DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 08/06/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2020/0347213, of record, ‘213 hereafter) in view of Jones et al (US 2,985,631, ‘631 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-9 and 14, ‘213 discloses an encapsulant composition and an encapsulant film for an optical device, the encapsulant composition ([0008]-[0015], [0041]) comprising an olefin-based copolymer being an ethylene α-olefin with density, melt index, and volume resistance satisfying present claims 2-4 ([0005], [0032]-[0033], [0044], [0055]-[0051], [0096]); a crosslinking agent being an organic peroxide as listed in the present claims 5 and 6 ([0006], [0061]-[0064]); a silane coupling agent as listed in the present claim 7 ([0007], [0066]-[0068]); and a crosslinking co-agent having a crosslinkable group (double bonds such as vinyl or allyl groups) including tetravinyl silane ([0008], [0014], [0069]-[0072]); wherein the amount of each components satisfying present claim 10 ([0092], [0094]). ‘213 does not set forth that the crosslinking co-agent being an organic tin compound represented by Formula 1 as presently claimed, including a tetraallyl tin or tetravinyl tin. However, ‘631 teaches tetravinyl silane and tetravinyl tin can be used alone or together as crosslinking agents in a polymer composition (C2/L14-L53, C4/L68-C5/L40, Examples), in view of 631's recognition that tetravinyl silane and tetravinyl tin are equivalent and interchangeable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute tetravinyl silane with tetravinyl tin, thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention. Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claims 11-13, modified ‘213 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘213 also teaches that a compound having allyl group such as TAIC can also be used as a co-crosslinking agent in the composition ([0127], Example B). Since the cited references teach that each of TAIC, tetravinyl silane and tetravinyl tin is co-crosslinking agent in a polymer composition, which has unsaturated double bonds being used to chemically bond polymer chains together to form a crosslinked polymeric network; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to further use these co-crosslinking agents together, in any suitable weight ratio including the weight ratio as presently claimed, as co-crosslinking agents used in the encapsulant composition as taught by cited prior art. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (See MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 15, modified ‘213 teaches all the limitations of claim 14, ‘213 also discloses an optical device module comprising an optical device and encapsulant film (0101]-[0108]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/06/2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues there is no motivation to combine Yang’213 and Jone’s 631 because these references are directed to incompatible technologies and doing so would destroy the intended purpose of Yang. It is noted that the rejection as drafted does based on a combination of technical features of these inventions. The secondary reference is cited to prove that the tetravinyl silane and tetravinyl tin are equivalent and interchangeable component in a polymer-based composition, thus it is would have been obvious to be able to substitute with each other in a polymer composition to function as a crosslinking agent because both compounds have multiple unsaturated vinyl groups. Regarding unpredictable high volume resistance as argued, the presently claimed subject matter does not require having high volume resistance as argued, see present claims 1 and 4.
For the reasons as set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782