DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 is/are independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy, for the foreign priority, of European Patent Application No. EP 21167357.9 (filed on 4/8/2021), was received on 10/5/2023.
The present application is the National Stage entry under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/IB2022/053118 (filed on 4/4/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/5/2023 and 4/13/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
The use of the term “Bluetooth”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an aerosol generating apparatus configured to cause…to generate” in Claim 13,
“an air pattern detection subsystem configured to detect…” in Claim 14,
“an exhale direction determination subsystem configured to determine…” in Claim 14, and
“an output indicator subsystem configured to provide…” in Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (specifically, an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As per the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance, claim(s) 1-15 are eligible as per the Step 1 (statutory) analysis.
However, as per the Step 2A Prong One (abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon) analysis, the claimed invention in claim(s) 1 is directed to a judicial exception (specifically, an abstract idea); this is because the claims recite determining an air pattern in proximity to an aerosol generating device, and indicating the exhale direction based on the air pattern, which constitutes receiving data and manipulating the data by making determinations and projections, all of which fall under a sub-category of abstract ideas, namely mental processes.
As per the Step 2A Prong Two (practical application) analysis, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim(s) 1 simply recite data gathering and manipulation which are not incorporated into any such practical application which applies the gathered and manipulated data.
As per the Step 2B (significantly more) analysis, claim(s) 1 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only recite functional units where the functions (of gather and manipulating data) are related to one another, without the recitation of any non-generic hardware that incorporates such data gathering and manipulation.
Dependent claim(s) 2 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites determining a direction of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 3 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites determining a speed of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 4 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites determining a turbulence of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 5 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites collecting data from an airflow sensor, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 6 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites comprising the airflow sensor, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 7 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites the airflow sensor being remote from the aerosol generating device, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 8 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites processing data from a ventilation system, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 9 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites processing data from a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 10 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites mapping an aspect of the air pattern on a three-dimensional representation of a space in proximity to the aerosol generating article, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 11 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites mapping the three-dimensional space in proximity to the aerosol generating article to generate the three-dimensional representation of the space, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 12 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites identifying a location of the aerosol generating device in the map of the three-dimensional space, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 13 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites a receptacle configured to receive an aerosol generating article; an aerosol generating apparatus configured to cause the aerosol generating article to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user; control electronics operatively coupled to the aerosol generating apparatus; an airflow sensor configured to detect one or more parameters of airflow external to the aerosol generating device, wherein the control electronics are operatively coupled to airflow sensor; and an output indicator, wherein the control electronics are configured to cause the output indicator to indicate a direction in which a user should exhale after drawing on an aerosol generating device based on the one or more detected airflow parameters, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 14 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites an air pattern detection subsystem configured to detect parameters regarding an air pattern in proximity to an aerosol generating device; an exhale direction determination subsystem configured to determine a direction a user should exhale after drawing on the aerosol generating device based on the detected parameters regarding the air pattern; and an output indicator subsystem configured to provide an indication to the user of the determined direction the user should exhale, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim(s) 15 does not recite subject matter that cures the 101 deficiency of claim(s) 1, because it recites comprising the aerosol generating device, which further recites an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and without including additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Finke et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0193806) (hereinafter “Finke”).
Regarding claim 1, Finke teaches a method for indicating an exhale direction for a user to exhale after drawing on an aerosol generating device, (Para. 33, 43 - - indication is made to user regarding breathing pattern, including direction of exhale, while using an aerosol)
the method comprising: determining an air pattern in proximity to an aerosol generating device; (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow/pattern)
and indicating the exhale direction based on the air pattern. (Para. 33, 43 - - indication is made to user regarding breathing pattern, including direction of exhale, based on determined air flow/pattern)
Regarding claim 2, Finke further teaches determining a direction of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow/direction)
Regarding claim 3, Finke further teaches determining a speed of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow/speed)
Regarding claim 4, Finke further teaches determining a turbulence of airflow in proximity to the aerosol generating device. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow/turbulence)
Regarding claim 5, Finke further teaches collecting data from an airflow sensor. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow)
Regarding claim 6, Finke further teaches the airflow sensor. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow)
Regarding claim 7, Finke further teaches wherein the airflow sensor is remote from the aerosol generating device. (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors are in proximity, i.e. remote and not attached)
Regarding claim 8, Finke further teaches processing data from a ventilation system. (Para. 56 - - ventilation is measured, i.e. data is processed with respect to ventilation)
Regarding claim 9, Finke further teaches processing data from a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system. (Para. 56 - - ventilation is measured, i.e. data is processed with respect to ventilation)
Regarding claim 10, Finke further teaches mapping an aspect of the air pattern on a three-dimensional representation of a space in proximity to the aerosol generating article. (Para. 84 - - mapping data is used)
Regarding claim 11, Finke further teaches mapping the three-dimensional space in proximity to the aerosol generating article to generate the three-dimensional representation of the space. (Para. 84 - - mapping data is used)
Regarding claim 12, Finke further teaches identifying a location of the aerosol generating device in the map of the three-dimensional space. (Para. 84 - - location data is used)
Regarding claim 13, Finke further teaches wherein the aerosol generating device comprises: a receptacle configured to receive an aerosol generating article; (Para. 18 - - aerosol generator is used)
an aerosol generating apparatus configured to cause the aerosol generating article to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user; (Para. 18 - - aerosol generator is used)
control electronics operatively coupled to the aerosol generating apparatus; (Para. 18 - - aerosol generator is used)
an airflow sensor configured to detect one or more parameters of airflow external to the aerosol generating device, (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow)
wherein the control electronics are operatively coupled to airflow sensor; (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow)
and an output indicator, wherein the control electronics are configured to cause the output indicator to indicate a direction in which a user should exhale after drawing on an aerosol generating device based on the one or more detected airflow parameters. (Para. 33, 43 - - indication is made to user regarding breathing pattern, including direction of exhale, based on determined air flow/pattern)
Regarding claim 14, Finke further teaches wherein the system comprises: an air pattern detection subsystem configured to detect parameters regarding an air pattern in proximity to an aerosol generating device; (Para. 105, 118 - - sensors in proximity to aerosol detect and help determine air flow)
an exhale direction determination subsystem configured to determine a direction a user should exhale after drawing on the aerosol generating device based on the detected parameters regarding the air pattern; (Para. 33, 43 - - indication is made to user regarding breathing pattern, including direction of exhale, based on determined air flow/pattern)
and an output indicator subsystem configured to provide an indication to the user of the determined direction the user should exhale. (Para. 33, 43 - - indication is made to user regarding breathing pattern, including direction of exhale, based on determined air flow/pattern)
Regarding claim 15, Finke further teaches the aerosol generating device. (Para. 18 - - aerosol generator is used)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0282527 by Henry, Jr., which discloses sensor for an aerosol delivery device (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119