Detailed Office Action
Prior Art Rejections
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112048151 A.
CN 112048151 A discloses an epoxy resin composition wherein the curing agent may be m-phenethylamine, corresponding to applicants’ claimed formulas (1) (claim 1) and (1-3) (claim 3). See abstract; page 3, subparagraph 11; and claim 7 within the provided English translation. Regarding claims 4 and 6, the position is taken that the reference provides for the aforementioned curing agent being the sole curing agent; therefore, the quantity limitation of the claims is met.
4. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/048282 A1.
WO 2021/048282 A1 discloses an epoxy resin composition wherein the curing agent is a blend of curing agents, which may include as the disclosed second curing agent 1,3-bis(aminoethyl)benzene or 1,4-bis(aminoethyl)benzene, corresponding to applicants’ claimed formulas (1) (claim 1) and (1-3) and (1-1) (claim 3). See abstract and paragraph [053]. Regarding claims 4 and 6, within paragraph [056], quantities of the respective curing agent components are disclosed such that the claimed amounts are met. Regarding claim 8, the disclosed adhesive is adequate to meet the paint of claim 8; the cured adhesive on a surface satisfies the function of a coating (paint).
5. Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/175741 A1.
WO 2017/175741 A1 discloses an epoxy resin composition, suitable for the production of coatings, wherein the epoxy resin curing agent is a diamine of formula (I), wherein the disclosed formula (I) corresponds to applicants’ formula (1) of claim 1. See abstract. Regarding claims 4 and 6, quantities of the curing agent are disclosed within page 10, subparagraph 5 of the provided translation such that the claimed amounts are met. Regarding claim 5, within page 9, subparagraph 7 of the translation, it is disclosed that the produced amine may further contain raw material diamine, which corresponds to xylylene diamine.
6. Claims 1, 2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/048282 A1 in view of Hanaoka et al. (US 2023/0416450 A1).
WO 2021/048282 A1 discloses an epoxy resin composition wherein the curing agent is a blend of curing agents, which may include as the disclosed second curing agent 1,3-bis(aminoethyl)benzene or 1,4-bis(aminoethyl)benzene, corresponding to applicants’ claimed formula (1) of claim 1. See abstract and paragraph [053]. Regarding claim 6, within paragraph [056], quantities of the respective curing agent components are disclosed such that the claimed amounts are met. Regarding claim 8, the disclosed adhesive is adequate to meet the paint of claim 8; the cured adhesive on a surface satisfies the function of a coating (paint).
7. Though the primary reference fails to disclose the claimed adduct modified product, the production of adducts through the reaction of xylylene diamine with an epoxy was known at the time of invention as a means for producing epoxy curing agents. This position is supported by the teachings of Hanaoka et al. See paragraphs [0022]+. Hanaoka et al. specifically teach within paragraph [0023] that the modification promotes the production of coatings having excellent water resistance. Accordingly, in view of these teachings and the structural similarity between the diamines of the primary and secondary references, the position is taken that one would have been motivated to modify the curing agents of the primary reference so as to realize the benefits of improved water resistance.
8. Claims 1, 2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/175741 A1 in view of Hanaoka et al. (US 2023/0416450 A1).
WO 2017/175741 A1 discloses an epoxy resin composition, suitable for the production of coatings, wherein the epoxy resin curing agent is a diamine of formula (I), wherein the disclosed formula (I) corresponds to applicants’ formula (1) of claim 1. See abstract. Regarding claim 6, quantities of the curing agent are disclosed within page 10, subparagraph 5 of the provided translation such that the claimed amounts are met.
9. Though the primary reference fails to disclose the claimed adduct modified product, the production of adducts through the reaction of xylylene diamine with an epoxy was known at the time of invention as a means for producing epoxy curing agents. This position is supported by the teachings of Hanaoka et al. See paragraphs [0022]+. Hanaoka et al. specifically teach within paragraph [0023] that the modification promotes the production of coatings having excellent water resistance. Accordingly, in view of these teachings and the structural similarity between the diamines of the primary and secondary references, the position is taken that one would have been motivated to modify the curing agents of the primary reference so as to realize the benefits of improved water resistance.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765