DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 12-18 in the reply filed on 1/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 and 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/27/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A method” should read “The method” as to remain consistent with the other dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson et al. (US 2019/0070819), hereinafter Larsson, in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2008/0211126), hereinafter Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 12, Larsson discloses a method for forming non-flat cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a product forming unit that comprises a blank dry-forming module with a movable forming wire (14) (par. 0065 – “forming wire 14”), a forming mold (3) (par. 0065), and an electronic control system operatively connected to the forming wire.
Larsson further discloses a movable first mold part (as shown by the downward arrow in Fig. 1) and a second mold part (below, Fig. 1; par. 0058) with respect to the forming mold (3).
Larsson further discloses: (a) air-forming a cellulose blank structure onto the forming wire (par. 0055 – describes that the cellulose fibers are “blown” using a fan arranged above the forming wire; Fig. 1);
(b) feeding the air-formed cellulose blank structure into a pressing area defined by first and second mold parts (unlabeled, Fig. 1, right, shows a male and female mold part; par. 0058),
(d) controlling operation of the forming wire by intermittently feeding the forming wire during subsequent pressing operations (par. 0061).
Larsson does not explicitly disclose that the forming mold includes a toggle press as required in the claim or the method step (c) of controlling of the pressing actuator movement by driving the pressing member in the pressing direction specifically by the toggle mechanism as is required in the claim as to press the first mold part against the second mold part.
However, Kobayashi discloses a toggle press module (10) suitable for pressing a sheet material as it is used for clamping a mold, comprising: a toggle press (10) including a pressing member (13) movably arranged in a pressing direction, a toggle mechanism (20) drivingly connected to the pressing member, a pressing actuator arrangement (24-27) drivingly connected to the toggle mechanism (20) for controlling motion of the toggle mechanism between a retracted operating position and an extended operating position (Kobayashi, par. 0023-0028; Fig. 1); a forming mold (11) including a first mold part (11b) attached to the pressing member (13) and a second mold part (11a).
Kobayashi further discloses an adjustment mechanism (35) for enabling adjustment of a distance of a pressing direction between the first and second mold parts (11a, 11b) while having the toggle mechanism (20) in a non-moving operating state and an adjustment actuator arrangement (31) configured for driving the adjustment mechanism (35), a pressing force indicating arrangement (18), and an electronic control system (19) operatively connected to the pressing force indicating arrangement (Kobayashi, Fig. 1), the pressing indicator arrangement (26) and the adjustment actuator arrangement (31), wherein the control system is configured for controlling operation of the pressing member (13) and the actuator arrangement (31) (Kobayashi, par. 0034).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found the arrangement of Kobayashi (having a toggle press mechanism/control thereof) suitable for pressing the cellulosic material as a substitutable alternative to that of Larsson above as it is suitable for clamping or pressing a material as it includes a precise means of control of the pressing/clamping of the two parts together. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have used either modes of formation, with a reasonable likelihood of success, leading one of ordinary skill in the art to have been motivated to have selected either of the arrangements, Larsson’s or Kobayashi’s for pressing the material, and may have even found it advantageous to have used Kobayashi’s arrangement, as a more precise means of applying the correct amount of clamping pressure to the material.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have specified that the above forming mechanism from Larsson instead includes a toggle press as described in Kobayashi, as is required in the claims as a substitutable alternative for the forming press of Larsson above.
Regarding claim 13, Larsson/Kobayashi discloses the subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses controlling operating of the forming wire by the electronic control system by intermittently feeding the forming wire (Larsson, par. 0060-0061 – “[t]he cellulose blank may, as an example, be intermittently fed to the forming mold . . . “) which would mean that the forming wire is operated periodically with a higher speed at some times, or a lower or zero speed at other times when required by the process when not being “intermittently fed” even if the feeding speed is constant, the pressing speed would be zero, thus still meeting the claim.
Regarding claims 14-15, Larsson/Kobayashi discloses the subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses that the machine is pressed in a way such that the product will have good mechanical properties (Larsson, par. 0059) and the toggle press includes a pressing force indicating arrangement as outlined above (Kobayashi, Fig. 1) and operates using feedback information (Kobayashi, par. 0054).
Regarding claim 16, Larsson/Kobayashi discloses the subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses that the step of air forming includes separating fibers in a mill (Larsson, par. 0025, 0054) and distributing the fibers onto a forming wire (Larsson, par. 0055, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 17, Larsson/Kobayashi discloses the subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses that the blank is transported from the dry forming module in a first feeding direction, and a second feeding direction in an intermittent manner (Larsson, par. 0061).
Regarding claim 18, Larsson/Kobayashi discloses the subject matter of claim 12, and further discloses that the step of forming the cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure in the forming mold involves heating the blank to a forming temperature of 100-200 C (Larsson, par. 0073) or exactly 160 C (Larsson, par. 0076) and a pressure of 4 MPa (Larsson, par. 0076), both falling with in the claimed ranges, thus meeting the claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742