DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
In response to the claims filed 10/03/2023, the Office issued a Restriction/Election Requirement on 12/22/2025. The Office required restriction between the invention of Group I (Claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16) and the invention of Group II (Claims 21-27). Applicant’s election of Group II with traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged. Upon further review, Examiner notes that the invention of Group I and the invention of Group II appear to be so linked as to possess unity of invention by virtue of the amendments to the claims filed 03/18/2026. Thus, the restriction requirement between the invention of Groups I and II is hereby withdrawn.
In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Accordingly, Claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 21-27 will be examined herein on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 05/10/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/172,548 (filed on 04/08/2021), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application, namely the different wavelengths are selected from within a light-spectrum wavelength band that is sufficiently wide to overlap wavelengths in each of two immediately-adjacent wavelength regimes of the light spectrum; wherein the different wavelengths are selected from within a light-spectrum wavelength band that is greater than 50 nanometers and less than or equal to 200 nanometers; wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a waveplate including a grating material, wherein the waveplate is characterized by or includes one or more of the following: being movable along at least one linear direction, and being rotatable or spinnable, and wherein movement of the grating material is to cause the multiple light beams to experience a displacement phase shift; the MEMS system having metasurfaces or gratings which are integrated to include microscaled structures of one common or multiple shapes to perform transformation of light beam polarization, and wherein the MEMS is configured to control movement or set position of at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and therein provide control over a displacement phase shift to be manifested in the multiple light beams, as recited in claims 5-7 and 23, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12, 15-16, 21-22, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2002/0085252 A1 as cited in the IDS filed 05/10/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses: A method (¶0002) comprising: using a first beamsplitter and a second beamsplitter arranged relative to one another with the first beamsplitter splitting incident light into multiple light beams, along a particular polarization basis, and with the second beamsplitter recombining and interfering with the multiple light beams to provide a recombined light beam characterized as having at least one of the following attributes (see e.g., FIGS. 3 & 23; ¶0048: a second polarization beam splitter 35 [first beamsplitter] separates each of the two upper and lower input beams into additional e and o polarized beams…The beams are thereafter combined by a polarization beam splitter 56 [second beamsplitter]; ¶0121): mapping between a polarization state and different wavelengths of the incident light; and a polarization tuning of the incident light as a function of a grating effect provided by at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0054: the two beams each now include both e and o polarization components, as indicated by the adjacent polarization array diagram of FIG. 3. The e polarization contains only the odd wavelength channels, and the o polarization contains only the even wavelength channels. These combinations provide wavelength dependent states of polarization).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein the polarization state is set through polarization tuning of the incident light, and the polarization tuning includes adjusting a displacement of the first beamsplitter relative to the second beamsplitter along a plane that is transverse to a direction of the incident light (¶0010: in stages between polarization beam splitters which are used to establish varying polarization states while the stages separate and combine beams with not only differential retardation, but also frequency period tuning and phase tuning; ¶0099-0100: frequency and phase tuning stages to control polarization; ¶0015: three stage designs are disclosed using different polarization angles and relationships for different ITU grid requirements, including 50 GHz, 25 GHz and 12.5 GHz spacings. In each, waveplate combinations between in the beam paths are configured to provide extremely precise phase tuning, and polarizing beam splitters can be angled to adjust frequency periodicity. Different delay line expedients are utilized to eliminate any non-uniformities due to air path length variations from air gaps and beam displacement devices; ¶0043, 0053: the function of splitting beams to provide different polarizations and beam displacements).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter are constructed to correspond to each other, and the particular polarization basis corresponds to at least one set of orthogonal polarizations at equal and opposite angles; and the polarization state is set through polarization tuning of the incident light (¶0121: linearly polarized light is split by a polarization beam splitter 192 into two orthogonal polarization components, then is propagated in two adjacent paths through non-birefringent optical elements and recombined using a second beam splitter 194 identical in length to the first; ¶0043: input optical beam into two optical beams with orthogonal polarizations at an input polarization beam splitter).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein at least one of the first and second beamsplitters is mounted and/or aligned on a stage for travelling in an optical plane orthogonal to the incident light or a beamline related to the incident light (¶0121: in a single stage 190 shown by way of example, linearly polarized light is split by a polarization beam splitter 192 into two orthogonal polarization components), and wherein as the first and second beamsplitters are displaced relative to each other, and the split beams experience a displacement phase shift (¶0010: in stages between polarization beam splitters which are used to establish varying polarization states while the stages separate and combine beams with not only differential retardation, but also frequency period tuning and phase tuning; ¶0099-0100: frequency and phase tuning stages to control polarization; ¶0015: three stage designs are disclosed using different polarization angles and relationships for different ITU grid requirements, including 50 GHz, 25 GHz and 12.5 GHz spacings. In each, waveplate combinations between in the beam paths are configured to provide extremely precise phase tuning, and polarizing beam splitters can be angled to adjust frequency periodicity. Different delay line expedients are utilized to eliminate any non-uniformities due to air path length variations from air gaps and beam displacement devices; ¶0043, 0053: the function of splitting beams to provide different polarizations and beam displacements).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: further including using a 0-order or higher order blocker to block light attributes in a light path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0095-96: a 1/2 waveplate 22 oriented at 45.degree. is placed between the two polarizing beam splitters 18, 35 to match the optical path length for the two orthogonal polarizations. This same 90 degree polarization rotation is achieved within the phase tuning subassembly, by using the 1/2 waveplate between 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate pairs with a relative angle of 90 degrees between the 1/4 or 3/4 waveplates to provide a fixed state of polarization exiting the phase tuning subassembly…As a result of these design considerations, the differential group delay is not polarization dependent, so that the PMD [Polarization mode dispersion] is zero).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: further including using multiple waveplate modules arranged in series to provide manipulation of a beam of the incident light, wherein one of the multiple waveplate module is a tunable waveplate module that includes the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and at least one other of the multiple waveplate modules has a polarization basis different from the particular polarization basis of the first beamsplitter (¶0044: After the input beam splitter 18, the vectors of the two polarized components are then reoriented in a first waveplate combination 20, in which the upper beam alone first passes through a half waveplate 22 oriented at 45.degree. to rotate the polarization by 90.degree. The polarization reference frame used here is one in which 0.degree. is defined as vertical and positive angles are defined as clockwise. Then both identically polarized beams pass through a half waveplate 24. To further ensure that these beams are linearly polarized to the necessary extinction level, they may next pass through a polarizing plate 26 also oriented at 45.degree. which establishes a polarization reference angle; ¶0050: the beams enter a waveplate combination 40 serving as a phase shifter or tuner, shown in greater detail in FIGS. 4 and 5, consisting of a 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate 42 oriented at 45.degree., an upper 1/2 waveplate 43 oriented at a variable angle f.sub.1, a lower 1/2 waveplate 44 oriented at a variable angle f.sub.2, and another 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate 45 oriented at -45.degree.. The first 1/4 waveplate 42 converts the linear polarization to a circular state of polarization).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen further discloses: further including at least one of the following steps: using multiple waveplate modules arranged in series to provide manipulation of a beam of the incident light for accessing a transformation of a Poincare sphere; and providing polarization modulation by rotating or spinning at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0041: transformation of polarization states in non-birefringent differential retardation stages; ¶0044: After the input beam splitter 18, the vectors of the two polarized components are then reoriented in a first waveplate combination 20, in which the upper beam alone first passes through a half waveplate 22 oriented at 45.degree. to rotate the polarization by 90.degree [accessing a transformation of a Poincare sphere]. The polarization reference frame used here is one in which 0.degree. is defined as vertical and positive angles are defined as clockwise. Then both identically polarized beams pass through a half waveplate 24. To further ensure that these beams are linearly polarized to the necessary extinction level, they may next pass through a polarizing plate 26 also oriented at 45.degree. which establishes a polarization reference angle; ¶0050: the beams enter a waveplate combination 40 serving as a phase shifter or tuner, shown in greater detail in FIGS. 4 and 5, consisting of a 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate 42 oriented at 45.degree., an upper 1/2 waveplate 43 oriented at a variable angle f.sub.1, a lower 1/2 waveplate 44 oriented at a variable angle f.sub.2, and another 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate 45 oriented at -45.degree.. The first 1/4 waveplate 42 converts the linear polarization to a circular state of polarization).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen discloses: An apparatus (¶0010-11: optical filter…interleaver) comprising: a first beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis; and a second beamsplitter coupled relative to the first beamsplitter to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam characterized as having at least one of the following attributes: a polarization state which maps to different wavelengths of the incident light (see e.g., FIGS. 3 & 23; ¶0048: a second polarization beam splitter 35 [first beamsplitter] separates each of the two upper and lower input beams into additional e and o polarized beams…The beams are thereafter combined by a polarization beam splitter 56 [second beamsplitter]; ¶0121); and a polarization tuning, of the incident light, that is characterized as being at least one of: a displacement of the first beamsplitter relative to the second beamsplitter along a plane that is transverse to a direction of the incident light, and a function of a grating effect provided by at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0054: the two beams each now include both e and o polarization components, as indicated by the adjacent polarization array diagram of FIG. 3. The e polarization contains only the odd wavelength channels, and the o polarization contains only the even wavelength channels. These combinations provide wavelength dependent states of polarization).
Regarding Claim 22, Chen discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter are configured for tuning the polarization state of the incident light achromatically (¶0043, 0048, 0051, 0053, 0121: polarization beam splitters with function of splitting beams to provide different polarizations and beam displacements).
Regarding Claim 24, Chen discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein the polarization tuning is characterized as being: a displacement of the first beamsplitter relative to the second beamsplitter along a plane that is transverse to a direction of the incident light, and a function of a grating effect provided by at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0010: in stages between polarization beam splitters which are used to establish varying polarization states while the stages separate and combine beams with not only differential retardation, but also frequency period tuning and phase tuning; ¶0099-0100: frequency and phase tuning stages to control polarization; ¶0015: three stage designs are disclosed using different polarization angles and relationships for different ITU grid requirements, including 50 GHz, 25 GHz and 12.5 GHz spacings. In each, waveplate combinations between in the beam paths are configured to provide extremely precise phase tuning, and polarizing beam splitters can be angled to adjust frequency periodicity. Different delay line expedients are utilized to eliminate any non-uniformities due to air path length variations from air gaps and beam displacement devices; ¶0043, 0053: the function of splitting beams to provide different polarizations and beam displacements).
Regarding Claim 25, Chen discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Chen further discloses: wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a grating characterized by one or more of the following: materials of an irregular shape; one or more metals materials; one or more dielectric materials; and a liquid crystal material (¶0007, 0043: birefringent crystals of YVO4 [one or more metal materials] are employed in this instance for the polarization beam splitters; ¶0085: frequency period of interleaving filters are to be configured to the precise ITU standard wavelength spacings of 25, 50, or 100 GHz; ¶0116: The round trip length of one beam pair from a polarization beam splitter 182 through the closed loop mirror 180 is precisely adjusted to give the desired periodic response in frequency).
Regarding Claim 26, Chen discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Chen further discloses: further including using a 0-order or higher order blocker to block light attributes in a light path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0095-96: a 1/2 waveplate 22 oriented at 45.degree. is placed between the two polarizing beam splitters 18, 35 to match the optical path length for the two orthogonal polarizations. This same 90 degree polarization rotation is achieved within the phase tuning subassembly, by using the 1/2 waveplate between 1/4 or 3/4 waveplate pairs with a relative angle of 90 degrees between the 1/4 or 3/4 waveplates to provide a fixed state of polarization exiting the phase tuning subassembly…As a result of these design considerations, the differential group delay is not polarization dependent, so that the PMD [Polarization mode dispersion] is zero).
Regarding Claim 27, Chen discloses: An apparatus for use in an optical system having a first beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis to recombine multiple light beams, the apparatus comprising: a second beamsplitter coupled and arranged relative to the first beamsplitter such that one of the first and second beamsplitters is to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis and the other of the first and second beamsplitters is to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam characterized as having at least one of the following attributes: a polarization state which maps to different wavelengths of the incident light; and a polarization tuning of the incident light (see rejection of claim 21 supra), wherein the first and second beamsplitters are configured relative to the other of the first and second beamsplitters based on a movement in of at least one of the first and second beamsplitters in an orthogonal direction, relative to a plane along which at least one of the multiple light beams travels, to cause a displacement phase shift to be experienced in the multiple light beams (¶0121: in a single stage 190 shown by way of example, linearly polarized light is split by a polarization beam splitter 192 into two orthogonal polarization components; ¶0010: in stages between polarization beam splitters which are used to establish varying polarization states while the stages separate and combine beams with not only differential retardation, but also frequency period tuning and phase tuning; ¶0099-0100: frequency and phase tuning stages to control polarization; ¶0015: three stage designs are disclosed using different polarization angles and relationships for different ITU grid requirements, including 50 GHz, 25 GHz and 12.5 GHz spacings. In each, waveplate combinations between in the beam paths are configured to provide extremely precise phase tuning, and polarizing beam splitters can be angled to adjust frequency periodicity. Different delay line expedients are utilized to eliminate any non-uniformities due to air path length variations from air gaps and beam displacement devices; ¶0043, 0053: the function of splitting beams to provide different polarizations and beam displacements).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deisseroth et al. (US 2018/0284417 A1 as cited in the IDS filed 05/10/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Deisseroth discloses: A method (¶0042: Methods and devices for directing an incident electromagnetic field through a plurality of polarization-selective grating) comprising: using a first beamsplitter and a second beamsplitter arranged relative to one another with the first beamsplitter splitting incident light into multiple light beams, along a particular polarization basis (¶0047: a plurality of polarization-selective grating arrangements including at least first and second polarization-selective gratings [first and second beamsplitters]), and with the second beamsplitter recombining and interfering with the multiple light beams to provide a recombined light beam characterized as having at least one of the following attributes (¶0110: careful manipulation of the input polarization state can result in multiple, simultaneous output beams multiplexed [recombining] from the polarization-sensitive grating device; see FIG. 9C showing first and second beamsplitter with light beams as claimed): mapping between a polarization state and different wavelengths of the incident light; and a polarization tuning of the incident light as a function of a grating effect provided by at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0048, 0072: the polarization gratings may have a spatially-variant uniaxial birefringence and may provide non-zero-order diffraction efficiencies of up to 100% [mapping between polarization and different wavelengths]; ¶0057: the polarization incident upon each independent polarization-selective grating is indirectly modulated by the voltage across the variable wave-plate retarder and is configured to alternate the incident polarization state upon each independent polarization-selective grating [polarization tuning as a function of grating effect]; ¶0066: a voltage is applied (i.e. ON) on: the first polarization-selective grating, the second polarization-selective grating…the output polarization as a result of applying a voltage controller on the first polarization-selective grating, the second polarization-selective grating results in a RHC).
Regarding Claim 5, Deisseroth discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Deisseroth further discloses: wherein the different wavelengths are selected from within a light-spectrum wavelength band that is sufficiently wide to overlap wavelengths in each of two immediately-adjacent wavelength regimes of the light spectrum (¶0082-84: light source generates a laser beam that has a wavelength ranging from 10 nm to 380 nm…a broadband LED with continuous spectrum…a non-laser light source is a stabilized fiber-coupled broadband light source).
Regarding Claim 7, Deisseroth discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Deisseroth further discloses: wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a waveplate including a grating material (¶0055: the plurality of polarization-selective gratings are realized as a plurality of liquid-crystal polarization gratings (LCPGs) which can also include liquid crystal variable waveplates), wherein the waveplate is characterized by or includes one or more of the following: being movable along at least one linear direction, and being rotatable or spinnable, and wherein movement of the grating material is to cause the multiple light beams to experience a displacement phase shift (¶0096: electrically switch the polarization-selective gratings to displace the beam of light in the: a) (+θ.sub.x, +θ.sub.y) direction).
Regarding Claim 10, Deisseroth discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Deisseroth further discloses: wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter is characterized by or includes a grating that is characterized at least in part by one or more of the following: shaped materials of a free-form design; freeform geometries designed for broadband operation; and a liquid crystal material in one or more liquid crystals designed for broadband operation (¶0055: the plurality of polarization-selective gratings are realized as a plurality of liquid-crystal polarization gratings (LCPGs) which can also include liquid crystal variable waveplates…the LCPGs include a patterned birefringent liquid crystal).
Regarding Claim 21, Deisseroth discloses: An apparatus (¶0042: devices for directing an incident electromagnetic field through a plurality of polarization-selective grating) comprising: a first beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis; and a second beamsplitter coupled relative to the first beamsplitter to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam characterized as having at least one of the following attributes (¶0047: a plurality of polarization-selective grating arrangements including at least first and second polarization-selective gratings [first and second beamsplitters]; ¶0110: careful manipulation of the input polarization state can result in multiple, simultaneous output beams multiplexed [recombining] from the polarization-sensitive grating device; see FIG. 9C showing first and second beamsplitter with light beams as claimed): a polarization state which maps to different wavelengths of the incident light; and a polarization tuning, of the incident light, that is characterized as being at least one of: a displacement of the first beamsplitter relative to the second beamsplitter along a plane that is transverse to a direction of the incident light, and a function of a grating effect provided by at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (¶0048, 0072: the polarization gratings may have a spatially-variant uniaxial birefringence and may provide non-zero-order diffraction efficiencies of up to 100% [mapping between polarization and different wavelengths]; ¶0057: the polarization incident upon each independent polarization-selective grating is indirectly modulated by the voltage across the variable wave-plate retarder and is configured to alternate the incident polarization state upon each independent polarization-selective grating [polarization tuning as a function of grating effect]; ¶0066: a voltage is applied (i.e. ON) on: the first polarization-selective grating, the second polarization-selective grating…the output polarization as a result of applying a voltage controller on the first polarization-selective grating, the second polarization-selective grating results in a RHC).
Regarding Claim 25, Deisseroth discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Deisseroth further discloses: wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a grating characterized by one or more of the following: materials of an irregular shape; one or more metals materials; one or more dielectric materials; and a liquid crystal material (¶0055: the plurality of polarization-selective gratings are realized as a plurality of liquid-crystal polarization gratings (LCPGs) which can also include liquid crystal variable waveplates…the LCPGs include a patterned birefringent liquid crystal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deisseroth et al. (US 2018/0284417 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Deisseroth discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Deisseroth does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the different wavelengths are selected from within a light-spectrum wavelength band that is greater than 50 nanometers and less than or equal to 200 nanometers.
However, it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section I, citing In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See also MPEP § 2131.03 Section II, citing ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012). In the present case, Deisseroth discloses different wavelengths of the incident light selected from within a light-spectrum wavelength band encompassing a range between 50 nanometers and 200 nanometers (¶0083-84: light source generates a laser beam that has a wavelength ranging from 10 nm to 380 nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to slightly modify Deisseroth’s method to satisfy the claimed condition, since where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2002/0085252 A1) in view of Marshel et al. (US 20210063964 A1).
Regarding Claims 11 and 13, Chen discloses the method according to Claim 1, as above. Chen does not appear to explicitly disclose: further including imaging the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter onto one another by using a 4F optical system located between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a patterned grating to set an optical bandwidth in which the recombined light beam is characterized as having said at least one of the attributes (claim 11); further including using a 4F optical system to perform filtering in the Fourier plane to affect a light path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter by one or more of the following: blocking undesired diffraction orders; balancing power in desired diffraction orders; operating for selectivity; and obtaining measurements of light in path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (claim 13).
Marshel is related to Chen with respect to an apparatus comprising a first and second beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis and to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam with polarization tuning (¶0005, 0007, 0019, 0031, 0047, 0053, 0083) and Marshel teaches: further including imaging the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter onto one another by using a 4F optical system located between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and wherein at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter includes a patterned grating to set an optical bandwidth in which the recombined light beam is characterized as having said at least one of the attributes (claim 11) (¶0017-18: the first optical element after the SLM is typically the first lens in a 4f relay…the 4f lens relay system and folds the beam path using folding mirrors; ¶0019: polarization beamsplitter (PBS) determines the subsequent optical path based on polarization of the beam, and therefore either SLM1 or SLM2, for hologram generation…polarization beamsplitter (PBS) combines both SLM-modulated paths together onto a single beam path); further including using a 4F optical system to perform filtering in the Fourier plane to affect a light path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter by one or more of the following: blocking undesired diffraction orders; balancing power in desired diffraction orders; operating for selectivity; and obtaining measurements of light in path between the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter (claim 13) (¶0017: This arrangement reduced the diameter of first lens in the 4f system sufficient to capture all diffracted rays from the SLM, as well as important for placing phase modulating elements as close to the SLM plane (fourier plane in the microscope). This design achieves effectively a 90° optical path configuration similar to (FIG. 6A), while maintaining all optical power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chen in view of Marshel to satisfy the claimed conditions because such a 4f optical system to perform filtering in the Fourier plane is known and would be selected to reduce the overall footprint by folding the beam path and capture all the diffracted rays while maintaining all optical power, as taught in paragraphs ¶0017-18 of Marshel.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2002/0085252 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2006/0027021 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen discloses the apparatus according to Claim 21, as above. Chen does not appear to explicitly disclose: further including a micro-electrical mechanical system (MEMS) having metasurfaces or gratings which are integrated to include microscaled structures of one common or multiple shapes to perform transformation of light beam polarization, and wherein the MEMS is configured to control movement or set position of at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and therein provide control over a displacement phase shift to be manifested in the multiple light beams.
Choi is related to Chen with respect to an apparatus comprising a first and second beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis and to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam with polarization tuning (¶0024, 0055, 0075-76, 0083, 0104) and Choi teaches: further including a micro-electrical mechanical system (MEMS) having metasurfaces or gratings which are integrated to include microscaled structures of one common or multiple shapes to perform transformation of light beam polarization, and wherein the MEMS is configured to control movement or set position of at least one of the first beamsplitter and the second beamsplitter, and therein provide control over a displacement phase shift to be manifested in the multiple light beams (¶0055: Pulse shaper 14 may include at least one liquid crystal spatial light modulator (SLM), or a deformable mirror, or a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) device, and electronic control components, configured to produce an excitation waveform 24 from an input waveform 20. Pulse shaper 14 may additionally include other optical elements such as beamsplitters; ¶0058: pulse shaper may be used to individually adjust the polarization of each of the pulses in excitation waveform 24; ¶0080: Lengthening or shortening of the duration of input waveform 20 may include imparting phase and amplitude modulation to the spatially-dispersed frequency components of input waveform 20. The pulse stretcher/compressor may include, for instance, two parallel holographic gratings separated by a distance that is adjustable by means of a delay line, and may also include one or more devices for modulating the frequency components of input waveform 20, such as a MEMS device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen in view of Choi to satisfy the claimed condition because such a MEMS system is known and would be selected for light modulation in a reflection geometry optical system, with the beneficial result of providing enhancements in the signal-to-noise ratio, as taught in paragraphs ¶0013, 0080, 0107 of Choi.
Other Relevant Documents Considered
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Prater et al. (US 2023/0063843 A1) and Shetty et al. (US 2018/0180642 A1) disclose an apparatus and/or a method comprising a first and second beamsplitter to split incident light into multiple light beams along a particular polarization basis and to recombine and interfere with the multiple light beams and to provide a recombined light beam with polarization tuning, and further satisfying some of the additional conditions as claimed.
Conclusion
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872