DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 27, 34 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims depend upon canceled claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, 24, 27, 28, 30 – 32, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horwath (US 3,715,714).
With respect to claims 1 and 24, Horwath teaches a nosecone of an aircraft sensor probe, comprising a first portion (Fig.1, Item 12) defining a tip of the nosecone and formed from a first material; a second portion (Fig.1, Item 11) aft of the first portion formed from a second material and defining an internal volume, the second material having a greater porosity than the first material (Col.2, Lines 52 – 53); and a third portion (Fig.1, Item 14) aft of the second portion and configured to arrange a microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13) relative to the internal volume; and wherein the nosecone is configured to redirect the audio signals at the tip and reduce turbulent noise of the audio signal associated with non-parallel local flow angles of the airflow (Col.1, Lines 39 – 49).
With respect to claim 2, Horwath teaches wherein the second material (Fig.1, Item 11) comprises a porous material configured to attenuate an audio signal received by the second portion and maintain an acoustic pathway into the internal volume (Col.2, Lines 1 – 17 and 52 – 53, and Col.3, Lines 6 – 28).
With respect to claims 3 and 27, Horwath teaches wherein the porous material is configured to maintain the acoustic pathway into the internal volume for signals having a frequency of less than about 1200 Hz (Col.6, Lines 4 – 14).
With respect to claim 4, Horwath teaches wherein the internal volume is configured to direct the audio signal toward the microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13).
With respect to claims 5, 8 and 10, Horwath teaches wherein the porous material comprises a plurality of particles at least partially fused to one another and defining a plurality of pores therebetween (Col.2, Lines 52 – 53); wherein the second portion (Fig.1, Item 11) comprises a tubular wall of a porous material revolved about an axis of the nosecone (Fig.1, Item 12) to define the internal volume; and wherein the second material comprises a porous material including a sintered polymer material (Col.2, Lines 52 – 53).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Horwath teaches wherein one or both of the first portion (Fig.1, Item 12) defines a mounting structure (Fig.1, Item 16) configured to engage the second portion (Fig.1, Item 11); and wherein the mounting structure includes a nosecone mount with a locking groove that rotationally receives the nosecone (Col.2, Lines 47 – 50).
With respect to claims 17 and 18, Horwath teaches wherein the nosecone mount includes a first aperture formed therein and in fluid or acoustic communication with the internal volume; and wherein the mounting structure forms a conduit in fluid or acoustic communication with the internal volume and the first aperture (Fig.1).
With respect to claims 20, 30 and 32, Horwath teaches wherein the microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13) is arranged relative to the internal volume by a printed circuit board and the printed circuit board has a second aperture formed therein and in fluid or acoustic communication with the conduit, such that the microphone assembly is in fluid or acoustic communication with the internal volume via the first aperture, the second aperture, and the conduit (Col.3, Line 56 – Col.4, Line 2).
With respect to claims 21 and 31, Horwath teaches wherein the third portion (Fig.1, Item 14) is configured to structurally support and enhance a rigidity of the first portion and the second portion and is configured to define an interface and engage with a nosecone mount of the aircraft sensor probe (Col.2, Lines 35 – 50).
With respect to claim 23, Horwath teaches wherein the first portion (Fig.1, Item 12), the second portion (Fig.1, Item 11), and the third portion (Fig.1, Item 14) cooperate to define a continuous exterior contour of the nosecone (Fig.1).
With respect to claim 28, Horwath teaches wherein the porous material is arranged to define one or more discrete sections of the nosecone downstream of the tip (Fig.1, Item 12) and wherein the porous material defines an internal volume and the microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13) is mounted facing the internal volume (Fig.1).
With respect to claim 34, Horwath teaches wherein the portion of the microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13) is arranged facing a direction transverse to an axial direction of the internal volume (Fig.1).
With respect to claim 36, Horwath teaches wherein the nosecone defines an acoustic pathway to the portion of the microphone assembly (Fig.1, Item 13) through a cylindrical segment of the nosecone (Fig.1, Item 11), wherein the cylindrical segment is a radially symmetric tube formed from a porous sintered material (Col.2, Lines 52 – 53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 15, 16, 25 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horwath (US 3,715,714).
With respect to claims 11 and 25, Horwath teaches the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fails to disclose wherein the sintered polymer material comprises one or more of a polyethylene material or a sintered polypropylene material; or wherein a tip of the nosecone is formed from an air-impervious plastic material comprising a nylon material or a polycarbonate material.
The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ any desired material as the sintered material and for the tip of the nosecone because it would provide a predetermined rigidity and structural integrity needed for the particular application. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to secure the nosecone to the nosecone mount via a binary mount structure; or wherein the mounting structure comprises one or more prongs extending into a thickness of the second portion because it would facilitate the assembly of the nosecone parts to each other following established technologies known in aeronautics.
With respect to claim 35, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to further provide a sealing element configured to block moisture intrusion towards the microphone assembly because it is a well-known method of waterproofing separable parts.
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
April 3, 2026