DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification Content of Specification (a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION : See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters. (b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS : See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq. (c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT : See MPEP § 310. (d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT . See 37 CFR 1.71(g). (e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC , AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM : The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1. 77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website ( https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf ) and MPEP § 502.05 (f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR . See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77. (g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION : See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts: (1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.” (2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.” (h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION : See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention. ( i ) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S) : See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74. (j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter. (k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS : See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01( i ) - (p). (l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE : See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e). (m) SEQUENCE LISTING : See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim format fails to recite a plurality of elements or steps separated by a line indentation (see section (k) above) . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 14 -19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation "a heater assembly” and “a thermal insulation member” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 (from which claim 14 depends) already recites a heater assembly and a thermal insulation member. Thus, the antecedent basis is unclear whether claim 14 refers to the features already recited in claim 1, or recites another and different heater assembly and thermal insulation member. Clarification and correction are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 - 2, 4- 7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US2015/0020401 to Atkinson . Regarding claim s 1 -2, 4 - 7 and 9 -13 , Atkinson discloses a thermal insulation member (10,100) for a heater assembly of a haircare appliance, the thermal insulation member being formed of an elastomeric material (see ¶ [0078]) and comprising a sleeve (see 12 in Figs. 7-11) , a plurality of ribs (134, 140, 150) , and a plurality of studs (32) , wherein the ribs and studs project outwardly from a surface of the sleeve, and the ribs project further than the studs (see, e.g., Figs. 8-10) , wherein the ribs comprise circumferential ribs that extend about the sleeve in a circumferential direction, and longitudinal ribs that extend along the sleeve in a longitudinal direction (see ribs 134 in Figs 7-8 showing such configuration) , wherein the studs are located between the ribs (see Figs. 7-8) , wherein the studs are dome-shaped (see generally domed shape in Figs. 7-8) , wherein two of the ribs define a channel therebetween for receiving an electrical cable of the haircare appliance (see Figs. 7-10 showing a channel between the ribs fully capable of the intended use of receiving an electrical cable) , wherein two of the ribs define a further channel therebetween for receiving a further electrical cable of the haircare appliance (see above, further note additional ribs capable of the intended use of receiving another electrical cable; there are three circumferential cables in Figs. 7-8 with two separate possible pathways for electrical cables) , wherein the sleeve comprises a circumferential strip devoid of ribs and studs, and the strip is delimited on each side by ribs that extend about the sleeve in a circumferential direction (see Figs. 1-2) , wherein the thermal insulation member comprises one or more annular lip seals located at an end of the sleeve see Figs. 9-10 at top or bottom of sleeve) , wherein the thermal insulation member comprises one or more locating projections that project inwardly from a surface of the sleeve, the locating projections configured to mate with corresponding recesses in the heater assembly (see inner surface of Figs. 9-11 showing inner projections fully capable of receiving a heater assembly) , wherein the thermal insulation member comprises one or more recesses or through-holes in the sleeve for receiving projections of a further assembly of the haircare appliance to secure the thermal insulation member to the further assembly (note outer recesses in Fig. 11; note also the recessed space between the circumferential ribs also read on such recesses) , wherein the sleeve is devoid of ribs and studs along at least one of the top and bottom of the sleeve (see top of sleeve in Fig. 11 devoid of ribs and studs) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim (s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson . Regarding claim 3 Atkinson, supra , discloses the claimed invention including circumferential ribs extending about the sleeve in a circumferential direction and subtending a central angle to some degree. While Atkinson discloses angled ribs Atkinson does not expressly disclose the ribs subtending a central angle of between 15-45 degrees as claimed. Absent evidence of unexpected or unpredictable results, the position is taken that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to angle the ribs as desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Shape. Regarding claim 8 Atkinson, supra , discloses the claimed invention including configurations of a channel and a further channel. Atkinson does not expressly disclose their comparative widths. However, any change in the location of the ribs would necessarily result in such configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the rib distances as desired to achieve such configuration and providing the same and predictable results, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts. Claim (s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson in view of JPH 8-191711 to Hirata et al. (“Hirata”) . Atkinson, supra , discloses the claimed invention including use within a haircare appliance (450) having an outer body and a heater assembly. Atkinson does not expressly disclose wherein the thermal insulation member surrounds the heater assembly, the outer body surrounds the thermal insulation member, the ribs contact the outer body, and the sleeve and studs are spaced from the outer body. Hirata discloses an art-related haircare appliance having thermal insulation around a heater (see ¶ [0128]) . Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to surround the heater of Atkinson with the rubber insulation member for purposes of insulation. Regarding claim 15, Atkinson discloses projections and recesses as well as the insulation member being secured within a haircare appliance, and the position is taken that it would have been prima facie obvious to provide conventional securing means such as these to secure the member within the haircare appliance as desired. Regarding claims 16-17, Atkinson discloses a heater and electrical cables as well as ribs and a channel in the insulation member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the electrical wires as desired, including within the space between ribs, in order to provid e the same and predictable results of forming a haircare appliance with a heater and insulating member , since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts. Regarding claim 18, use of recesses and projections for fastening is standard and conventional, and such rearrangement is considered well within the general knowledge and skill of one having ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 19, the haircare appliance of Atkinson is sealed and the rubber insulation member is deemed to provide an airtight seal as designed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOSEPH L PERRIN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1305 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:30-4:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael E. Barr can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1414 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D. Primary Examiner Art Unit 1711 /Joseph L. Perrin/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711