DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-4, 8, and 9 in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021-172838 A, based on the machine translation, in view of JP 6323617 B1, based on the machine translation.
JP 2021-172838 A (JP ‘838) teaches a high strength steel sheet with the following composition with respect to the claims:
% by mass
Claim 1
Claim 2
JP ‘838
C
0.150-0.350
0.08-0.40
Si
0.80-3.00
3.0 or less
Mn
1.50-3.50
1.0-4.0
P
0.100 or less
0.030 or less
S
0.0200 or less
0.0030 or less
Al
0.100 or less
1.5 or less
N
0.0100 or less
0.0010-0.010
O
0.0100 or less
not recited
B, Ca, Mg, REM (each)
0.0050 or less
B: 0.0005-0.010
Ca: 0.0050 or less
Mg: 0.002 or less
REM: 0.0050 or less
Ti, Nb, Sb, Sn (each)
0.200 or less
Nb: 0.20 or less
Sb: 0.10 or less
Sn: 0.50 or less
V, W (each)
0.500 or less
V: 2.0 or less
Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni (each)
1.000 or less
Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni (each) 2.0 or less
Zr, Ta, Hf, As, Pb,
Zn, Bi (each)
0.10 or less
Zr: 0.002 or less
Co
0.30 or less
not recited
diff H
0.50 mass ppm or less
suppressed
TS (MPa)
1320 or more
1180-2000
temp martensite
and bainite
55-98%
40-100%
retained austenite
5-30%
0-20%
prior austenite grain
avg circ diameter
15.0 μm or less
more than 5 μm
b/a
0.80 or less
5.0 or less
The composition of the steel is listed on pages 2-5. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05. The total of bainite and martensite, retained austenite, and average aspect ratio of prior austenite grains are on page 5. The tensile strength and prior austenite grain size are on page 6. The diffusible hydrogen is suppressed (pages 2 and 3); however, JP ‘838 does not teach the diffusible hydrogen is 0.5 ppm or less as claimed.
JP 6323617 B1 (JP ‘617) teaches reducing the amount of diffusible in steel in a high-strength galvanized steel sheet (abstract). The amount of diffusible hydrogen in the steel sheet is 0.50 ppm or less (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the amount to of diffusible hydrogen in JP ‘838 as taught by JP ‘617, since JP ‘617 teaches producing a steel sheet having excellent delayed fracture resistance (abstract).
Regarding the limitation in the preamble of “cold-rolled steel sheet,” PREAMBLE product. Therefore, JP ‘838 reads on the claimed steel sheet.
Regarding Claim 2, JP ‘838 teaches the claimed ranges as stated above.
Regarding Claim 3, JP ‘838 teaches the sheet is plated (page 7).
Regarding Claim 4, JP ‘838 teaches the plated layer is heat-treated and hot-dip zinc-plated (page 7).
Regarding Claim 8, JP ‘838 teaches the sheet is plated (page 7).
Regarding Claim 9, JP ‘838 teaches the plated layer is heat-treated and hot-dip zinc-plated (page 7).
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733