim 46, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 45, wherein the radio resource control reconfiguration message is received via a master cell group (MCG); Wu see [0094].. In some implementations, the RAN 105 can set the primary path to the MCG in the RRC reconfiguration message the MN 104A transmits 314A,… For example, the second RRC message can be an RRC reconfiguration message including a primary path configuration (e.g., primaryPath field) including a cell group identity (e.g., CellGroupId IE) of the MCG.
Claim(s) 37 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Wallentin et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0172306 A1), hereafter Pontus and in further view of Futaki et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0254901 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; however Futaki teaches in [0058- 0059] regarding FIG. 3 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 301, the UE 3 receives signaling for PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell addition involves adding a PSCell associated with the SN 2. The PSCell mobility may be an intra-SN PSCell change, an inter-SN PSCell change, a PSCell reconfiguration, or a SCG reconfiguration following a handover (MN change). In some implementations, the UE 3 receives from the SN 2 via the MN 1 an SN RRC Reconfiguration message containing a configuration regarding the PSCell. The configuration regarding the PSCell may include an SpCellConfig field contained in a CellGroupConfig Information Element (IE); further see [0059] The PSCell addition or PSCell mobility in step 301 may be accompanied by deactivation of the SCG. The SCG may be deactivated during the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell mobility may take place while the SCG is deactivated. In other words, during the PSCell mobility while the SCG is deactivated, the SCG may be kept (or maintained) in the deactivated state; further see [0060] In step 302, when the SCG is deactivated upon the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, the UE 3 performs random access to the (new) PSCell in response to the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, without waiting until a future SCG activation. The random access may be referred to as RACH or RACH procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Wu in view of Pontus to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein to receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 45, Wu in view of Pontus teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; however Futaki teaches in [0058- 0059] regarding FIG. 3 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 301, the UE 3 receives signaling for PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell addition involves adding a PSCell associated with the SN 2. The PSCell mobility may be an intra-SN PSCell change, an inter-SN PSCell change, a PSCell reconfiguration, or a SCG reconfiguration following a handover (MN change). In some implementations, the UE 3 receives from the SN 2 via the MN 1 an SN RRC Reconfiguration message containing a configuration regarding the PSCell. The configuration regarding the PSCell may include an SpCellConfig field contained in a CellGroupConfig Information Element (IE); further see [0059] The PSCell addition or PSCell mobility in step 301 may be accompanied by deactivation of the SCG. The SCG may be deactivated during the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell mobility may take place while the SCG is deactivated. In other words, during the PSCell mobility while the SCG is deactivated, the SCG may be kept (or maintained) in the deactivated state; further see [0060] In step 302, when the SCG is deactivated upon the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, the UE 3 performs random access to the (new) PSCell in response to the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, without waiting until a future SCG activation. The random access may be referred to as RACH or RACH procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Wu in view of Pontus to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein to receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479