DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 8, 15-19, 29, 30 and 32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 15-19, 29, 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp (WO 2020/222291) in view of LG (WO 2019/194574), and further in view of Zhang et al (Pub No: 2022/0039029).
As to claim 1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the at least one processor configured (Sharp, [0129], a gNB with memory, transceiver and processor for communication)to:
determine a data priority for transmission to at least one user equipment (UE) (Sharp, [0038], the gNB determines a priority indication to insert in the PDSCH transmission to the UE); and
transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) comprising control information for the at least one UE and a priority indication comprising the data priority for transmission to the at least one UE (Sharp, [0038], the gNB sends a priority indication to insert in the PDSCH transmission to the UE), wherein data transmitted to the at least one UE is based on the priority indication (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication is for the prioritizing of the PDSCH transmission and/or reception at the destination) .
Sharp does not explicitly teach wherein at least one relay is between the base station and the at least one UE; wherein data transmitted by the at least one relay to the at least one UE, and wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, LG teaches wherein at least one relay is between the base station and the at least one UE (LG, [7], a relay UE between a network and a target UE); wherein data transmitted by the at least one relay to the at least one UE (LG, [7], the data is transmitted by the relay to the target UE) based on the priority indication (LG, [093], the PDSCH data is processed by the relay UE to the target UE based on the importance of latency (priority) of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a relay to relay the PDSCH transmission” as taught by LG in the system of Sharp, so that it would increase the spectral efficiency by relay operation (LG, [10]).
The combination of Sharp and LG does not explicitly teach wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource (Zhang, [0132], the indication of priority in a priority data indicator field in PDSCH is for priority of the scheduled data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “priority of scheduled resource” as taught by Zhang in the system of Sharp and LG, so that it would increase decrease propagation loss and meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased (Zhang [0003]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the priority indication indicates the data corresponding to the at least one UE to be included in the transmission from the at least one relay to the at least one UE (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication corresponds to the PDSCH data transmission to the destination UE).
As to claim 3, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the priority indication comprises a bit for each of the at least one UE (Sharp, [0038], the indication bits are for the UE at the PDSCH reception).
As to claim 4, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the priority indication comprises a plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits identify (Sharp, [0038], the indication bits identify the PDSCH data transmission) a transport block of a plurality of transport blocks of the at least one UE to be included in a PDSCH transmitted to the at least one UE from the at least one relay (Sharp, [0063], the PDSCH data is made of transport blocks for sending).
As to claim 8, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to each relay of a plurality of relays, the data priority for transmission to the at least one UE, wherein the data priority includes a traffic priority indicating a priority for uplink and downlink transmissions (Sharp, [0050], the priority indication is for traffic in the PUSCH and PDSCH).
As to claim 15. An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the at least one processor (Sharp, [0129], a gNB with memory, transceiver and processor for communication) configured to:
determine a priority of data transmission between the base station and at least one user equipment (UE) (Sharp, [0038], the gNB determines a priority indication to insert in the PDSCH transmission to the UE); and
transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) comprising control information for the at least one UE and a priority indication of data is contained in the PDSCH (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication is for the prioritizing of the PDSCH transmission and/or reception at the destination).
Sharp does not explicitly teach at each relay of a plurality of relays, and instructing each relay of the plurality of relays of the priority indication and data in the PDSCH, , and wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, LG teaches at each relay (LG, [7], a relay UE between a network and a target UE) of a plurality of relays (LG, Fig 1&2, the UE is one of a plurality that can relay), and instructing each relay (LG, [7], a relay UE between a network and a target UE)of the plurality of relays of the priority indication and data in the PDSCH (LG, [093], the PDSCH data is processed by the relay UE to the target UE based on the importance of latency (priority) of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a relay to relay the PDSCH transmission” as taught by LG in the system of Sharp, so that it would increase the spectral efficiency by relay operation (LG, [10]).
The combination of Sharp and LG does not explicitly teach wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource (Zhang, [0132], the indication of priority in a priority data indicator field in PDSCH is for priority of the scheduled data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “priority of scheduled resource” as taught by Zhang in the system of Sharp and LG, so that it would increase decrease propagation loss and meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased (Zhang [0003]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the PDSCH includes an indication indicating whether data corresponding to the at least one UE is contained in the PDSCH (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication corresponds to the PDSCH data transmission to the destination UE).
As to claim 17, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the PDSCH includes a field that identifies data and a corresponding UE of the at least one UE that is contained in the PDSCH (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication corresponds to the PDSCH data transmission to the destination UE).
As to claim 18, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to each relay of the plurality of relays, the priority of data transmission, wherein the priority of data transmission includes a priority for uplink and downlink transmissions (Sharp, [0050], the priority indication is for traffic in the PUSCH and PDSCH).
As to claim 19. An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the at least one processor (Sharp, [0026], a UE with processor and memory) configured to:
determine an uplink data priority for transmission to a base station (Sharp, [0047][0050], the determines a priority indication for the PUSCH transmission that is indicated in DCI); and transmit a priority indication comprising the uplink data priority for transmission to the base station, wherein data transmitted to the base station is based on the priority indication (Sharp, [0047][0050], the determines a priority indication for the PUSCH transmission that is indicated in [033] UCI).
Sharp does not explicitly teach wherein at least one relay is between the base station and the at least one UE; wherein data transmitted by the at least one relay to the at least one UE, and wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, LG teaches wherein at least one relay is between the base station and the at least one UE (LG, [7], a relay UE between a network and a target UE); wherein data transmitted by the at least one relay to the at least one UE (LG, [7], the data is transmitted by the relay to the target UE) based on the priority indication (LG, [093], the PDSCH data is processed by the relay UE to the target UE based on the importance of latency (priority) of the data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a relay to relay the PDSCH transmission” as taught by LG in the system of Sharp, so that it would increase the spectral efficiency by relay operation (LG, [10]).
The combination of Sharp and LG does not explicitly teach wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource (Zhang, [0132], the indication of priority in a priority data indicator field in PDSCH is for priority of the scheduled data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “priority of scheduled resource” as taught by Zhang in the system of Sharp and LG, so that it would increase decrease propagation loss and meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased (Zhang [0003]).
As to claim 29, LG teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a relay device, comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the at least one processor (LG, [7], a relay UE between a network and a target UE) configured to:
relay a received signal to the base station or the UE based on the priority indication (LG, [093], the PDSCH data is processed by the relay UE to the target UE based on the importance of latency (priority) of the data).
LG does not explicitly teach receive, from a base station or a user equipment (UE), a priority indication comprising a data priority for transmission to the base station or the UE, and wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, Sharp teaches receive, from a base station or a user equipment (UE), a priority indication comprising a data priority for transmission to the base station or the UE (Sharp, [0038], the priority indication is for the prioritizing of the PDSCH transmission and/or reception at the destination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a priority indication” as taught by Sharp in the system of LG, so that it would provide improved communication efficiency (Sharp [0004]).
The combination of Sharp and LG does not explicitly teach wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the data priority indicates a priority associated with the data to be carried in a scheduled resource (Zhang, [0132], the indication of priority in a priority data indicator field in PDSCH is for priority of the scheduled data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “priority of scheduled resource” as taught by Zhang in the system of Sharp and LG, so that it would increase decrease propagation loss and meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased (Zhang [0003]).
As to claim 30, the combination of LG and Sharp and Zhang teaches wherein the priority indication indicates data corresponding to the UE to be included in the relay of the received signal from the relay to UE, wherein the priority indication comprises a plurality of bits (Sharp, [0038], the indication bits identify the PDSCH data transmission), wherein the plurality of bits identifies a transport block of a plurality of transport blocks of the UE to be included in a PDSCH transmitted to the UE from the relay (Sharp, [0063], the PDSCH data is made of transport blocks for sending).
As to claim 32, the combination of LG and Sharp and Zhang teaches wherein the data priority includes a traffic priority indicating a priority for uplink and downlink transmissions (Sharp, [0050], the priority indication is for traffic in the PUSCH and PDSCH).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wang et al (Pub No: 2023/0073469).
As to claim 5, the combination of Sharp and LG and Zhang teaches a priority indication.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the indication includes a field that identifies data and a corresponding UE of the at least one UE that is to be relayed by the at least one relay.
However, Wang teaches wherein the indication includes a field that identifies data and a corresponding UE of the at least one UE that is to be relayed by the at least one relay (Wang, [0178], a corresponding data identified with priority of the bearer and target UE ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “UE and data identifiers” as taught by Wang in the system of Sharp and LG and Zhang, so that it would provide a relay system with better coverage and improved reliability (Wang, [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-14, 20, 22, 24, 33-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469