DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney).
Regarding claim 1, Utz discloses an infusion set (medical infusion pump system 202 in Fig. 2;) comprising:
an fluid-carrying tubing (medical infusion line 206 in Fig. 2);
a light array (light transmission channel 508 in Fig. 5) coupled to the fluid-carrying tubing at a plurality of fastening points along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing (light transmission channel 508 coupled to infusion line 504 on left and right side of filter 502 in Fig. 5);
a pump interface (user interface 222 in which a practitioner can interact with the computing device 210 to perform operations such as a fluid medical treatment plan, a diagnostic test, or identification test on the medical infusion pump 202 to trigger action on behalf of the illuminating medical infusion lines [0038]);
Utz discloses fails to explicitly disclose:
a controller, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive a pumping parameter from the pump interface, the pumping parameter being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid- carrying tubing and representative of a property of the fluid that is measured by a sensor of the infusion pump; and
cause, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern selected from a plurality of predetermined light patterns corresponding to respective pumping parameters, the light pattern representative of the pumping parameter (it is interpreted from para [0050] the pumping parameter is determined from predetermined input/action).
However, Mooney teaches the user device 130 (Fig 1) may be any processor-based device including, for example, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a workstation, a network-connected television, and/or the like. For example, via the user device 130, the user 160 may be able to view certain parameters of the slave infusion pump 150, such as information relating to the user, the fluid therapy being delivered (e.g., a time or time interval of the fluid therapy delivery, an amount of fluid being delivered, a type of fluid being delivered, and/or the like), and/or an alert generated based on the slave infusion pump 150 [0036].
Mooney further teaches the slave infusion pump 150 (Fig 1) may measure and/or log one or more parameters based on the fluid delivery protocol and/or the delivery of the fluid to the user. For example, the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters, such as the time of the fluid delivery, the user’s information, the number of fluid deliveries, the volume of fluid delivered, the type of fluid being delivered, the volume of the fluid remaining to be delivered, an identifier of the master infusion pump from which the slave infusion pump received the fluid delivery protocol, location data, and/or the like [0061].
Mooney further teaches a downstream pressure sensor 82 [0101] and an upstream pressure sensor 80 is assigned to the flow control device or pumping mechanism [0102].
Mooney further teaches the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump may include an indicator for providing visual and/or audio feedback to the user based on one or more operations of the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump. The indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. The error may indicate an occlusion in the fluid delivery line, an interruption in the connection between the fluid delivery line and the user, a low battery of the slave infusion pump, a low volume of fluid to be delivered to the user and/or the like [0079]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a controller capable of generating a pumping parameter based of a property of fluid measured by sensors and indicating this parameter via a pattern of light can be configured to perform similar functions in the modified device of Utz.
Utz also teaches the infusion flow rate and infusion volume can be associated with and programmed to the smart pump medical infusion pump to correspondingly take action on the illuminating medical infusion line. The infusion flow rate or infusion volume can change the intensity of the light to grow stronger in brightness when the flow rate or volume is higher and lower as the flow rate or volume declines. [0043]
Furthermore Utz teaches the illumination of the illuminated medical infusion lines can be of varying color of light, as well as brightness, intensity, and even pattern-based lighting to symbolize different events in the medical fluid treatment plan or for diagnostic or other medical purposes [0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz to include a light array coupled to the fluid-carrying tubing at a plurality of fastening points along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a pumping parameter from the pump interface, the pumping parameter being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid- carrying tubing and representative of a property of the fluid that is measured by a sensor of the infusion pump; and cause, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern representative of the pumping parameter as taught by Mooney since such a modification would enable the device of Utz to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 3, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz failed to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to:
store a history of pumping parameters, including the received pumping parameters, in a memory device within the infusion set, wherein the light pattern is based on the stored history of pumping parameters.
However, Mooney teaches the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters, such as the time of the fluid delivery, the user’s information, the number of fluid deliveries, the volume of fluid delivered, the type of fluid being delivered, the volume of the fluid remaining to be delivered. At least one of the measured and/or logged parameters may be transmitted from the user device 130 to the master infusion pump 110 [0061].
Mooney further teaches the master infusion pump 110 (Fig 1) may include a memory device to store at least some of the identifying data [0053]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the memory in the master infusion pump can be configured to store parameters received by the master pump from slave pump.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein the controller is configured to: store a history of pumping parameters, including the received pumping parameters, in a memory device within the infusion set, wherein the light pattern is based on the stored history of pumping parameters as taught by Mooney since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 4, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz failed to explicitly disclose wherein the received pumping parameter is indicative of a fault condition associated with providing the fluid to the patient through the fluid-carrying tube.
However, Moore teaches the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump may include an indicator for providing visual and/or audio feedback to the user based on one or more operations of the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump. The indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. The error may indicate an occlusion in the fluid delivery line, an interruption in the connection between the fluid delivery line and the user, a low battery of the slave infusion pump, a low volume of fluid to be delivered to the user and/or the like [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein the received pumping parameter is indicative of a fault condition associated with providing the fluid to the patient through the fluid-carrying tube as taught by Mooney since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 5, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz failed to explicitly disclose wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises causing the light array to flash.
However, Mooney teaches the indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. [0079]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the light array of Utz can be configured to display the light pattern causing the light array to flash as taught by Mooney.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises causing the light array to flash as taught by Mooney since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 8, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Utz further discloses wherein the pump interface comprises a wireless communication device and is configured to communicate with the infusion pump via a wireless connection (the medical infusion pump 202 is equipped with a medical infusion pump wireless communication assembly 204 for communication with the computing device 210 [0034]; the computing device 210 is shown with a user interface 222 [0038]), but fails to explicitly disclose the pumping parameter being wirelessly received from the infusion pump.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art may interpret that the wireless communication assembly of Utz, which is capable of wirelessly sending instructions to medical infusion pump 202 such as medical fluid treatment plan, diagnostic instructions, operation instructions, and maintenance instructions [0036] can be configured to send pump parameters in the device of Utz.
Regarding claim 22, Utz discloses an infusion safety device (medical infusion pump system 202 in Fig. 2) comprising:
a light array (light transmission channel 508 in Fig. 5);
a plurality of fasteners to physically couple the light array to a length of a fluid-carrying tubing (light transmission channel 508 coupled to infusion line 504 on left and right side of filter 502 in Fig. 5);
a pump interface (user interface 222 in which a practitioner can interact with the computing device 210 to perform operations such as a fluid medical treatment plan, a diagnostic test, or identification test on the medical infusion pump 202 to trigger action on behalf of the illuminating medical infusion lines [0038]); and
Utz discloses fails to explicitly disclose:
a controller, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive a pumping parameter from the pump interface, the pumping parameter being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid- carrying tubing and representative of a property of the fluid that is measured by a sensor of the infusion pump; and
cause, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern representative of the pumping parameter.
However, Mooney teaches the user device 130 may be any processor-based device including, for example, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a workstation, a network-connected television, and/or the like. For example, via the user device 130, the user 160 may be able to view certain parameters of the slave infusion pump 150, such as information relating to the user, the fluid therapy being delivered (e.g., a time or time interval of the fluid therapy delivery, an amount of fluid being delivered, a type of fluid being delivered, and/or the like), and/or an alert generated based on the slave infusion pump 150 [0036].
Mooney further teaches the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters based on the fluid delivery protocol and/or the delivery of the fluid to the user. For example, the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters, such as the time of the fluid delivery, the user’s information, the number of fluid deliveries, the volume of fluid delivered, the type of fluid being delivered, the volume of the fluid remaining to be delivered, an identifier of the master infusion pump from which the slave infusion pump received the fluid delivery protocol, location data, and/or the like [0061].
Mooney further teaches a downstream pressure sensor 82 [0101] and an upstream pressure sensor 80 is assigned to the flow control device or pumping mechanism [0102].
Mooney further teaches the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump may include an indicator for providing visual and/or audio feedback to the user based on one or more operations of the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump. The indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. The error may indicate an occlusion in the fluid delivery line, an interruption in the connection between the fluid delivery line and the user, a low battery of the slave infusion pump, a low volume of fluid to be delivered to the user and/or the like [0079]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a controller capable of generating a pumping parameter based of a property of fluid measured by sensors and indicating this parameter via a pattern of light can be configured to perform similar functions in the modified device of Utz.
Utz also teaches the infusion flow rate and infusion volume can be associated with and programmed to the smart pump medical infusion pump to correspondingly take action on the illuminating medical infusion line. The infusion flow rate or infusion volume can change the intensity of the light to grow stronger in brightness when the flow rate or volume is higher and lower as the flow rate or volume declines. [0043]
Furthermore Utz teaches the illumination of the illuminated medical infusion lines can be of varying color of light, as well as brightness, intensity, and even pattern-based lighting to symbolize different events in the medical fluid treatment plan or for diagnostic or other medical purposes [0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz to include a light array coupled to the fluid-carrying tubing at a plurality of fastening points along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a pumping parameter from the pump interface, the pumping parameter being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid- carrying tubing and representative of a property of the fluid that is measured by a sensor of the infusion pump; and cause, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern representative of the pumping parameter as taught by Mooney since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney) and Olsen (US 5695473 A, herein Olsen).
Regarding claim 6, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz as modified by Mooney failed to explicitly disclose wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises modulating a subset of the light array in a sequence that designates a location associated with the fault condition.
However Olsen teaches for detection of upstream occlusions, the system employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned upstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient pressure conditions which occur during operation including a normal, transient reduced pressure condition produced upstream during un-occluded operation. The control module compares those pressure conditions with user preselected pressure values. The alarm module signals detection of an upstream occlusion and may shut down the pump when the control module determines that a change in the transient, normal reduced pressure condition has occurred [Col 2, lines 46-67] . One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a sensor capable of detecting occlusion upstream and using the alarm module to signal the detection to the user can be configured to send this signal to the device of Utz as modified by Mooney to send visual indication via light pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises modulating a subset of the light array in a sequence that designates a location associated with the fault condition as taught by Olsen since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to detect occlusion and send indication [Olsen, Col 2, lines 46-67].
Regarding claim 7, Utz as modified by Mooney and Olsen disclosed all limitations of claim 6. However, Utz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump or downstream of the infusion pump, and wherein when the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights of the light array between the infusion pump and a fluid source are modulated according to the sequence, and wherein when the fault condition is downstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights of the light array between the infusion pump and the patient are modulated according to the sequence.
However, Olsen teaches for detection of upstream occlusions, the system employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned upstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient pressure conditions which occur during operation including a normal, transient reduced pressure condition produced upstream during un-occluded operation. The control module compares those pressure conditions with user preselected pressure values. The alarm module signals detection of an upstream occlusion and may shut down the pump when the control module determines that a change in the transient, normal reduced pressure condition has occurred [Col 2, lines 27-45].
Olsen further teaches for detection of downstream occlusions, the system also employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned downstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient and "steady state" pressure conditions which occur during operation including the transient, increased pressure condition produced downstream during un-occluded operation and the "steady state" pressure present after a pumping cycle is completed (hereinafter baseline pressure condition). The control module then compares sensed pressure conditions of a currently running pumping cycle with the stored pressure conditions and optionally with the preselected values. The alarm module signals a downstream detection of occlusion when the control module determines that a change, preferably an increase, in the transient maximum increased pressure condition has occurred and/or a change in the steady state pressure condition represented by the baseline pressure condition has occurred [Col 2, line 46-67]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a sensor capable of detecting occlusion upstream and downstream, and using the alarm module to signal the detection to the user can be configured to send this signal to the device of Provost as modified by Mooney to send visual indication via light pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump or downstream of the infusion pump, and wherein when the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights of the light array between the infusion pump and a fluid source are modulated according to the sequence, and wherein when the fault condition is downstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights of the light array between the infusion pump and the patient are modulated according to the sequence as taught by Olsen since such a modification may may enable the device of Utz to detect occlusion and send indication [Olsen, Col 2, lines 46-67].
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney) and Berry et al. (US 8449145 B1, herein Berry).
Regarding claim 9, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz failed to explicitly disclose wherein light array is embedded in a light string and the plurality of fastening points comprise clips integrated with the light string and which clip onto the fluid-carrying tubing at periodic intervals along the fluid-carrying tubing.
However, Berry teaches LED module 16 can include one individual module in a light emitting diode string light (LED string light). An LED string light, or an LED string light engine, generally includes a plurality of LED modules mechanically and electrically interconnected by one or more flexible and electrically conductive wires [Col. 4, lines 45-52].
Berry further teaches multiple bulb brackets 30a, 30b can be attached to a single light bulb 12. A first LED module 16a of an LED string light 14 can be attached to first bulb bracket 30a, and a second LED module 16b of the same string light 14 can be attached to second bulb bracket 30b [Col. 5, lines 38-45; see also Fig. 3]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that brackets capable of clipping on to the tubing 12 in Fig. 3 of Berry can be configured to perform similar functions with regards to the fluid-carrying tubing of Utz.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein light array is embedded in a light string and the plurality of fastening points comprise clips integrated with the light string and which clip onto the fluid-carrying tubing at periodic intervals along the fluid-carrying tubing as taught by Berry since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to have improved protection for the lights [[Col 6, lines 8-19]].
Regarding claim 10, Utz as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Utz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light array comprises a plurality of lights embedded within a casing the runs along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing.
However, Berry teaches an integrated light emitting diode module clip apparatus 150 for attachment to a light bulb includes a module cover 152 and a module base 154. The module base 154 engages the module cover to form a housing. A circuit board 156 is disposed in the housing between the module cover 152 and the module base 154. One or more LEDs 20 can be disposed on the circuit board 156 [Col 6, lines 8-19]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a housing with LEDs disposed within can be configured to be the same length as the fluid-carrying tubing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Utz as modified by Mooney to include wherein the light array comprises a plurality of lights embedded within a casing the runs along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing as taught by Berry since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to have improved protection for the lights [Col 6, lines 8-19].
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 20130208497 A1, herein Provost) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney) and Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz).
Regarding claim 11, Provost discloses a method (method further includes selectively coupling a lighting device from the one or more lighting devices to a first end of an IV line [0013]) comprising:
providing a light array (lights 116 with clips 118 in Fig. 2,3) configured to couple to a fluid-carrying tubing at a plurality of fastening points along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing (clips 118 shown in plurality of locations on IV line 108 in Fig. 1);
Provost discloses a controller operably coupled to the light array (Control box 114 adapted to communicate electrical power to lights 116; a wire 120 electrically connects control box 114 and lights 116 [0035]) but fails to explicitly disclose:
measuring a property of the fluid in the fluid-carrying tubing;
receiving, by a controller operably coupled to the light array, a pumping parameter from a pump interface, the pumping parameter representative of the measured property and being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid-carrying tubing; and
causing, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern selected from a plurality of predetermined light patterns corresponding to respective pumping parameters, the light pattern representative of the pumping parameter.
However, Mooney teaches the user device 130 may be any processor-based device including, for example, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a workstation, a network-connected television, and/or the like. For example, via the user device 130, the user 160 may be able to view certain parameters of the slave infusion pump 150, such as information relating to the user, the fluid therapy being delivered (e.g., a time or time interval of the fluid therapy delivery, an amount of fluid being delivered, a type of fluid being delivered, and/or the like), and/or an alert generated based on the slave infusion pump 150 [0036].
Mooney further teaches the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters based on the fluid delivery protocol and/or the delivery of the fluid to the user. For example, the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters, such as the time of the fluid delivery, the user’s information, the number of fluid deliveries, the volume of fluid delivered, the type of fluid being delivered, the volume of the fluid remaining to be delivered, an identifier of the master infusion pump from which the slave infusion pump received the fluid delivery protocol, location data, and/or the like [0061].
Mooney further teaches the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump may include an indicator for providing visual and/or audio feedback to the user based on one or more operations of the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump. The indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. The error may indicate an occlusion in the fluid delivery line, an interruption in the connection between the fluid delivery line and the user, a low battery of the slave infusion pump, a low volume of fluid to be delivered to the user and/or the like [0079]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a controller capable of alerting user based on infusion delivery information retrieved from pump can be configured to perform similar functions in the modified device of Provost.
Utz also teaches the infusion flow rate and infusion volume can be associated with and programmed to the smart pump medical infusion pump to correspondingly take action on the illuminating medical infusion line. The infusion flow rate or infusion volume can change the intensity of the light to grow stronger in brightness when the flow rate or volume is higher and lower as the flow rate or volume declines. [0043]
Furthermore Utz teaches the illumination of the illuminated medical infusion lines can be of varying color of light, as well as brightness, intensity, and even pattern-based lighting to symbolize different events in the medical fluid treatment plan or for diagnostic or other medical purposes [0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Provost to include measuring a property of the fluid in the fluid-carrying tubing; receiving, by a controller operably coupled to the light array, a pumping parameter from a pump interface, the pumping parameter representative of the measured property and being generated by an infusion pump providing a fluid to a patient through the fluid-carrying tubing; and
causing, responsive to receiving the pumping parameter, the light array to display, along the length of the fluid-carrying tubing, a light pattern representative of the pumping parameter as taught by Mooney since such a modification may enable the device of Provost to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079] and as taught by Utz since such a modification enables the device of Provost to provide visual cues to the user to better understand the conditions of the medical fluid treatment [0043].
Regarding claim 13, Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: storing a history of pumping parameters, including the received pumping parameters, in a memory device, wherein the light pattern is based on the stored history of pumping parameters.
However, Mooney teaches the slave infusion pump 150 may measure and/or log one or more parameters, such as the time of the fluid delivery, the user’s information, the number of fluid deliveries, the volume of fluid delivered, the type of fluid being delivered, the volume of the fluid remaining to be delivered. At least one of the measured and/or logged parameters may be transmitted from the user device 130 to the master infusion pump 110 [0061].
Mooney further teaches the master infusion pump 110 may include a memory device to store at least some of the identifying data [0053]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the memory in the master infusion pump can be configured to store parameters received by the master pump from slave pump.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz to include further comprising: storing a history of pumping parameters, including the received pumping parameters, in a memory device, wherein the light pattern is based on the stored history of pumping parameters as taught by Mooney since such a modification enable the device of Provost to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 14, Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost fails to explicitly disclose wherein the received pumping parameter is indicative of a fault condition associated with providing the fluid to the patient through the fluid-carrying tube.
However, Moore teaches the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump may include an indicator for providing visual and/or audio feedback to the user based on one or more operations of the first slave infusion pump and/or the second slave infusion pump. The indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. The error may indicate an occlusion in the fluid delivery line, an interruption in the connection between the fluid delivery line and the user, a low battery of the slave infusion pump, a low volume of fluid to be delivered to the user and/or the like [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz to include wherein the received pumping parameter is indicative of a fault condition associated with providing the fluid to the patient through the fluid-carrying tube as taught by Mooney since such a modification enable the device of Provost to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 15, Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost fails to explicitly disclose wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises causing the light array to flash.
However, Mooney teaches the indicator may display a light, change a light color, change a light pattern, flash a light, play a sound, play a sound pattern, and/or the like, when an error occurs in the delivery of the fluid to the user. [0079]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the light array of Provost can be configured to display the light pattern causing the light array to flash as taught by Mooney.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion set of Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz to include wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises causing the light array to flash as taught by Mooney since such a modification enable the device of Provost to provide visual indication to the user based on the operation of the pump [Mooney, 0079].
Regarding claim 18, Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: wirelessly receiving, via a wireless interface, the pumping parameter from the infusion pump.
Provost however teaches the control box may be equipped with a transmitter that can communicate a wireless signal to the lights, and the lights could be equipped with a receiver for receiving the wireless signals from the control box [0053]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a transmitter capable of wirelessly communicating signals can be configured to transmit information pump to the receiver.
Regarding claim 19, Provost as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 11. Provost further discloses wherein light array is embedded in a light string (lights 116 on wire 120 in Fig. 2) and the plurality of fastening points comprise clips integrated with the light string (clips 118 on wire 120 in Fig. 2) and which clip onto the fluid-carrying tubing at periodic intervals along the fluid-carrying tubing (clip 118 secures on to IV line 108 in plurality of locations in Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 20130208497 A1, herein Provost) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney), Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and Olsen (US 5695473 A, herein Olsen).
Regarding claim 16, Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost as modified by Mooney failed to explicitly disclose wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises modulating a subset of the light array in a sequence that designates a location associated with the fault condition.
However Olsen teaches for detection of upstream occlusions, the system and method employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned upstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient pressure conditions which occur during operation including a normal, transient reduced pressure condition produced upstream during un-occluded operation. The control module compares those pressure conditions with user preselected pressure values. The alarm module signals detection of an upstream occlusion and may shut down the pump when the control module determines that a change in the transient, normal reduced pressure condition has occurred. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a sensor capable of detecting occlusion upstream and using the alarm module to signal the detection to the user can be configured to send this signal to the device of Utz as modified by Mooney to send visual indication via light pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the Provost as modified by Mooney and Utz to include wherein causing the light array to display the light pattern comprises modulating a subset of the light array in a sequence that designates a location associated with the fault condition as taught by Olsen since such a modification enable the device of Provost to detect occlusion and send indication [Olsen, Col 2, lines 46-67].
Regarding claim 17, Provost as modified by Mooney, Utz and Olsen disclosed all limitations of claim 16. However Provost fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump or downstream of the infusion pump, and wherein when the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights in the light array between the infusion pump and a fluid source are modulated according to the sequence, and wherein when the fault condition is downstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights in the light array between the infusion pump and the patient are modulated according to the sequence.
However, Olsen teaches for detection of upstream occlusions, the system employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned upstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient pressure conditions which occur during operation including a normal, transient reduced pressure condition produced upstream during un-occluded operation. The control module compares those pressure conditions with user preselected pressure values. The alarm module signals detection of an upstream occlusion and may shut down the pump when the control module determines that a change in the transient, normal reduced pressure condition has occurred [Col 2, lines 27-45].
Olsen further teaches for detection of downstream occlusions, the system also employ a pressure sensor, a control module and an alarm module. The pressure sensor is positioned downstream of the infusion pump while the control and alarm modules are typically integrated into the pump control modules. During an initial period of operation, the sensor monitors transient and "steady state" pressure conditions which occur during operation including the transient, increased pressure condition produced downstream during un-occluded operation and the "steady state" pressure present after a pumping cycle is completed (hereinafter baseline pressure condition). The control module then compares sensed pressure conditions of a currently running pumping cycle with the stored pressure conditions and optionally with the preselected values. The alarm module signals a downstream detection of occlusion when the control module determines that a change, preferably an increase, in the transient maximum increased pressure condition has occurred and/or a change in the steady state pressure condition represented by the baseline pressure condition has occurred [Col 2, line 46-67]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a sensor capable of detecting occlusion upstream and downstream, and using the alarm module to signal the detection to the user can be configured to send this signal to the device of Provost as modified by Mooney to send visual indication via light pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the infusion set of Provost as modified by Mooney to include wherein the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump or downstream of the infusion pump, and wherein when the fault condition is upstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights in the light array between the infusion pump and a fluid source are modulated according to the sequence, and wherein when the fault condition is downstream of the infusion pump a plurality of lights in the light array between the infusion pump and the patient are modulated according to the sequence as taught by Olsen since such a modification enable the device of Provost to detect occlusion and send indication [Olsen, Col 2, lines 46-67].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 20130208497 A1, herein Provost) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney), Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and Berry et al. (US 8449145 B1, herein Berry).
Regarding claim 20, Provost as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost as modified by Mooney failed to explicitly disclose wherein the light array comprises a plurality of lights embedded within a casing the runs along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing.
However, Berry teaches an integrated light emitting diode module clip apparatus 150 for attachment to a light bulb includes a module cover 152 and a module base 154. The module base 154 engages the module cover to form a housing. A circuit board 156 is disposed in the housing between the module cover 152 and the module base 154. One or more LEDs 20 can be disposed on the circuit board 156 [Col 6, lines 8-19]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that a housing with LEDs disposed within can be configured to be the same length as the fluid-carrying tubing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Provost as modified by Mooney to include wherein the light array comprises a plurality of lights embedded within a casing the runs along a length of the fluid-carrying tubing as taught by Berry since such a modification may enable the device of Utz to have improved protection for the lights [[Col 6, lines 8-19]]. Such reasoning is consistent with known engineering principles and represents a predictable design choice (See MPEP 2143.I.D).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 20130208497 A1, herein Provost) and further in view of Mooney et al. (WO 2021207694 A1, herein Mooney), Utz (US 20210052807 A1, herein Utz) and Star et al. (WO 2013033025 A1, herein Star).
Regarding claim 21, Provost as modified by Mooney disclosed all limitations of claim 11. However, Provost as modified by Mooney failed to explicitly disclose further comprising:
determining that the fluid-carrying tubing has been in use for longer than a predetermined period of time; and
modulating the lights to display a pattern representative of the predetermined period of time being exceeded.
However, Star teaches the method may further include annunciating to the user a reminder to replace the infuser whenever a time period greater than maximum site duration; the maximum site duration may be about three (3) days [0016];
Star further teaches the controller is further configured to annunciate a reminder to replace the infuser whenever the signal representative of the analyte amount is greater than a predetermined value and elapsed time between a duration of a current therapy event from a starting point (Τ;) and a durational threshold based on the current therapy event counter and a therapy threshold (Ti-Nth+i) is less than a preset time window interval (At) [0067]. One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the method of reminding the user to replace the infuser as taught by Star can be implemented on the device of Provost as modified by Mooney to send indication to the user that the fluid carrying tube of Provost has been in use longer than a predetermined period of time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Provost as modified by Mooney to include further comprising: determining that the fluid-carrying tubing has been in use for longer than a predetermined period of time; and modulating the lights to display a pattern representative of the predetermined period of time being exceeded as taught by Star since such a modification may enable the device of Provost to notify the user to replace a part if a part has been in use for a time period greater than maximum duration [Star, 0016].
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended the para [0019], [0021] and [0022] of the Specification to recite “Figure 1”; the Examiner accordingly withdraws the objection to the Specification.
Applicant has amended the Drawings to include the reference number 422 to label the casing in Fig. 5; the Examiner accordingly withdraws the objection to the Drawing.
Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 13, 14 and 20 which were previously objected to; the Examiner accordingly withdraws the objections of claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 13, 14 and 20.
Applicant has amended claims 6, 16 and 21 which were previously rejected under the U.S.C § 112(b) rejection. Examiner accordingly withdraws the 112(b) rejection of claims 6, 16 and 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant has argued in page 12 of the Applicant’s Remarks that Utz and Provost fails to teach separately or in combination the limitation in the amended claim 1 “selected from a plurality of predetermined light patterns corresponding to respective pumping parameters, the light pattern representative of the pumping parameters”. However Utz teaches in [0043] infusion flow rate and volume are programmed into the pump which take action on the display lights and the intensity of lights are affected based on the flow rate and volume.
Applicant further argued in page 12 of the Applicant’s Remarks that the Office Action fails to provide a motivation to combine the reference of Utz and Mooney. However the Office Action currently shows the motivation to combine the two references.
Applicant argued in pages 12-13 that Provost and Mooney separately or in combination fails to teach the amended claim 11. However Utz teaches in [0043] infusion flow rate and volume are programmed into the pump which take action on the display lights and the intensity of lights are affected based on the flow rate and volume, which sufficiently reads on the limitation of the amended claim 11.
Applicant argued in page 13 that Utz and Provost fails to teach separately or in combination the limitation in the amended claim 1. However Utz teaches in [0043] infusion flow rate and volume are programmed into the pump which take action on the display lights and the intensity of lights are affected based on the flow rate and volume, which sufficiently reads on the limitation of the amended claim 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHMOOD FAROOQ whose telephone number is (571)272-7276. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 7:30-5:00p EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783