Detailed Office Action
Indefiniteness Rejection
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, it is unclear what definitive limitation is conveyed by the language, “as essential raw materials”.
Prior Art Rejection
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/255844 A1 in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2014/0031500 A1).
WO 2020/255844 A1 discloses a curable composition that may be used as an adhesive comprising a blocked polyurethane prepolymer and an epoxy resin. The prepolymer is produced by reacting diisocyanate with a polyether polyol of 2000 to 4000 molecular weight, wherein additional polyol species may be employed that satisfy the instantly claimed branching agent. Blocking agents corresponding to those claimed are employed to block the prepolymer. Furthermore, curing agents and accelerators are disclosed that correspond to those claimed. See pages 1-9 of the provided translation.
6. The teachings of the primary reference differ from the instant claims in that the reference (1) fails to teach the use of polytetramethylene glycol as the polyether reactant, (2) fails to teach the use of a lower NCO/OH ratio to produce the prepolymer, and (3) fails to teach the claimed mole percent value of functional groups for the branching agent. Regarding difference (1), Matsumura et al. disclose the use of polytetramethylene glycol to produce prepolymers to be used in analogous adhesive compositions, wherein improved compatibility with the epoxy results and high strength and elongation result. See paragraph [0037] within the secondary reference. Regarding difference (2), Matsumura et al. disclose the use of the claimed lower NCO/OH ratio to produce prepolymer having more suitable viscosities and appropriate physical properties. See paragraph [0041], within the secondary reference. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to use polytetramethylene glycol and lower NCO/OH ratios to produce the prepolymer of the primary reference with the expectation that improved properties would result. Regarding difference (3), the position is taken that one would have been motivated to operate at the claimed levels, as opposed to lower ones, in situations, for example, where increased crosslink densities were desired.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765