Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Ishizeki fails to disclose the use of multiple light pulses during a single video frame to separately illuminate matching vocal chord displacement phases as recited in amended claim 1. This is not found persuasive because, as pointed out in the Lack of Unity Action, and further pointed out below, Ishizeki does indeed disclose the use of multiple light pulses during a single video frame to separately illuminate matching vocal chord displacement phases as recited in amended claim 1. For example,during one frame, e.g. F1 in Fig.4, illumination light is intermittently emitted in multiple emission timings, [0049], at identical phases PE1 of multiple contiguous displacement cycles, [0051], as shown in Fig.4.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Group III covers claims 1 and 11-18.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is based on the sane traversal of the Restriction Requirement mentioned above. This is not found persuasive for the same reasons as set forth above.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Species II covers claims 11-13 and 15, claims 1-10, 15, 19 and 20 being generic.
Given election of Group III, claims 1 and 11-18 and Species II, claims 1, 11-13 and 15, claims 2-10, 14, and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected Groups/Species.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 1, line 10, “operative coupled” should be “operatively coupled”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“video device” in at least claim 1;
“light transmission assembly” in at least claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishizeki et al. (US 2020/0345222, hereinafter “Ishizeki”).
As to claim 1, Ishizeki discloses a stroboscopic endoscope system, comprising:
an endoscope (endoscope 2, Fig.1) comprising a light guide (illumination fiber 214, Fig.2);
a video device (imaging unit 24, Fig.2) configured for imaging vocal chords of a patient that are illuminated via the endoscope ([0029]-[0031]);
a first light source (light source 51, Fig.2);
a light transmission assembly (connector 233) configured to transmit light generated by the first light source into the light guide ([0022]);
a microphone (voice input device 3, Fig.2) configured to generate a microphone output signal in response to vocalization of the patient ([0024]); and
a controller (control unit 407,408,409, Fig.2) operative coupled with the first light source, the video device, and the microphone (note coupling of all components in Fig.2, [0034]); wherein the controller is configured to process the microphone output signal to track a fundamental phonation frequency of the patient (vocal cord frequency, [0041]), wherein the controller is configured to energize the first light source to generate a sequence of two or more light flashes in synchronization with the fundamental phonation frequency during a first video frame of the video device during which the vocal chords complete at least two complete contiguous vocal chord displacement cycles so that the sequence of two or more light flashes separately illuminate matching phases of the at least two complete contiguous vocal chord displacement cycles during the first video frame (during one frame, e.g. F1 in Fig.4, illumination light is intermittently emitted in multiple emission timings, [0049], at identical phases PE1 of multiple contiguous displacement cycles, [0051], Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizeki et al. (US 2020/0345222, hereinafter “Ishizeki”) in view of Onobori (US 2019/0254510).
As to claims 11, Ishizeki, as set forth above with respect to claim 1, fails to disclose the particulars of light source, and specifically fails to disclose that the light source includes a hemispherical reflector configured to redirect light generated by the first light source into the light transmission assembly for transmission into the light guide. Onobori discloses a light source for an endoscope that includes a hemispherical reflector (e.g. Fig.5, LED 31 with hemispherical reflector 40,41, [0062]-[0063]) configured to redirect light generated by the first light source into the light transmission assembly for transmission into the light guide (redirected through opening 42, [0064], for eventual transmission into a light guide 11, Fig.1). Onobori teaches that such light source structure, i.e. hemispherical reflector, improves light use efficiency of the LED light source ([0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the hemispherical reflector in the light source of Ishizeki for the reasons taught by Onobori, e.g. improvement of light use efficiency.
As to claim 12, further comprising an image processor (Ishizeki: image processor 403, Fig.2) configured to perform color balancing of images captured via the endoscope (image processor performs white balance adjustment and a color reproduction process, [0037], both forms of color balancing of images) to compensate for a first shift in spectrum induced by the hemispherical reflector (the color balancing process would be inherently capable of compensating for any shift from nominal balance, no matter what causes the deviation (shift)).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizeki et al. (US 2020/0345222, hereinafter “Ishizeki”) in view of Onobori (US 2019/0254510), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0159064, hereinafter “Choi”).
As to claim 13, Ishizeki, as set forth above with respect to claim 12, discloses use of a “white LED” for emitting a sequence of light flashes (pulsed), but fails to disclose the nature of the white LED, including that the LED includes a phosphor that emits white light. It is known in the LED art that a “white LED” can be configured as a blue (monochromatic light) LED with a ceramic phosphor layer on the light exiting surface (Choi: [0005], as an alternative to a combination of blue, green and red LEDs, [0008]). Since Ishizeki does not disclose the particulars of the white LED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use any configuration for a white LED known to be suitable for providing the predictable result of emitting white light, including one in which a monochromatic LED is combined with phosphor, as taught by Choi.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizeki et al. (US 2020/0345222, hereinafter “Ishizeki”) in view of Choi et al. (US 2007/0159064, hereinafter “Choi”).
As to claim 15, Ishizeki, as set forth above with respect to claim 1, discloses use of a “white LED” as the first light source for emitting a sequence of light flashes (pulsed) to the light guide, but fails to disclose the nature of the first light source, including that the white LED includes a monochromatic LED with a ceramic phosphor that emits white light. It is known in the LED art that a “white LED” can be configured as a blue (monochromatic light) LED with a ceramic phosphor layer on the light exiting surface (Choi: [0005], as an alternative to a combination of blue, green and red LEDs, [0008]). Since Ishizeki does not disclose the particulars of the white LED of the light source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use any configuration for a white LED known to be suitable for providing the predictable result of emitting white light, including one in which a monochromatic LED is combined with a ceramic phosphor, as taught by Choi.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 11-13 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,224. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that each and every element of application claim 1 is covered by patent claim 1, except for specifying that the vocal chord displacement cycles are “contiguous”. However, if not inherently implied by the fact that, at a minimum sequencing covered by the claim, a sequence of two flashes during two complete displacement cycles to illuminate matching segments/phases of the cycles during one image frame would require the displacement cycles to be “contiguous”, one of ordinary skill in the art would obviously consider the cycles to be contiguous since this is one two limited universe of potential options for such sequencing: the cycles would have to either be contiguous or not contiguous. Where there is a limited universe of potential options, the selection of any particular option would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Jones, 412 F.2d 241, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1969). Therefore, if not implicit, application claim 1 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of patent claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See reference cited on PTO-892.
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795