DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s RCE filed on 10/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20040053826 to Lim as modified by DE 10201600674 to Gokturk.
Regarding claims 1 and 14-19, Lim discloses a striker apparatus for a latching system of a vehicle. The latching system is configured to secure a tailgate of the vehicle (10, fig 3).
The striker apparatus comprises a displaceable portion (at 30) to which a striker (40, 42 and 44) is connected and a rigid portion adjacent the displaceable portion.
Lim fails to disclose that the striker apparatus comprises a deformable slotted portion on one lateral side of the displaceable portion, that comprises a slot demarcating the displaceable portion from the rigid portion.
Lim discloses that the striker apparatus is configured to deform to enable the displaceable portion to displace relative to the rigid portion while remaining connected to the rigid portion, as a result of one of the striker apparatus or a latch apparatus of the latching system being translated in a vehicle-inboard direction relative to the other of the striker apparatus or the latch apparatus while the striker is latched to the latch apparatus (depending on the crash forces and other factors of a collision).
Gokturk teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a striker apparatus defining a deformable slotted portion (by 7 and 8) that comprises a slot that demarcates the displaceable portion from the rigid portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus described by Lim with a slotted portion, as taught by Gokturk, in order to aid in allowing the apparatus to deform during a collision in a balanced and even way.
As to claim 2, Lim illustrates that the displaceable slotted portion and the rigid portion are adjacent portions of a layer of material.
As to claim 3, Lim illustrates that the displaceable slotted portion is centrally located between the rigid portion and another rigid portion.
As to claim 5, Gokturk illustrates that a thickness of the deformable slotted portion is substantially the same as a thickness of the displaceable slotted portion and of the rigid portion.
As to claim 6, Gokturk illustrates that the deformable slotted portion comprises material bridging the slot, the material configuring how far the displaceable portion can displace while remaining connected to the rigid portion.
As to claim 7, in combination, Lim, as modified by Gokturk, illustrates that the deformable slotted portion is configured to enable the displacement to comprise rotation out-of-plane relative to the rigid portion (Lim illustrates that the displaceable portion is at an angle relative to the rigid portion).
As to claim 8, in combination, Lim, as modified by Gokturk, illustrates that the deformable slotted portion is configured so that the rotation is at least 12 degrees without fracture of the striker apparatus.
As to claim 9, in combination, Lim, as modified by Gokturk, illustrates that the deformable slotted portion is configured as a hinge formation to enable the rotation.
As to claim 10, in combination, Lim, as modified by Gokturk, illustrates that the deformable slotted portion is configured to enable the displacement to comprise rotation out-of-plane relative to the rigid portion, the deformable slotted portion is configured as a hinge formation to enable the rotation, and the hinge formation bridges the slot, demarcating the displaceable portion from the rigid portion.
As to claim 11, in combination, Lim, as modified by Gokturk, illustrates that the striker apparatus is configured to be secured to the tailgate, wherein the hinge formation is to a vehicle-outboard side of the striker apparatus.
As to claim 12, Lim illustrates that the rigid portion comprises a fixing portion configured to enable the striker apparatus to be secured to the vehicle.
As to claim 13, Lim illustrates that the fixing portion comprises a fixing aperture.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the drawing objection and 112 2nd paragraph rejection, the current amendment to the language, changing “connected” to -adjacent- overcomes the previous issues.
With respect to the prior art rejection under 102a1 in view of Lim, the current amendment overcomes the rejection.
With respect to the prior art rejection in view of Ishii, as modified by Burciaga, the current amendment overcomes the previous rejection.
With respect to the prior art rejection in view of Lim, as modified by Gokturk, the arguments are still not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
The current amendment is adding the limitations of previous claim 4 into claim 1. As previously mentioned in the last action, Lim failed to disclose that the deformable portion is a slot. Gokturk teaches that is well known in the art to provide a deformable slotted portion configured to aid during a collision.
Therefore, since no argument is persuasive and the examiner will be maintaining this position, the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
November 7, 2025