DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 8/17/2026 has been entered. In response to amendment filed on 8/17/2026, claims 1- 30, 32, 33, 38, 40- 41, 46 are cancelled and claims 47- 56 are added as new claims and claims 31, 34, 37, 39, 42 and 45 are amended. Claims 31, 34- 37, 39, 42- 45, 47- 56 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 8/17/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31, 35- 36, 39, 43- 44, 50, 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0046747 A1), hereafter Silva.
Regarding claim 31, Wu teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 3D, #102 UE as a WTRU), comprising: a processor configured to:
receive, from a network, a first message, wherein the first message indicates to the WTRU to transition to an inactive state (see [0096].. a scenario 300D is generally similar to the scenario 300A, except that a portion of the scenario 300D may occur when the radio connection between the UE 102 and the RAN 105 is suspended (e.g., when the UE 102 is in the inactive or idle state of the protocol for controlling radio resources between the UE 102 and the RAN 105, such as the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state of the RRC protocol). After DC configuration procedure 380D, the MN 104A determines 374D to configure the UE to enter an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE). The MN 104A then sends 376D an RRC suspension message to the UE 102 to cause the UE 102 to transition to the inactive state....); wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells; send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; and
receive, from the network, a second message, wherein the second message indicates to the WTRU to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (see Fig. 3D #354D RRC resume message), wherein the second message comprises an explicit indication that the WTRU is to resume operation in the connected state with the one or more secondary cells in an activated state or in a deactivated state (see [0099]..If so, then the MN 104A transmits 354D an RRC resume message to the UE 102 including an indication that the UE 102 is to deactivate the SCG or to allow the SCG to remain deactivated….; now refer to [0102]… Neither the MN 104A nor the SN 106A include an indication to deactivate the SCG in the RRC resume message. In response to the RRC resume message, the UE 102 enters the connected state, activates or resumes the MCG and SCG, and communicates with the MN 104A and SN 106A in DC…);
But Wu is silent about 1) wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells.
Also Wu is silent about 2) send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells.
However Silva states
1) see [0359] about the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration); now see [0176] The UE 10 receives configuration data to configure the UE 10 with an early measurement configuration, which the UE 10 will use to perform measurements in dormant state. [0177] The UE 10 further receives configuration data to configure the UE 10 with one or more SCG configurations that are to be stored by the UE 10 and/or the radio network node 12 while the UE 10 is in dormant state. [0178] In some embodiments, configuring the UE 10 further comprises: Configuring the UE 10 with one or more trigger conditions, associated with the one or more SCG configurations; further see [0341] This conditional SCG addition configuration also contains an associated trigger condition configuration whose input should be at least cell level values for at least one measurement quantity….; further see [0356] about EventTriggerConfigForSCG structure.
2)Silva teaches in [0332] about ….Upon the resumption of the connection, e.g. due to paging signifying downlink data arrival or upon arrival of UL data, the UE 10 checks if the trigger conditions are fulfilled …; now refer to [0333] about … where the UE 10 applies the SCG configurations (i.e. preference) before sending the RRC Resume Request, and indicates to the network which SCG configuration (i.e. preference) it has applied in the RRC Resume Request message…
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Silva with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective; see Silve [0099, 0157]. Having a mechanism about 1) wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells and to send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 35, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, wherein the first message is a radio resource control release message; Wu see Fig. 3D #376D.
Regarding claim 36, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, wherein the second message is a radio resource control resume message; Wu see Fig. 3D #354D.
Regarding claim 39, Wu teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (see Fig. 3D, #102 UE as a WTRU), comprising:
receiving, from a network, a first message, wherein the first message indicates to the WTRU to transition to an inactive state (see [0096].. a scenario 300D is generally similar to the scenario 300A, except that a portion of the scenario 300D may occur when the radio connection between the UE 102 and the RAN 105 is suspended (e.g., when the UE 102 is in the inactive or idle state of the protocol for controlling radio resources between the UE 102 and the RAN 105, such as the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state of the RRC protocol). After DC configuration procedure 380D, the MN 104A determines 374D to configure the UE to enter an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE). The MN 104A then sends 376D an RRC suspension message to the UE 102 to cause the UE 102 to transition to the inactive state....); wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells; send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; and
receiving, from the network, a second message, wherein the second message indicates to the WTRU to transition from the inactive state to a connected state (see Fig. 3D #354D RRC resume message), wherein the second message comprises an explicit indication that the WTRU is to resume operation in the connected state with the one or more secondary cells in an activated state or in a deactivated state (see [0099]..If so, then the MN 104A transmits 354D an RRC resume message to the UE 102 including an indication that the UE 102 is to deactivate the SCG or to allow the SCG to remain deactivated….; now refer to [0102]… Neither the MN 104A nor the SN 106A include an indication to deactivate the SCG in the RRC resume message. In response to the RRC resume message, the UE 102 enters the connected state, activates or resumes the MCG and SCG, and communicates with the MN 104A and SN 106A in DC…);
But Wu is silent about 1) wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells.
Also Wu is silent about 2) send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells.
However Silva states
1) see [0359] about the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration); now see [0176] The UE 10 receives configuration data to configure the UE 10 with an early measurement configuration, which the UE 10 will use to perform measurements in dormant state. [0177] The UE 10 further receives configuration data to configure the UE 10 with one or more SCG configurations that are to be stored by the UE 10 and/or the radio network node 12 while the UE 10 is in dormant state. [0178] In some embodiments, configuring the UE 10 further comprises: Configuring the UE 10 with one or more trigger conditions, associated with the one or more SCG configurations; further see [0341] This conditional SCG addition configuration also contains an associated trigger condition configuration whose input should be at least cell level values for at least one measurement quantity….; further see [0356] about EventTriggerConfigForSCG structure.
2)Silva teaches in [0332] about ….Upon the resumption of the connection, e.g. due to paging signifying downlink data arrival or upon arrival of UL data, the UE 10 checks if the trigger conditions are fulfilled …; now refer to [0333] about … where the UE 10 applies the SCG configurations (i.e. preference) before sending the RRC Resume Request, and indicates to the network which SCG configuration (i.e. preference) it has applied in the RRC Resume Request message…
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Silva with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective; see Silve [0099, 0157]. Having a mechanism about 1) wherein the first message comprises one or more conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells and to send upon determining data available to be sent to the network, a request to resume operation in a connected state, wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 43, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, wherein the first message is a radio resource control release message; Wu see Fig. 3D #376D.
Regarding claim 44, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, wherein the second message is a radio resource control resume message; Wu see Fig. 3D #354D.
Regarding claim 50, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a signal level or signal quality threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if a signal level or signal quality of the one or more secondary cells is above the signal level or signal quality threshold; Silva see [0341].. conditional SCG addition configuration also contains an associated trigger condition configuration whose input should be at least cell level values for at least one measurement quantity e.g. cell reference signal received power (RSRP), cell RSRP or cell signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). Beam measurement information may also be used as triggering criteria, e.g., combined with cell level measurement quantities. The triggering may also be based on combination of measurements based on multiple quantities and, the trigger quantities that are described herein are at least RSRP, RSRQ and SINR. They may be based on cell measurements, i.e. cell level RSRP, cell level RSRQ, cell level SINR…; now refer to [0355] about NR EventTriggerConfig structure.
Regarding claim 55, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a signal level or signal quality threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if a signal level or signal quality of the one or more secondary cells is above the signal level or signal quality threshold; Silva see [0341].. conditional SCG addition configuration also contains an associated trigger condition configuration whose input should be at least cell level values for at least one measurement quantity e.g. cell reference signal received power (RSRP), cell RSRP or cell signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). Beam measurement information may also be used as triggering criteria, e.g., combined with cell level measurement quantities. The triggering may also be based on combination of measurements based on multiple quantities and, the trigger quantities that are described herein are at least RSRP, RSRQ and SINR. They may be based on cell measurements, i.e. cell level RSRP, cell level RSRQ, cell level SINR…; now refer to [0355] about NR EventTriggerConfig structure.
Claim(s) 34, 42, 51 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0046747 A1), hereafter Silva and further in view of Wallentin et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0172306 A1), hereafter Pontus.
Regarding claim 34, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; however Pontus teaches in [0152] Current RAN2 assumption is that in “SCG deactivated state”, the UE does not perform PDCCH monitoring of the PSCell in order to reduce energy consumption. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 42, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; however Pontus teaches in [0152] Current RAN2 assumption is that in “SCG deactivated state”, the UE does not perform PDCCH monitoring of the PSCell in order to reduce energy consumption. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the WTRU is configured to not perform physical downlink control channel monitoring via the SCG while the SCG is in the deactivated state; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 51, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a data threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if the data available to be sent of the one or more secondary cells is above the data threshold; however Pontus teaches in [0238] about the data volume threshold for reporting via SCG can be the same or different for a deactivated SCG and an activated SCG. One possible advantage of defining a different threshold could be the network only wants BSR for deactivated SCG when there is a significant amount of data. In such case, the threshold can be set higher to transmit BSR in deactivated state than in activated state. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a data threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if the data available to be sent of the one or more secondary cells is above the data threshold; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 56, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a data threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if the data available to be sent of the one or more secondary cells is above the data threshold; however Pontus teaches in [0238] about the data volume threshold for reporting via SCG can be the same or different for a deactivated SCG and an activated SCG. One possible advantage of defining a different threshold could be the network only wants BSR for deactivated SCG when there is a significant amount of data. In such case, the threshold can be set higher to transmit BSR in deactivated state than in activated state. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pontus with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the conditions for determining a preference for activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells comprises a data threshold, and the WTRU is configured to indicate a preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells if the data available to be sent of the one or more secondary cells is above the data threshold; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 37 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0046747 A1), hereafter Silva and in further view of Futaki et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0254901 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the one or more secondary cells activated or deactivated; however Futaki teaches in [0058- 0059] regarding FIG. 3 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 301, the UE 3 receives signaling for PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell addition involves adding a PSCell associated with the SN 2. The PSCell mobility may be an intra-SN PSCell change, an inter-SN PSCell change, a PSCell reconfiguration, or a SCG reconfiguration following a handover (MN change). In some implementations, the UE 3 receives from the SN 2 via the MN 1 an SN RRC Reconfiguration message containing a configuration regarding the PSCell. The configuration regarding the PSCell may include an SpCellConfig field contained in a CellGroupConfig Information Element (IE); further see [0059] The PSCell addition or PSCell mobility in step 301 may be accompanied by deactivation of the SCG. The SCG may be deactivated during the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell mobility may take place while the SCG is deactivated. In other words, during the PSCell mobility while the SCG is deactivated, the SCG may be kept (or maintained) in the deactivated state; further see [0060] In step 302, when the SCG is deactivated upon the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, the UE 3 performs random access to the (new) PSCell in response to the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, without waiting until a future SCG activation. The random access may be referred to as RACH or RACH procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein to receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the one or more secondary cells activated or deactivated; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 45, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; however Futaki teaches in [0058- 0059] regarding FIG. 3 shows an example of the operation of the UE 3. In step 301, the UE 3 receives signaling for PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell addition involves adding a PSCell associated with the SN 2. The PSCell mobility may be an intra-SN PSCell change, an inter-SN PSCell change, a PSCell reconfiguration, or a SCG reconfiguration following a handover (MN change). In some implementations, the UE 3 receives from the SN 2 via the MN 1 an SN RRC Reconfiguration message containing a configuration regarding the PSCell. The configuration regarding the PSCell may include an SpCellConfig field contained in a CellGroupConfig Information Element (IE); further see [0059] The PSCell addition or PSCell mobility in step 301 may be accompanied by deactivation of the SCG. The SCG may be deactivated during the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility. The PSCell mobility may take place while the SCG is deactivated. In other words, during the PSCell mobility while the SCG is deactivated, the SCG may be kept (or maintained) in the deactivated state; further see [0060] In step 302, when the SCG is deactivated upon the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, the UE 3 performs random access to the (new) PSCell in response to the PSCell addition or PSCell mobility, without waiting until a future SCG activation. The random access may be referred to as RACH or RACH procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein to receive a radio resource control reconfiguration message, the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprising an indication of primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change, the radio resource control message comprising an indication of whether the SCG is activated or deactivated; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 47, 49, 52, 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0046747 A1), hereafter Silva and in further view of Wang (US Pat. No. 12389488 B2).
Regarding claim 47, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first inactive radio network temporary identifiers (I-RNTIs) and a second I-RNTI, and the first I- RNTI is associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the second I-RNTI is associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; however Wang states in col.11 lines 14- 24 about Optionally, in Example 4, when the network device releases the UE to enter RRC_INACTIVE, two I-RNTIs (a first I-RNTI and a second I-RNTI) are separately configured to the UE. One is configured by an MN device, and the other one is configured by the MN device or an SN device. The MN device keeps two I-RNTIs both. If the UE initiates the RRC resume request information by using one I-RNTI (the first I-RNTI), it indicates that the SCG needs to be activated. If the UE initiates the RRC resume request information by using the other one (the second I-RNTI), it indicates that the SCG does not need to be activated; also refer to col. 10 lines 49- 67 and col. 11 lines 1- 14 about Example 4, Different Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identities (I-RNTI) Correspond to Different First Information In a case that the terminal device indicates the first information by using a first I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process; and/or, in a case that the terminal device indicates the first information by using a second I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. For example, in a case that the first information is carried in the RRC resume request information, and the terminal device transmits the RRC resume request information by using the first I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be an identifier of the first I-RNTI. After acquiring the identifier of the I-RNTI, the network device may learn that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. For another example, in a case that the first information is carried in the RRC resume request information, and the terminal device transmits the RRC resume request information by using a second I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be an identifier of the second I-RNTI. After acquiring the identifier of the I-RNTI, the network device may learn that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first inactive radio network temporary identifiers (I-RNTIs) and a second I-RNTI, and the first I- RNTI is associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the second I-RNTI is associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 49, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about wherein the request to resume operation comprises an explicit indication of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; however Wang teaches about in the embodiments of the disclosure, the first information may explicitly indicate whether the terminal device expects to activate an SCG in an RRC connection resume process. For example, the first information is carried in RRC signaling and the first information occupies a spare bit in the RRC signaling. When the spare bit is 1, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. When the spare bit is 0, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. Certainly, the first information may also occupy other bits in the RRC signaling, or the first information may reuse other bits in the RRC signaling. No limits are made thereto in the disclosure; see lines 14- 27 of col. 8. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the request to resume operation comprises an explicit indication of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 52, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first inactive radio network temporary identifiers (I-RNTIs) and a second I-RNTI, and the first I- RNTI is associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the second I-RNTI is associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; however Wang states in col.11 lines 14- 24 about Optionally, in Example 4, when the network device releases the UE to enter RRC_INACTIVE, two I-RNTIs (a first I-RNTI and a second I-RNTI) are separately configured to the UE. One is configured by an MN device, and the other one is configured by the MN device or an SN device. The MN device keeps two I-RNTIs both. If the UE initiates the RRC resume request information by using one I-RNTI (the first I-RNTI), it indicates that the SCG needs to be activated. If the UE initiates the RRC resume request information by using the other one (the second I-RNTI), it indicates that the SCG does not need to be activated; also refer to col. 10 lines 49- 67 and col. 11 lines 1- 14 about Example 4, Different Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identities (I-RNTI) Correspond to Different First Information In a case that the terminal device indicates the first information by using a first I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process; and/or, in a case that the terminal device indicates the first information by using a second I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. For example, in a case that the first information is carried in the RRC resume request information, and the terminal device transmits the RRC resume request information by using the first I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be an identifier of the first I-RNTI. After acquiring the identifier of the I-RNTI, the network device may learn that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. For another example, in a case that the first information is carried in the RRC resume request information, and the terminal device transmits the RRC resume request information by using a second I-RNTI, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be an identifier of the second I-RNTI. After acquiring the identifier of the I-RNTI, the network device may learn that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first inactive radio network temporary identifiers (I-RNTIs) and a second I-RNTI, and the first I- RNTI is associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the second I-RNTI is associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 54, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about wherein the request to resume operation comprises an explicit indication of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; however Wang teaches about in the embodiments of the disclosure, the first information may explicitly indicate whether the terminal device expects to activate an SCG in an RRC connection resume process. For example, the first information is carried in RRC signaling and the first information occupies a spare bit in the RRC signaling. When the spare bit is 1, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. When the spare bit is 0, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate an SCG in the RRC connection resume process. Certainly, the first information may also occupy other bits in the RRC signaling, or the first information may reuse other bits in the RRC signaling. No limits are made thereto in the disclosure; see lines 14- 27 of col. 8. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the request to resume operation comprises an explicit indication of the preference for activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary cells; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 48 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2024/0138004 A1) in view of Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0046747 A1), hereafter Silva and in further view of Wang (US Pat. No. 12389488 B2) and in further view of Bertrand et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0163231 A1).
Regarding claim 48, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 31, but Wu is silent about wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first set or partition of random access (RA) preambles and a second set or partition of RAs, wherein the RAs in the first set or partition are associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the RAs in the second set or partition are associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells, and wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of a preference for activation if a preamble associated with the RAs in the first partition are used during the request to resume operation; however Wang states in col. 9 lines 15- 35 about Example 2, Different Preambles Correspond to Different First Information In a case that the terminal device indicates the first information through a first preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process; and/or, in a case that the terminal device indicates the first information through a second preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process…… terminal device initiates a random access process and transmits the RRC resume request information by using the first preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be the first preamble. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first set or partition of random access (RA) preambles and a second set or partition of RAs, wherein the RAs in the first set or partition are associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the RAs in the second set or partition are associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells, and wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of a preference for activation if a preamble associated with the RAs in the first partition are used during the request to resume operation; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system. Here Wang states about first and second preamble but unable to clearly states about first/second set or partitions of Ras; however Bertrand teaches in [0010] about ……..A number of available preambles are provided that can be used concurrently to minimize the collision probability between UEs accessing the PRACH in a contention-based manner. The signatures for random access preambles are partitioned into two configurable-size groups, enabling carrying 1-bit of information on the preamble. This information indicates to the eNB the preferred size of the first post-preamble PUSCH transmission, chosen by the UE from among two possible sizes based on the amount of data available for transmission and the radio conditions. 3GPP Document R1-083476 suggests use of a Pathloss measurement as a radio-link metric for preamble group selection in the Random Access procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bertrand with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 53, Wu in view of Silva teaches as per claim 39, but Wu is silent about wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first set or partition of random access (RA) preambles and a second set or partition of RAs, wherein the RAs in the first set or partition are associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the RAs in the second set or partition are associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells, and wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of a preference for activation if a preamble associated with the RAs in the first partition are used during the request to resume operation; however Wang states in col. 9 lines 15- 35 about Example 2, Different Preambles Correspond to Different First Information In a case that the terminal device indicates the first information through a first preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process; and/or, in a case that the terminal device indicates the first information through a second preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device does not expect to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process…… terminal device initiates a random access process and transmits the RRC resume request information by using the first preamble, the first information indicates that the terminal device expects to activate the SCG in the RRC connection resume process. In this case, the first information may be the first preamble. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first message comprises an indication of a first set or partition of random access (RA) preambles and a second set or partition of RAs, wherein the RAs in the first set or partition are associated with a first preference for activation of the one or more secondary cells and the RAs in the second set or partition are associated with a second preference for deactivation of the one or more secondary cells, and wherein the request to resume operation is indicative of a preference for activation if a preamble associated with the RAs in the first partition are used during the request to resume operation; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system. Here Wang states about first and second preamble but unable to clearly states about first/second set or partitions of Ras; however Bertrand teaches in [0010] about ……..A number of available preambles are provided that can be used concurrently to minimize the collision probability between UEs accessing the PRACH in a contention-based manner. The signatures for random access preambles are partitioned into two configurable-size groups, enabling carrying 1-bit of information on the preamble. This information indicates to the eNB the preferred size of the first post-preamble PUSCH transmission, chosen by the UE from among two possible sizes based on the amount of data available for transmission and the radio conditions. 3GPP Document R1-083476 suggests use of a Pathloss measurement as a radio-link metric for preamble group selection in the Random Access procedure. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bertrand with the teachings of Wu in view of Silva to make system more standardized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Yilmaz et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0267631 A1) teaches about method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for handling multiple Secondary Cell Group (SCG) configurations in a wireless communications network, the method comprising: receiving from a network node at least: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node (SN), an indication of whether the first SCG configuration is to be configured as active or inactive, a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether the second SCG configuration is to be configured as active or inactive; deciding whether to handle each received SCG configuration according to a first option or a second option based on its associated indication, wherein: the first option comprises: storing a received SCG configuration that is indicated to be configured as inactive; and the second option comprises: activating, in the UE, a received SCG configuration that is indicated to be configured as active; see claim 15.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479