Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Slight rewording is suggested for claim 10’s preamble. Examiner suggests amending “A non-transitory recording medium recording a program for cause a computer to execute …” to “A non-transitory recording medium recording a program causing a computer to execute…” to reflect the wording of the preambles of the previous claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
More specifically, it is unclear what “generate an estimation model that outputs an index value of a physical condition in response to an input of information on the lower limbs by performing a machine learning” is intended to mean and how much the claim limitation intends to cover, as “learning device” and “learning system” are disclosed in the Applicant’s Specification but not “machine learning” and what “performing a machine learning” entails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-7 and 9-11 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1-7 and 9-11 recites at least one step or instruction for mathematical calculations, which is grouped as a mathematical concept under the 2019 PEG. The claimed limitation involves a generic computer carrying out mathematical calculations without demonstrating the computer into a practical application. Accordingly, each of Claims 1-7 and 9-11 recites an abstract idea.
Specifically, Claim 1 recites:
A memory;
A processor;
detect a gait event from time-series data of sensor data related to motion of a foot (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)); and
perform a measurement of lower limbs by using the sensor data for a prescribed period with a timing of the gait event as a start point, based on a geometric model on which a constraint condition related to motion of the lower limbs is imposed (mathematical calculations, which is grouped as a mathematical concept under the 2019 PEG).
Claims 9 and 10 provide parallel limitations.
Claim 11 recites:
The measurement device according to claim 1; and
A memory;
A processor;
acquire data related to lower limbs (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)),
generate an estimation model that outputs an index value of a physical condition in response to an input of information on the lower limbs by performing a machine learning (mathematical calculations, which is grouped as a mathematical concept under the 2019 PEG), and
generate recommendation information for making decision related to health of a user in response to the index value estimated by using the estimation model (mathematical calculations, which is grouped as a mathematical concept under the 2019 PEG).
Examiner notes that claim limitations include sensor data being used to perform the measurement. However, it is further noted that claims 1-7 and 9-11 are related to data processing without claiming any sensing elements.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea.
Further, dependent Claims 2-7 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 (and its respective dependent Claims 2-7) and 9-11 is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claim 1 and 9-11), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: A memory and a processor are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 1 and 9-11 (and their respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 9-11 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mathematical concepts) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processor as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 9-11 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 9-11 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of Claims 1-7 and 9-11 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: A memory and a processor, as recited in independent claims 1 and 9-11.
Per Applicant’s specification, the term “processor” is described as being responsible for developing the program stored in the auxiliary storage device or the like, in the main storage device, executing the program developed in the main storage device, and executing control and processing according to the present example embodiment [see in ¶ 0153].
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term processor is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the processor. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1-7 and 9-11 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the device and system of claims 1-7 and 9-11 are directed to applying an abstract idea (e.g., mathematical concept) on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR). In other words, none of Claims 1-7 and 9-11 provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 and 9-11 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1-7 and 9-11 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-7 and 9-11 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagimoto et al. (JP 2008173365 A – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Hagimoto, in view of Washizawa et al. (JP 2015195913 A – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Washizawa.
Regarding claim 1, and substantially similar limitations in claims 9 and 10, Hagimoto discloses a measurement device comprising:
a memory storing instructions [memory resources 17, see in ¶ 0033]; and
a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to [CPU 16, see in ¶ 0033; The output of the A/D converter 15 is passed to the CPU 16 where predetermined calculations are performed. The CPU 16 has memory resources 17 such as ROM and RAM, see in ¶ 0033]:
detect a gait event from time-series data of sensor data related to motion of a foot [see in ¶ 0009 and ¶ 0017]; and
perform a measurement of lower limbs by using the sensor data for a prescribed period with a timing of the gait event as a start point [walking data and gait analysis, see in ¶ 0040- ¶ 0041].
Hagimoto fails to disclose that the measurement of lower limbs is based on a geometric model on which a constraint condition related to motion of the lower limbs is imposed.
However, Washizawa discloses a measurement based on a geometric model [a model angle based on a model that smoothly connects adjacent bones in the spine and the range of motion set, see in ¶ 0042] on which a constraint condition related to motion of the lower limbs is imposed [constraint conditions to determine model angle, see in ¶ 0040].
Hagimoto and Washizawa are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of walking analysis . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hagimoto to incorporate the teachings of Washizawa and include constraint conditions based off a geometric model in performing measurement of the lower limbs, in order to obtain measurements of lower limb movement while taking limitations relating to limb positions, joint angles, and range of motion into consideration.
Regarding claim 4, Hagimoto, as modified, discloses the measurement device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to estimate a physical condition of the user based on information on the lower limbs of the user [gait analysis data is presented as a trend graph for visual recognition of rehabilitation progress, see in ¶ 0066].
Regarding claim 8, Hagimoto, as modified, discloses an information processing system comprising: the measurement device according to claim 1 [see above regarding claim 1] and
a data acquisition device that is arranged on footwear of a user [a gait sensor that is attached to the foot of a walker, see in ¶ 0009],
measures a spatial acceleration and a spatial angular velocity according to a gait of the user [detects at least one of acceleration or angular velocity for a predetermined time for gait analysis, see in ¶ 0009],
generates sensor data based on the measured spatial acceleration and spatial angular velocity, and outputs the generated sensor data to the measurement device [a gait analysis device that passes the measurement start command to the wireless communication device and calculates two-dimensional or three-dimensional position information and state information of the foot at any time based on the detected data obtained via the wireless communication device, see in ¶ 0009].
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/HY KHANH DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3791