DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 9/23/2023, claims 1-15 are cancelled and claims 16- 30 are pending for examinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 20- 26 and 28- 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rugeland et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0262501 A1), hereafter Patrik.
Regarding claim 16, Patrik teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: a processor configured (see Fig. 18 processor of UE (i.e. WTRU)) to: receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information (see
[0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions The UE can indicate to the network when it
has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions….; further refer to [0148]… when the UE receives the indication to suspend the SCG, it also receives a new SCG measurement configuration. FIG. 10 shows an ASN.1 data structure defining an exemplary RRCReconfiguration message including an indication to suspend the SCG (i.e., suspendSCG in RRCReconfiguration-v15xx-IEs) and an SCG
measurement configuration to use while the SCG is suspended (i.e., suspendedSCG-measConfig)...) is associated with a transition to a first activity level from a second activity level (see [0121] FIG. 9 shows NR RRC states and procedures by which a UE transitions between the NR RRC states. As shown in FIG. 9, the transitions between RRC_INACTIVE (i.e. second activity level) and RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. first activity level) states are realized by two new procedures: “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) and “Resume.; further refer to [0122]… NR SCell configurations are stored upon UE suspension to RRC_INACTIVE ….When an RRC _INACTIVE UE initiates a resume procedure, the SCell configurations are restored upon the reception of an RRCResume message from the network, which may contain SCell configurations to either add or remove SCells; further refer to [0130]), and wherein the configuration information indicates conditions associated with determining a secondary cell group (SCG) activation level associated with resumption of the first activity level (see [0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled) associated with resumption of the first activity level (i.e. see [0121]: FIG. 9, the transitions between RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED states are realized by two new procedures: … “Resume.”); [0122]: NR SCell configurations are stored upon UE suspension to RRC_INACTIVE … When an RRC _INACTIVE UE initiates a resume procedure, the SCell configurations are restored upon the reception of an RRCResume message from the network, which may contain SCell configurations to either add or remove SCells;), wherein the SCG activation level is an activated SCG or a deactivated SCG (see [0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled);
transition from the first activity level to the second activity level (already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED to RRC _INACTIVE by sending the UE an RRCRelease message with suspend indication (or configuration).);
transition from the second activity level to the first activity level (already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]... the transitions between RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED states are realized by two new procedures: “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) and “Resume.”.);
determine the SCG activation level based on an evaluation of the conditions in the configuration information, wherein the conditions in the configuration information comprise a WTRU condition (see [0143].. the UE could interpret the arrival of UL data to be sent on an SCG-terminated bearer while the SCG is suspended as an implicit command and/or indication to send an SCG measurement report. In general, if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed) and a network condition, wherein the network condition comprises at least whether a bearer
type associated with UL data is a first bearer type or a second bearer type (see [0140].. report when certain buffer status conditions are met (e.g. total buffer size of a UL data becomes greater than a certain threshold, total buffer size of UL data belonging to split bearers becomes greater than a certain threshold, buffer size of UL data of a certain (split) bearer becomes greater than a certain threshold, etc.); further see [0146]: The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled); and
indicate, to a base station, the determined SCG activation level (see [0146].. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled. The UE can indicate to the network when it has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions; further see [0171]: if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed).
Regarding claim 17, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the determined SCG activation level is the activated SCG, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
based on the determined SCG activation level being the activated SCG, initiate at least one of a random access (RA) procedure or channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting towards the activated SCG during the resumption of the first activity level; see [0171].. the UE could interpret the arrival of UL data to be sent on an SCG-terminated
bearer while the SCG is suspended as an implicit command and/or indication to send an SCG measurement report. In general, if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed. This indication could be, for example, an RRC message or MAC CE sent to the MN or a random access request sent to the SN.
Regarding claim 18, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the network condition further comprises at least one of:
whether a radio signal level measurement threshold is met, or
whether an uplink (UL) data amount threshold is met; already described above see [0140].. report when certain buffer status conditions are met (e.g. total buffer size of a UL data becomes greater than a certain threshold, total buffer size of UL data belonging to split bearers becomes greater than a certain threshold, buffer size of UL data of a certain (split) bearer becomes greater than a certain threshold, etc.); further see [0146]: The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled.
Regarding claim 20, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a suspension command from the base station, wherein the transition from the first activity level to the second activity level is based on receiving the suspension command; already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend”
(also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED to RRC _INACTIVE by sending the UE an RRCRelease message with suspend indication.
Regarding claim 21, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to:
detect an arrival of UL data, wherein the transition from the second activity level to the first activity level is based on the arrival of UL data; see [0089]... when the suspended UE needs to resume a connection (e.g., to send UL data), instead of going through the conventional service request procedure, the suspended UE merely sends an RRCConnectionResume-Request message to the eNB. The eNB resumes the S1AP context and responds with aRRCConnectionResume message; in above context pls refer to [0139- 0140, 0171].
Regarding claim 22, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the first activity level is an RRC CONNECTED state and the second activity level is an RRC INACTIVE state; already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED (i.e. first activity level) to RRC _INACTIVE (i.e. second activity level) by sending the UE an RRCRelease message…..
Regarding claim 23, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to indicate, to the base station, at least one of:
a cause associated with the determined SCG activation level, or
a measurement associated with the determined SCG activation level; already described above see [0146].. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled. The UE can indicate to the network when it has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions; further see [0171]: if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed.
Regarding claim 24, Patrik teaches a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (see Fig. 18 UE (i.e. WTRU)) to:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information (see [0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions The UE can indicate to the network when it
has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions….; further refer to [0148]… when the UE receives the indication to suspend the SCG, it also receives a new SCG measurement configuration. FIG. 10 shows an ASN.1 data structure defining an exemplary RRCReconfiguration message including an indication to suspend the SCG (i.e., suspendSCG in RRCReconfiguration-v15xx-IEs) and an SCG measurement configuration to use while the SCG is suspended (i.e., suspendedSCG-measConfig) ) is associated with a transition to a first activity level
from a second activity level (see [0121] FIG. 9 shows NR RRC states and procedures by which a UE transitions between the NR RRC states. As shown in FIG. 9, the
transitions between RRC_INACTIVE (i.e. second activity level) and RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. first activity level) states are realized by two new procedures: “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) and “Resume.; further refer to [0122]… NR SCell configurations are stored upon UE suspension to RRC_INACTIVE ….When an RRC _INACTIVE UE initiates a resume procedure, the SCell configurations are restored upon the reception of an RRCResume message from the network, which may contain SCell configurations to either add or remove SCells; further refer to [0130]), and wherein the configuration information indicates conditions associated with determining a secondary cell group (SCG) activation level associated with resumption of the first activity level (see [0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled) associated with resumption of the first activity level (i.e. see [0121]: FIG. 9, the transitions between RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED states are realized by two new procedures: … “Resume.”); [0122]: NR SCell configurations are stored upon UE suspension to RRC_INACTIVE … When an RRC _INACTIVE UE initiates a resume procedure, the SCell configurations are restored upon the reception of an RRCResume message from the network, which may contain SCell configurations to either add or remove SCells;), wherein the SCG activation level is an activated SCG or a deactivated SCG (see [0146].. the UE can be configured with a conditional activation configuration including SCG activation conditions. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are
fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled);
transitioning from the first activity level to the second activity level (already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED to RRC _INACTIVE by sending the UE an RRCRelease message with suspend indication (or configuration).);
transitioning from the second activity level to the first activity level (already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]... the transitions between RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED states are realized by two new procedures: “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) and “Resume.”.);
determining the SCG activation level based on an evaluation of the conditions in the configuration information, wherein the conditions in the configuration information comprise a WTRU condition (see [0143].. the UE could interpret the arrival of UL data to be sent on an SCG-terminated bearer while the SCG is suspended as an implicit command and/or indication to send an SCG measurement report. In general, if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed) and a network condition, wherein the network condition comprises at least whether a bearer type associated with UL data is a first bearer type or a second bearer type (see [0140].. report when certain buffer status conditions are met (e.g. total buffer size of a UL data becomes greater than a certain threshold, total buffer size of UL data belonging to split bearers becomes greater than a certain threshold, buffer size of
UL data of a certain (split) bearer becomes greater than a certain threshold, etc.); further see [0146]: The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled); and
indicating, to a base station, the determined SCG activation level (see [0146].. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled. The UE can indicate to the network when it has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions; further see [0171]: if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed).
Regarding claim 25, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, wherein the determined SCG activation level is the activated SCG, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
based on the determined SCG activation level being the activated SCG, initiate at least one of a random access (RA) procedure or channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting towards the activated SCG during the resumption of the first activity level; see [0171].. the UE could interpret the arrival of UL data to be sent on an SCG-terminated bearer while the SCG is suspended as an implicit command and/or indication to send an SCG measurement report. In general, if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the
SCG should be resumed. This indication could be, for example, an RRC message or MAC CE sent to the MN or a random access request sent to the SN.
Regarding claim 26, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, wherein the network condition further comprises at least one of:
whether a radio signal level measurement threshold is met, or
whether an uplink (UL) data amount threshold is met; already described above see [0140].. report when certain buffer status conditions are met (e.g. total buffer size of a UL data becomes greater than a certain threshold, total buffer size of UL data belonging to split bearers becomes greater than a certain threshold, buffer size of UL data of a certain (split) bearer becomes greater than a certain threshold, etc.); further see [0146]: The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled.
Regarding claim 28, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a suspension command from the base station, wherein the transition from the first activity level to the second activity level is based on receiving the suspension command; already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED to RRC _INACTIVE by sending the UE an RRCRelease message with suspend indication.
Regarding claim 29, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, wherein the first activity level is an RRC CONNECTED state and the second activity level is an RRC INACTIVE state; already described above see Fig. 9 and [0121]. “Suspend” (also called RRC connection release with SuspendConfig) … A gNB can suspend a connection and move a UE from RRC _CONNECTED (i.e. first activity level) to RRC _INACTIVE (i.e. second activity level) by sending the UE an RRCRelease message…..
Regarding claim 30, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured to indicate, to the base station, at least one of:
a cause associated with the determined SCG activation level, or
a measurement associated with the determined SCG activation level; already described above see [0146].. The UE subsequently checks whether the activation conditions are fulfilled (e.g. PSCell RSRP > threshold) and activates the SCG only when the conditions are fulfilled. The UE can indicate to the network when it has activated the SCG upon fulfillment of the conditions; further see [0171]: if the UE detects UL data for a radio bearer configured for the SCG, it will send an indication to the network, requesting that the SCG should be resumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rugeland et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0262501 A1), hereafter Patrik in view of Teyeb et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0308905 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Patrik teaches as per claim 16, but fails to state about wherein the WTRU condition comprises at least one of:
whether a WTRU battery level threshold is met, or
whether a WTRU overheating level threshold is met; however Teyeb teaches in [0216] regarding various embodiments of inventive concepts enable the operating mode of the SCG to be changed on a need basis considering the current internal conditions at a UE (e.g. UL buffer status, arrival of UL data for a suspended bearer, UE battery level, mobility state, overheating level, etc.); further see [0297] and Fig.
19.
Regarding claim 27, Patrik teaches as per claim 24, but fails to state about wherein the WTRU condition comprises at least one of:
whether a WTRU battery level threshold is met, or
whether a WTRU overheating level threshold is met; however Teyeb teaches in [0216] regarding various embodiments of inventive concepts enable the operating mode of the SCG to be changed on a need basis considering the current internal conditions at a UE (e.g. UL buffer status, arrival of UL data for a suspended bearer, UE battery level, mobility state, overheating level, etc.); further see [0297] and Fig.
19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record..
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479