DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination dated June 24, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-16, 18, and 20 are as previously presented.
Claims 3, 6, 12, 17, 19 are canceled.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-16, 18, and 20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganguli et al. (Ganguli; US PG Pub #2018/0276915).
As to claim 1, Ganguli teaches a door operation support system for predicting maintenance, and timing of maintenance, of a door, the door operation support system (Paragraph [0028] teaches a system for determining door conditions and predicting maintenance) comprises:
a door operation sensor configured to obtain internal sensor data associated with the operation of the door;
an environment sensor configured to obtain external sensor data associated with the environment at the door, wherein the environment sensor is a temperature sensor and wherein the external sensor data comprises an ambient temperature at a location of the door (Paragraphs [0051]-[0052] teach two measurements of a motor temperature and outside temperature for a door); and
a processing circuitry configured to be operatively connected to the operation sensor and the environment sensor (Paragraph [0034] teaches a server including a computer program executed by a central processing unit; Paragraphs [0028] and [0030] teach data stored in a database in connection with the server) and configured to:
- obtain first internal sensor data indicative of data associated with the operation of the door (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are motor temperature);
- obtain first external sensor data indicative of data associated with the environment at the door, wherein the external sensor data determines the ambient temperature at the door location (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are outside temperature measurements);
- determine a first maintenance condition of the door based on the obtained first internal sensor data, and the ambient temperature at the location of the door (Paragraph [0036] teaches analyzing the data to detect a current condition of the door); and
- determine a deviation of the first maintenance condition from a first predetermined maintenance condition based on a predetermined correlation value between the first internal sensor data and the ambient temperature at the location of the door (Paragraphs [0051]-[0056] teach correlation coefficients between motor temperature, or other motor data, and outside temperature to identify or predict doors that need inspection or maintenance based on long term trends and to determine if seasonal dependencies exist based on correlations with external temperature; Paragraph [0069]-[0070] teach determining when a feature value crosses a threshold to determine that maintenance is necessary to schedule maintenance based on actual conditioning of the door and future trends).
As to claim 4, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 1, Ganguli teaches wherein determining the deviation from the first predetermined maintenance condition is based on at least the first internal sensor data and at least the first external sensor data obtained over a predefined time period (Paragraph [0056] teaches correlations based on data analyzed over a predetermined time period).
As to claim 7, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 1, Ganguli teaches wherein the first predetermined maintenance condition and/or the first maintenance condition comprises at least any of a life time prediction of a door component; a predicted door component maintenance schedule; a predicted replacement of a door component; and a predicted service action of a door component (Paragraphs [0051] and [0055] teach predicting a fault and predicting future maintenance; Paragraph [0068]-[0070] teach determining when a maintenance is necessary to schedule maintenance based on actual conditioning of the door and future trends).
As to claim 10, Ganguli teaches a method for predicting maintenance, and timing of maintenance, of a door, the method (Paragraphs [0008]-[0009] teach a method for determining door maintenance conditions including an optimal interval during which the fault is predicted to occur) comprising:
- obtaining first internal sensor data indicative of data associated with the operation of the door (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are motor temperature);
- obtaining first external sensor data indicative data associated with the environment at the door, wherein the external sensor data determines a condition of the ambient environment surrounding the door (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are outside temperature measurements); and
- determining a first maintenance condition of the door based on the obtained first internal sensor data and the ambient temperature at the location of the door (Paragraph [0036] teaches analyzing the data to detect a current condition of the door); and
- determining a deviation from a first predetermined maintenance condition based on a predetermined correlation value between the first internal sensor data and the ambient temperature at the location of the door (Paragraphs [0051]-[0056] teach correlation coefficients between motor temperature, or other motor data, and outside temperature to identify or predict doors that need inspection or maintenance based on long term trends and to determine if seasonal dependencies exist based on correlations with external temperature; Paragraph [0069]-[0070] teach determining when a feature value crosses a threshold to determine that maintenance is necessary to schedule maintenance based on actual conditioning of the door and future trends).
As to claim 13, depending from the method according to claim 10, Ganguli teaches wherein determining the deviation from the first predetermined maintenance condition is based on at least the first internal sensor data and at least the first external sensor data obtained over a predefined time period (Paragraph [0056] teaches correlations based on data analyzed over a predetermined time period).
As to claim 15, Ganguli teaches a processing circuitry program product comprising a non-transitory processing circuitry readable medium, having thereon a processing circuitry program comprising program instructions, the processing circuitry program being loadable into a processing circuitry (Paragraph [0034] teaches a computer program as source code presented for execution by the central processing unit and storing the source code on a computer-readable storage medium) and configured to cause execution of the method according to claim 10 when the processing circuitry program is run by the at least one processing circuitry (as seen with respect to claim 10 above).
As to claim 16, Ganguli teaches a method for predicting maintenance, and timing of maintenance, of a door, the method (Paragraphs [0008]-[0009] teach a method for determining door maintenance conditions including an optimal interval during which the fault is predicted to occur) comprising:
providing a door operating support system according to claim 1 (as seen with respect to claim 1 above);
obtaining first internal sensor data indicative of data associated with the operation of the door (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are motor temperature);
obtaining first external sensor data indicative of data associated with the environment at the door (Paragraph [0028] teaches obtaining measurements for a component of a vehicle, such as a door; Paragraph [0052] teaches measurements are outside temperature measurements); and
-determining the first maintenance condition of the door based on the obtained first internal sensor data and the ambient temperature at the location of the door (Paragraph [0036] teaches analyzing the data to detect a current condition of the door).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8-9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguli et al. (Ganguli; US PG Pub #2018/0276915) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Perala et al. (Perala; US PG Pub #2003/0217894).
As to claim 2, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 1, Ganguli teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to compare data with data from other doors (Paragraph [0008]), but does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is configured to:
- compare the first internal sensor data with a first predetermined internal sensor data and - compare the first external sensor data with a first predetermined external sensor data.
In the field of door monitoring, Perala teaches comparing the first internal sensor data with a first predetermined internal sensor data (Paragraph [0018] teaches comparing the set of characteristics generated from measurement with a set of characteristics representing a normal operating condition) and shows the external sensor data being sent to the measuring unit in a similar way as the internal data (Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the processing of the external sensor data with the internal sensor processing of Perala such that the circuitry configured to compare the first external sensor data with a first predetermined external sensor data because this data is necessary in determining the condition of the door and its need for maintenance (Paragraph [0019]).
As to claim 8, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 1, Ganguli does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
-generate a door maintenance message indicative of a suggested maintenance of the door ; and/or
-generate a door operation message indicative of change in operation of the door.
In the field of door monitoring, Perala teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
-generate a door maintenance message indicative of a suggested maintenance of the door ; and/or
-generate a door operation message indicative of change in operation of the door (Paragraph [0019] teaches transmitting data to a remote maintenance center when the values of the characteristics differ from the normal values beyond an allowed limit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the data transmission of Perala because this yields the predictable result of scheduling maintenance in a system that allows the schedule of the maintenance to be made aware to the personnel attending to the matter.
As to claim 9, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 8, Ganguli does not explicitly teach wherein the door maintenance message and/or door operation message is configured to be received by at least any of a user, via a user interface of an electronic device, or to be received by a machine via an application programming interface of the machine.
In the field of door monitoring, Perala teaches wherein the door maintenance message and/or door operation message is configured to be received by at least any of a user, via a user interface of an electronic device, or to be received by a machine via an application programming interface of the machine (Paragraph [0019] teaches transmitting data to a remote maintenance center). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the data transmission of Perala because this yields the predictable result of scheduling maintenance in a system that allows the schedule of the maintenance to be made aware to the personnel attending to the matter.
As to claim 11, depending from the method according to claim 10, Ganguli teaches comparing data with data from other doors (Paragraph [0008]), but does not explicitly teach the method further comprising:
- comparing the first internal sensor data with a first predetermined internal sensor data; and
- comparing the first external sensor data with a first predetermined external sensor data.
In the field of door monitoring, Perala teaches comparing the first internal sensor data with a first predetermined internal sensor data (Paragraph [0018] teaches comparing the set of characteristics generated from measurement with a set of characteristics representing a normal operating condition) and shows the external sensor data being sent to the measuring unit in a similar way as the internal data (Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the processing of the external sensor data with the internal sensor processing of Perala to compare the first external sensor data with a first predetermined external sensor data because this data is necessary in determining the condition of the door and its need for maintenance (Paragraph [0019]).
As to claim 14, depending from the method according to claim 10, Ganguli does not explicitly teach the method further comprising:
- generating a door maintenance message indicative of a suggested maintenance of the door; and/or
- generating a door operation message indicative of change in operation of the door.
In the field of door monitoring, Perala teaches the method further comprising:
-generating a door maintenance message indicative of a suggested maintenance of the door ; and/or
-generating a door operation message indicative of change in operation of the door (Paragraph [0019] teaches transmitting data to a remote maintenance center when the values of the characteristics differ from the normal values beyond an allowed limit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the data transmission of Perala because this yields the predictable result of scheduling maintenance in a system that allows the schedule of the maintenance to be made aware to the personnel attending to the matter.
Claims 5, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguli et al. (Ganguli; US PG Pub #2018/0276915) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Fujishiro et al. (Fujishiro; US PG Pub #2020/0350687).
As to claim 5, depending from the door operation support system according to claim 4, Ganguli teaches wherein determining the deviation from the first predetermined maintenance condition is further based on the first internal sensor data and the first external sensor data (Paragraphs [0051]-[0056] teach correlation coefficients between motor temperature, or other motor data, and outside temperature to identify or predict doors that need inspection or maintenance), but does not explicitly teach determining the deviation based on at least a second external sensor data.
In the field of door systems, Fujishiro teaches determining the deviation based on at least a second external sensor data (Paragraph [0007] teaches a wireless communication device for a door; Paragraphs [0286] and [0288] teach a wireless communication device sensor may include a humidity sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a photosensor, an illuminance sensor, a UV sensor, a gas sensor, a gas concentration sensor, an atmosphere sensor, an air pressure sensor, or a wind power sensor; Paragraph [0529] teaches acquiring environmental information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the environmental sensing of Fujishiro because Fujishiro recognizes multiple types of environmental factors that influence door operation such that making a simple substitution of the environmental sensing of Fujishiro for the environmental sensing of Ganguli yields the predictable result of accounting for the environment near the door when determining the need for maintenance to increase the reliability of the determination.
As to claim 18, depending from the door operation support system of claim 1, Ganguli does not explicitly teach wherein the environmental sensor comprises a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a wind speed sensor, a solar radiation sensor, or an air pollution sensor configured to measure an ambient humidity, an atmospheric pressure, a wind speed, a solar radiation amount, or air pollution, respectively, at the door location.
In the field of door systems, Fujishiro teaches wherein the environmental sensor comprises a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a wind speed sensor, a solar radiation sensor, or an air pollution sensor configured to measure an ambient humidity, an atmospheric pressure, a wind speed, a solar radiation amount, or air pollution, respectively, at the door location (Paragraph [0007] teaches a wireless communication device for a door; Paragraphs [0286] and [0288] teach a wireless communication device sensor may include a humidity sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a photosensor, an illuminance sensor, a UV sensor, a gas sensor, a gas concentration sensor, an atmosphere sensor, an air pressure sensor, or a wind power sensor; Paragraph [0529] teaches acquiring environmental information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the environmental sensing of Fujishiro because Fujishiro recognizes multiple types of environmental factors that influence door operation such that making a simple substitution of the environmental sensing of Fujishiro for the environmental sensing of Ganguli yields the predictable result of accounting for the environment near the door when determining the need for maintenance to increase the reliability of the determination.
As to claim 20, depending from the method of claim 10, Ganguli does not explicitly teach wherein the condition is an ambient humidity, an atmospheric pressure, a wind speed, a solar radiation amount, or air pollution at the door location.
In the field of door systems, Fujishiro teaches wherein the condition is an ambient humidity, an atmospheric pressure, a wind speed, a solar radiation amount, or air pollution at the door location (Paragraph [0007] teaches a wireless communication device for a door; Paragraphs [0286] and [0288] teach a wireless communication device sensor may include a humidity sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a photosensor, an illuminance sensor, a UV sensor, a gas sensor, a gas concentration sensor, an atmosphere sensor, an air pressure sensor, or a wind power sensor; Paragraph [0529] teaches acquiring environmental information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ganguli with the environmental sensing of Fujishiro because Fujishiro recognizes multiple types of environmental factors that influence door operation such that making a simple substitution of the environmental sensing of Fujishiro for the environmental sensing of Ganguli yields the predictable result of accounting for the environment near the door when determining the need for maintenance to increase the reliability of the determination.
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688