DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are presented for examination, wherein claims 15-19 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on May 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102/103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 14, 20-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park et al (US 2010/0203421).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park teaches a solid oxide fuel cell (“SOFC”) comprising:
(i) a fuel electrode layer (“anode”),
wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises a nano-composite including a plurality of secondary particles with a particle size of about 10 nm to about 1000 nm,
wherein said SOFC has improved performance by increased triple phase boundary (TPB) area by increasing a specific surface area of said nano-composite, so a number of reaction sites is increased,
each secondary particle including a mixture of nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles includes particles of a nickel oxide or a copper oxide, and particles including zirconia doped with a trivalent metal element or ceria doped with a trivalent metal element, and wherein the nano-size primary particles define a plurality of nano-pores formed between (e.g., defined by) the primary particles,
wherein examples of said trivalent material doped in said zirconia or ceria may include at least one of yttrium (Y), scandium (Sc), samarium (Sm), and gadolinium (Gd), wherein examples of said zirconia/ceria doped with said trivalent metal may include at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“ScSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”),
wherein express examples provide said secondary particles may have a YSZ-NiO composition and may have a spherical shape,
said nano-size primary particles having nano-size is defined to be an average size of from about 1 nm to about 1,000 nm and further teaching including e.g. about 0.1 to about100 nm,
said pores defined by the primary particles may have a nano-scale size, such as about 0.1 to about 100 nm on average,
wherein uniform distribution of said primary particles may imply that a mole ratio between said nickel oxide or copper oxide and zirconia doped with a trivalent metal element or ceria doped with a trivalent metal element are similar within a radius of said nano-composite particle;
(ii) an air electrode layer (“cathode”),
wherein said air electrode layer may comprise a metal oxide in particle form having a perovskite crystal structure such as e.g. at least one of (Sm,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)MnO3, (La,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co)O3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co,Ni)O3; and in addition, said air electrode layer may comprise a precious metal, such as e.g. at least one of platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru), palladium (Pd); and,
(iii) an electrolyte membrane disposed between said fuel electrode layer and said air electrode layer,
wherein said electrolyte membrane may comprise at least one composite metal oxide in particle form selected from zirconium oxide, cerium oxide and lanthanum oxide, which are known as electrolyte materials for SOFCs, such as e.g. at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“SSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”),
wherein said electrolyte membrane may have a thickness of about 10 nanometers (nm) to about 100 micrometers (μm)
(e.g. ¶¶ 0003, 12-13, 16, 18, 20, 22, 39-49, 72-75, and 85 plus e.g. Figures 1 and 3A-D) reading on “solid oxide cell,” said SOFC comprising
(1) said electrolyte membrane may comprise at least one composite metal oxide in particle form selected from zirconium oxide, cerium oxide and lanthanum oxide, which are known as electrolyte materials for SOFCs, such as e.g. at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“SSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”) (e.g. supra), reading on “a solid oxide electrolyte;”
(2) said fuel electrode layer (“anode”), said electrolyte membrane disposed between said fuel electrode layer and said air electrode layer,
wherein said SOFC has improved performance by increased triple phase boundary (TPB) area by increasing said specific surface area of said nano-composite, so said number of reaction sites is increased,
wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles with said particle size of about 10 nm to about 1000 nm,
each secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element, and wherein said nano-size primary particles define said plurality of nano-pores formed between (e.g., defined by) the primary particles,
wherein examples of said trivalent material doped in said zirconia or ceria may include at least one of yttrium (Y), scandium (Sc), samarium (Sm), and gadolinium (Gd), wherein examples of said zirconia/ceria doped with said trivalent metal may include at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“ScSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”),
wherein said express examples provide said secondary particles may have said YSZ-NiO composition and may have said spherical shape,
(e.g. supra),
said secondary particles with said nano-size primary particles defining said plurality of nano-pores formed between corresponding with the claimed “hollow particles,” as claimed;
at least one nano-pore, which is defined by immediately adjacent primary particles, of said plurality of nano-pores reading on the claimed “core having an empty space,” as claimed; and,
at least some of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles defining said at least one nano-pore reading on the claimed “shell;” alternatively, at least some of outermost nickel oxide primary particles of each said secondary particle may correspond with the claimed “shell,” as claimed (noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” correspond with the claimed “fuel electrode material” of e.g. claims 8-10, 17-18, and 20-25,”
reading on “a fuel electrode on one side of the solid oxide electrolyte, the fuel electrode including hollow particles including: a core having an empty space, and a shell including nickel oxide (NiO) particles;” alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using the nickel oxide composition option, since it is one of a limited number of identified suitable choices, see also e.g. MPEP § 2143(I)(E); and,
(3) said air electrode layer (“cathode”), said electrolyte membrane disposed between said fuel electrode layer and said air electrode layer, wherein said air electrode layer may comprise said metal oxide in particle form having said perovskite crystal structure such as e.g. at least one of (Sm,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)MnO3, (La,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co)O3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co,Ni)O3; and in addition, said air electrode layer may comprise a precious metal, such as e.g. at least one of platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru), palladium (Pd) (e.g. supra), reading on “an air electrode on the other side of the solid oxide electrolyte.”
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said express examples provides said secondary particles may have said spherical shape (e.g. supra), reading on “the hollow particles have a sphere shape;” alternatively, differences in shape do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, absent persuasive evidence of its importance, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B), noting that there does not appear to be such evidence, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0048 and 92.
Regarding claims 4-5, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles, each secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element, wherein examples of said trivalent material doped in said zirconia or ceria may include at least one of yttrium (Y), scandium (Sc), samarium (Sm), and gadolinium (Gd), wherein examples of said zirconia/ceria doped with said trivalent metal may include at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“ScSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”) (e.g. supra), reading on “the fuel electrode further includes a solid oxide electrolyte material” (claim 4) and “the solid oxide electrolyte material includes an yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ), a scandia-stabilized zirconia (ScSZ), a gadolinia-doped ceria (GDC), a samaria-doped ceria (SDC), a strontium- and magnesium-doped lanthanum gallate (LSGM), a samaria- and ceria-doped barium zirconate (BaZrO3), a samaria- and ceria-doped barium cerate (BaCeO3), or a combination thereof” (claim 5).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the cell of claim 4, wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles, each secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element (e.g. supra),
noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” as provided supra in claim 1, correspond with the instantly claimed “fuel electrode material” of e.g. claims 8-10, 17-18, and 20-25,”
reading on “the fuel electrode further includes a fuel electrode material including nickel (Ni), nickel oxide, cobalt (Co), cobalt oxide, ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium oxide, palladium (Pd), palladium oxide, platinum (Pt), platinum oxide, or a combination thereof.”
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said electrolyte membrane may comprise at least one composite metal oxide in particle form selected from zirconium oxide, cerium oxide and lanthanum oxide, which are known as electrolyte materials for SOFCs, such as e.g. at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“SSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”) (e.g. supra), reading on “the solid oxide electrolyte includes an yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ), a scandia-stabilized zirconia (ScSZ), a gadolinia-doped ceria (GDC), a samaria-doped ceria (SDC), a strontium- and magnesium-doped lanthanum gallate (LSGM), a samaria- and ceria-doped barium zirconate (BaZrO3), a samaria- and ceria-doped barium cerate (BaCeO3), or a combination thereof.”
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said air electrode layer (“cathode”), said electrolyte membrane disposed between said fuel electrode layer and said air electrode layer, wherein said air electrode layer may comprise said metal oxide in particle form having said perovskite crystal structure such as e.g. at least one of (Sm,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)MnO3, (La,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co)O3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co,Ni)O3; and in addition, said air electrode layer may comprise a precious metal, such as e.g. at least one of platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru), palladium (Pd) (e.g. supra), reading on “the air electrode includes a lanthanum-strontium manganese oxide (LSM), a lanthanum-strontium iron oxide (LSF), a lanthanum-strontium cobalt oxide (LSC), a lanthanum-strontium cobalt iron oxide (LSCF), a samarium-strontium cobalt oxide (SSC), a barium-strontium cobalt iron oxide (BSCF), a bismuth-ruthenium oxide, or a combination thereof.”
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said cell is said solid oxide fuel cell (“SOFC”) (e.g. supra), reading on “the solid oxide cell is a solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC), a solid oxide electrolyzer cell (SOEC), or both.”
Regarding claims 20-21, 23, and 25, Park is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claim 20, Park as applied as provided supra, reiterating the following.
at least some of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles defining said at least one nano-pore reading on the claimed “shell;” alternatively, at least some of outermost nickel oxide primary particles of each said secondary particle may correspond with the claimed “shell,” as claimed, (noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” correspond with the claimed “fuel electrode material;” and,
noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” as provided supra in claim 1, correspond with the instantly claimed “fuel electrode material” of e.g. claims 8-10, 17-18, and 20-25,”
reading on “the fuel electrode including: a fuel electrode material, and hollow particles that include: a core having an empty space, and a shell including nickel oxide (NiO) particles.”
Still regarding claim 25, Park teaches the cell of claim 20, wherein each said secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element, and wherein said nano-size primary particles define said plurality of nano-pores formed between (e.g., defined by) the primary particles, wherein said express examples provide said secondary particles may have said YSZ-NiO composition (e.g. supra), reading on “the shell is free of other metal oxides.”
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park et al (US 2010/0203421).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the cell of claim 1, wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles with said particle size of about 10 nm to about 1000 nm (e.g. supra),
said secondary particles with said nano-size primary particles defining said plurality of nano-pores formed between corresponding with the claimed “hollow particles,” as claimed,
establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the hollow particles have an average particle diameter of 1 μm to 10 μm.”
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the cell of claim 8, wherein said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles, each secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element,
wherein said nano-size primary particles having nano-size is defined to be an average size of from about 1 nm to about 1,000 nm and further teaching including e.g. about 0.1 to about100 nm (e.g. supra),
noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” as provided supra in claim 1, correspond with the instantly claimed “nickel oxide” of e.g. claims 8-10, 17-18, and 20-25,”
establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the fuel electrode material is in a form of particles having an average particle diameter of 0.1 μm to 5 μm.”
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park et al (US 2010/0203421), as provided supra, in view of Shimada (US 2008/0102337).
Regrading claim 6, Park teaches the cell of claim 4, wherein said cell comprises said electrolyte membrane disposed between said fuel electrode layer and said air electrode layer, wherein said electrolyte membrane may comprise at least one composite metal oxide in particle form selected from zirconium oxide, cerium oxide and lanthanum oxide, which are known as electrolyte materials for SOFCs, such as e.g. at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“SSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”), as provided supra, but does not expressly teach the limitation “the solid oxide electrolyte material is in a form of particles having an average particle diameter of 3 μm to 20 μm.”
However, Shimada teaches a solid oxide fuel cell including an electrolyte layer composed of electrolyte substance powder that may be oxides containing two or more metals include, such as e.g. scandia-stabilized zirconia (ScSZ), scandia ceria-stabilized zirconia (10Sc1CeSZ), yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ), gadolinia-stabilized zirconia, samaria-doped ceria (SDC), and gadolinia-doped ceria (GDC), wherein an average particle diameter of said electrolyte substance powder is preferably from 0.01 to 3 micrometers, in order to optimize properties associated with e.g. shrinkage by sintering and conductivity (¶¶ 0011-14 and 34-35).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to engineer the composite metal oxide electrolyte material of Park, which may be at last one of e.g. YSZ SSZ, SDC, and GDC, to an average particle diameter of said electrolyte substance powder is preferably from 0.01 to 3 micrometers, in order to optimize properties associated with e.g. shrinkage by sintering and conductivity, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the solid oxide electrolyte material is in a form of particles having an average particle diameter of 3 μm to 20 μm.”
Regrading claim 13, Park teaches the cell of claim 12, wherein Park teaches said air electrode layer (“cathode”) may comprise said metal oxide in particle form having said perovskite crystal structure such as e.g. at least one of (Sm,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)MnO3, (La,Sr)CoO3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co)O3, (La,Sr)(Fe,Co,Ni)O3; and in addition, said air electrode layer may comprise a precious metal, such as e.g. at least one of platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru), palladium (Pd), as provided supra, but does not expressly teach the limitation “the air electrode further includes a solid oxide electrolyte material.”
However, Shimada teaches a solid oxide fuel cell including an electrolyte layer composed of electrolyte substance powder that may be oxides containing two or more metals include, such as e.g. scandia-stabilized zirconia (ScSZ), scandia ceria-stabilized zirconia (10Sc1CeSZ), yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ), gadolinia-stabilized zirconia, samaria-doped ceria (SDC), and gadolinia-doped ceria (GDC); and, an air electrode that may comprise a mixed power of said electrolyte substance powder plus an air electrode substance comprising an oxide of one or more metals including e.g. cobalt and nickel, including e.g. lanthanum strontium manganate (La0.8Sr0.2MnO3), lanthanum calcium cobaltate (La0.9Ca0.1CoO3), lanthanum strontium cobaltate (La0.9Sr0.1CoO3), lanthanum cobaltate (LaCoO3), wherein Shimada teaches said mixed power of said electrolyte substance powder plus said air electrode substance results in a high output of the fuel cell (¶¶ 0011-14, 34, and 50-54).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include the electrolyte substance powder of Shimada, e.g. YSZ SSZ, SDC, or GDC, in the air electrode of Park, since Shimada teaches inclusion of said electrolyte substance results in a high output of the fuel cell, reading on “the air electrode further includes a solid oxide electrolyte material.”
Claims 7, 10, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park et al (US 2010/0203421), as provided supra, in view of Eichigo et al (US 2017/0301941).
Regrading claims 7, 10, 22, and 24, Park teaches the cell of claims 4, 8, and 21, wherein Park teaches said fuel electrode layer comprises said nano-composite including said plurality of secondary particles with said particle size of about 10 nm to about 1000 nm, each secondary particle including said mixture of (2a) nano-size primary particles uniformly distributed in said secondary particle, said nano-size primary particles may include particles of a nickel oxide or copper oxide, and (2b) particles including zirconia doped with said trivalent metal element or ceria doped with said trivalent metal element, and wherein said nano-size primary particles define said plurality of nano-pores formed between (e.g., defined by) the primary particles, wherein examples of said trivalent material doped in said zirconia or ceria may include at least one of yttrium (Y), scandium (Sc), samarium (Sm), and gadolinium (Gd), wherein examples of said zirconia/ceria doped with said trivalent metal may include at least one of yttrium-stabilized zirconia (“YSZ”), scandium-stabilized zirconia (“ScSZ”), samarium-doped ceria (“SDC”), gadolinium-doped ceria (“GDC”), as provided supra, but does not expressly teach the limitations “the fuel electrode includes 30 parts by weight to 70 parts by weight of the hollow particles based on 100 parts by weight of the solid oxide electrolyte material” (claims 7 and 22) or “the fuel electrode includes 30 parts by weight to 70 parts by weight of the fuel electrode material based on 100 parts by weight of the solid oxide electrolyte material” (claims 10 and 24).
However, Eichigo teaches a solid oxide fuel cell stack (e.g. item 100) including a counter electrode layer (e.g. item 5) to which air is supplied (i.e. air electrode/ cathode) and an electrode layer (e.g. item 3) to which fuel gas is supplied (i.e. fuel electrode/ anode),
wherein said electrode layer (e.g. item 3) may be composed of cermet materials such as NiO—CGO (gadolinium-doped ceria), Ni-CGO, NiO-YSZ, Ni-YSZ, CuO—CeO2, or Cu—CeO2, wherein examples provided include 50 wt% NiO powder mixed with 50% YSZ powder and 60 wt% NiO powder mixed with 40% GDC powder (e.g. ¶¶ 0030-31, 54, 73-75,and 98-107).
As a result, it would have been obvious to incorporate amounts of said nano-size primary particles (composed of nickel oxide) and said doped-zirconia/ceria particles of Park, in amounts taught by Eichigo—i.e. said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles of Park in an amount of 50 wt% or 60 wt%, as taught by Eichigo, and said doped-zirconia/ceria particles (e.g. YSZ and GDC) of Park in amounts of 50 wt% or 40 wt%, as taught by Eichigo, since Eichigo teaches said amounts are suitable for use in a fuel cell,
A relative amount of said nickel oxide primary particles to said doped-zirconia/ceria particles of Park as modified may be 50:50 or 60:40, and further noting said nickel oxide primary particles are considered as follows:
said secondary particles with said nano-size primary particles defining said plurality of nano-pores formed between corresponding with the claimed “hollow particles,” as claimed; and,
at least some of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles defining said at least one nano-pore reading on the claimed “shell;” alternatively, at least some of outermost nickel oxide primary particles of each said secondary particle may correspond with the claimed “shell,” as claimed, (noting a balance of said nickel oxide nano-size primary particles—which are not included in the instant “at least some…” correspond with the claimed “fuel electrode material,”
establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see also e.g. MPEP § 244.05(I), severably reading on said limitations, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okamoto (US 2014/0212791);
Takizawa (US 2008/0003487); and,
Yamada et al (US 2005/0095497).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723