DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “airflow generator” in claim 1 and “mounting member” in claim 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 of the claim recites “ resiliently deformable member” which should be revised to recite “ resiliently deformable member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100064542 A1 to Mulvaney et al. (Mulvaney).
In reference to independent claims 1 and 18, Mulvaney discloses:
A haircare appliance (10) comprising an air inlet (12a), an air outlet (12b), an airflow generator (20) for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet, and a heater assembly for heating the airflow, the heater assembly (17, 30, 40) comprising a heater (17, 40) and a heater housing (30), wherein the heater (17, 40) is mounted to the heater housing (30) at a plurality of discrete mounting points (see Fig. 4A).
In reference to dependent claim 9, Mulvaney further discloses: the heater housing comprises first and second portions (30a, 30b) attached to one another (see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 11, Mulvaney further discloses: the first and second portions (30a, 30b) are attached to one another such that the first and second portions overlap (not shown, but this would be implicit for the two halves to overlap in order to form an attachment to one another).
In reference to dependent claim 12, Mulvaney further discloses: the heater (17, 40) and the heater housing (30) are curved in form (see Fig. 3, which shows the heater and heater housing being frustoconical and thus curved/rounded in form).
In reference to dependent claim 13, Mulvaney further discloses: the heater (17, 40) comprises a main body (17, see Fig. 4A), and a plurality of fins extending outwardly from the main body (see Fig. 3), and the main body is mounted to the heater housing at the plurality of discrete mounting points (see Fig. 4A).
In reference to dependent claim 15, Mulvaney further discloses: the heater housing (30) comprises a first open end (30c) in fluid communication with the air inlet (12a), and a second open end (30d) in fluid communication with the air outlet (12b), and the haircare appliance comprises a flow guide (end of mica-board structure 17 proximate 30d) for guiding airflow exiting the second open end (see Figs. 2 and 3).
In reference to dependent claim 16, Mulvaney further discloses: the flow guide (see Figs. 2 and 3) is shaped to direct airflow exiting a central region (along centerline 11) of the second open end (30d) in a direction away from the central region (implicit as air is blown out of the hair drying apparatus 10, airflow exiting through the second open end 30d would necessarily be directed away from the central region of the second open end).
In reference to dependent claim 17, Mulvaney further discloses: the flow guide (see Figs. 2 and 3) is shaped to inhibit airflow exiting a peripheral region of the second open end (the mica-board structure 17 is encased by the body 12 of the hair drying apparatus 10 prevents airflow from exiting the periphery of the outlet).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 207884908 U to Hu.
In reference to independent claims 1 and 18, Hu discloses:
A haircare appliance (electric hair dryer shown in Fig. 1) comprising an air inlet (near fan 15), an air outlet (near baffle 3), an airflow generator (15) for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet, and a heater assembly for heating the airflow, the heater assembly (1, 9) comprising a heater (9) and a heater housing (1), wherein the heater (9) is mounted to the heater housing (1) at a plurality of discrete mounting points (see Fig. 1).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Hu further discloses: a mounting member (11) located at at least one of the plurality of discrete mounting points (see Fig. 1), and the mounting member is resiliently deformable (“a damping spring”).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Hu further discloses: the mounting member (11) comprises a discrete mounting member attached to the heater housing (1) (see Fig. 1).
In reference to dependent claim 7, Hu further discloses: the mounting member (11) comprises a fixed mounting member (attached to housing 1) that defines at least one of the plurality of discrete mounting points (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulvaney.
In reference to dependent claim 10, Mulvaney teaches that the heater housing (30) could alternatively be formed from a unitary piece (i.e. the two halves 30a and 30b being made integral) (see [0037]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heater housing to be welded together as Mulvaney already teaches that one design option would be to make the heater housing as a unitary piece. Moreover, the use of a one piece construction in place of separate pieces would merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulvaney in view of US 3,667,370 to Pattison.
In reference to dependent claim 14, Mulvaney discloses that the heater (17, 40) comprises mica (“mica-board structure 17”) and not ceramic.
Pattison teaches a similar air heater including heater (17) that is comprised of a resistance heating wire (44) wrapped around a stiff, flat card (45) that is preferably mica or ceramic (see col. 2 at lines 42-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the mica board of Mulvany for a ceramic board as they are known equivalents as evidenced by Pattison.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu.
In reference to dependent claims 4-5, Hu is silent regarding the materials of the mounting member and the heater housing. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the materials as a matter of design choice based on their suitability for the electric hairdryer.
In reference to dependent claim 6, Hu is silent regarding the mounting member is integrally formed with the heater housing. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hairdryer of Hu to make the mounting members 11 integral with the heater housing 1 as the use of a one piece construction in place of separate pieces would merely be a matter of obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799