DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–10, 12–13, and 16–24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denk et al. (DE 102011077014 A1), hereinafter referred to as Denk.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 13, Denk teaches, “A device (claims 12 and 13: system and method) for recognizing a movement of an object (Fig. 4 and 5, ref. # 54, 56) caught in a door (Fig. 1, ref. # 12, 14) of a vehicle (Fig. 1, ref. # 10), the device (see Fig. 1, 3, 4, 10; para. [0004, 0073]) comprising: a carrier element (42), to which a first electrical conductor (32) is fastened (Fig. 3; [0080]); and an elastic object contact element (44), to which a second electrical conductor (34) is fastened (Fig. 3; [0080]), wherein the elastic object-contact element (44) is connected to the carrier element (42) such that, when the caught object (54, 56) is pulled in a selected sensing direction (58), the first and second electrical conductors (32, 34) are contacted with each other (Fig. 10; [0035, 0090–0093, 0107, 0109]; see discussion of control of output switching signals), and when the caught object (54, 56) is pulled in an opposite direction (Fig. 5, ref. # 64) to the selected sensing direction, the first and the second electrical conductor (32, 34) are not contacted with one another so that a recognition signal is only generated when the caught object is being pulled from outside the vehicle (para. [0094–0095]).”
Regarding claims 2–5, 16–18, and 19, Denk teaches, “a carrier element, to which a first electrical conductor is fastened; and an elastic object-contact element, to which a second electrical conductor is fastened, wherein the carrier element and the elastic object-contact element are formed in one piece; wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are formed in a cavity, wherein the cavity is formed by the carrier element and the elastic object-contact element; wherein the first conductor and/or the second conductor are arranged in a cavity of the carrier element, and/or wherein the elastic object-contact element forms a balloon envelope on the carrier element; wherein the elastic object-contact element includes a switch tappet and/or protrusion, wherein the protrusion protrudes from the elastic object-contact element on a side thereof remote from the carrier element (see at least Fig. 3, ref. # 42, 44 with 32, 34; para. [0080]).”
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Denk teaches, “wherein the first conductor is upstream of the second conductor in the sensing direction, or wherein the second conductor is upstream of the first conductor in the sensing direction (Fig. 3, 4; para. [0090, 0092]; because there are two separate members 28 (one shown in 22, another shown in 24), each individually interpreted as the first/second electrical conductor combination 32/34, one upstream and one downstream in the sensing direction 58, Denk teaches this limitation, and notably, does not send recognition signal using either member 28 with 32/34, when 54 pulled inside door in 64 direction; see para [0094-0095]).”
Regarding claims 7, 8, 21, and 22, Denk teaches, “a carrier element, to which a first electrical conductor is fastened; and an elastic object-contact element, to which a second electrical conductor is fastened, an anti-vandalism element located upstream of the elastic object-contact element in the sensing direction; a sealing element downstream of the elastic object-contact element in the sensing direction (Fig. 2, ref. # 22, 24; para. [0079] and Fig. 3, ref. # 42, 44 with 32/34; para. [0080]).”
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Denk teaches, “a carrier element, to which a first electrical conductor is fastened; and an elastic object-contact element, to which a second electrical conductor is fastened, a further electrical conductor fastened to the carrier element, wherein the first conductor is arranged in a region of a first end of the elastic object-contact element on the carrier element and the third conductor is arranged in a region of the elastic object-contact element on the carrier element opposite the first end (Fig. 17, 18; para. [0035, 0118–0123]; Fig. 3, ref. # 42, 44 with 32/34; para. [0080]).”
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Denk teaches, “a carrier element, to which a first electrical conductor is fastened; and an elastic object-contact element, to which a second electrical conductor is fastened, a further carrier element having a recess so as to receive the elastic object-contact element in the recess (Fig. 9–11; para. [0035]; Fig. 3, ref. # 42, 44 with 32/34; para. [0080]).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denk (DE 102011077014 A1) in view of Schiffers et al. (DE 102007002745 A1), hereinafter referred to as Schiffers.
Regarding claims 11 and 25, Denk teaches, “a carrier element, to which a first electrical conductor is fastened; and an elastic object-contact element, to which a second electrical conductor is fastened (Fig. 3, ref. # 42, 44 with 32/34; para. [0080])”, but does not appear to teach, “a catch recognition element designed as a pressure sensor to recognize an object caught in the door of the vehicle, wherein the catch recognition element is embedded in the carrier element or in the further carrier element.” However, Schiffers teaches the deficiencies of Denk (see at least claim 1 and para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Denk’s invention to include a catch recognition element designed as a pressure sensor to recognize an object caught in the door of the vehicle, wherein the catch recognition element is embedded in the carrier element or in the further carrier element.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Denk’s invention for at least the purpose of providing further control notification ability to the device to enhance the safety features between closing doors, ensuring prevention of personal injury when objects become stuck between doors.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denk (DE 102011077014 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Denk doesn’t necessarily teach, “A non-transitory computer program product comprising program code for performing and/or controlling the method of claim 13, when the computer program product is run on a device; A machine readable storage medium on which there is stored the computer program of claim 14.” However, controlling methods via program code stored on non-transitory computer program products and storing/running them on a device as claimed above, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Denk’s invention for at least the purpose of providing enhanced functionality and improved efficiency, by enabling real-time and automated control, a well-known advantage of software-based systems. Additionally, integrating software with mechanical systems is routine in the art, as evidenced by the widespread use of programmable logic controllers. Here, the examiner takes Official notice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, “The rejection is respectfully traversed as the cited references, analyzed individually or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the claimed invention. For example, the cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed device, system or method wherein the elastic object-contact element is connected to the carrier element such that, when the caught object is pulled in a selected sensing direction, the first and second electrical conductors are contacted with each other, and when the caught object is pulled in an opposite direction to the selected sensing direction, the first and the second electrical conductor are not contacted with one another so that a recognition signal is only generated when the caught object is being pulled from outside the vehicle as generally recited in the independent claims.
Denk teaches a pressure sensor system, generally, with a directional sensor. However, Denk Figures 4-6 disclose sensors in mirror image to each other so that each sensor pair detects in the opposite direction and therefore a recognition signal is indicated in both or either direction. Figure 7 further describes how the two sensors can be replaced with a sensor that provides multi-directional sensing. In other words, Denk is directed to recognizing caught objects in as many directions as possible. This is distinct from the claimed invention directed to identifying and recognizing only caught objects being pulled from outside the vehicle to detect and prevent objects or people from being dragged along outside the vehicle. See Applicant's publication para. [0053]. For at least these reasons, Denk fails to teach or suggest the claimed invention.” The Office disagrees with applicant’s conclusions.
Initially, it should be noted, that claim 1 is directed to a device, not a method or system, and therefore, the functional limitations directed to movement of the electrical conductors contacting each other, depending on which direction a caught object is pulled do not appear to further define the device. The device only requires a carrier element, first electrical conductor, elastic object contact element, and second electrical conductor, all of which are taught by Denk. Nonetheless, as shown above and further discussed below, Denk teaches the claimed details of each of these limitations in claims 1, 12, and 13.
In Figure 4 of Denk, a pulling direction 58 from inside to outside a door is shown on test piece 54/56 (see also Fig. 1; [0094-0095]). When 56 is pulled in the direction outside of the door, first and second electrical conductors 32/34 are contacted with each other, resulting in a generated recognition signal (see para. [0091-0092]), and alternatively, as shown in Fig. 5, when 56 is pulled in the direction inside of the door (claimed “opposite direction to the selected sensing direction”) first and second electrical conductors 32/34 are not contacted with each other, thus no recognition signal is generated (see para. [0094-0095]). Thus, Denk teaches the newly claimed limitation as outlined. Notably, applicant arguing Denk’s sensors “mirror image to each other”, “multi-directional sensing”, “recognizing caught objects in as many directions as possible” does not preclude the fact that Denk teaches the limitations of claims 1, 12, and 13 as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852