DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-7), Species C (Fig. 3) in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the reference cited in the restriction from the International Search Report does not teach the special technical feature of the claims. This is not found persuasive because the rejection below demonstrates that the claims lack unity. Applicant further argues that Claims 8-17 are amended to be dependent on claim 1 are therefore are to be included. The Examiner disagrees respectfully, because the structure of claim 1 is not entirely recited by claim 9, and the method steps of claim 9 are not related to the structure to claim 1 and therefore the structure of claim 1 does not limit claim 9. Therefore, claim 1 can be considered allowable while claim 9 can be rejected in the future.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a processing unit” in claim 1;
“a function selection module” in claim 7;
After reviewing the specification, the processing unit appears to be drawn to a processor, or known equivalents (per paragraph [0097]), the function selection module appears to be drawn to a 4-bit dial switch, or known equivalents (per paragraph [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the number of the refrigerant sensor” which renders the claim indefinite as the limitation lacks proper antecedent basis, and further indefinite as it is unclear what “the number of the refrigerant sensor” means. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (CN111426890A).
Regarding claim 1, FOR1 teaches a control device (see Abstract), comprising a processing unit (see Description, “the present invention provides a control apparatus comprising a processor, said processor is used for coupling with the memory, reads and executes the instructions in the memory”),
an indoor control board power supply controllable switch (see Description, “As the first switching device K1 can be connected with the indoor machine of the main control board, the main control board in the indoor machine…therefore, the main control board in indoor unit according to the first switching device is in the closed state to judge whether the three-phase power supply is correct.”), and
a refrigerant sensor interface (see Description, “the MCU also can be connected with temperature sensor, obtaining the detection temperature of the temperature sensor”),
wherein a terminal of the refrigerant sensor interface is electrically connected to the processing unit (see Fig. 1),
and another terminal of the refrigerant sensor interface is electrically connected to a refrigerant sensor (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative); or the refrigerant sensor interface communicates with the refrigerant sensor (see Description, “the MCU also can be connected with temperature sensor, obtaining the detection temperature of the temperature sensor”); and
the processing unit is configured to acquire refrigerant information from the refrigerant sensor at least through the refrigerant sensor interface (see Description which notes the controller is connected to the sensor); and
a control terminal of the indoor control board power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit (see connections in the Figures, further see Description citations above which notes the indoor power supply is connected to the MCU and therefore requires a control terminal inherently),
a first terminal of the indoor control board power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to a power supply terminal of an indoor control board, and a second terminal of the indoor control board power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to a control device power supply output terminal (the first and second terminals are met by FOR1 as they are interpreted as being the connection between the indoor control board power supply switch and the claimed control device, which is met by FOR1 which above is cited to teach the connection therebetween).
FOR1 does not specifically teach:
the processing unit is configured to control the indoor control board power supply controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to turn on or turn off the indoor control board.
However, the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that it is well known in the art for one of ordinary skill to turn on or off the indoor unit, through the indoor control board, on the basis of refrigerant information (the Examiner notes the very broad language of what constitutes “information”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with the indoor control board power supply being controllable to switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to turn on or turn off the indoor control board, in order to provide direct control over desired optimization of the air conditioner.
Regarding claim 8, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 1, comprising: a processing unit, an indoor control board power supply controllable switch, and at least one wherein the refrigerant sensor; wherein is integrated into the control device (see Fig. 1 which shows the connections between the elements and thereby showing the integrated nature of their connection).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of DeLoach (US 11,859,845).
Regarding claim 2, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach:
an indoor fan controllable switch, wherein a control terminal of the indoor fan controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit, a first terminal of the indoor fan controllable switch is electrically connected to an indoor fan, and a second terminal of the indoor fan controllable switch is electrically connected to the control device power supply output terminal; and
the processing unit is further configured to control the indoor fan controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to start or stop the indoor fan.
DeLoach teaches a networked HVAC system (DeLoach, Title) which features a control module (DeLoach, AI Control, Fig. 7, the Examiner notes the AI control is analogous to the processing unit) which is connected to an HVAC component control (DeLoach, HVAC component control, Fig. 7) wherein the HVAC component control features an indoor fan controllable switch that is connected electrically to the control module (DeLoach, see Fig. 7 which shows connection to the indoor blower speed, the Examiner notes the arrow signifies two terminals that provide the connection), wherein the control module controls the indoor blower speed based on sensor information (DeLoach, col. 11, lines 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with an indoor fan switch with a first and second terminal that is controllable to be turned on and off, as taught by DeLoach, in order to provide more accurate control over user comfort.
Regarding claim 3, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 1, further comprising an outdoor controller power supply controllable switch (see Description, “a single board control circuit one of existing three-phase power supply constant air conditioner. in the control circuit, the control circuit (the control circuit corresponding to FIG. 1), through the three-phase power supply to the outdoor machine of the air conditioner”), a compressor starting signal controllable switch or a compressor starting signal interface (see Description, “when the compressor adopts single control scheme controls the three-phase power supply in the constant speed air-conditioner, controlled by the main control board in indoor unit of outdoor machine, a four-way valve and the outdoor fan and other components to operate”); wherein
a control terminal of the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit (see connections in the Figures, further see Description citations above which notes the outdoor power supply is connected to the MCU and therefore requires a control terminal inherently),
a first terminal of the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to a power supply terminal of an outdoor controller, and a second terminal of the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch is electrically connected to the control device power supply output terminal (the first and second terminals are met by FOR1 as they are interpreted as being the connection between the outdoor control board power supply switch and the claimed control device, which is met by FOR1 which above is cited to teach the connection therebetween); and
a terminal of the indoor and outdoor connection valve interface is electrically connected to the processing unit, and another terminal is electrically connected to the indoor and outdoor connection valve; and the processing unit is further configured to send a connection valve on or off signal to the indoor and outdoor connection valve at least based on the refrigerant information, to open or close the indoor and outdoor connection valve;
a control terminal of the compressor starting signal controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit (see connections in the Figures, further see Description citations above which notes the compressor power supply is connected to the MCU and therefore requires a control terminal inherently),
a first terminal of the compressor starting signal controllable switch is electrically connected to a compressor, and a second terminal of the compressor starting signal controllable switch is electrically connected to the control device power supply output terminal (the first and second terminals are met by FOR1 as they are interpreted as being the connection between the compressor power supply switch and the claimed control device, which is met by FOR1 which above is cited to teach the connection therebetween); and
the processing unit is further configured to control the compressor starting signal controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to start or stop the compressor (see Description, “a compressor, and a phase sequence detecting circuit according to the first aspect is provided. wherein the first port of the first switch device of phase sequence detecting circuit of the first port and the second switch component is connected with three-phase interface three ports and three-phase power supply input end of the second switch device is connected with three ports of the compressor output end of the second switch device is connected. second, according to the first signal sent by the first switching device are closed or disconnected. and when the first switching device is in a closed state, the first signal is used for indicating the second switch closed; when the first switch device is in the off state, the first signal is used for indicating the second switch off. compressor, a second signal for starting according to the second switch sending run or stop running. and when the second switch is in the closed state, the second signal is used for indicating the starting operation of the compressor, when the second switch is in the off state, the second signal for indicating the compressor stops operating”); or
a terminal of the compressor starting signal interface is electrically connected to the processing unit, and another terminal is electrically connected to an outdoor controller; and the processing unit is further configured to send a compressor on or off signal to the outdoor controller at least based on the refrigerant information, to start or stop the compressor (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
FOR1 does not teach:
an indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch or an indoor and outdoor connection valve interface,
the processing unit is further configured to control the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to turn on or turn off the outdoor controller.
DeLoach teaches a networked HVAC system (DeLoach, Title) which features a hardware control that is connected to valve control (HVAC, see Fig. 6, further see Fig. 2 which shown a connection interface, further see col. 5, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with an indoor and outdoor connection valve interface, as taught by DeLoach, in order to provide greater control over refrigerant flow in the air conditioner.
FOR1 as modified does not specifically teach that the processing unit is further configured to control the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to turn on or turn off the outdoor controller.
However, the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that it is well known in the art for one of ordinary skill to control the outdoor controller power supply controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information (the Examiner notes the very broad language of what constitutes “information”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with the outdoor control board power supply being controllable to switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to turn on or turn off the outdoor control board, in order to provide direct control over desired optimization of the air conditioner.
The Examiner notes that the following limitation is not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative: a control terminal of the indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit, a first terminal of the indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch is electrically connected to an indoor and outdoor connection valve, and a second terminal of the indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch is electrically connected to the control device power supply output terminal; and the processing unit is further configured to control the indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to open or close the indoor and outdoor connection valve;
Regarding claim 4, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3, but does not teach a directional valve switching signal interface and/or an indoor ventilator controllable switch; wherein
a terminal of the directional valve switching signal interface is electrically connected to the processing unit, and another terminal is electrically connected to a directional valve; and the processing unit is further configured to send a directional valve switching signal to the directional valve at least based on the refrigerant information, to control a state of the directional valve; and
a control terminal of the ventilator controllable switch is electrically connected to the processing unit, a first terminal of the ventilator controllable switch is electrically connected to a ventilator, and a second terminal of the ventilator controllable switch is electrically connected to the control device power supply output terminal; and the processing unit is further configured to control the ventilator controllable switch to be turned on or turned off at least based on the refrigerant information, to start or stop the ventilator.
DeLoach teaches a networked HVAC system (DeLoach, Title) which features a control module (DeLoach, AI Control, Fig. 7, the Examiner notes the AI control is analogous to the processing unit) which is connected to an HVAC component control (DeLoach, HVAC component control, Fig. 7) wherein the HVAC component control features an indoor fan controllable switch that is connected electrically to the control module (DeLoach, see Fig. 7 which shows connection to the indoor blower speed, the Examiner notes the arrow signifies two terminals that provide the connection), wherein the control module controls the indoor blower speed based on sensor information (DeLoach, col. 11, lines 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with an indoor fan switch with a first and second terminal that is controllable to be turned on and off, as taught by DeLoach, in order to provide more accurate control over user comfort.
The Examiner notes the directional valve limitations are not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of DeLoach, further in view of FOR2 (CN114127480A).
Regarding claim 5, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3, but does not teach a refrigerant leakage indication signal interface, wherein a terminal of the refrigerant leakage indication signal interface is electrically connected to the processing unit, and another terminal is electrically connected to a remote indication device; and the processing unit is further configured to send a refrigerant leakage indication signal to the remote indication device at least based on the refrigerant information, to control the remote indication device to issue an alarm.
FOR2 teaches a refrigeration system (FOR2, Title) with a refrigerant leakage sensor (FOR2, 34, see Description) that is connected to a processor (FOR2, 44, Fig. 1, see Description, “The utilization side control device 44a includes a microcontroller unit (MCU), various electrical circuits, and electronic circuits”) and a safety device which issues an alarm (FOR2, 70, Fig. 1, see Description).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with a leakage indication interface and remote indication device that issues an alarm, as taught by FOR2, in order to prevent harmful leaks in the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of DeLoach, further in view of FOR3 (KR100379283B1).
Regarding claim 6, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 3, but does not teach the indoor and outdoor connection valve controllable switch comprises a liquid pipe solenoid valve controllable switch and a gas pipe solenoid valve controllable switch; or the indoor and outdoor connection valve interface comprises a liquid pipe solenoid valve interface and a gas pipe solenoid valve interface.
FOR3 teaches an air conditioner (FOR3, Title) which features a controller that operates a liquid solenoid valve and a gas solenoid valve to open/close based on instruction from the controller (FOR3, Description, “the microcomputer is greater than the third set pressure P4; After the step of turning on the air purge indicator for a predetermined time after the step, it is achieved by providing a method for automatic leakage checking of the separate air conditioner comprising the step of opening and closing the power supply to the gas pipe solenoid valve and the liquid pipe solenoid valve… After operating the air purge switch (1) installed in the outdoor unit controller (11) to operate and shut off the liquid pipe solenoid valve (7) and the gas pipe solenoid valve (3), the liquid supply valve (6) and the gas supply valve (2). Opening (S1)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with a liquid pipe solenoid valve controllable switch and a gas pipe solenoid valve controllable switch, as taught by FOR3, in order to further control the desired refrigerant flow within the air conditioner.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of DeLoach, further in view of Xue (US 10,845,098).
Regarding claim 7, FOR1 as modified teaches the control device according to claim 1, but does not teach a function selection module, wherein
the processing unit is configured to set the number of the refrigerant sensor based on the function selection module, and select the number of the refrigerant sensor interface corresponding to the number of the refrigerant sensor; or
the processing unit is configured to select, based on a data input type set by the function selection module, a data processing type corresponding to the data input type; or
the processing unit is configured to select a function mode based on whether a refrigerant recovery function is set by the function selection module.
Xue teaches an air conditioner (Xue, Title) which features a controller that operates a refrigerant recovery function (Xue, claim 1, the Examiner notes that the controller operating the refrigerant recovery function inherently includes having a processor which selects the function/mode of the air conditioner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 as modified with the processing unit is configured to select a function mode based on whether a refrigerant recovery function is set by the function selection module, as taught by Xue, in order to provide greater control of operational functions in the system.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763