DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/2/2023, 12/18/2024, and 2/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owada (9976720) hereafter Owada in view of Bauer (20160265733) hereafter Bauer.
Regarding claim 1, Owada teaches an array comprising: an optical system, wherein each of the optical systems comprises a pair of an incidence-side lens portion and an emission-side lens portion (see fig. 7), a low refractive index portion is provided between an incident surface of the incidence-side lens portion and an emission surface of the emission-side lens portion (gap between 50 and 52), a refractive index of the low refractive index portion is lower than
refractive indexes of other portions (air), wherein the low refractive index portion comprises a first surface extending through a focus of the emission surface and a second surface extending from the first surface toward the incident surface (see annotated figure 7 below), wherein a cut line forming portion is formed by a boundary portion between the first surface and the second surface (46a forms boundary by reflecting light to form upper portion of light distribution), and wherein the incident surface is provided at a position that does not overlap the second surface in a front view of the incidence-side lens portion (42 is well below a tangent of the second surface in a front view).
Owada does not specifically teach that the lighting device is embodied as a microlens array comprising a plurality of optical systems.
Bauer teaches a lighting device that is embodied as a microlens array comprising a plurality of optical systems (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time
the invention was filed to have used the structure of Owada on a smaller scale as an array as taught by Bauer to enable fine control of the parts of the light distribution, resulting in a highly controlled and efficient optical system.
The Examiner notes that the limitation "microlens" has been interpreted as a
recitation of the scale of the device. It is well established in vehicular lighting to reduce
the scale of optics and lenses for additional control and precision.
Regarding claim 3, Owada and Bauer discloses and teach as set forth above and Owada further discloses the microlens array according to claim 2, wherein the low refractive index portion and the other portion are made of different materials (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Owada teaches the microlens array according to claim 2, wherein at least a part of the plurality of optical systems is integrally formed along a first direction, and the low refractive index portion penetrates the microlens array in the first direction (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Owada teaches the microlens array according to claim 1, wherein the second surface is a total reflective surface (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Owada teaches the microlens array according to claim 1, wherein the incidence-side lens portion is configured to refract, toward the boundary portion, light incident from the incidence surface (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Owada teaches a vehicle lamp comprising: a light source; and the microlens array according to claim 1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Owada teaches the microlens array according to of claim 2, wherein the incidence-side lens portion is configured to refract, toward the boundary portion, light incident from the incidence surface (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Owada teaches a vehicle lamp comprising: a light source; and the microlens array according to claim 2 (abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 12 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12352400 hereafter Kazama. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 6 of Kazama read on or make obvious claims 1, 2, 12, and 18 of the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kazama discloses A microlens array comprising: a plurality of optical systems, wherein each of the optical systems includes a pair of an incidence-side lens portion and an emission-side lens portion, a low refractive index portion is provided between an incidence surface of the incidence-side lens portion and an emission surface of the emission-side lens portion, a refractive index of the low refractive index portion is lower than a refractive index of another portion, the low refractive index portion includes: a first surface extending through a focus of the emission surface; and a second surface extending from the first surface to the incidence surface, and a cut line forming portion is formed by a boundary portion between the first surface and the second surface (see claim 1).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Kazama discloses the limitations therein (see claim 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 4 (and its dependent) the prior art does not disclose the claimed microlens array specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein a difference between the refractive index of the low refractive index portion and the refractive index of the other portion is 0.03 or more.”
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose the claimed microlens array specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the low refractive index portion is made of an opaque material.”
Regarding claims 9 and 15, the prior art does not disclose the claimed microlens array specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein at least a part of the plurality of optical systems is integrally formed along a first direction, and the hollow portion penetrates the microlens array in the first direction.”
Regarding claims 10 and 16, the prior art does not disclose the claimed microlens array specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein a step portion is provided in the boundary portion, and the step portion is located in the vicinity of a rear focus of the emission-side lens portion, and the step portion configures the cut line forming portion.”
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872