DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 16 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figures 1 and 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 32 (Fig. 1), 34 (Fig. 1), 49 (Fig. 1), 59 (Fig. 1), 32 (Fig. 2), 33 (Fig. 2), 74 (Fig. 2) and 89 (Fig. 2).
The two different views of Fig. 1 should be labeled as distinct views to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
The two different drawings of Fig. 2 should be labeled as distinct drawings to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
The lead line for reference character 24 in Fig. 5 does not appear to be directed to the base portion as described.
Figs. 5-7 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) because it includes text that does not measure at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height.
Fig. 11 is objected to because poor line quality has reduced the legibility of the legend and for not complying with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) because it includes text that does not measure at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in pages 10 and 11 of the description: 5, D, A and R.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inner circumferential portion contacts an axle of the wheel” as set forth in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p). Note at least the following informalities:
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 4, 6, 10 and 12 in the second drawing of Fig. 1 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the first drawing of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 32 in the first drawing of Fig. 2 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 6, 8, 10 and 12 in the second drawing of Fig. 2 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 4, 6 and 12 in Fig. 3 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 4, 6 and 12 in Fig. 4 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 4, 6 and 12 in Fig. 5 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 10 and 12 in Fig. 8 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
The parts represented by reference characters 2, 10 and 12 in Fig. 9 are distinct (i.e., modified) from parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the two drawings of Fig. 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “A bicycle wheel” in the preamble of each of these claims should be replaced with -- The bicycle wheel -- for clarity inasmuch as “A bicycle wheel” is previously set forth in independent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the specification fails to adequately explain how “the inner circumferential portion contacts an axle of the wheel” in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Further, the drawings fail to show such a construction.
Claims 5, 13, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the both occurrences of term "preferably" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a number N of pockets” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a number N of pockets” refers to “a plurality of pockets” previously recited in claim 1 or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a plurality of pockets” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a plurality of pockets” refers to “a plurality of pockets” previously recited in claim 1 or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “the inner circumferential portion contacts an axle of the wheel” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the inner circumferential portion would be capable of contacting an axle of the wheel and still allow the wheel to rotate with respect to the axle (e.g., is the bicycle axle rotating during use of the wheel?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marchment et al. (WO 2019/197828 A1; hereinafter “Marchment”).
Regarding claim 1, Marchment, in the embodiment shown in Fig. 13, discloses a bicycle wheel 150 comprising an annular rim 150a having an inner circumferential portion (unlabeled inner radial portion), an outer circumferential portion (unlabeled outer radial portion) and a pair of side portions (unlabeled portions between inner and outer circumferential portions in Fig. 13 with recesses 20; note the general annular rim structure shown in the embodiments of Figs. 5 and 6) that extend between the inner circumferential portion and the outer circumferential portion (Fig. 13), wherein each side portion comprises a primary surface (surface shown in Fig. 13) and a pocket 20 that is recessed below the primary surface (Fig. 13; line 24 of page 5 through line 23 of page 6; lines 18-23 of page 9; lines 13-18 of page 23).
Regarding claim 2, Marchment further discloses each pocket has an area S of at least 0.25cm2 (evident from Fig. 13 and line 27 of page 5 through line 2 of page 6 that the area of the pocket 20 can be at least 0.25cm2).
Regarding claim 3, Marchment further discloses each pocket has an area S of less than 50cm2 (evident from Fig. 13 and line 27 of page 5 through line 2 of page 6 that the area of the pocket 20 can be less than 50cm2).
Regarding claim 4, Marchment further discloses each pocket has a recess depth R greater than 0.1mm (lines 31-34 of page 5).
Regarding claim 5, Marchment further discloses each pocket has a recess depth R less than 4mm, preferably less than 2mm, preferably less than 1mm (lines 31-34 of page 5).
Regarding claim 6, Marchment further discloses each pocket comprises a base portion (evident from Fig. 13, but best shown in Fig. 6 at 22) and at least one side wall (evident from Fig. 13, but best shown in Fig. 6 at 21a and 21b) that extends between the base portion and the primary surface (Figs. 6 and 13).
Regarding claim 7, Marchment further discloses the at least one side wall is inclined relative to the primary surface at an angle in the range 5-30 degrees (best shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Marchment further discloses the pockets extend substantially radially (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Marchment further discloses each pocket includes a base portion (evident from Fig. 13, but best shown in Fig. 6 at 22) and a pair of side walls (evident from Fig. 13, but best shown in Fig. 6 at 21a and 21b) that extend between the base portion and the primary surface, wherein each side wall extends at an angle A relative to a radial direction, where the angle A is in the range 0-30 degrees (best shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Marchment further discloses each of the pockets extends across the inner circumferential portion (inasmuch as the inner circumferential portion can be considered to be a portion that includes a radially inner portion of each recess shown in Fig. 13) and then extends outwards across the side portions of the rim (evident from Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 12, Marchment further discloses the rim has a rim depth D measured radially between the inner circumferential portion and the outer circumferential portion, and each pocket extends radially for a pocket radial distance P, where P has a value of at least 0.4D (evident from at least Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 13, Marchment further discloses each side portion includes a number N of pockets 20 spaced circumferentially around the rim, where the number N is in the range 8-50 (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Marchment further discloses each side portion includes a plurality of pockets 20 spaced circumferentially around the rim, and wherein each pocket is spaced from an adjacent pocket by a spacing angle B in the range 7-45 degrees (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 15, Marchment further discloses the rim has a rim depth D measured radially between the inner circumferential portion and the outer circumferential portion, wherein the rim depth D is in the range 30-200mm (lines 19-20 of page 21).
Regarding claim 16, Marchment further discloses the rim has a cross-sectional profile that is substantially U shaped, or substantially V shaped, or U/V shaped (note at least Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Marchment further discloses a hub 300 and a plurality of connecting elements 400 that connect to the annular rim to the hub (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchment.
Although Marchment further discloses that the pocket “may in general have any cross sectional geometry” (line 1 of page 10), Marchment fails to expressly disclose a geometry in which the pair of side walls converge in a radially outward direction.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a mere matter of design choice, to have formed the plurality of pockets with a pair of side walls that converge in a radially outward direction as a well-known cross-sectional geometry that would have a reasonable expectation of success for minimizing the weight of the rim. It is further noted that there is no evidence that this claimed shape it critical for the practice of Applicant’s invention (Note In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claims 18, as best understood in light of the section 112 issues noted above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchment in view of Crawford (US 903,681).
Marchment fails to disclose the inner circumferential portion contacting an axle of the wheel, whereby the bicycle wheel comprises a solid disc.
Crawford, however, teaches an inner circumferential portion (radially inner portion of B) of the rim contacting an axle (lines 68-72 of page 1) of the wheel so as to form a solid disc B.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel so that the inner circumferential portion contacts an axle to thus form a solid disc, such as taught by Crawford, as a well-known alternative type of bicycle wheel that would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the aerodynamic properties of the wheel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows other examples of bicycle wheels having a rim that includes a plurality of pockets.
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615