DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 8-14, is/are filed on 10/04/2023 are currently pending. Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8, 10 and dependent claim(s) thereof is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 8, 10 recite the limitation ‘the blood-contacting surface of the hollow fiber membrane.’ There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is the same surface that is modified with a ligand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (CA 3156253 A).
Regarding claim 8, YAMASHITA discloses a blood treatment material (claim 1) comprising a hollow fiber (Fig. 2 and par.[0129]) used from adsorption and removal of activated leukocytes and/or inflammatory cytokines (claim 7) with a ligand containing an amino group is bounded to the surface of the membrane (claim 4). The maximum value (RaA) of the arithmetic average roughness (Ra) of the surface is preferably 0.50 μm (par.[0046]). There are specific examples in Table 1 with RaA values between 0.10 μm to 0.80 μm (0.71 μm, 0.65 μm, 0.23 μm). It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 9, YAMASHITA teaches wherein the arithmetic mean roughness (RaA) is 0.30 μm to 0.60 μm. The maximum value (RaA) of the arithmetic average roughness (Ra) of the surface is preferably 0.50 μm (par.[0046]). There are specific examples in Table 1 with RaA values between 0.10 μm to 0.80 μm (0.71 μm, 0.65 μm, 0.23 μm). It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 10, YAMASHITA teaches wherein the blood-contacting surface is an inner surface of the hollow fiber membrane. (discloses in Fig. 2 the fiber and in par.[0028] explained the adsorption, it is implicitly disclosed that the solution to be treated has to circulate inside the fiber))
Regarding claim 11, YAMASHITA teaches wherein the inner diameter of the hollow fiber membrane is 150 μm to 400 μm. In par.[0036] that the fiber diameter is preferably from 3 μm to 200 μm). It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 12, YAMASHITA teaches wherein the material of the hollow fiber membrane is a copolymer of: a hydrophobic polymer selected from the group consisting of polyacrylonitrile, poly(methyl methacrylate), polystyrene, polysulfone, poly(ether-sulfone), polyester, copolymers thereof, and combinations thereof; and a hydrophilic polymer selected from the group consisting of poly(methallylsulfonic acid), poly(methallyl sulfonate), poly(styrenesulfonic acid), poly(styrene sulfonate), sulfonated polysulfone, sulfonated poly(ether-sulfone), copolymers thereof, and combinations thereof and cellulose acetate. (YAMASHITA discloses in par.[0029] the possible combination of hydrophilic polymers (cellulose acetate for example) and hydrophobic polymers (polyacrylonitrile for example) to synthesize.
Regarding claim 13, YAMASHITA teaches adapted to adsorb and remove activated leukocytes and inflammatory cytokines (see claim 7; intended use).
Regarding claim 14, YAMASHITA teaches a blood purification column comprising the blood treatment material of claim 8 (blood purification column see par.[0083]).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777