DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 13 April 2026, have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. The objections to the drawings and the rejections under 35 USC have been withdrawn. Additionally, the rejections over the combination of Horvath and Khaderi, as well as Ianchulev and Khaderi have been withdrawn.
With regard to claim 59, Applicant argues that the Carlyon reference fails to teach that the floating seal and needle base engage one another. However, Carlyon in FIG 6, illustrates such an arrangement, suggesting the limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,142,403 to Carlyon in view of US 9,301,875 to Tu et al.
In the specification and figures, Carlyon discloses a system for placing media in a patient in a sequential fashion. With regard to claim 59, Carlyon discloses a syringe barrel 112, floating seal 150, needle base 130 (wherein the seal and base engage one another at area 226, see FIG 6), a needle 142 that engages the base, a needle distal end 142a and opening with a needle body passageway, wherein the needle base advances the needle through the floating seal to allow sequential delivery of discrete products in a single device (see Carlyon FIGS 5, 5A and column 4, line 59 to column 5, line 40). Tu discloses a syringe 116 with a needle 118 and distal space 122 for holding a stent device 30, but not a floating seal (see Tu FIG 31 and accompanying text). While Carlyon discloses sequential delivery of fluids, the construction of the Carlyon reference would allow for needle shunt delivery. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a syringe with a floating seal in order to deliver a first liquid and a second substance to a desired location in a patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 24, 31, 35, 36, 39, 40 47-49, and 65 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With regard to claims 1, 24, 39, 40, 47, the prior art fails to teach a positioning step wherein the needle is placed away from the anterior chamber angle in combination with the other steps and limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 4 May 2026