DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 17-19 in the reply filed on 6/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all claims and species is sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of any Group of claims or species would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims and species. Thus, search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the restriction was based on a lack of unity. The technical feature in the Groups is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of JP 2009256404, provided in the IDS. JP ‘404 discloses a resin film that is excellent in water absorption and heat resistance and is useful as a separator for a nonaqueous electrolyte battery (Abstract).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-7 and 23 of copending Application No. 18286014 (reference application) and over Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 10 of copending Application No. 19111570 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter sought is covered by the subject matter in the copending applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that the recited components in the limitation, “An electrical storage device in which an electrical storage device element” need to refer back to the respective components in Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the inorganic water absorbent". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the resin". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the layer of the resin film" and “100 parts by mass of the resin”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 7 further recites the layer of the resin film contains 0.5 masses or more of the absorbent based on 100 parts by mass of the resin. It is unclear to the Examiner the use of the term “masses” in the instant claim (i.e. is it mass, mass percent, weight, atomic, volume, etc.). For the purpose of evaluating prior art, “0.5 masses” is interpreted as “0.5 parts by mass”.
Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required in the next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 20080206636 (“Sanada et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, Sanada et al. teaches a resin film for electrical storage devices which is disposed between an exterior material of an electrical storage device and an electrical storage device element, the resin film comprising a water absorbent (Abstract, Figs. 9-13, [0029], [0032], and [0038]).
With regards to Claims 2 and 3, Sanada et al. teaches the water absorbent is an inorganic water absorbent, wherein the inorganic water absorbent is at least one selected form the group consisting of anhydrous magnesium sulfate, calcium chloride, and zeolite ([0029], [0055], and [0057]).
With regards to Claim 4, Sanada et al. teaches a content of the water absorbent is 0.1 parts by mass or more based on 100 parts by mass of the resin contained in the resin film for electrical storage devices ([0028], [0055] disclosing 15 parts by mass of anhydrous magnesium sulfate based on 100 parts by mass of resin, and Table 1).
With regards to Claims 5 and 6, Sanada et al. teaches the resin film comprising two or more layers, wherein among the two or more layers, at least one layer contains the water absorbent, and at least one layer contains a sulfur-based gas absorbent (acid absorption function) ([0028] and [0031]).
With regards to Claim 7, Sanada et al. teaches the layer of the resin film for electrical storage devices, which contains the water absorbent, contains 0.5 masses or more of the absorbent based on 100 parts by mass of the resin ([0028], [0055], and Table 1).
With regards to Claims 17 and 18, Sanada et al. teaches the resin film comprising a heat-sealable resin, wherein the heat-sealable resin contains at least one selected form the group consisting of polyolefin ([0032] and Table 1).
With regards to Claim 19, Sanada et al. teaches an electrical storage device in which an electrical storage device element includes at least a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte is housed in a packaging formed of an exterior material (Abstract and Figs. 3-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020187855 (“Kato et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20080206636 (“Sanada et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, Kato et al. teaches a resin film for electrical storage devices, wherein the resin film comprises a water absorbent ([0016], [0018], [0020], and [0026]).
While Kato et al. teaches its resin film is an exterior material of an electrical storage device element ([0018] and [0020]), Kato et al. does not explicitly teach the resin film is disposed between an exterior material of an electrical storage device and an electrical storage device element.
However, Sanada et al. teaches a resin film for electrical storage devices which is disposed between an exterior material of an electrical storage device and an electrical storage device element, the resin film comprising a water absorbent (Abstract, Figs. 9-13, [0029], [0032], and [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place Kato et al.’s resin film between an exterior material of an electrical storage device and an electrical storage device element to prevent deterioration of the electrical storage device and electrical storage device element from moisture (Abstract and [0005]).
With regards to Claims 2 and 3, Kato et al. teaches the water absorbent is an inorganic water absorbent, wherein the inorganic water absorbent is at least one selected form the group consisting of calcium oxide, magnesium sulfate, calcium chloride, zeolite, aluminum oxide, and silica gel ([0029], [0030], and [0120]).
With regards to Claim 4, Kato et al. teaches a content of the water absorbent is 0.1 parts by mass or more based on 100 parts by mass of the resin contained in the resin film for electrical storage devices ([0032] and [0120]).
With regards to Claims 5 and 6, Kato et al. teaches the resin film comprising two or more layers, wherein among the two or more layers, at least one layer contains the water absorbent, and at least one layer contains a sulfur-based gas absorbent ([0026] and [0027]).
With regards to Claim 7, Kato et al. teaches the layer of the resin film for electrical storage devices, which contains the water absorbent, contains 0.5 masses or more of the absorbent based on 100 parts by mass of the resin ([0032] and [0120]).
With regards to Claims 17 and 18, Kato et al. teaches the resin film comprising a heat-sealable resin, wherein the heat-sealable resin contains at least one selected form the group consisting of polyester and polyolefin ([0040] and [0041]).
With regards to Claim 19, Kato et al. teaches an electrical storage device element as set forth above [0007].
Kato et al. does not explicitly teach its electrical storage device element comprising the nominal positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte housed in a packaging formed of an exterior material.
However, Sanada et al. teaches that conventional electrical storage device element comprises a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte housed in a packaging formed of an exterior material (Abstract and Figs. 3-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have these nominal components in Kato et al.’s electrical storage device element in order to function properly (i.e. a battery).
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785