Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 1/12/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I-III share the same technical features and the restriction requires duplication of work. This is not found persuasive because the corresponding technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art (see 103 rejection below).
Claims 5-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montano et al. (US 2022/0112018) in view of Berbert et al. (US 2020/0324526).
Montano discloses A directional tear packaging film comprising a fully coextruded and biaxially oriented film comprising: a polyamide layer; an ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer blend layer (EVOH blend layer) comprising an ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer in an amount from 60% to 99% by weight of the EVOH blend layer and a polyethylene in an amount from 1% to 40% by weight of the EVOH blend layer; and
a sealant layer (paragraphs [0001], [0010-0013], [0040-0057], [0060], [0065-0071], [0082-0097]).
Montano does not disclose a polyamide layer comprising a polyamide in an amount from 5% to 60% by weight of the packaging film and wherein the packaging film comprises a Shrinkage Value from 0% to 60% in each of the machine direction and the transverse direction when tested according to ASTM D2732-03 using bath temperature of 90°C.
Berbert discloses disclose a polyamide layer comprising a polyamide in an amount from 5% to 60% by weight of the packaging film and wherein the packaging film comprises a Shrinkage Value from 0% to 60% in each of the machine direction and the transverse direction when tested according to ASTM D2732-03 using bath temperature of 90°C (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0011], [0029-0031], [0058], [0088-0089], [0111]) in a packaging film for the purpose of providing improved recycling, temperature resistance, abrasion resistance, puncture strength and/or barrier properties (paragraphs [0001], [0031]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a polyamide layer comprising a polyamide in an amount from 5% to 60% by weight of the packaging film and wherein the packaging film comprises a Shrinkage Value from 0% to 60% in each of the machine direction and the transverse direction when tested according to ASTM D2732-03 using bath temperature of 90°C in Montano in order to provide improved recycling, temperature resistance, abrasion resistance, puncture strength and/or barrier properties as taught or suggested by Berbert.
Berbert discloses wherein the Shrinkage Value comprises from 0% to 10% in each of the machine direction and the transverse direction when tested according to ASTM D2732-03 using bath temperature of 90 °C, wherein the Shrinkage Value comprises from 0% to 20% in each of the machine direction and the transverse direction when tested according to ASTM D2732-03 using bath temperature of 90°C (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0011], [0029-0031], [0058], [0088-0089], [0111]).
Montano discloses wherein the EVOH blend layer polyethylene comprises ultra-low density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, linear low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA), or blends thereof ((paragraphs [0001], [0010-0013], [0040-0057], [0060], [0065-0071], [0082-0097]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
February 26, 2026