DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi (WO 2012111484).
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi discloses a transmission system (See fig. 2), comprising: a first circuit board 100 provided with a first antenna 108; a second circuit board 200 provided with a second antenna 208; a first dielectric waveguide 308 arranged between the first antenna and the second antenna, wherein the first circuit board is provided with a serializer 114 and a first RF circuit that modulates a serial signal output from the serializer and outputs the signal as an RF signal to the first antenna, and the second circuit board is provided with a second RF circuit that demodulates an RF signal input from the second antenna and outputs the signal as a serial signal, and a deserializer 227 that converts the serial signal output from the second RF circuit and outputs the signal as a parallel signal (See figs. 2-3 and provided English translation).
Regarding claim 4, Ohashi discloses as cited in claim 1. Ohashi further discloses a third antenna formed on the first circuit board; a fourth antenna formed on the second circuit board; and a second dielectric waveguide arranged between the third antenna and the fourth antenna (See figs. 2-3).
Regarding claims 5-6, Ohashi discloses as cited in claim 1. Ohashi further discloses a first RF module having the first RF circuit and the first antenna mounted therein is attached to the first circuit board100, and a second RF module having the second RF circuit and the second antenna mounted therein is attached to the second circuit board 200, wherein the first circuit board and the second circuit board are arranged facing each other in a first direction, the first RF module and the second RF module are arranged so that the first antenna and the second antenna face each other, and the dielectric waveguide is arranged along the first direction between the first antenna and the second antenna (See figs. 2-3, 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi (WO 2012111484).
Regarding claim 2, Ohashi discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Ohashi does not explicitly mention that the waveguide is connected to the first and second circuit boards via connectors. Since Ohashi does suggest various method for attaching/connecting the waveguide to the circuit boards such as utilizing adhesive, screws or other attachment/connecting materials or member (See fig. 7 and providing English translation) and connectors, Official Notice taken by the examiner, is a commonly known type of attachment/connecting member; therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize connectors for connecting the waveguide to the circuit boards, for the advantage of providing greater degree of freedom to secure the waveguide to the circuit boards.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi (WO 2012111484) in view of Sano (7,132,905).
Regrading claim 3, Ohashi discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Ohashi does not mention that a conductor line formed on the outer surface of the first dielectric waveguide; a first component; and a second component, wherein one component of the first component and the second component outputs a signal or direct current via the conductor line to another component of the first component or the second component. Since Sano teaches a similar transmission system, wherein a conductor line formed on the outer surface of the first dielectric waveguide (See fig. 1); a first component; and a second component, wherein one component of the first component and the second component outputs a signal or direct current via the conductor line to another component of the first component or the second component (See figs. 1-2, 5 and col. 3 lines 23-62); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teaching of Sano in modifying the transmission system as disclosed by Ohashi, for the advantage of providing a simplified structure for mounting a dielectric waveguide on the circuit boards.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648