DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 08/26/2026 has been entered and is currently under consideration. Claims 1, 5-9, 15, and 18-30 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson et al. (US2019/0070819 of record) hereinafter Larsson in view of Kobayashi et al. (US2008/0211126 of record) hereinafter Kobayashi and Simon et al. (US2006/0096065 of record) hereinafter Simon.
Regarding claim 1, Larsson teaches:
A method for manufacturing non-flat cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a product forming unit (Fig 1: cellulose product forming apparatus 18; [0019]), wherein the product forming unit comprises a blank dry-forming module configured for providing the cellulose blank structure (Fig 1: dry forming unit 11), a buffering module (Fig 1: feeding unit 17) and a pressing module comprising one or more forming molds (Fig 1: forming mold 3), wherein the pressing module is a cellulose product ([0016]), wherein the one or more forming molds each includes a moveable first mold part attached to the pressing member and a stationary second mold part (Fig 1, 6a-c: unlabeled cylinder actuator, mould parts 2a, 2b; [0105-0106]) and wherein the method comprises the steps:
providing a cellulose raw material and feeding the cellulose raw material to the blank dry-forming module ([0054]);
dry-forming the cellulose blank structure from the cellulose raw material in the blank dry-forming module ([0053-0057]), wherein the blank dry-forming module comprises a mill (Fig 1: separating unit 13; [0054]), a forming chamber (Fig 1: forming box 23), and a forming wire having a forming section arranged in connection to a forming chamber opening of the forming chamber (Fig 1: forming wire 14), wherein dry-forming the cellulose blank structure comprises:
separating fibers from the cellulose raw material in the mill ([0054]);
distributing the separated fibers from the forming chamber onto the forming section of the forming wire, the forming section extending in a blank forming direction ([0055]); and
transporting the formed cellulose blank structure from the forming section in the blank forming direction towards the buffering module ([0060]);
providing the cellulose blank structure and feeding the cellulose blank structure from the blank dry-forming module to the buffering module continuously in a first feeding direction, wherein the first feeding direction is an upwards direction (Fig 1; [0060-0061]);
buffering the cellulose blank structure in the buffering module, and feeding the cellulose blank structure from the buffering module to the pressing module (Fig 1; [0060-0061]);
intermittently feeding the cellulose blank structure from the buffering module to the pressing module into a pressing area defined between the first and second spaced apart mold parts in a second feeding direction, wherein the second feeding direction is a downwards direction (Fig 1; [0060-0061]);
forming non-flat cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure in the one or more forming molds by heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100-300°C ([0076]), and pressing the cellulose blank structure with a forming pressure in the range of 1-100 MPa ([0076]);
wherein the cellulose blank structure is continuously fed to the buffering module in a first feeding direction, and intermittently fed from the buffering module in a second feeding direction, wherein the second feeding direction differs from the first feeding direction (Fig 1; [0060-0061]), and
feeding residual parts of the cellulose blank structure from the pressing module to the blank dry-forming module via a blank recycling module (separating unit 13; [0092]).
Larsson does not teach an upwards blank forming direction.
Applicant specification discloses that an upwards blank forming direction of the forming unit enables a compact layout of the product forming unit, since the cellulose blank structure can be formed in an upwards direction for direct transportation to the buffering module (PCT p 4, ln 28-31).
Larsson teaches the blank forming direction is horizontal (Fig 1). Larsson further teaches that the configuration allows for direct transportation to the buffering module (Fig 1). Therefore the difference between the prior art configuration and the claimed configuration would merely require a rearrangement of parts such that the forming section extends in an upwards blank forming direction. Achieving a compact layout of the apparatus is a predictable result of such an arrangement and cannot be reasonably considered an unexpected result. Therefore, applicant specification does not contain any disclosure of unexpected results of the claimed configuration as compared to the prior art.
It has been broadly held that rearrangement of parts is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective to have rearranged the forming section as taught by Larsson so that the forming section extends in an upwards blank forming direction.
Larsson does not teach wherein the pressing module is a toggle pressing module comprising a toggle press and the one or more forming molds, the toggle press including a pressing member movably arranged in a pressing direction arranged within 20 degrees from a horizontal direction, a toggle-mechanism connected to the pressing member, a pressing actuator arrangement connected to the toggle-mechanism, and an electronic control system operatively connected to the pressing actuator arrangement, and controlling operation of the pressing actuator arrangement by means of the electronic control system for driving the pressing member using the toggle-mechanism in the pressing direction to press each moveable first mold part against the stationary second mold part.
In the same field of endeavor regarding molding, Kobayashi teaches a toggle pressing module (Fig 1: mold clamping apparatus 10) comprising a toggle press (Fig 1: toggle mechanism 20, platen 13) and one or more forming molds (Fig 1: movable mold 11b, stationary mold 11a), the toggle press including a pressing member movably arranged in a pressing direction arranged within 20 degrees from a horizontal direction (Fig 1: platen 13), a toggle-mechanism connected to the pressing member (Fig 1: toggle mechanism 20), a pressing actuator arrangement connected to the toggle-mechanism (Fig 1: motor 26), and an electronic control system operatively connected to the pressing actuator arrangement (Fig 1: control apparatus 19), and controlling operation of the pressing actuator arrangement by means of the electronic control system for driving the pressing member using the toggle-mechanism in the pressing direction to press each moveable first mold part against the stationary second mold part ([0054]); for the motivation of correcting a molding condition position such as a mold protection position when adjusting a mold-clamping force ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressing module as taught by Larsson with the toggle mechanism and control apparatus as taught by Kobayashi in order to correct a molding condition position such as a mold protection position when adjusting a mold-clamping force.
Larsson in view of Kobayashi does not teach the second feeding direction that is opposite to the first feeding direction.
In the same field of endeavor regarding manufacturing cellulose products, Simon teaches a feeding regulation module that feeds a cellulose blank structure to a buffering module in a first feeding direction and feeding the cellulose blank structure from the buffering module in a second feeding direction, wherein the second feeding direction is opposite to the first feeding direction (Fig 9; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the buffering module as taught by Larsson in view of Kobayashi for the buffering module as taught by Simon and the results would have been predictable since both references teach feeding of a cellulose blank structure to a buffering module for feeding into a product forming unit.
Regarding claim 5, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 1.
Larsson further teaches wherein the buffering module is configured for alternatingly operating in a buffering mode and a feeding mode ([0060-0061]), wherein the method further comprises the steps of: feeding the cellulose blank structure to the buffering module in the buffering mode and the feeding mode with a continuous input speed ([0060-0061]); and feeding the cellulose blank structure from the buffering module in the buffering mode with an output speed lower than the output speed of the cellulose blank structure from the buffering module in the feeding mode ([0060-0061]; output speed is zero when buffering phase of intermittent feeding. furthermore, output speed must necessarily be less than feed speed for buffering to occur).
Regarding claim 6, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 5.
Larsson further teaches wherein the output speed in the buffering mode is zero, or wherein the output speed in the buffering mode is essentially zero ([0060-0061]; output speed is zero when buffering phase of intermittent feeding).
Regarding claim 7, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 5.
Simon further teaches wherein the buffering module comprises an inlet portion, an outlet portion, and a buffering portion between the inlet portion and the outlet portion (Fig 9), wherein the cellulose blank structure has a buffering extension in the buffering portion between the inlet portion and the outlet portion (Fig 9)
Larsson further teaches wherein the method further comprises the steps of: gradually increasing the buffering extension of the cellulose blank structure in the buffering portion during the buffering mode, and gradually decreasing the buffering extension of the cellulose blank structure in the buffering portion during the feeding mode (Fig 1, Annotated Larsson Fig 1; [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 7.
Simon further teaches the buffering portion comprises a guide member (Fig 9: rod 10, crank 12), wherein the guide member comprises a first arm section and a second arm section, wherein the method further comprises the steps of: varying an angular relationship between the first arm section and the second arm section for varying the buffering extension (Fig 9; [0036]).
Larsson further teaches intermittently varying the buffering extension in the buffering mode and the feeding mode and varying the buffering extension in the buffering mode and the feeding mode ([0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 8.
Larsson further teaches continuously feeding the cellulose blank structure to the inlet portion and intermittently feeding the cellulose blank structure from the outlet portion through activation of the guide member, wherein during activation of the guide member in the buffering mode a buffer of the cellulose blank structure is built in the buffering portion, and wherein during activation of the guide member in the feeding mode a buffer of the cellulose blank structure is released from the buffering portion (Fig 1; [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 15, Larsson in view of Kobayashi and Simon teaches the method of claim 1.
Larsson further teaches wherein the product forming unit comprises a barrier application module arranged upstream the buffering module, and wherein the method further comprises the step of: applying a barrier composition onto the cellulose blank structure in the barrier application module ([0081]; the barrier is pre-applied when the blank is produced, i.e., in dry forming unit 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Larsson fails to teach or suggest an air-formed cellulose blank structure that is dry-formed and transported in an upward direction. However, applicant specification discloses that an upwards blank forming direction of the forming unit enables a compact layout of the product forming unit, since the cellulose blank structure can be formed in an upwards direction for direct transportation to the buffering module (PCT p 4, ln 28-31).
Larsson teaches the blank forming direction is horizontal (Fig 1). Larsson further teaches that the configuration allows for direct transportation to the buffering module (Fig 1). Therefore the difference between the prior art configuration and the claimed configuration would merely require a rearrangement of parts such that the forming section extends in an upwards blank forming direction. Achieving a compact layout of the apparatus is a predictable result of such an arrangement and cannot reasonably be considered an unexpected result. Therefore, applicant specification does not contain any disclosure of unexpected results of the claimed configuration as compared to the prior art.
It has been broadly held that rearrangement of parts is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective to have rearranged the forming section as taught by Larsson so that the forming section extends in an upwards blank forming direction.
Applicant argues that Larsson fails to teach or suggest an air-formed cellulose blank structure that is continuously fed into a buffering module in an upward direction, and intermittently fed out of the buffering module to a pressing module in a downward direction opposite to the first feeding direction.
However, Larsson teaches an air-formed cellulose blank structure that is continuously fed into a buffering module in an upward direction, and intermittently fed out of the buffering module to a pressing module in a downward direction opposite to the first feeding direction (Fig 1; [0060-0061]).
Simon is relied upon for a teaching of the upward and downward feeding directions being opposite feeding directions (Fig 9). Furthermore, Simon explicitly recites that the two web sections located upstream and downstream of the guide roll are parallel ([0036]). Therefore Simon explicitly illustrates and recites the claimed configuration of the feeding directions.
Applicant argues that the claimed configuration prevents sag and material degradation in air-formed blanks. However, the examiner cannot find any such discussion of sag or material degradation in applicant citation or anywhere else in the disclosure and attorney arguments cannot take the place of evidence. Furthermore, even if applicant disclosed the above benefits, they would not be considered unexpected results, but rather merely benefits inherent to that which is taught or suggested by the prior art since the claimed configuration is not patentably distinguished from the prior art as explained above.
Applicant argues that the claimed method provides a more environmentally-friendly and cost-efficient manufacturing process. However, Larsson teaches the claimed recycling step. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that the toggle press of Kobayashi cannot be combined with Larsson because Kobayashi teaches injection molding while Larsson teaches dry forming of a cellulose product. However, both references are generally directed to the same field of endeavor regarding molding. [0001] of Kobayashi recites “The present invention relates to a molding condition setting method and a control method of a molding machine”. [0001] of Larsson recites “The present disclosure relates to a method of manufacturing a cellulose product from cellulose fibres”, including molding with a compressing device or pressure moulding device ([0069]). Furthermore, it is noted that in both applicant invention and the prior art method, dry forming is directed to forming of the blanks, while the toggle press is directed to the press forming of the blanks.
For at least the above reasons, the application is not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741