DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-11 are pending. Claims 10-11 remain withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 12/16/2025, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 10/29/2025:
Claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiesner et al., US 20190375012 A1 (of record), in view of Li et al., US 20140198365 A1 (of record), and Uzan et al., US 20150231827 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wiesner discloses a powder-bed laser processing apparatus (irradiation system 20 for selectively and location-specifically directing a plurality of laser beams onto raw material powder layers, [0074], Fig. 1) comprising:
A laser light source (common laser beam source, [0076]) configured to emit laser light (emits a laser beam, [0076]); and a first partial reflection mirror (beam splitter, [0076], which involves at least partial reflection in order to perform its function of separating a single beam into both transmitted and reflected beams) configured to receive the laser light from the laser light source and divide the laser light into laser light supplied to a first, a second, a third, and a fourth scanning unit (configured to split the laser beam emitted by the common laser beam source in order to guide the laser beam to four individual irradiation units 22a-d, [0076], see also [0011] describing the same);
Each of the scanning units (irradiation units 22a-d, Fig. 1, [0075]) being configured to apply the received laser light (applies corresponding laser beam, e.g., 24a, 24b, etc., Fig. 1, [0074]) to a powder bed (to irradiation plane 28 containing powder layers on the carrier 16, Fig. 1, [0077]-[0078]) while scanning the respective laser light (capable of flexibly positioning the focus point of the respective laser beam via processing beam optics including a deflection/scanning device, [0077]);
The laser light from the first scanning unit can be applied to a first irradiation area (irradiation region 30a associated with first irradiation unit 22a, see broken line in Fig. 2, [0080]-[0081]), the laser light from the second scanning unit can be applied to a second irradiation area (irradiation region 30b associated with second irradiation unit 22b, Fig. 2, [0080]-[0081]), the laser light from the third scanning unit can be applied to a third irradiation area (irradiation region 30c associated with third irradiation unit 22c, Fig. 2, [0080]-[0081]), and the laser light from the fourth scanning unit can be applied to a fourth irradiation area (irradiation region 30d associated with fourth irradiation unit 22d, Fig. 2, [0080]-[0081]),
Wherein positions of the first, second, third, and fourth scanning units can be changed (irradiation units can be moved to define irradiation regions, [0017], the irradiation regions can be regularly redefined, [0094]) so that each of the first, second, third, and fourth irradiation areas can include a part of another irradiation area (see overlap regions 34 and 36 between each of the quadrants I-IV, Fig. 2, [0082], overlap can be changed, [0094]).
Wiesner discloses the first partial reflection mirror that divides light from a common laser light source so that it can be provided to the four different irradiation units ([0076]). Wiesner is silent as to the first partial reflection mirror being configured to divide the laser light into first and second laser light such that the first laser light is supplied to the first and third scanning units and the second laser light is supplied to the second and fourth scanning units. Wiesner is silent then as to the light applied by the first and third scanning units being the first laser light and the light applied by the second and fourth scanning units being the second laser light.
In the analogous art of multi-beam laser scanning for additive manufacturing ([0014], [0016]), Li discloses a powder bed additive manufacturing device (Fig. 2, [0022]-[0024]) including a laser light source configured to emit laser light (laser 32, Fig. 2), a first partial reflection mirror (first beam splitter 33, Fig. 2) configured to receive the laser light and divide the laser light into first (first laser beam 323, Fig. 2) and second laser light (second laser beam 324, Fig. 2), the first laser light being supplied to a first scanning unit and a third scanning unit (323 being supplied to scanning units 38 and 39, Fig. 2), and the second laser light being supplied to a second scanning unit and a fourth scanning unit (324 being supplied to scanning units 40 and 41, Fig. 2). Li teaches that the arrangement can be used to direct a multitude of laser beams from a single source to their desired locations and results in increased efficiency ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the first partial reflection mirror of Wiesner was configured to divide the laser light into first and second laser light such that the first laser light was supplied to the first and third scanning units and the second laser light was supplied to the second and fourth scanning units in order to implement a suitable configuration for predictably supplying the four scanning units with light from the common laser source to the desired locations with high efficiency, as taught by Li. In implementing the configuration, then the light applied by the first and third scanning units would be the first laser light and the light applied by the second and fourth scanning units would be the second laser light.
Wiesner discloses that the individual irradiation regions can be redefined and their corresponding overlap regions changed layer-by-layer by displacement along X-Y axes of the irradiation plane ([0094], [0101], [0104]). Wiesner discloses the overall device can be configured to perform the displacement of the overlap region and the variable subdivision of the overlap zone ([0106]). Wiesner describes that a definition of the irradiation regions can be performed by specifying a deflection spectrum of the deflection units of the irradiation units and/or a possible movement spectrum of the irradiation units ([0017]). As such, Wiesner discloses possible movement of the irradiation/scanning units for regular adjustment of the irradiation regions but is silent as to the apparatus including first, second, third, and fourth drive units configured to move the corresponding scanning units and that a position of the individual scanning units relative to each other unit can be changed in both directions. Wiesner does not disclose each drive unit comprising a first and second conveyance unit as claimed.
In the analogous art, Uzan discloses an additive manufacturing device having multiple independently driven writing (e.g., laser [0007]-[0010]) heads (Abstract, [0018]). Uzan teaches providing a plurality of writing heads (124, 224, 424, 425, Fig. 4, [0062]-[0063] embodiment wherein each head, including heads 424 and 425, is uncoupled from the others in both X and Y directions in the manner of heads 124 and 224) which can work on respective areas of the build surface with corresponding drive units for mutually independent movement in X and Y directions (each of the writing heads can be moved independently of the other three writing heads (in both directions), [0062]-[0063]), i.e., such that a position of each scanning unit (writing head) can be changed relative to the others in both directions. Uzan discloses each drive unit comprises a first conveyance unit configured to convey the respective scanning unit in a first direction parallel to the powder bed (movement of each head along X direction via corresponding screws/tracks, [0062]-[0063], Fig. 4; actuation mechanism described in [0044], [0058]-[0060]); and a second conveyance unit configured to convey the respective scanning unit in a second direction (movement of each head along Y direction via corresponding screws/tracks, [0062]; actuation mechanism described in [0043]), the second direction being parallel to the surface of the powder bed and different from the first direction (plate 130 is a planar support under the heads, [0047]; Y direction as opposed to X direction), wherein the first and second conveyance units of each drive unit are configured to convey the respective scanning unit independently of all other scanning units along the first and second directions so that each of the scanning units is independently movable relative to every other scanning unit in both directions (each of the writing heads being uncoupled and therefore movable independently of the other three writing heads in both directions, [0062]-[0063]). Uzan teaches that the construction of the apparatus supports spatial manipulation of multiple writing heads that can be utilized simultaneously and independently in making a 3D object ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wiesner to incorporate the positioning mechanism of Uzan including first, second, third, and fourth drive units configured to move the corresponding scanning units such that a position of each scanning unit relative to the other scanning units can be changed, each drive unit comprising a first and second conveyance unit as claimed, in order to enable simultaneous and independent movement of the multiple scanning units, as taught by Uzan. Wiesner describes having a movement spectrum for the irradiation units, and providing the independent drive capability for the scanning units as taught by Uzan would have facilitated the displacement of the irradiation regions and corresponding overlap regions by movement of the scanning/irradiation units as desired by Wiesner.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wiesner discloses the limitations of claim 1, and the combination discloses the first, second, third, and fourth drive units move the first, second, third, and fourth scanning units, respectively, on a common moving surface (Wiesner: the irradiation units 22a-d are located on a common plane, Fig. 1, [0075], such that their X and Y movement capability per the combination would be along the common plane).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wiesner discloses the limitations of claim 1, and the combination further discloses each of the first, second, third, and fourth drive units is a gantry mechanism (Uzan: each drive unit being an overhead screw/track configuration, Fig. 4, [0043]-[0044], [0062]-[0063], i.e., a gantry mechanism) including a guide rail (Uzan: a track associated with each screw, [0043]-[0044]) extending in each of the first and second directions (Uzan: tracks 102, 402 extend in X direction; tracks associated with Y direction screws extend in Y direction, Fig. 4; tracks described in [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wiesner discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wiesner further discloses a control unit that controls the device to perform the irradiation, including the variation of the position of the overlap region in the irradiation plane and changing partition regions between the irradiation regions ([0065]-[0066]). As set forth above, these functions are associated by Wiesner with movement of the first, second, third, and fourth irradiation/scanning units (e.g., [0017]). The combination as set forth above does not explicitly disclose a position control unit configured to control positions of the first, second, third, and fourth scanning units; and a drive control unit configured to control operations performed by the first, second, third, and fourth drive units in cooperation with the position control unit.
Uzan further discloses a controller configuration for the positioning mechanism wherein a position of a scanning unit is controlled (computer 180 can issue commands to move a writing head in Y, X directions, [0043]-[0044]), i.e., a position control unit; and operations performed by the corresponding drive unit are controlled in cooperation with the position control unit (movement of the head is performed by activation of the corresponding motor, [0043]-[0044]), i.e., a drive control unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify, for the combination including the drive units, a position control unit configured to control positions of the first, second, third, and fourth scanning units and a drive control unit configured to control operations performed by the first, second, third, and fourth drive units in cooperation with the position control unit in order to ensure the controlled and coordinated operation of the drive units based on a desired position of the corresponding irradiation units, as taught by Uzan. Wiesner includes a control configuration for the four scanning units, and further specifying the claimed configuration would have predictably enabled accurate movement of the independently movable units of the combination in order to form the intended irradiation regions.
Regarding claim 8, Wiesner discloses a powder additive manufacturing apparatus (device 10, Fig. 1, configured to carry out additive manufacturing from powder, [0073]) comprising:
A powder-bed support part configured to support the powder bed (carrier 16, Fig. 1, on which powder layers are applied, [0073]); and
A recoater (powder application device 14, Fig. 1, [0073]) configured to spread powder across the powder bed (applying raw material powder layers to the carrier 16, [0073]).
Wiesner in view of Li and Uzan as set forth above for claim 1 discloses the powder-bed laser processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wiesner discloses the limitations of claim 8, and the combination discloses the first, second, third, and fourth drive units move the first, second, third, and fourth scanning units (see claim 1). Wiesner discloses the powder-bed support part lowers the powder bed (is displaceable in the vertical direction and is lowered as the build height of the workpiece increases, [0073]) and the recoater drives (applies powder layers to the carrier 16, [0073]). As such, the apparatus as set forth discloses all the structural requirements of the claim, and a timing of when the structures are actuated during operation does not reflect a further structural limitation. The components as set forth are capable of performing the movement of the scanning units during a period in which the powder-bed support part lowers the powder bed or the recoater drives (as the drive units for the respective scanning units are entirely distinct from the structure of the carrier and the recoater, see Uzan Fig. 4, [0062]-[0063], they are capable of moving the respective scanning units while the powder-bed support part is lowered or the recoater driven).
Note that the claims are directed to an apparatus and a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114 (II)). In this case, the scanning units are structurally capable of being moved, and as the movement structure for the scanning units is distinct from that of the carrier and the recoater, then there is no structural restriction to moving the scanning units as the carrier or recoater is moved. Therefore, the prior art apparatus of the combination includes all the structural requirements of the recited operation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiesner et al., US 20190375012 A1, in view of Li et al., US 20140198365, and Uzan et al., US 20150231827 A1, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Teulet, US 20150210013 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wiesner discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wiesner further discloses each of the first and second scanning units comprises:
A scanning device configured to receive laser light and scan the received laser light (interpreted as a subcomponent of the broader respective scanning unit, the irradiation units each comprising processing optics that include a deflection device in the form of a scanner unit, [0077], see also [0013]); and a lens (processing optics include objective lens, [0012]).
Wiesner does not disclose a particular arrangement of the scanning device and lens and thus does not explicitly disclose that the lens is configured to receive the laser light scanned by the scanning device and apply the received laser light to the powder bed.
In the analogous art of manufacturing three-dimensional objects from powder material (Abstract), Teulet discloses a movable scanning head configuration (head 12, Figs. 1-2) including a scanner device for receiving and deflecting a laser beam (means 18 for deflecting the laser beam, Fig. 1, [0049]) which is then focused onto the corresponding sintering field 14 by a lens downstream from the beam deflecting means (lens 22, Fig. 1, [0051]).
As Wiesner is silent as to a particular arrangement of the components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the lens is configured to receive the laser light scanned by the scanning device and apply the received laser light to the powder bed in order to provide a workable arrangement such that laser light deflected by the scanning device could be focused onto a specific location of the sintering field by the lens, as taught by Teulet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 8-10, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to claim amendments and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Uzan.
Applicant argues that Nagano does not teach the conveyance configuration to move each scanning unit independently of all other scanning units in both the first and second directions. Uzan as applied teaches a movement configuration for a plurality of laser heads that includes independent movement capability for each head in each of the X and Y directions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180345409 A1, Pavlov et al. disclose an AM system including four beam emitters over respective interlaced irradiation regions, wherein the beam emitters are attached to respective track systems for corresponding freedom of movement.
US 20200230745 A1, Komsta et al. disclose a typical gantry drive unit / conveyance unit for a laser head (Fig. 1).
WO 2017182928 A1, Dasappa et al. disclose a relevant gantry movement system of multiple gantries for independent movement (Fig. 5B).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754