DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 10/04/2023 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 10/04/2023. Claims 25-44 are now pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/04/2023, 11/17/2023, 11/30/2023, 11/12/2024, 11/14/2024 and 02/06/2026 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsui et al Patent No. :( US 10,893,567 B2) hereinafter referred as Mitsui.
For Claim 25, Mitsui discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network, wherein a first base station operating a cell serving a first coverage area stores a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection of the UE (S303 fig 8) ( column 11, lines 13-17), the method comprising:
transmitting a first message for initiating a procedure for resuming the suspended RRC connection via a cell serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area (S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56), the cell being operated by a second base station (S305 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 57-64);
transmitting information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
receiving, from the second base station, a second message for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
For Claim 26, Mitsui discloses the method, wherein the receiving is performed based on whether a core network node for mobility management associated with the UE is available in the location of the UE ( column 2, lines 65-67)- (column 3, lines 1-4).
For Claim 27, Mitsui discloses the method, wherein the information is included in the first message (column 2, lines 56-64).
For Claim 28, Mitsui discloses the method, further comprising: receiving information for redirecting the UE to a core network node for mobility management associated with the location of the UE (column 2, lines 65-67)- (column 3, lines 1-2) and (column 9, lines 21-26).
For Claim 29, Mitsui discloses the method, wherein the information for redirecting the UE is included in the second message (column 10, lines 10-14).
For Claim 30, Mitsui discloses the method, [Claim 30] (New) The method according to claim 28, further comprising: setting up another RRC connection via the cell serving the different coverage area (column 26, lines 7-13); and selecting the core network node based on the information for redirecting the UE (column 27, lines 1-6).
For Claim 32, Mitsui discloses a method, wherein the information includes at least one of:a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based location; and a Mobile Country Code (MCC) associated with the UE (column 8, lines 13-18).
For Claim 33, Mitsui discloses the method, wherein the first message includes at least one of: an RRC ResumeRequest message; and an RRCResumeComplete message (S405 fig. 9) (column 15, lines 22-29).
For Claim 35, Mitsui discloses a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, wherein a base station operating a cell serving a first coverage area stores a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection of the UE (S303 fig 8) ( column 11, lines 13-17), the method comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a first message for initiating a procedure for resuming the suspended RRC connection via a cell serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area (S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56), the cell being operated by the network node (S305 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 57-64);
receiving information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
transmitting, to the UE, a second message for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
For Claim 36, Mitsui discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting the information related to the location of the UE to another network node ( column 8, lines 13-15); receiving, from the another network node, information indicating whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (column 2, lines 56-64); and determining whether to release the suspended RRC connection based on the information indicating whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (column 12, lines 48-56) .
For Claim 39, Mitsui discloses the method, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, the UE context; and determining whether to release the suspended RRC connection based on whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE ( column 3, lines 10-24).
For Claim 40, Mitsui discloses the method, , wherein the information related to the location of the UE is included in the first message ( column 8, lines 13-15).
For Claim 41, Mitsui discloses a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, the method comprising:
storing a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection of the UE related to a first coverage area (S303 fig 8) ( column 11, lines 13-17);
receiving, from a base station serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area via a cell (S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56), information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
transmitting, to the base station, information indicating whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE for determining whether to release the suspended RRC connection (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
For Claim 42, Mitsui discloses a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network, wherein a first base station operating a cell serving a first coverage area stores a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection of the UE, the UE comprising:
a memory storing instructions( column 24, lines 10-15; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
transmit a first message for initiating a procedure for resuming the suspended RRC connection via a cell serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area (S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56), the cell being operated by a second base station (S305 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 57-64);
transmit information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
receive, from the second base station, a message for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
For Claim 43, Mitsui discloses a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, wherein a base station operating a cell serving a first coverage area stores a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection of the UE (S303 fig 8) ( column 11, lines 13-17), the network node comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
receive, from the UE, a first message for initiating a procedure for resuming the suspended RRC connection via a cell serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area(S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56), the cell being operated by the network node (S305 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 57-64);
receive information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
transmit, to the UE, a second message for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
For Claim 44, Mitsui discloses a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, the network node comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
store a UE context associated with a suspended Radio Resource Control (RRC) (S303 fig 8) ( column 11, lines 13-17) connection of the UE related to a first coverage area (S304 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 45-56);
receive, from a base station serving a different coverage area from the first coverage area via a cell (S305 fig 8) ( column 12, lines 57-64), information related to a location of the UE (column 8, lines 13-18); and
transmit, to the base station, information indicating whether the UE context is available in the location of the UE for determining whether to release the suspended RRC connection (S310 fig 8) ( column 14, lines 60-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Mitsui et al Patent No. :( US 10,893,567 B2) hereinafter referred as Mitsui, in view of Kim et al US Patent No.:( US 2021/0243721 A1) hereinafter referred as Kim.
For claim 31, Mitsui disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving, in the cell serving the different coverage area, an indication indicating whether to transmit the information related to the location of the UE, wherein the transmitting the information is performed based on the indication as recited in claim 31.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving, in the cell serving the different coverage area, an indication indicating whether to transmit the information related to the location of the UE, wherein the transmitting the information is performed based on the indication (paragraph [0319], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving, in the cell serving the different coverage area, an indication indicating whether to transmit the information related to the location of the UE, wherein the transmitting the information is performed based on the indication as taught by Kim into the communication method of Mitsui.
The receiving, in the cell serving the different coverage area, an indication indicating whether to transmit the information related to the location of the UE, wherein the transmitting the information is performed based on the indication can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving, in the cell serving the different coverage area, an indication indicating whether to transmit the information related to the location of the UE, wherein the transmitting the information is performed based on the indication with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the communication method of Mitsui. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the reduction of the signaling load that will help the communication to be improved becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 34, Mitsui disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the second message includes at least one of: an RRC Release message; and an RRC Reject message as recited in claim 34.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the second message includes at least one of: an RRC Release message; and an RRC Reject message (paragraph [0048], lines 1-6)and (paragraph [0128], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the second message includes at least one of: an RRC Release message; and an RRC Reject message as taught by Kim into the communication method of Mitsui.
The second message includes at least one of: an RRC Release message; and an RRC Reject message can be modify/implemented by combining the second message includes at least one of: an RRC Release message; and an RRC Reject message with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the communication method of Mitsui. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the release message that will help to the power saving and control the resource efficiency becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 37-38 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642