DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses a tobacco material (10) (Abstract; [0025]; tobacco granules); comprising: a center portion (12) comprising a flavor material (Figures 1A-1D; [0026]; a core includes a flavorant); and an outer portion (14) including a tobacco mixture (22) and surrounding the center portion ([0028]; at least one layer surrounding the core and comprising tobacco particles). This anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses the center portion further includes tobacco particles (22) (Fig. 1D; [0026]; In other embodiments, the core can include tobacco particles within a matrix of other constituents), and the flavor material includes menthol ([0038]; Flavorants used within the granules 10 can be any flavorant known in the art. For example, suitable flavorants include wintergreen, cherry, ..., menthol, ..., and mint oils from a species of the genus Mentha.) This anticipates claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Sun discloses wherein the tobacco material has a spherical shape (Figs. 1A-1D; [0010] the granule can be generally spherical). This anticipates claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses a tobacco material (10) (Abstract; [0025]; tobacco granules); comprising: a center portion (12) comprising a flavor material (Figures 1A-1D; [0026]; a core includes a flavorant) (this anticipates a first composition); and an outer portion (14) including a tobacco mixture (22) and surrounding the center portion ([0028]; at least one layer surrounding the core and comprising tobacco particles).
Sun further discloses a method ([0017]) for forming said granules. The method comprises forming a center portion by growing a first composition ([0015] by growing the cores in a fluid bed processor ([0050]-[0053] to form to the desired size and forming the outer portion surrounding the center portion ([0016]; coating the core by spraying a second binder solution or suspension into the fluidized bed to produce at least two concentric layers after spraying said first binding solution.) This anticipates the method of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4- 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS) as applied to claim 1 above.
Sun discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses that the core includes a flavorant ([0026]). Sun further discloses granules (10) flavor profile can also be controlled by the concentration and/or intensity of each flavorant in each layer, but does not explicitly specify the concentration of the flavorant in the core. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have further understood the granules (10) flavor profile can also be controlled by the concentration and/or intensity of the flavorant included in the core (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the core of Sun to include about 96% flavor to control the flavor profile of the granules (10) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Sun discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Sun further discloses the center portion has a diameter of about 0.01 mm to about 0.3 mm, and the outer portion has a diameter of about 0.5 mm to about 1.99 mm ([0026]; the core has a diameter of between 300 microns (e.g., about 0.3 mm) and 2 mm and in some embodiments the cores have a diameter of between 500 microns (e.g., about 0.5 mm) and 1 mm). Specifically, the overall diameter is between 500 microns and 1 mm, and as the outer portion is the outer component of the granule, the outer portion also has this diameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the center portion and the outer portion diameter ranges as taught by Sun as the claimed ranges overlap the prior art diameter ranges.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05, I. This reads over claim 5.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Strickland et al. (US 2006/0191548).
Sun discloses as the claim limitations as set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Sun does not explicitly disclose the tobacco material includes about 5.0 wt% to about 8.0 wt% of water, with respect to a total weight of the tobacco material.
Strickland teaches tobacco compositions based on technologies that may include films, tabs, shaped parts, gels, consumable units, insoluble matrices, and hollow shapes (Abstract) that a moisture content of 2-50 % of the final product ([0208]) so that the products are sufficiently rigid so as to be easily handled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tobacco material of Sun with a moisture content of between 2 and 50 percent of the weight of the tobacco product, as taught by Strickland, so that it can be easily handled.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05, I. This reads over claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses that the formulations forming the granules can be sprayed ([0015]-[0016]) but does not explicitly disclose the viscosity of the tobacco material.
Strickland teaches that liquid spraying are prepared with a liquid having a viscosity of <50 cP ([0335]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tobacco material with a viscosity of <50 cP, as taught by Strickland so that it can be sprayed.
In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and MPEP § 2144.05 (I). This reads over claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS) in view of Rainer et al. (US 4,485,829) and Onno (US 2012/0167901).
Regarding claim 7, Sun does not explicitly disclose the surface roughness of the tobacco material.
Rainer teaches a process for increasing the filling power of tobacco (Abstract). A high filling power indicates a lower weight of tobacco is required to produce a cigarette rod of a given circumference and length than is required with a tobacco of low filling power. Filling power is increased by stiffening tobacco, by expanding tobacco, and by increasing the surface roughness of the tobacco so as to increase interparticle friction (col 2, l. 20-29). Rainer further teaches without wishing to be bound by theoretical explanations, it is felt the increase in the equilibrium cylinder volume (CVeq) produced by the process of the invention is attributable to either the stiffening of the tobacco, caused by a reaction of the basic calcium compound with acidic species occurring naturally in the tobacco, or to an increase in surface roughness, or a combination of both these factors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to increase the surface roughness of the tobacco material particles of Sun as taught by Rainer so as to provide the increased tobacco filling power as Rainer is ultimately filling tobacco rods.
Onno teaches a tobacco product (Abstract). The surface of the tobacco layer has a roughness, Ra, of below about 0.005 µm ([0047]) provides a smooth tobacco layer surface which reasonably suggests a surface Ra above 0.005 µm is considered a rough surface to one having ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tobacco material of Sun with a rough surface which increases the tobacco filling power as taught by Rainer and to further provide a surface roughness above 0.005 µm as Onno reasonably suggests a surface Ra above 0.005 µm is considered a rough surface in the art.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05, I. Therefore, a surface roughness of greater than 0.005 µm overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 to 10.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS) in view of Strickland et al. (US 2006/0191548) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhuang et al. (US 2007/0000505, cited on 7/23/2025 IDS).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sun does not explicitly disclose the claimed smoking article comprising the tobacco material of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Zhuang teaches a smoking article with tobacco beads (reads over tobacco material) (Abstract). The smoking article comprises a tobacco rod containing the tobacco material ([0002], [00045], [0051]-[0052]) and a filter segment ([0002], [0019]-[0020]). Such a configuration allows the flavor of the cigarette to be enhanced with tobacco character and reduced “carbon taste” where preferably the flavors from the tobacco particulates and/or flavor components are released into the mainstream tobacco smoke ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a tobacco rod containing the tobacco particles of modified Sun and a filter segment to form a smoking article, as taught by Zhuang so that the flavor of a cigarette can be enhanced when the flavors from the tobacco particulates and/or flavor components are released into the mainstream tobacco smoke.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0170522, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS) as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Strickland et al. (US 2006/0191548).
Sun discloses as the claim limitations as set forth above.
Regarding claim 11, Sun does not explicitly disclose the chamber, temperature and pressure.
Strickland teaches placing the ingredients of the core in a chamber and growing said ingredients to a desired size ([0162]-[0168]) in a chamber under a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar) and a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius ([0167]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a chamber, spray the tobacco material of Sun in the chamber at a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius and a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar), as taught by Strickland, so that the granules can be produced with the desired size. This reads over claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Sun discloses the core is formed in a fluid bed processor and then the coating is sprayed onto the core ([0015]-[0016]) at a temperature of between 10o C and 80o C ([0053]) but does not explicitly disclose the chamber and spraying pressure.
Strickland teaches spraying of a tobacco composition is performed in a chamber (reads over fluidizing the positioned center portion) and at a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar) and a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius ([0162]-[0168]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a chamber, spray the tobacco composition of Sun in a chamber at a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar) and a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius as taught by Strickland, so that the granules can be produced with the desired size. This reads over claim 12.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-10 of copending Application No. 18/279,511 in view of Strickland et al. (US 2006/0191548).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a tobacco material comprising: a core comprising a natural flavor material; and a shell formed around the core and comprising a tobacco mixture wherein the tobacco mixture comprises tobacco particles and moisture (‘511 Claim 1).
Copending Application No. 18/279,511 does not explicitly claim a menthol flavor material in the core. Strickland discloses tobacco compositions (Abstract) that includes flavor components ([0003], [0004]). The flavor components include natural flavor extracts that includes menthol ([0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide menthol as a natural flavor in the tobacco material of copending Application No. 18/279,511 as taught by Strickland so that the user can be provided with natural, organic materials in the tobacco material. This reads over instant claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims wherein the tobacco material comprises 5.0 to 10.0 parts by weight of moisture with respect to 100 parts by weight of the total tobacco material (‘511 Claim 4). This reads over instant claim 3
Regarding claim 5, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a core diameter of between 0.1 and 0.3 mm, while the shell has a diameter of 0.4 to 1.2 mm (‘511 Claim 5) which has significant overlap with instant claim 5.
In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and MPEP § 2144.05 (I). This reads over instant claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a tobacco material viscosity of 5 to 200 cp (‘511 Claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims wherein the tobacco material has a surface roughness of 0.1 to 10.0 (‘511 Claim 7). This reads over instant claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a smoking article comprising: a tobacco rod comprising the tobacco material according to claim 1; and a filter segment (‘511 Claim 8). This reads over instant claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a method of preparing a tobacco material, the method comprising: a first operation of forming a core (i.e., a center portion) comprising a natural flavor material; and a second operation of forming a shell (i.e., and outer portion) surrounding the core (‘511 Claim 9). Copending Application No. 18/279,511 does not explicitly claim forming a center portion (i.e., a core) by growing a first composition however, instant specification [92] discloses the first composition may include a flavor material and water thus, copending application No. 18/279,511 claim 9 reads over instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims the method of claim 9, wherein the second operation comprises: placing the core in a chamber; introducing a tobacco composition into the chamber; and growing (fluidizing) the tobacco composition around the core in the chamber under conditions of a temperature in a range of about 50 oC to about 90 oC, and under an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (‘511 Claim 10). This reads over instant claim 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5-11 of copending Application No. 18/283,139 in view of Strickland et al. (US 2006/0191548).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a tobacco material comprising: a core comprising a first tobacco mixture; and a shell formed around the core and comprising a second tobacco mixture, wherein the first tobacco mixture comprises first tobacco particles and a first flavor material, and the second tobacco mixture comprises second tobacco particles (‘139 Claim 1).
Copending Application No. 18/283,139 does not explicitly claim a menthol flavor material in the core. Strickland discloses tobacco compositions (Abstract) that includes flavor components ([0003], [0004]). The flavor components include natural flavor extracts that includes menthol ([0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide menthol as a natural flavor in the tobacco material of copending Application No. 18/283,139 as taught by Strickland so that the user can be provided with natural, organic materials in the tobacco material. This reads over instant claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims wherein the tobacco material comprises 5.0 to 10.0 parts by weight of moisture with respect to 100 parts by weight of the total tobacco material (‘139 Claim 2). This reads over instant claim 3
Regarding claim 5, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a core diameter of between 0.1 and 0.5 mm, while the shell has a diameter of 0.4 to 1.2 mm (‘139 Claim 5) which has significant overlap with instant claim 5.
In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and MPEP § 2144.05 (I). This reads over instant claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, copending Application No. 18/2853,139 claims a tobacco material viscosity of 5 to 200 cp (‘139 Claim 6). This reads over instant claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims wherein the tobacco material has a surface roughness of 0.1 to 10.0 (‘139 Claim 7). This reads over instant claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a smoking article comprising: a tobacco rod comprising the tobacco material according to claim 1; and a filter segment (‘139 Claim 8). This reads over instant claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims a method of preparing a tobacco material, the method comprising: a first operation of forming a core (i.e., a center portion) by growing a first composition; and a second operation of forming a shell (i.e., and outer portion) surrounding the core (‘139 Claim 9). Copending Application No. 18/283,139 does not explicitly claim forming a center portion (i.e., a core) by growing a first composition however, instant specification [92] discloses the first composition may include a flavor material and water thus, copending application No. 18/283,139 claim 9 reads over instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims the method of claim 9, wherein the first operation comprises: introducing the first composition into a chamber; and growing the first composition at a temperature in a range of about 30 oC to about 60 oC, and under an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (‘139 claim 10). This reads over instant claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, copending Application No. 18/283,139 claims the method of claim 9, wherein the second operation comprises: placing the core in a chamber; introducing a tobacco composition into the chamber; and growing (fluidizing) the tobacco composition around the core in the chamber under conditions of a temperature in a range of about 50 oC to about 90 oC, and under an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (‘139 Claim 11). This reads over instant claim 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/RONNIE KIRBY JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766