Response to Amendment
2. This office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 07/31/2025. Claims 1-2 and 4-11 have been amended. Claim 3 has been canceled. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Argument
3. Claims 2-6 and 8-9 have been amended to overcome the claim objections. Therefore, the claim objections for 2-6 and 8-9 have been removed.
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 have been amended not to invoke 112(f).
Claims 1-2 has been amended to overcome 112(b). Therefore 112(b) rejection for claims 1-2 has been withdraw. Claims 5-6 are still rejection under 112(b).
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1, 7, 10 and 11 are in independent form.
The Office's Note:
5. The Office has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art or relied upon by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 5 recites the limitation “the storage section” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
7. Claim 6 recites the limitation “the sequence” in line 4 There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douillet et al. (US 20100011404, herein after Douillet – IDS of records) and further in view of Kawaguchi (US 20170315799 – hereinafter Kawaguchi).
Claim 1 is rejected, Douillet teaches a communication device (Douillet, US 20100011404, fig. 1, apparatus 32) comprising,
a local communication unit (Douillet, fig. 1, USB interface 37; para [0013)) that communicates with an apparatus (Douillet, para [0011-0012], TV 12. Para [0013].),
a memory section that stores the firmware for the apparatus (Douillet, fig. 1, medium 35; para [0017-0018]);
and a processor coupled to the memory section and the local communication unit (Douillet,fig. 1, processor 14, storage medium 16 and USB interface 37. Para [0011-0014].)
the communication device is not activated as an external storage terminal by the apparatus or the communication device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus (Douillet, fig. 2, step 56 teaches to disconnect the USB storage device, see also para [0019-0020]).
Douillet does not explicitly teach
wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence;
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the communication device is not activated as an external storage terminal by the apparatus or the communication device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus
However, Kawaguchi teaches
wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence(Kawaguchi, US 20170315799, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.);
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the communication device is not activated as an external storage terminal by the apparatus or the communication device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus (Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kawaguchi into Douillet to update device firmware by using a recording medium. The electronic device has a USB interface to which devices can be connected. An update-control unit that determines whether or not a device is connected to the USB interface when the power is turned ON, and when there is a device that is connected, waits when it is not possible to immediately determine whether or not that device is the recording medium. A device-detection unit detects whether or not the device is connected to only a preset USB interface of the plural USB interfaces as suggested by Kawaguchi (See abstract and summary).
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the communication device according to claim 1 comprising, a wide-area communication unit that communicates with a host computer over a wide area(Douillet, the device 32 of document D1 comprises a WAN communications unit 39 which communicates with the host server 38 of the Internet 30.), and downloads a firmware update for said apparatus from said host computer ( Douillet, fig. 2, step 46 and para [0017]).
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein upon the communication device being not activated, connections from the apparatus are rejected, or the apparatus is prohibited from being able to recognize that an external storage device is connected(Douillet, fig. 2, step 56 teaches to disconnect the USB storage device, see also para [0019-0020]. Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.).
Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the storage section stores a come-and-go flag that satisfies the predetermined sequence (Douillet, fig. 2, step 54 and para [0019). It would be a matter of routine programming to construct an alternative predetermined sequence to signal disconnection of the USB mass storage. Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.).
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein if the memory section stores a firmware update, communication device reverts to the connection settings with the apparatus before determining that the sequence is the predetermined sequence (Douillet, step 48 of fig. 2 is clearly only performed if the firmware has been previously downloaded. Para [0015-0020]. Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.).
Claim 7 is rejected, Douillet teaches a firmware update system, comprising: an apparatus and a device that connects to the apparatus (Douillet, fig. 1, system 10 with apparatus 12 and device 32),
wherein the apparatus comprises:
an apparatus side storage unit storing data (Douillet, fig. 1, medium 16),
an apparatus side processing unit processing data (Douillet, fig. 1, processor 14),
a communication unit on the apparatus side for local communication,
configured to request the device to read out data(Douillet, para [0013]), and
wherein if the device contains data for a firmware update, the firmware is updated with the data read from the device(Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the firmware is updated and that it can only be updated if the data exist on the USB storage device. Para [0015-0020].),
wherein the apparatus is configured to operate by executing the firmware by the apparatus side processing unit (Douillet, para [0018]),
wherein the device comprises:
a device side storage unit storing data(Douillet, fig. 1, medium 35; para [0017)),
a device side processing unit processing data(Douillet, fig. 1, processor 34), and
a device side local communication unit communicating with the apparatus(Douillet, fig. 1, USB interface 37; para [0013]),
wherein upon the device side local communication unit receiving a query from the apparatus regarding the type of the device(Douillet, fig. 2; implicit in the USB protocol that implements step 50. Para [0015-0020].),
the device-side local communication unit replies with the information that the device is an external storage device(Douillet, fig. 2, step 48; para [0018]),
wherein if the data for firmware update is recorded in the device side memory, the data for firmware update is sent in response to a request for reading data from the apparatus(Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the data is sent only if it exists on the USB storage device. Para [0015-0020].),
Douillet does not explicitly teach
wherein the device side processing unit is configured to determine, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence, and
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the device is not activated as an external storage terminal by the apparatus or the device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus.
However, Kawaguchi teaches
wherein the device side processing unit is configured to determine, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence (Kawaguchi, US 20170315799, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.);
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the device is not activated as an external storage terminal by the apparatus or the device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus (Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kawaguchi into Douillet to update device firmware by using a recording medium. The electronic device has a USB interface to which devices can be connected. An update-control unit that determines whether or not a device is connected to the USB interface when the power is turned ON, and when there is a device that is connected, waits when it is not possible to immediately determine whether or not that device is the recording medium. A device-detection unit detects whether or not the device is connected to only a preset USB interface of the plural USB interfaces as suggested by Kawaguchi (See abstract and summary).
Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 7, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the firmware update system according to claim 7, wherein the apparatus inactivates the external storage device, thereby terminating its behavior as an external storage device(Douillet, fig. 2, step 56 teaches to disconnect the USB storage device, see also para [0019-0020]. Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.).
Claim 9 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 7, Douillet and Kawaguchi teach the firmware update system according to claim 7, wherein the device side processing unit is configured to : reply to the apparatus that said device is not existing, and terminate its behavior as an external storage device(Douillet, fig. 2, step 56 teaches to disconnect the USB storage device, see also para [0019-0020]. Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.).
Claim 10 is rejected, Douillet teaches an apparatus that updates firmware by receiving data from a device connected to the apparatus (Douillet, fig. 1, system 10 with apparatus 12 and device 32. Para [0015-0020].),
the apparatus comprising:
an apparatus side storage unit storing data (Douillet, fig. 1, medium 16);
an apparatus side processing unit processing data (Douillet, fig. 1, processor 14); and
a communication unit on the apparatus side for local communication,
requesting the device to read out data (Douillet, para [0013]),
wherein if the device contains data for a firmware update, the firmware is updated with the data read from the device(Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the firmware is updated and that it can only be updated if the data exist on the USB storage device),
wherein the apparatus side processing unit is configured to:
operate by executing said firmware by said apparatus side processing unit(Douillet, para [0018]),
receive data for the firmware update from the device in response to a request for data read from the apparatus(Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the data is sent only if it exists on the USB storage device. Para [0015-0020].), and
Douillet does not explicitly teach
when a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the device is executed, the apparatus that terminates the behavior of the device as an external storage device.
However, Kawaguchi teaches
when a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the device is executed, the apparatus that terminates the behavior of the device as an external storage device (Kawaguchi, US 20170315799, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kawaguchi into Douillet to update device firmware by using a recording medium. The electronic device has a USB interface to which devices can be connected. An update-control unit that determines whether or not a device is connected to the USB interface when the power is turned ON, and when there is a device that is connected, waits when it is not possible to immediately determine whether or not that device is the recording medium. A device-detection unit detects whether or not the device is connected to only a preset USB interface of the plural USB interfaces as suggested by Kawaguchi (See abstract and summary).
Claim 11 is rejected, Douillet teaches a method of updating the firmware of a system having an apparatus and a device connected to the apparatus(Douillet, fig. 1, system 10 with apparatus 12 and device 32. Para [0015-0020].), comprising:
requesting, by the apparatus, the device to read out data (Douillet, para [0013]),
updating, by the apparatus, the firmware with data read from the device if the device contains the data for a firmware update (Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the firmware is updated and that it can only be updated if the data exist on the USB storage device),
operating, by the apparatus, by executing said firmware (Douillet, para [0018]);
replying, by the device, when a query regarding the type of device is received from the apparatus, with the information that the device is an external storage device(Douillet, fig. 2; implicit in the USB protocol that implements step 50. fig. 2, step 48; para [0018]);
sending, by the device, if the data for firmware update is recorded, the data for the firmware update in response to a request for reading data from the apparatus(Douillet, fig. 2, steps 52-54 imply that the data is sent only if it exists on the USB storage device. Para [0015-0020].); and
Douillet does not explicitly teach
determining, by the device, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence, and
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the device is not activated as an external storage terminal by he apparatus or the device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus.
However, Kawaguchi teaches
determining, by the device, based on a predetermined sequence of communication steps with the apparatus, whether a signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in a predefined sequence (Kawaguchi, US 20170315799, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.);
wherein upon determining the signal indicating activation and deactivation as an external storage terminal by the apparatus is determined to be given in the predefined sequence, the device is not activated as an external storage terminal by he apparatus or the device operates so that the firmware is not visible from the apparatus (Kawaguchi, fig. 3 and para [0024], When the selected I/F is a target I/F (YES in step s13), the device-detection unit 84, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not a device is mounted to the target I/F (step s14). When the device-detection unit 84 determines that a device is not mounted to the target I/F (NO in step s14), processing advances to step s18. Para [0025], When the device-detection unit 84 determines that some device is mounted to a target I/F (YES in step s14), the recording-medium-determination unit 85, by way of the USB controller 110, determines whether or not the device that is mounted to a target I/F is the recording medium 2 (step s15). Para [0026-0027], when the recording-medium-determination unit 85 determines that the device that is mounted to the target I/F is a recording medium 2 (YES in step s15), the correctness-confirmation unit 86 determines whether or not update firmware is stored on the recording medium 2 (step s17). Update firmware is such that a preset keyword is attached to the file name. Therefore, the correctness-confirmation unit 86 can determine whether or not there is update firmware based on the file name of the data that is recorded on the recording medium 2. Para [0028-0029], when the device-detection unit 84 has finished checking all of the I/F (YES in step s18), the control unit 80 performs normal startup of the image-forming device 1 (step s20), and this processing ends. Therefore, it is possible to perform normal startup when update of the firmware is not necessary. Para [0033-0036], write update firmware in ROM.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kawaguchi into Douillet to update device firmware by using a recording medium. The electronic device has a USB interface to which devices can be connected. An update-control unit that determines whether or not a device is connected to the USB interface when the power is turned ON, and when there is a device that is connected, waits when it is not possible to immediately determine whether or not that device is the recording medium. A device-detection unit detects whether or not the device is connected to only a preset USB interface of the plural USB interfaces as suggested by Kawaguchi (See abstract and summary).
Inquiry
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199