DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of the invention of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 06/09/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023, 02/04/2024, 04/14/2025 and 11/23/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
They contain text that is not in English [e.g. Fig. 2, Fig. 5]
have a line quality that is too faint and text that is illegible or cut off [Fig. 2; Fig. 4, Fig. 5; Fig. 6; Fig. 7; Fig. 8; Fig. 11; Fig. 12; Fig. 13; Fig. 14; Fig. 20]
require color or high-contrast grayscale or alternative methods of line differentiation to interpret the figures [Fig. 3; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 12; Fig. 17; Fig. 19; Fig. 21; Fig. 22; Fig. 23; Fig. 30; Fig. 31; Fig. 33; Fig. 34; Fig. 36; Fig. 37]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 1-2, the claim limitation related to “DTA peaks” is indefinite. First, the term “degrees” in claim 1, lines 2 and 3 and claim 2, line 2 is missing a unit (e.g. Celsius, Kelvin, Fahrenheit). Second, the first two peaks (115-125 and 220-220) are not identified as endothermic or exothermic. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as “ °C ” and either endothermic or exothermic peaks. Third, Differential Thermal Analysis (DTA) peak temperatures heavily depend on the heating rate and atmosphere. Without specifying these conditions in the claim, the boundaries of these ranges are indefinite.
In regard to claims 3-4, the claimed “ratio” is not defined and it is unclear what value is being compared in the ratio (e.g. mol%, weight%, etc.).
In regard to claim 6 the Markush grouping of alternatives is improper because the claim recites the Markush group “selected from the group including…”. The term “including” creates ambiguity about what other unrecited alternatives might be encompassed by the claim.
In regard to claim 6, broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation(s) “nitrate salts” and “ammonium salts”, and the claim also recites “ammonium nitrate, calcium ammonium nitrate, magnesium ammonium nitrate, ammonium sulphate and ammonium phosphate” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In regard to claims 8 and 9, the claims introduce ammonium phosphate and ammonium sulfate as additional components. However, claim 7 (from which the claims depend) limits the N-fertilizer to urea. If these components are meant to be included in addition to urea, it creates ambiguity regarding whether the “cocrystal of polyhalite and an N-fertilizer” now contains two N-fertilizers in its crystal lattice.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends on claim 6. However, urea is not listed in the Markush group of claim 6. A dependent claim cannot narrow an element to something outside the scope of its parent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purposes of examination, claim 6 is interpreted as including “urea” in the Markush group listing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by K+S Ag (WO 2020064036A1 – Cite No 1 in 04/14/2025 IDS).
In regard to claims 1-2 and 6-7, K+S describes polyhalite mixed with urea in an intensive Eirich mixer and the formed crystals (e.g. 53.5 parts by weight of calcined polyhalite were placed in the Eirich intensive mixer and heated to 75°C. Then 42.7 parts by weight of urea were added and mixed at a speed of 600 rpm for 5 min, with 3.8 parts by weight of water being added in countercurrent at the beginning. The mixture became increasingly liquid and had a creamy consistency. Then the stirring speed is reduced to 100 to 200 rpm in order to promote the formation of granules. From this point on, the mixture was cooled over a period of 10 minutes and the excess water formed in the reaction was driven off with a turbulent air stream. At temperatures below 60 ° C, the mass hardened to form solid granules) [pg. 22, Example 1; lines 3-12]. The solid composition described by K+S is considered a cocrystal of polyhalite and an N-fertilizer (e.g. urea) wherein the crystalline phase of formula (I) (e.g. CaSO4 · 4 CO(NH2)2) is present in X-ray powder diffractogram [pg. 22, lines 14-16] and the claimed differential thermal analysis peaks are considered an inherent feature of the described co-crystallization. Further, as a practical matter, it is noted that the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith, In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) — therefore, based on the preponderance of evidence with particular attention to the fact that K+S Ag discloses an identical preparation method as the present Application (e.g. polyhalite and urea mixed in an Eirich mixer at high speed) [present Specification, pg. 15, lines 2-8] there is a reasonable prima facie basis to presume that the Differential Thermal Analysis of the composition obtained by K+S Ag would necessarily exhibit the claimed DTA peaks in the same way as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
In regard to claim 3, K+S discloses the cocrystal of claim 1, wherein the ratio between said Polyhalite and said N-fertilizer is between 1:5 to 5:1 (e.g. polyhalite mixed with urea in an amount of 53.5 parts by weight of calcined polyhalite and 42.7 parts by weight of urea which equates to a ratio of about 1.25:1) [pg. 22, Example 1; lines 3-5].
In regard to claim 5, K+S discloses the cocrystal of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the composition comprises less than 10% wt. of water at 75 % RH after 50 hours from creation. However, based on the preponderance of evidence with particular attention to the fact that K+S Ag discloses an identical preparation method as the present Application (e.g. polyhalite and urea mixed in an Eirich mixer at high speed) wherein K+S describe a step wherein excess moisture is driven off (the mixture was cooled over a period of 10 minutes, and the excess water generated during the reaction was driven off using a turbulent air stream) [pg. 22, lines 9-11] to obtain the product, there is a reasonable prima facie basis to presume that the moisture characteristics of the composition obtained by K+S Ag would necessarily exhibit less than 10% wt. of water at 75 % RH after 50 hours from creation in the same way as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K+S Ag (WO 2020064036A1).
In regard to claim 4, K+S discloses the cocrystal of claim 1, wherein the ratio between said Polyhalite and said N-fertilizer (e.g. urea) is about 1.25:1 [pg. 22, Example 1; lines 3-5]. As the prior art’s teaching of 1.25:1 and the instant claimed value of 1.5:1 do not overlap but are close enough such that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985), absent contrary evidence of criticality or non-obviousness. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K+S Ag (WO 2020064036A1) in view of Kelly (US Patent No. 5,228,895).
In regard to claims 8-10, K+S describes polyhalite mixed with urea and the resulting crystalline product [see rejection above], regarding claim 1. The reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the composition further comprises diammonium phosphate (claim 8) or ammonium sulfate (claim 9, 10).
Kelly et al. is directed to a calcium salt-containing fertilizer mixed with N-P-K fertilizer [col. 1, lines 36-40]. “Fertilizer nutrients are old in the art. Primary nutrients for solid fertilizers are nitrogen, phosphorous and potassium supplied by such chemicals as ammonium nitrate, ammonium sulfate, alkali metal nitrates, urea, rock phosphate, mono and diammonium phosphate, […] sulfates and nitrates.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an additional nutrient component in the form of ammonium diammonium phosphate or ammonium sulfate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the well-known nutrient components alone or in combination with the K+S composition because nitrogen-containing nutrients are essential for plants.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 June 18, 2026