DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 are pending. Claim 6 remains withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 02/06/2026, claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 11/14/2025. New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that components of the control unit performing various functions, including “a stop operation unit outputting a first control signal…” (claim 1), “a return operation unit determining…and outputting a second control signal…” (claim 1), and “a restart operation unit outputting a fifth control signal…” (claim 5) are recited/disclosed as part of the control unit/device and thus are interpreted as requiring a controller capable of performing the recited functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinagawa et al., WO 2020004507 A1, in view of Yamada et al., WO 2019088091 A1. Citations are made to the corresponding English equivalent of each reference, US 20210187619 A1 and US 20200269345 A1, respectively (references of record in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Shinagawa discloses a rotating additive manufacturing device (three-dimensional modeling device 1B, Figs. 6-7) comprising:
A table (table 13, Fig. 6-7) rotatively supporting a powder material (powder material 101 is disposed on the table 13, the table 13 is caused to rotate, [0034], [0042]);
A supply unit (feeder 28, Fig. 6-7) supplying the powder material to the table (supplies the powder material to the table, [0034], [0048]);
A heating unit (heaters 54, 55, Fig. 6-7) heating the powder material disposed on the table (heating the powder material, [0028]-[0029], [0096]-[0098]);
An irradiation unit (beam source 41, 42, Fig. 6-7, [0096]) irradiating the powder material disposed on the table with an energy beam (to emit an energy beam, [0024]-[0026], irradiating the powder material with an electron beam, [0050]); and
A control unit (control unit, [0034]-[0037]) controlling at least the irradiation unit (controls the beam source(s) that perform modeling, [0034]).
Shinagawa discloses the control unit controls the processing elements of the modeling device ([0034]-[0038]). Shinagawa discloses that generally the rotating and heating control is performed such that the heating unit heats the powder material so that it is provided to the modeling region of the corresponding irradiation unit at a predetermined preheated temperature ([0028], [0062]), where the preheated temperature is related to a manufacturing (e.g., sintering or melting) temperature of the powder material that is to be processed by the downstream irradiation unit ([0058]-[0059]). In other words, in its ordinary operation, the powder material that is heated by the heating unit is provided to the manufacturing region at a temperature that is in a manufacturing restart temperature range (a temperature range appropriate for manufacturing of that powder material) when it enters the manufacturing region due to rotation of the table. In the referenced embodiment the apparatus also includes downstream heaters capable of post-heating a processing region ([0029], [0096], [0098]), such that a modeling region can be heated prior to a further powder supply (Figs. 6-7).
Shinagawa does not disclose a state information acquisition unit outputting abnormal state information including information related to a state of the powder material disposed on the table and indicating a state where irradiation with the energy beam has to be stopped, that the irradiation unit is controlled on the basis of the abnormal state information, and the control unit has a stop operation unit and a return operation unit as claimed.
In the analogous art, Yamada discloses an additive manufacturing device (Fig. 1) including a state information acquisition unit (detectors/sensors including scattering detector 25, Fig. 1, [0028], temperature detector 38, [0029], powder bed observation device, [0074]-[0075]) outputting abnormal state information including information related to a state of the powder material disposed on the table (scattering detector 25 detects scattering of the powder material blown upward due to irradiation with the electron beam and outputs a detection signal to the control unit, [0028]) and indicating a state where irradiation with the energy beam has to be stopped (indicates a state of scattering, [0028], and when scattering is detected, irradiation is stopped, [0018], [0026]), wherein a control unit controls at least an irradiation unit on the basis of the abnormal state information (beam emitting unit is controlled in response to a control signal from a control unit, and the irradiation is stopped on the basis of the scattering detection, [0026], [0045], Fig. 4), and wherein the control unit has a stop operation unit outputting a first control signal for stopping irradiation with the energy beam due to an input of the abnormal state information (beam emitting unit is controlled in response to a control signal from a control unit, and the irradiation is stopped on the basis of the scattering detection, [0026], [0045], Fig. 4), and a return operation unit determining whether or not the abnormal state information is information related to the state of the powder material (the control unit functions as a detection unit for detecting whether or not scattering of the powder material has occurred, [0043]) and outputting a second control signal for continuing heating operation of the heating unit and controlling supplying operation of the supply unit when the abnormal state information is information related to the state of the powder material (heaters are operated in response to a control signal from the control unit, are started whenever scattering has occurred, and new powder layer is supplied, [0034], [0045], Fig. 4). Yamada discloses the region in which the scattering/abnormal information occurred is heated to a target temperature ([0052]-[0053]). Yamada teaches the configuration ensures powder is supplied in a high temperature state to restart manufacturing ([0035], [0038], [0058]) and can reduce the occurrence of powder scattering and as a result reduce potential damage and malfunction of the energy beam source ([0058], [0060]) while avoiding excessive heating ([0062]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the additive manufacturing device of Shinagawa to include the state information acquisition unit and corresponding control configuration as taught by Yamada in order to provide the capability of detection and correction of abnormal or undesirable powder-related events so as to reduce the detrimental effects of potential powder scattering and associated damage or malfunction of the energy beam source, as taught by Yamada.
The combination as set forth above did not specifically address the second control signal being also for continuing rotating operation of the table; however, Shinagawa discloses the control unit controls the rotating table to rotate at a constant rotation speed for the powder heating ([0062]). Accordingly, in implementing the combination which involves heating the powder under the heater(s) via relative rotation (Shinagawa [0028]-[0029], [0062], [0101], Figs. 6-7) and requires heating of the powder when the acquired information indicates the abnormal information, the control unit of the combination would also have been controlling rotating operation of the table, both as its normal function for constant rotation and in order to practice the powder heating as disclosed for the correction.
The combination as set forth above did not specifically address a temperature of the powder material being included in a manufacturing restart temperature range at a timing when a region where the abnormal state information was acquired enters a manufacturing region again due to rotation of the table. The limitation is interpreted to require that the rotating and heating control is performed so that the powder material temperature is in “a manufacturing restart temperature range” when a region where the abnormal state information was acquired reenters the manufacturing region. A “manufacturing restart temperature range” is interpreted as any temperature range appropriate for manufacturing, i.e., for resuming irradiation.
As set forth above, Shinagawa already discloses that the rotation and heating control is performed so that the table is rotated such that a predetermined manufacturing-appropriate temperature is achieved at the modeling region via passage of the material through at least a preheating region ([0062]), i.e., that the rotating and heating control is performed such that the powder material is at an appropriate temperature when it reenters the manufacturing region for irradiation. Yamada teaches that the region where the scattering occurred becomes the heated region where manufacturing will ultimately be restarted after the heating and which is heated to a target temperature ([0052]-[0053]) such that when manufacturing is restarted the powder is at the high temperature ([0058]). With the teachings from Yamada to stop irradiation and start heating and control powder supply to ensure the layer is provided in a high temperature state for the manufacturing restart after the abnormal information was detected, the expected result of the combination is that a temperature of the powder material being heated (per Yamada) is included in an appropriate manufacturing temperature range when a region where the abnormal state information was acquired (the heated region) reenters the manufacturing region again due to rotation of the table (via Shinagawa’s intended rotation and heating control). As such, the recited control configuration includes no more than the expected result of the combination as set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, modified Shinagawa discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the state information acquisition unit includes a smoke information acquisition unit outputting smoke information for judging presence or absence of the powder material in a scattered state (Yamada: scattering detector 25 for detecting occurrence of scattering/smoke, [0028]) to the control unit as information related to the state of the powder material (Yamada: control unit detects whether or not smoke/scattering has occurred based on output from the scattering detector, [0043], [0050]), and
Wherein the return operation unit outputs a signal for controlling heating operation of the heating unit as the second control signal when the smoke information constituting the abnormal state information received from the state information acquisition unit indicates generation of smoke (Yamada: heaters are operated in response to a control signal from the control unit, are started when scattering/smoke has occurred, [0034], Fig. 4).
Regarding controlling rotating operation of the table, Shinagawa discloses the control unit controls the rotating table to rotate at a constant rotation speed for the powder heating ([0062]). Accordingly, in implementing the combination which requires heating of the powder when the smoke information indicates generation of smoke, the control unit of the combination would also have been controlling rotating operation of the table, both as its normal function for constant rotation and in order to practice the powder heating as disclosed for the correction.
Regarding claim 3, modified Shinagawa discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the state information acquisition unit includes an unevenness information acquisition unit (Yamada: powder bed observation device, [0074]-[0075]) outputting unevenness information indicating a state of unevenness on a surface of the powder material irradiated with the energy beam to the control unit as information related to the state of the powder material (Yamada: determining whether a recessed scattering region R2 of the powder bed, i.e., an unevenness on the surface, that has been irradiated with energy beam, see Figs. 7-8, has been filled for the detection processing, [0074]-[0075]), and
Wherein the return operation unit outputs a signal for controlling supplying operation of the supply unit as the second control signal when the unevenness information constituting the abnormal state information received from the state information acquisition unit does not satisfy predetermined conditions for unevenness (Yamada: when it is determined that filling is insufficient as a result of the check, the powder supply mechanism 33 is operated to add powder, [0074]-[0075]).
Regarding controlling rotating operation of the table, Shinagawa discloses the control unit controls the supply unit to perform the supply during the rotation of the table at the constant rotation speed ([0034]-[0035], [0062]). Accordingly, in implementing the combination which requires additional supply of the powder when the unevenness information does not satisfy predetermined conditions for unevenness, the control unit would also have been controlling rotating operation of the table, both as its normal function for constant rotation and in order to practice the powder supply as disclosed for the correction.
Regarding claim 5, modified Shinagawa discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further has a restart operation unit outputting a fifth control signal for restarting irradiation with the energy beam when the abnormal state information satisfies predetermined conditions (Yamada: when scattering of the powder material A has occurred, the irradiation region R in which scattering has occurred is heated, powder material A is supplied, and then manufacturing, i.e., irradiation [0049], of the article O is restarted, [0054], Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinagawa et al., WO 2020004507 A1 (citations to US 20210187619 A1), in view of Yamada et al., WO 2019088091 A1 (citations to US 20200269345 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takano et al., US 20220118520 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shinagawa discloses the device according to claim 1. The combination does not disclose the stop operation unit outputs a third control signal for stopping rotating operation of the table, heating operation of the heating unit, and supplying operation of the supply unit due to an input of the abnormal state information, and wherein the return operation unit outputs a fourth control signal for restarting at least one of those operations when the abnormal state information is information related to the state of the powder material.
In the analogous art, Takano discloses an additive manufacturing system having the capability of state detection and analysis in a powder-based system (Abstract, [0059]-[0060]). Takano teaches that if an abnormality is detected, operation of the devices of the apparatus are stopped so that their settings can be corrected to resolve the abnormality ([0092], [0097]) and then the molding is resumed, i.e., restarted ([0098]), such that it is possible to correct the settings of the devices included in the molding apparatus when an abnormality is detected so that quality deterioration can be avoided ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the control configuration of the combination such that the stop operation unit outputs a third control signal for stopping operation of the devices of the apparatus, i.e., stopping rotating operation of the table, heating operation of the heating unit, and supplying operation of the supply unit due to an input of the abnormal state information, and the return operation unit outputs a fourth control signal for restarting at least one of rotating operation of the table, heating operation of the heating unit, and supplying operation of the supply unit when the abnormal state information is information related to the state of the powder material, i.e., resuming the molding operation once the abnormality is corrected, in order to provide the capability of automatically correcting the settings of the individual devices included in the molding apparatus when an abnormality is detected to avoid a corresponding quality deterioration, as taught by Takano.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant remarks (p. 7) that independent claim 1 is amended to require that heating be continued such that a temperature of the powder material is included in a manufacturing restart temperature range at a timing when a region where the abnormal state information was acquired enters a manufacturing region again due to rotation of the table. Applicant argues (p. 7) that such a feature of adjusting the temperature in consideration of rotation timing when an abnormality occurs is not disclosed in any one of the cited references. Applicant argues that Shinagawa discloses rotating the table as part of the modeling process and even if Shinagawa and Yamada are combined, the obtained configuration will not result in adjusting the heating according to the timing of table rotation.
This argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As set forth in the updated rejection, Shinagawa specifically discloses that the heating is performed by rotation of the material relative to the heaters ([0028]-[0031], [0062], Figs. 6-7), and the heating/temperature control is performed in consideration of the rotation timing (rotation speed being controlled based on intended temperature rise during heating, [0062]). In this manner, the powder material can be provided again to the modeling region, via the constant rotation of the table, at the appropriate temperature (e.g., [0028], [0058], [0062]). Yamada teaches the corrective heating is performed when an abnormality occurs, with the region in which the abnormality occurred being heated to a target temperature (e.g., [0052]-[0053]) so that it can be provided for the manufacturing restart at the high temperature ([0058]). Both references intend to provide an appropriately heated powder material, i.e., material in a manufacturing restart temperature range, to the modeling region following the heating. Adjusting the temperature (heating the powder material) in consideration of the rotation timing (the rotating occurring during heating and in order to provide the heated material at the appropriate temperature to the modeling region) when an abnormality occurs (the powder material being heated in response to detection of the abnormality) is no more than the expected result of the combination of Shinagawa’s rotating powder bed additive manufacturing device and Yamada’s control configuration specific to the acquiring and correcting of abnormal state information for a powder bed additive manufacturing device.
Conclusion
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754